Hyundai Genesis launched in Korean market

Hyundai Genesis for Korean Domestic Market

Hyundai Motor has unveiled a version of the Hyundai Genesis sedan for the Korean domestic market at its Namyang R&D Center in Hwaseong. It will begin full-scale production in South Korea this month and wil hit the Korean showrooms in early January. It will be launched in China and the US within the first half of 2008.

The Hyundai Genesis will feature two V6 engines (3.3 litre and 3.8 litre) and a 375hp V8 engine and will be priced from under US$30,000 to right under US$40,000. It is built on a new rear wheel drive chassis.

Comparitively, the BMW 5-Series costs between US$44,300 for the 6 cylinder 528i model up to US$58,500 for the V8-powered 550i sedan.

Hyundai Genesis Sedan Concept
Hyundai Concept Genesis Coupe

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:11 am

it resembles so much like a c-class front, god the copycats

• aizat (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:12 am

the headlights is just like 3 series’…………

• timber8115 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:20 am

at a glance, look like nissan sentra… the older version… and look again like bemmer 3series.. body… like jaguar DNA… i myself oso confused…. so many genes inside…hahahah..

(did hyundai head hunt for people from these companies? j/king (^_^)

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:38 am

Receive & Duplicate.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:40 am

hmmm genesis… hyundai combing so many genes….
    Honda – rear lamp profile
    Nissan – front ‘face’
    Mercedes – grill
    BMW 3 – front light
    BMW – Hofmeister kink
    BMW 5 – bonnet line profile
    Jaguar – overall flow (front to back)

The new name should the be JagBimMercNisHondai……

• mattyboy (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:59 am

Paul – thanks for reminding us that a 528i only costs Rm150k to buy in the USA :-s

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:12 pm

OMG! SangYong Chairman? Or S Class IMITATION? Can Benz sue them for copyright issue?

• capricorn (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:20 pm

Thanks for remind us also that partial of the malaysians are richer than most of the Americans.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:24 pm

lolz…..a much less copycat to almost none concept turns out to be multi-cat production car…….adui koreans.

mattyboy,
    trust me, RM150k or USD44k sounds really nice, but its not in reality.
    cars maybe low taxed there, but the income tax and cost of living kills u till u have nothing much to spend on car installments.
    FYI, when lexus launched the LS600h…price tag around USD100k thats only RM340k here…..their target market was buyers with networth of USD5mil thats RM17mil? so what does it take for someone to own a USD44k car?…at least a networth of USD1-2mil?
    even a malaysian here can buy a RM44k car without having a networth of RM100k…..what say u?

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:28 pm

hyundai genesis.. nice.. i like da curves on its body although its quite similar to BMW, jaguar, mercedes.. etc.. i dun deny dat the front part really look like mercedes benz c class + bmw 3 series and the the side window look like 5 series.. but nowdays, its hard for R&D teams of automotive manufacturers to find something new n 100% original.. imagine that up to today, there are million types of car produced. so, da possibilities for them to apply designs of other cars r there.. plus, the designs of those bmws n benzs r good, so, designers tend to create something similar to those good cars.. even humans copy each other to look good ie: fashion. but still, originalities still can be found in the car.. so, this is the way for them to step higher to compete with those european brands. im juz giving my opinions here.. hope the car will enter malaysia soon below RM 140 (something like sonata).. cheers! =) =)

• capricorn (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:43 pm

I’m agree with you, arcana.
    However, lets say both a Malaysian and an American left USD 200 of balance in the bank account by the end of the month.
    You guest who is the one can afford to pay the car monthly installment for a better, safer and more reliable car?

• mrm (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 3:41 pm

I think its not appropriate to make comparison solely on car price between US and Malaysia or between any 2 countries. You have to understand the WHOLE SYSTEM, and all countries systems’ work very differently.

If you want car price to be low like US, then other things need to be changed as well. But in terms purchasing power parity (PPP), on average, the middle class in the US are may be BETTER OFF than the middle class group in Malaysia. Forget the top part, they are not affected by anything…. they have too much money in their mouth anyway.

Back to Malaysia, yes someone with net worth less than RM100k can buy RM44k car, but ask how long do banks tie us up for??? 7, 9 or 10 years?? These long HP is unheard of in those Western countries. They can afford cars CASH without too much headache. Their headache is may be on the cost of living but so are we, since everything only go up these days.

• kington (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 3:45 pm

Those headlamps are sooo copied from the E90 3 Series…. but with those horizontal grills from the C-Class, i think this car does look fine.

• owaief (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 3:48 pm

they should’ve just produced the concept.. at least the concept looks 100% original… whats wrong with hyundai anyway? the lower intake looks like a ripoff of mercedes!!!

