SPYSHOTS: Hyundai Veloster Turbo sighted at JPJ

hyundai-veloster-turbo-malaysia-jpj-12

We see many unlaunched Hyundais in Malaysia, thanks to Hyundai having a training centre here in Glenmarie. Some Hyundais that we’ve seen here but haven’t reported on include the Genesis, Genesis Coupe, and Azera – they were all here in left-hand drive form for training centre usage, but have no chance of being launched here in the near future because these cars aren’t made as right-hand drives in the first place.

But here’s one new Hyundai worth talking about. Not only is it an RHD car, but it was sighted at JPJ Putrajaya instead of in the vicinity of the training centre, which means it’s probably going to be launched soon, if them blokes at JPJ are having a go at it.

hyundai-veloster-turbo-malaysia-jpj-05

This is the Hyundai Veloster Turbo, powered by a turbocharged 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI engine producing 186 hp and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. That’s a big power bump over the normal 132 PS/158 Nm Veloster, which was launched here in November 2012. A peek into the interior shows an automatic gear shifter, which means this car is the six-speed auto version.

You can differentiate the Hyundai Veloster Turbo from the regular Veloster not just by the Turbo badging on the rear – the Turbo model gets a more aggressive front and rear end, with a larger grille at the front and larger round-shaped tail pipes at the rear.

The non-turbo Veloster was sighted at JPJ Putrajaya in September 2012 and was launched in November 2012. That’s a short time between the sighting and the eventual launch. If the Veloster Turbo follows similar timing, could we see it make an appearance at KLIMS?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow that rear is really a big as*.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • As of all Korean cars, over done, overly busy with heavy make up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
    • So ugly! is like a octopus or UFO! Suprima new friend but who’s is the ugliest winner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
  • Kimchi on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Faster than Suprima. Take that Suprima owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 20
    • BLT CLUB on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:02 pm

You comparing with Suprima? Not to ambitious/bright are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
      • No la bro, jz tat nowadays mny of paultan’s blog sections have so mny claims tat ‘suprima is faster’ or better…haha…I think most of the pages of updated news will hv this kinda things pop up…it suprima tat wanna compare wit others… :)

• dunso on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Suprima engine is not GDI, that’s why lesser power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Facebook on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:58 am

Suprima engine is not GDI??? Then what is it???Do you know what is GDI???
        GDI = Gasoline Direct Injection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
      • salgoodguy on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:10 am

at these day..creature like you still exist?

• fpser on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Suprima engine use multiport injection, not GDI. Tell that to vios engine, same engine for decade, why no turbocharge?

• Alamak on Oct 07, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Alamak apa pasal dengan campro turbo,gdi etc. To run a GDDi engine you need high octane fuel or at least you need to tune it with our existing euro2 fuel. Also campro turbo yeah it is turbocharged but the engine was modified to cater for that turbo. Look at the torque curve for the na campro engines. They’re rubbish when climbing steep gradients. Problem is the cvt gearbox cannot withstand high toque, thus the lower power output. (Campro turbo)As for Toyota engines they’re old tech(by today’s standard) but at least they’re built to last, and the power output are wayyyy more than enough for most people. If you don’t like it don’t buy it.
            Same with Peugeot’s 1.6 turbo engine. They’re powerful but they’re horrible fuel guzzlers. That’s why it is your money your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • tinmilo on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:22 pm

why compare turbo vs n.a engine? with same displacement of course turbo engine wins whether turbo petrol or turbo diesel.

n.a campro engine is not that bad, the cps has corrected the torque dip in older campro engine (without cps).

vios engine has good acceleration from standstill but saga has better rolling acceleration

• Bob_B78 on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:40 am

Preve/Suprima is a sub 80k car, whereby this car will be around sub 150k. Can you compare something that similar to sub 150k car? Personally I would categorize preve/suprima as B segment and Inspira as C segment bcoz of their pricing range. Veloster is a C segment car. Perhaps you should wait a R3 version of preve/suprima/inspira then start your bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
      • Chris on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:49 am

I don’t mean to be rude, but do you even know what the car segment means?

Civic = 4525(L) x 1755(W) x 1435(H)–> C segment
        Suprima = 4536(L) x 1786(W) x 1524(H) –> B??

What did I miss? Since when car segment become segment of price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Fendy on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:22 pm

think that worth an ‘Ha Ha!’ .. .::kiki::.

• Bob_B78 on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Yes i am aware of the dimension of the car that designate the segments. But one can’t help it the pricing is also a very important factor. Normally, when a new car launches the 1st thing u ask is how much? only then u start asking for the spec. And yet, you always see ppl comparing Vios,City, Forte with preve/suprima. All bcos of pricing. This indication shows that majority ppl categorize preve/suprima as B segement car, not C segment as it should be. In other words is all about pricing, no longer dimension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • goggler on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Pricing based segments is only applicable in Mesia, the whole world still uses the size/dimension

• Chris on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Again, not to be rude, cars by A/B/C/D segments are European car size segments. While they do not have a clear regulation on sizing, that doesn’t mean you can just said otherwise because you think so.

