Hyundai Veloster: three variants, RM117k-133k

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has launched the Hyundai Veloster in Malaysia – the car, which made its official debut earlier this evening, has been much-awaited to say the least, having supposed to arrive in Q1 this year.

In any case, it’s finally here, it’s arrival already hinted at last week. Three variants of the novel three-door (or 2+1) coupe are be available here, these being the Veloster Gamma 1.6 M/T, Gamma 1.6 A/T and 1.6 A/T Premium.

All are powered by a normally-aspirated 1.6 litre Gamma D-CVVT engine, mated to either a six-speed auto and a six-speed manual transmission. Output numbers for the MPI mill are 132 PS at 6,300 rpm and 158 Nm at 4,850 rpm.

The manual is the entry-level offering of the range, and in terms of equipment shares most of the same kit with the standard auto version.

Common to both are 17-inch five-spoke alloys wrapped with 215/45 series tyres, smart key with start-stop ignition, fog lamps and a seven-inch TFT touchscreen, six-speaker audio system.

Both versions also feature manual air-conditioning and fabric seats (with an option to upgrade to leather for RM2,000 more), and in terms of safety the manual makes do with dual airbags and ABS. The auto version adds on ESP, VSM (vehicle stability management) and HAC (hill-start assist control). All variants come with a high mounted rear spoiler.

Going the Premium route throws in a fair bit more. The variant wears larger 18-inch alloys and 215/40 rubbers, and the complex surface reflector headlamps of the basic manual/auto versions are replaced by LED projection headlamps.

The rear lamps are also different, the ones on the Premium being LED combination units. It also gets leather seats, and the entertainment system adds on a centre speaker, subwoofer and external amplifier as well as Bluetooth hands-free capability (with a dedicated switch on the steering wheel)

That’s not all the Premium gets – there’s also a panoramic sunroof, full auto AC, and reverse camera. Incidentally, the wheels on the Premium feature inlays that is colour-matched to the body shade.

Speaking of exterior shades, the Veloster is available in six colours, these being solid White Crystal, Sleek Silver, Sonic Silver (both metallic), Veloster Red, Green Apple and Vitamin C, the last three all three pearl finishes.

The eagle-eyed among you will probably notice a different bodykit on the white example in the photos; that’s the kit from the Turbo variant, but it’s just to dress up the particular launch vehicle, and isn’t available for sale here.

Pricing-wise, the manual Veloster goes for RM116,888, while the auto version is priced at RM121,888. The Premium auto, meanwhile, retails for RM132,888. The car comes with a five-year or 300,000 km extended warranty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• encik boss on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:04 pm

mahal! awek x lawa!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 15
    • Alvin on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:05 pm

The price for this car is similar to Elantra’s pricing everywhere else in the world. Hence it should be priced between RM90K-RM100K. How did Sime Darby manage to slap on an extra RM33K is beyond me.

Nobody in their right mind would pay so much for a 1.6 NA engine Korean car. Even the arrogant Japanese makes in Malaysia didn’t try to use this tactic on us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 8
      • Jonathan Lee on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Why? Because this car is imported from Korea; the Elantra is locally-assembled. The only reason why the CR-Z is so cheap is because it is tax-exempt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 60
        • Power8003 on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:04 am

Who tell u that CRZ RM125 for auto is cheap. Pls do some research before give ur comments. In oversea, CRZ and insight not much diff in prices. the most USD1-2k only…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:36 am

It’s RM119,000 with insurance. You should be the one doing the research.

Anyway I wasn’t talking about overseas, I was talking about here. I know Honda Malaysia charges an exorbitant premium for the CR-Z compared to other countries, but it’s still pretty cheap compared to most other coupés and hatchbacks sold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:28 am

Don’t talk about Sime Darby pricing. Look at Toyota, the Camry is priced at Rm180k and that also got no ESC/VSC. Rm180,000 for a CKD Made in Malaysia Toyota. 10 years ago, you get get a BMW 5 series for that price. Now you know why the resale value of Toyota is dropping like mad because people have realised, the original prices of Toyota cars make no sense or logic with very low safety features

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 6
      • Carowner on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Why people like to question business on how they price their product. It is totally their business decision, whether it will sell or not is their problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
        • DonkeyKong on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Malaysians will complain, but still buy. Malaysians have no guts to boycott those brands, because we always think that other brands won’t be as reliable or won’t have good 2nd-hand value. Meanwhile, these car distributors are getting richer and richer with thicker and thicker margins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Modlemax on Dec 01, 2012 at 5:31 pm

On the same note, you have no business asking why people ask these questions. Moron…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • JUNJUN on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Satri R3 better than this haiyayayayaiai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 22
      • DonkeyKong on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Poor value-for-money and with a lousy engine + gearbox combo to boot. Drove the N/A Veloster in Brunei. The car may look sporty, but it drives like a Persona. Far, far better to get a Peugeot 308. Even the Preve drives far better than this car, totally serious! Not kidding!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
      • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:21 pm

need me to tell u where does the 33k go?

• twincharger07 on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:07 pm

with that price, lets see wat other alternative fun n spirited driving cars we can get

similiar coupe
      1) honda crz
      2) kia koup

turbo charge conti
      1) vw polo
      2) vw beetle
      3) pug 308T
      4) pug 408t
      5) citreon c4

4 door saloon with 2.0 engine
      1) civic 2.0
      2) ford focus
      3) Mazda 3 2.0
      4) Mit lancer 2.0

many better alternative..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 310 Thumb down 5
      • Kalun on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:50 pm

If add on anothr 50k, can get a yummy goodness
        Ford Focus ST with Twin clutch and direct injection.