• Max88 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Good effort by Hyundai but still unconvincing enough.
    Rather boring and tired.
    The designer must be listening too much Phil Collins songs.

• mattyboy (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 5:09 pm

Arcana – having lived, worked and bought cars in the US, UK and Malaysia let me tell you I would take the US’s pricing first, UK’s 2nd and Malaysia, well you all know about that!

• Ashtaron286 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Hello all…please to meet all….I’m new here.

So the first comment from me…
    The Genesis is more a like the W221 S class…great copy and paste..then edit abit here and there…violla!!….the Genesis…

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 6:28 pm

oh this is a crap design for luxury class market… i wonder there will still be those out there who willing to throw their money on this car though…

• arcana (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 8:29 pm

mattyboy – i do agree with that…..how i wish we had cheaper cars eventhough the price is not as good as those in western countries.

mrm – wat to do….malaysia cant compare with US nor UK if any aspect….far behind i’d say….HP beyond 5-6 years is already a nightmare…..crazy loans.

at least hyundai is making an effort to penetrate into all market segments….lots of choices from them……10 years time, they’ll be a true global competitor, but for now….its still a multicopy-cat car.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:56 pm

albagmane said,
    December 6, 2007 @ 6:28 pm

oh this is a crap design for luxury class market… i wonder there will still be those out there who willing to throw their money on this car though…
    —-

Who ever said that this is for the luxury class market? It is more for the middle class who wants more luxury. Whatever people say how it copycats, you can’t deny that it offers the best value for money for a brand new car.

• Ashtaron286 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:59 pm

Definitely the same gene used to create W221 S-class was used to create this Genesis…..only S-class far more better….no so damn far better…

By the way I’m new around here…so hi to every car lovers here…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 10:34 pm

“hmmm genesis… hyundai combing so many genes….
    Honda – rear lamp profile
    Nissan – front ‘face’
    Mercedes – grill
    BMW 3 – front light
    BMW – Hofmeister kink
    BMW 5 – bonnet line profile
    Jaguar – overall flow (front to back)”

Seriously, either you guys are just nitpicking, or have really too much imagination.

You have to realise, that with so many cars and design language around, the only way to design a car that is truely unique is to make it really UGLY…(ahem…E60/E65).

I’d really like to watch these nitpickers go buy an ugly BUT unique car….
    Lets design a car with crosseyed headlights….yeah…no…wait..that was done already.

As for price, this starts at V6 Honda Accord prices. Hyundai may only aspire to BMWs, but thier real competition target is the G35. They know they will not match up (at least in the near future) to the propeller and the 3 pointed star, so they are playing the japanese game.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:09 pm

hyee ashtaron..welcome..

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 12:00 am

Good job Hyunda!! Although many people said that it is juz a cpoy-cat but at least it combine it from many cars… I luv Genesis!! Go and beat the Toyota and Lexus!

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:34 am

Nice attempt, but then if you say you like it, other people would think its a cut and paste car

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 4:38 am

It looks like the last generation of merc S class…it looks elegant…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 10:31 am

the exterior design derived from few other cars, haha……

but not bad, very nice….

• abtm (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 10:59 am

common korea, you can do better than copying!!!

• ah liew (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 11:39 am

well it’s the old saying, if you can’t afford a mercedes buy korean!

• szw (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 3:11 pm

going upmarket

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 8:36 pm

ya lo.. juz like da 2004/2005 sonata radio adverstisement.. they say da sonata look like jaguar la, benz la.. etc.. haha.. if cant afford european things, we can go for asian.. haha~!! but i hope da price wont be dat high la.. since its a 3.3 n 3.8, i hope da price wont be dat high.. but honestly, this is a nice car derived frm other manufacturers.. at least they did something good here.. maybe korean like this car n so am i.. cheers~!! =)

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 8:39 pm

opps.. suddenly i recall myself about ssangyong kyron.. some says its a weird looking car.. but most korean have no problem with it.. haha.. (i think im going out of topic but i juz wanna share something here~ haha..) cheers~!! =)

• lembagatanah (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 10:14 am

no matter la copycat or not, it looks good to me, emphasize more on quality

• nmh (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:45 pm

crap….where are those nice concept

• Good job Hyundai (world largest ship builders to car makers)…….rear wheel drive from Korea…. wait till you see the Genesis Coupe… it's awesome…..

• Thomas on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:54 am

This car appeared the Hyundai Mega Motor show in One Utama I guess…

• price of a 3 Series, Power of a 5 Series and comfort of a 7 Series….

but one question lingers in my mind…If Hyundai were capable of making a handsome car like the genesis or the coupe why did they waste our time with all the other rubbish?…