AES – gov’t to take over operation and enforcement?

AES_Camera

News reports indicate that the federal government is looking into taking over the operation and enforcement of the Automated Enforcement System (AES) from the two concessionaires which were appointed to run it.

A steering committee involving government agencies such as Pemandu, the Road Transport Department (JPJ), Ministry of Finance (MoF), Economic Planning Unit, Attorney-General’s Chamber and the Public Works Department has been appointed to discuss the matter, as well as related issues.

According to Acting Transport Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein, the steering committee will determine the direction and expansion of the AES, including all the guidelines. Operations may be handed over to a government-owned company.

“The principle and purpose of the AES is to ensure road safety, but from the feedback we have received, the two main issues people are concerned about are the privatisation of the enforcement and private companies getting benefits from the fines,” he said.

“The feedback received will be brought to the attention of the main committee. The AES discussion period is not an issue. What is important is the public confidence in the outcome and the direction of the AES,” Hishammudin told reporters.

aes-speeding-ticket-950x4711

He added that the goverment is looking at amending the revenue-shared module used presently to one that is more fair and transparent to all parties. “Issues that bog down the AES and affect certain parties will be addressed,” he stated.

The two contractors appointed to run the RM700 million AES project are Beta Tegap, which will utilise equipment from Australian-based Redflex Traffic Systems and run AES for the southern region, and ATES, which will operate equipment from German company Jenoptik Robot, and is responsible for the rest of the country, including Sabah and Sarawak.

The reports add that the 14 AES cameras already in place from the pilot project will continue operations. Seven locations are in the northern Zon A, consisting of three fixed, two mobile and two traffic light cameras, one each in Ipoh, Hilir Perak, Taiping, Tapah, Sungai Siput, Kerian and Tanjung Malim. Central Zon B also has seven locations, four in KL, two in Putrajaya and one in Kajang.

Last month, a news report indicated that as many as 1,079 AES cameras have yet to be installed nationwide, with their locations yet to be identified, but to be determined by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety and Research (MIROS) soon. Last year, at the advent of the system’s introduction, it was announced that the cameras were set to be deployed in 831 “black spot” areas on highways as well as stretches of state and federal roads.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Still feeling like the freedom driving on the road has been molested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 13
    • driver on Aug 21, 2013 at 6:29 pm

there is, and should be, no absolute freedom in every aspect of lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
    • Service Contract? on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:00 am

Nothing will change. The contract will just change hands to another crony albeit in disguise. It will ultimately go into the pockets of some crony as usual.

This is the richest company in Malaysia. Someone did some calculations before in the comments section and it can be seen, the company earns about couple of million of ringgit PER DAY of clean profit. I repeat PER DAY.

All this Drama Minggu Ini. There won’t be accountability as usual. Even if the new AES is fully Government owned, we don’t see where the money goes when it is collected. Where it is channeled quietly is a whole different story altogether.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 6
      • Malaysia Boleh!! on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:44 am

You are wrong, it is more.

The 2 companies will get Untung Bersih of berpuluh billion RINGGIT per annum each. Bukan million. Billion. Bursa Saham (KLSE) company also kalah.

Company so small with just a few people running it also can make RM51 billion profit per annum. Malaysia Boleh!!!

Who is the real owner?

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2012/10/14/aes-being-used-to-milk-profit/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • If like that petronas oso cannot compete…that a bit non sense rite…within few yrs we gonna get top 10 billionaine in the world fr bolehland.

• RM962,000 camera? on Aug 22, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Seems right. 170 million summonses x RM300 per summon.

But so funny, one camera kononnya RM962,000. They use hubble telescope or what? Wah, milk the government to the max

• kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:00 am

If government is going to make so much of money by this method, better they reduce tax and excise duties on cars. Now they say getting 8 billion from cars per annum. Reduce it to half because you are making so much of money from this AES system. Even in conservative calculations, nothing less than 10 billion.

All this proposals should be tabled by MAI and Madani but anything for the rakyat, they don’t know how to do. What is the purpose of the Malaysian Automative Institute then? Now government getting extra money from the AES system. Isn’t high time to reduce tax and excise duties? Not asking abolishment. Just reduce it to half. The AES system in one month also can generate enough to compensate the loss in revenue to the government from car taxes.

• Service Contract?
        Would you do it for free? If not, one should realize there are no free lunches in this world. IMO, it’s OK to pay private company to do it as long as there are proper open tender.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Expected what???

Govt. take over with higher price.
      Cronies get extra money from this moves.
      AES companies give back money as kickback to govt officers and ministries involved.
      Govt. auditor investigates and reports foulplay.
      No action taken.
      Culpritz lepas mcm biasa.
      Little Napoleon laughing to the bank with a few hundreds million in the bank..