It’s as ridiculous as calling a Ford Mustang an economy car.

the i10 is A segment, Accent/i20 would be B segment, Elantra/Veloster would be C.

Suprima/Preve is a C segment car competing with B segment cars in term of price range. Being a bigger C segment car is an advantage for Suprima when it comes to the 80k price range, but that doesn’t make it a B segment at all. You can’t just make things up because you think so.

• r u sure oni in bolehland?

hint : ASEAN

• kivatt0024 on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:08 pm

only in malaysia bro….

• Taah Merah on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Super Ugly !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 51
  • roxas on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:12 pm

ou yes ! hot !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • benzs on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Another kimchi around the corner! Tough luck! Better get Crz better than this, hybrid vs turbo? Not to compare speed but in term of environment friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 72
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:43 pm

CR-Z goes against Veloster and Scirocco, and which is quite value compare to these 2. But Mugen CR-Z RR is the one compare to Veloster Turbo, and there is no such thing as Scirocco GTi. But it’s a shame that Honda don’t introduce Typr-R into CR-Z.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • kivatt0024 on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:10 pm

i think if honda really make the supercharged CR-Z…this could be a good fight between these hatch…

• Fredo Type R on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:51 am

CRZ is a better car in many ways la…
          tho this veloster has more power i bet CRZ will win around corners anytime lah…google sepang lap time record n u will understand what i mean here…
          CRZ is a much more refined car than this kimchi pop-star….

• mason on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:31 pm

wow.hyundai really know how a majority driver thinking…such sporty car should have a turbo..then here it come..very nice…love it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Alpha on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Not a fan of Korean cars, but this car is getting quite famous in the US. I’ve been told that the power and handling is good compared to other Korean cars. They have quite a lot of modification parts for this car there.

Oh, and I’m only talking about the Turbo version though. The base level Veloster feels sluggish and underpowered to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Not only famous in US, it is flooded in Brunei City as well, this is really popular in Brunei, Second goes to forte koup for middle class people.. rich brunei ppl will choose bmw or merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Sky pirate on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:56 am

Cough… BS! Turbo or non turbo are not getting good reviews! Go read more reviews! The Veloster turbo has a dreadful auto gear box, and let me start talking about the handling. It is almost universally agreed that all this car has for it is the looks (which I don’t think is attractive). So it is probably more worth it to get the non turbo for show, the turbo is a waste of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Painter on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Veloster Turbo or Citroen DS5? Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • sepul on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:20 pm

This is something nice. Perhaps Sime Darby was anticipating Naza launching the 208 GTi this week and touting this as direct competition. Maybe pricing will be close between the two. Hopefully the specs is done right.

Btw, I wonder if the engine can run euro 2.

• Hmm…i wonder if they will come in with a manual version…it will be super sweet if they do

• If more then 200K! Better buy a NISSAN 370Z “RECOND”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Gegary on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:51 am

Sure, if you want to pay around RM4K every single year for road tax.

• The Original Maserati on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:33 pm

This car looks so cheapo … especially from the side view. Crappy NA Veloster already so expensive,this turbo junk from Korea is gonna be even more expensive.

Nobody is gonna buy this piece of crap lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
    • Hadi75 on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:23 am

So terrer….looking from side view already know the car is cheapo…..from picture somemore……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Base Veloster isn’t cheap to start with, I think this might priced same as European car.

• Josh Ling on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:58 pm

now that’s truly style meets substance!! at least now it is fast!!

• seancorr on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:00 am

Top spec non turbo selling at RM132k so we expect this to retail around RM150k? That’s awful a lot of money for a car like this.

• jeremy on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:42 am

So, the excuse for them not bringing GDI engines for the latest Kia/Hyundai because our fuel quality is low are unfounded? SD/NAZA just want to save money and continue screwing Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • RedCRZ on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:53 am

The NA velobster is a disappointment to begin with… Felt sluggish when test drove, Undesirable badge n surprisingly expensive for a korean.

I x know how this 1 fare though…

Meh… Ill stick with my manual cr-z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • I dont mind the front, but from the sides, the quarter end looks like its been dragged. The rear wheels are too far back, plus the bulbous end makes it look like it was morphed halfway and their PC got stuck. Like the front, hate the rear.

• That’s nice to see and hear veloster is coming with turbo. But if the price is above150k, I would rather get a german techology like Volkswagen golf 1.4 tsi , polo gti and a beetle. These also comes with turbo and some more with 7 speed DSG ! So sime darby, if you really wanna compete in the market, pls price this wisely then I will only believe they will be good sell for this car.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:17 pm

But the car you’ve pointed out is significantly slower and not so fun nor good looking like Veloster Turbo did. And Korean car these day mostly are European car with Korean badge, probably German too.
      VW produce good car, but value for money? It’s Bullsh*t!

• A pussy cat trying to be fiercy..lol

• axel_stig on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:38 am

TIMXANDER b like: shut up and take my money!!