• SafetyNotMoney on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Really hope that they will use it for safety, not just for making money by installing it at 3 lanes expressway with 70kmh speed limit like it is now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Black Dog on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:06 pm

It is REALLY a money making machine for them, unless they address issues such as:
      1. Stop enforcing ridiculously low speed limit (should be at least 20-30 kmh above our kampung speed limit)
      2. Fair traffic junction signals (eg Pearl Point junction at OKR, previously vehicles used to be able to turn left into Taman United, no problem, but they changed it to Red instead after installing AES…then a lot of vehicles are caught)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Damon on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:34 pm

If they really want to save us, they can start by NOT accepting kopi money to pass leaner drivers. Make it compulsory for new cars to have at least two airbags and ABS brakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • So gov need to sack all brown people and employ yellow people so there is no rasuah… yellow people very honest maa..brown people r crook..

• flat_tire on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:47 pm

if the G really wants us to drive slowly then they should implement having speed bumps every 100m on every single road in Malaysia.. that way we will never have the opportunity to go above the speed limit.. and it should cost cheaper as well.. but then again.. speed bumps don’t generate money.. AES cameras do..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
      • Alpha on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Really?? Seriously?? You want speedbumps every 100m on every single road in Malaysia? Speedbumps?

No matter which political party you’re representing one day, I will never cast a vote for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
        • flat_tire on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

why so serious..? never heard of sarcasm before..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
          • Alpha on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Ahh, it was sarcasm. Sorry, without the tone of the voice, I kinda sucks at understanding sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Keris Jawa on Aug 23, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Yes! Like in Ampang Jaya where I live now! I call the place Speedbump Republic. Come and experience it yourself. Every morning I send my kids to school and have to experience these stupid bumps 50 times! Anyway, I dig your mocking remark!

• Ruthless on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm

this is going to be a hot topic

• Jimmy on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm

I invest melalui tali, now rugi, tolong beli kompani I dengan harga tinggi, keuntungan nanti I bagi kopi seeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Should have done the right thing in the first place, from even before the start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • mustafa on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:57 pm

wow…that merc sudah kena @25kph speed limit area….siapa bawak kereta below 25kph?… memang skim cepat kaya lah kalau macam ini pun camera placement….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:20 am

got speed limit 25kph? even school area is only 30kph. where can this be, mortuary?

• Give me one area where there is AES camera with 25kph speed limit..if there is non u guy oni talk crap

• Wish you Good Luck everybody…..

• doktor on Aug 21, 2013 at 6:25 pm

suck it people, you all voted for it. or should I say, 47% of voters wanted it.
    There is ‘Endless Possibilities’ of places where this AES can be put.
    Yes, Janji Dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • kelyhoo on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:08 pm

for your info, most of those 47% who vote for it couldn’t care less as they are those rural folk who are poor enough to only own run down car that can’t even run proper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • Rather spend the money to built a proper and high quality flat surface road. U knw those lubang can cause lots of accident especially during the rain and after rain, the water will fill in the lubang and bcm a trap for motorists. And also shorter the lifespan of our vehicle’ tyres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Do u know that most road are under state control…oni federal road n highway under central gov.

• putting AES cameras at 25kph speed limit area to enforce the 25kph limit is the biggest bull shit i have seen.

Gov taking over the AES project from the 2 appointed companies will entail a huge amount of compensation payout?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Basikal Kental on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:33 pm

I often travel on my BMX passing that road over 30kph.
      Not a single speeding ticket I got.
      Oops I forget they cannot track or trace me…..

• Did you try to understand why the speed limit at the area is 25 kph?

• Where?

• by just putting aes at all speed limit 60km/h road,(more worst 30km/h limit,trust me it does exist!)
    u and i will pay all our salary every month just for this.

any one remember when was the last time u drive below 60km/h? or suicidal 30km/h?

the point is anyone can prove driving slow can prevent accident from happenning?
    If cannot,why all this crap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • doktor on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:31 pm

-the Mercedes in the picture above was caught speeding in a place with speed limit of 25km/h.
      -Our car nowadays are very efficient and just a very little tap on the accelerator, the car speed is already 100km/h.
      -Seriously what is the point of buying GTI then? Top speed of 230km/h. Where can you drive it legally??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Agreed, but that Mercedes above was actually a test.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:00 am

Drive it in Sepang Circuit la…
        hihihi…

• did u know SEPANG INTERNATIONAL circuit? yes u can bring ur car and speed all u want there. lol

• Where

• In case if this become a hot debate, I’ ll put this here to cool things down
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvYxXBMqEOM

• logic on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:46 pm

out of topic. is there any exception in our law for official cars to drive above speed limits? in addition the police riders will force other vehicles to pull asides.
    made me mad when police/jpj issued a summon coz not using sit belt although they also not using it. is there also an exception for them? -.-

• hantu on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:38 pm

if true, how much the big G need to compensate these 2 company? Remember crooked bridge compensation, anyone?