• benzs on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:03 am

Went to Brunel to survey car. All Bmw price range from 35k till 85k for 1 series till 5 series. Cheaper n affordable. Brunei rate $1 = rm2.56. Now they were doing promo as well. So salesman say can minus a liitle somemore. Very nice! Veloster r mostly own by youngster n price I dint survey Kimchi.

• Just got back frm brunei laat week, the highest spec for velo is around $B33k equal to RM90k, but brunei lacking of soul tho.. entertainment close to none and u cant buy even a single ciggie, say what?

• namanama on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:40 am

2nd pic.Is that Megane?Or trying hard to be Megane?LOL

• omgomgomg on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:56 am

OMG!!!Luckily i didn’t order for the 1.6 premium version last friday. hahahahaha CAN’T WAIT TO BUY THISSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kimchi on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:15 am

It will be good if they can bring in the kimchi turbo in but looking at Sime records, they will sure spec it with 2 airbags and price it at eg>180k.

I am not so fond of this hyundai veloster shape but i must praise that the kia pro’ceed GT look much better. Now if only Naza bring it in and price it below rm150k, that will be sweet :)

Sime will only spec it with 2 airbags and price it at rm180k.

• norman on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:29 am

Some folks forgot that Campro cfe is only a light pressure single unit turbo thus only 140ps/205nm limited due to the cvt3 that limit the rev for prolong use,install racechip also produce 162ps/241nm but this GDI twin scroll high pressure twin scroll turbo its different thus the higher output and high maintence,As usual Hyundai and Kias cars state higher power output to compensate their heavy chassis but in real world terms the power is just like those PSA twin scroll turbo 1.6 engine that produce 158ps/240nm

• Bob_B78 on Oct 07, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Have to agree with you on the turbo thing.
      Test drive a Jetta and the impression is like:
      Wa…so this is what 160 ps feels like!!!!!

Test drive a K5 later and the impression is..
      Eh…. this is what 165 ps feels like????

My point is Korean seems to state their engine power higher than Japanese/European but doesn’t really feel so.

This is not comparison between C & D segment. But rather on similar engine power output. Both cars weight roughly the same though K5 is a bigger car.

I wouldn’t put my bet on Veloster out running any European/Japanese in this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Turbocharge will feel faster than NA due to the surge in high torque at low rpm. So to compare a 165 ps NA with a 160ps turbo,of course the turbo will feel faster and nicer to drive on the road due to abundance of low end torque pull from turbo engine.

• kentji on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:53 pm

you’re missing out the 40 torque difference = =
        k5 did state their torque to be 198 and jetta is 240

• higher torque will have faster pick up, hence bigger change in speed in shorter time, you will feel your back stick to the seat due to inertia.

horse power mean how much work the engine can do and reflected on the top speed of the vehicle.

a polo tsi 1.2 may be feel fast at initial but eventually will be overtake by K5 due to higher top speed.

and to get the torque of 198nm in K5,you must rev the engine to around 6000rpm where in jetta,you get 240nm at only around 1400rpm.

so NA cant compare to turbo.

• @norman
      don’t say cfe can do 162ps/241nm, later many proton bashers will get butthurt, lol

*just wait for suprima R3 manual*

• Johnny on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:07 pm

IMO, Front looks very good. But back looks ugly beyond description, unless you’re into sci-fi. But should be a fun car to drive!

• For some car makers, having a turbo engine is an important achievement they should show to everyone by displaying big “TURBO” logo at the rear.

Meanwhile, other more established car makers will just only produce a different variant for the turbocharged engine, and people will know that the car is turbocharged without the need to show anything that is too obvious.

• stone cold on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:52 pm

hell yeah hyundai.cool car with turbo.hope to test drive it when it arrives. Hyundai fans hurray!!

• Syafiq Jaffar on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:27 pm

This is a good example of Rakyat sport car

• rigid on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:50 pm

its parked in the P(KA) parking lot. Pengarah Kejuruteraan Automotif(director of Automotive Enggineering). You can email him for any details.

• _xXx_ on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:22 pm

turbo but with AUTO GEAR BOX? Then the old AT Wira is a better buy…

• gdntsk on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Really or not??

If I’m not mistaken, Hyundai’s GDI engines are not tuned to suit Euro2 fuel, they need minimum Euro4

• 160K can go for Golf TSI, Ford Kuga dan lain-lain :)

• Fredo Type R on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:57 am

Bring it on!
    its always good to have more variety

• huehue on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Airbagss… if hyundai standard 2.. hope this one will not come in 2 airbags…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:25 pm

This kimchi is not even in Sam’s approved list for trade in.

Good luck to those that buys this kimchis.

The 2 kimchis that have comparatively good trade in value are Elantra and Sonata.

Forget about K5/K3/Cerato/Sportage & Carnival/Naza Ria

• caltkk on Sep 13, 2014 at 4:45 pm

did veloster turbo come with manual in malaysia? or just A/T?