• gOOsh on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:11 pm

so… do I have to pay my RM300 AES saman? still yet paid since got the saman letter last year october…

• thomas on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:11 pm

25kph~~r u joking wif me?

• ComeOnLarrr on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:35 pm

People, for gods sake the picture stating the 25kph speed limit was the test picture when they were testing the AES lar…
    The lack of you people to realize that is so depressing. Or you lot just want to bash and bash and bash without even having a damn brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • govr taking over is just another trick to “pay” their high price to “brother” company, there goes our money again.

• Beatrice on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:04 am

lets sing “the thunder song”
    for those who dont know, click YouTube link below
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJOTbw2k-NE

• its really stressful to constantly monitor the speedometer during long journeys eg kl- ipoh and even trunk roads, twice i was flashed by AeS camera at Stim River even though driving at 90kmh, speed limit clearly indicated 110kmh, but just before the camera, some roadwork sign or something showing 6okmh, which sign to follow?

• Than the gomen should ban Potong from making Sper1ma turbo, and ban The Potong ads claiming able to sprint from 0-100kmh under 10 seconds, else they r hipocrites

• end user on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:19 am

From Seremban to JB no AES eh? better put to snap GTR, Merc etc from singapore ah.

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:09 am

And we fall to our knees, crying of sober sadness

• ahbeng on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:34 am

After 2 years or more, the gov will ‘privatize’ it in the name of efficiency.

you can bet on it.

• mason on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:53 am

“the pricipal and purposes of the Aes is to ensure safety”.well said,but the real purposes is making money..money ..money..the contractor claim an expensive camera,earn profit,the gov is juicing money from the fines..gov is using a kecelakaan to be an excuse to gain profit..really celaka

• totti on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:42 am

Good.Vote BN get AES.

• Chris on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:00 am

I’m going to risk getting flamed for this, but I think there’s a different way to improve the situation:

1. Scrap petrol subsidy, increase petrol quality
    2. Charge roadtax by weight and emission.
    3. Remove car excise duty
    4. Enforce minimum car safety standard
    5. Hire only highly trained professional as police.

Benefits:
    1. People will drive at sensible speed, or burn money.
    2. People will pick safer/cleaner cars
    3. Make market competitive. I believe it will actually force Proton to make better cars. You work harder when you are threatened.

Disadvantages:
    1. People who lawfully/unlawfully profited from existing situation might have to change their ways.

• If you do that, PROTON can tutup kedai….

• Chris on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:29 pm

I’m not so sure. My guess is that the local market share will go down, but foreign market share might go up *if* Proton actually fights to survive and their product is accepted elsewhere.

It might not be very “National” car anymore as some other big players might come and assimilate the Proton badge into their own maybe?

Perodua may go away, or become Toyota’s cheapo brand badge in the region…

• old dog on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:04 pm

that is exactly many other world doing but bolehland to protect our original M’s toy (now its another M’s baby)…they would let the road packed with cars and tols without a proper transport systems since they seldom even travel in the same road me and you everyday, and they have special open lane when travel…

• Joe Radzif on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:02 am

Well another circus show by the government
    just like PTPTN issue several days ago…

itu semua wayang….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Dear Najib on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:05 am

To be fair for all Malaysian.

AES should be franchise so any ordinary Malaysian could spend RM100k to invest for 1 AES camera for all traffic light junction.

If 1 day able to catch 100 red light runner or jump queue idiot at RM100/summon as profit. Its only take 10 days to breakeven.

This is the fair way we can educated our Malaysian driver and a good investment for the all the investor.

• old dog on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:02 pm

this picture shows exactly the flaw, now which road in Malaysia has 25KM/H speed limit…

The problem is the setting of those limit in a CORRECT location.

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:26 pm

problem is opportunity to make money…

the problem is: malaysian like to speeding

So, there is opportunity to make money

• Noname on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:09 pm

If u dont speed, u wont get summons. Company or govt wont get any money. So why u guys scared? Stupid traffic offenders!! Just obey the speed limit! AES is just the system to proof that u speeding. I pass by SKVE everyday n not getting summons even 1. Is that hard to follow rules? U want to speed, speed after AES zone. All the signboard is there to remind us..

• JDMftw on Aug 25, 2013 at 7:05 pm

They should use the money from fines to repair the roads, make better pedestrian lanes and put up better signboards !

Then only safety on roads will improve more

• MARKX on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:29 am

rakyat dimiskinkan.pencapaian dikebelakangkan.janji capati 1 kual dal n sambal banjir.
    only making money for their own pockets!