But just wonder why SD hyundai didn’t bring the Direct injection turbo? Better off with Kia Koup instead eventhough it’s aging. Or just wait for the new goodness 2013 Kia Forte Koup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • veezo on Dec 01, 2012 at 10:41 am

i doubt it, focus st costs 209K. it only comes in manual. are you referring to polo gti?

• twincharger07_LYN on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:21 pm

geezz.. some one copy and paste my comment here from Lowyat.net, summore curi my nick..
        copy contain and nickname bulat bulat..

anyway.. pretty disappointed with the premium spec.. was expecting surprises like 1.6 GDI.. I would expect it will be very rare on the road, very niche market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • VW Lover on Dec 01, 2012 at 5:20 am

Why you didn’t put Inspira under 4 door saloon with 2.0 engine. Drove it and it feels good too with RM90k. :)

The remaining money can re-modified the car :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
        • 1 Malaysia on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:21 am

so the cacat; tak cukup pintu :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:26 am

90k for that inspira is expensive hence it doesn’t fall into these 3 categories…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • how can we put proton into the list??no one in other countries will buy that
          .they will rather buy a mitsubishi lancer

• JUNJUN on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:42 pm

PROTON SATRIA R3?
        hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Satria, CPS, Neo, R3. Do you know how many different combinations u can have with these 4 letters? 4D kakis should know well.

• just buy if u interested, if u consider other alternatives u will never get it.

• _xXx_ on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:12 pm

mengandung plak tu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Ash Menon on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:31 pm

kan? I was wondering why they made her wear something like that when her stomach is obviously not flat.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Looks like men in drag. Are these ladyboys?

• Sirim on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Now compare this new car (I know it’s not a turbo and not perfect and little pricey) with the R3 Satria Neo. You immediately see where proton is against the competition. Hyundai releases a new bold design while proton rehashes a 10 year old car.

Get out proton. You’re making us sick. Back to real cars now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 102
      • jay8393 on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:38 am

The Neo makes more sense than this. Who would want to buy a car that is neither practical nor impractical? One extra door? Why not just make it a strict 3-door or 5-door?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • They design the door facing to the safety side.So we won’t be so unlucky.

• If I would have to decide between ONE Veloster and TWO Satria’s for the same money, I would go for the two Satria’s. One for me, one for my wife.

I won’t spend the double price only for a recent design… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Weird…price is reasonable but i still think this car is kinda expensive ! maybe is not the straight H badge i mean the similar one sushi badge lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
    • Mozilla Chrome on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:28 am

Better wait for 2013 Kia pro_cee’d. And just put our hopes it will be priced below 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Kalun on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Sorry brother! Kia Ceed/Pro Ceed is only for European market.
        No chance to come here.

• Yeah thanks to all those ‘strong’ Korean supporters. Koreans now thnk they can price their cars like the Japanese. Worst still, manual air cond with 2 airbags for a 1.6 NA engine??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…so cool & nice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • Waiting for Preve Hatchback to Counter it! and pawn Veloster lousy engine + gearbox = lousy drivetrain.
      With the price of RM55k to RM70k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Tall Pan on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:57 am

i love how Hyundai likes to do things differently. [sarcasm]

for example, how they brought in this car with crap specs, and clearly how they used drag queens as the awek (or should i say bapok??)

• sudonano on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:06 pm

I actually have that Lime Green Veloster model, they were giving out in the preview yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
  • Moshi Moshi on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm

nice~~!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 57
  • Neyoo on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm

wow, for a Korean made..ambitious price tag!!!

still, looks good thou.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • omnomnom on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Wheres the turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • daniel on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm

130k and non turbo..

Sime Darby did it again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
    • BMW BEST on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:27 pm

140k you also get an accord/camry with no turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 81
      • Katak on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm

At least those are 2L engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
      • dadada on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:36 pm

At least Camry or accord are 2.0 . 1.6 Hyundai at 120k . Sry. Rather get forte koup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
      • u can get a golf tsi or jetta with just a bit more. And u get twincharge summore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Exactly! Jetta can outrun and out-handle the mediocre Korean and Japanese contenders anytime!

• retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 4:47 pm

sushi fans here,yet I have to agree with you.

• San Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:56 pm

1 yr later, Camry/Accord still retain 85% or more rv.

This kimci? 40% would be too overvalued

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 41
      • 1 Malaysia on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:33 pm

camry can retain good value; but accord cannot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • u cannot make any profit from selling your second hand car, buy for life and keep it as collection.

• japan has taken the car sales over decades.and it is korea time to fights back.if your using korea phone brand,pls dot call korea things kimchi,otherwise you are using kimchi

• power of dream on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:43 pm

aiyoo this guy…are you Korean? looks desperately acting like Koran patriot.Kesian.

• Quite expensive. By the way, is that chick model above pregnant? Just wondering…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • Ekspresi Ruang on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:11 pm

pakai sampai reput…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Maocheng LEE on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:14 pm

does it equipped with cruise control?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:16 pm

There’s no mention of it in the brochure or release, so it looks like no.

• Queen on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Sime Darby won’t sell things cheap. Just look at Sime property houses in Bukit Jelutong , BMW cars , SJMC medical bills etc etc.

• sam loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:16 pm

why no turbo version? idiots gotta be bashing about this not so powerful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • veloster turbo need to use fuel that little more powerful than 97 (malaysia).97 in the turbo is just like ..something …not good.95,will just spoiled
      your engine

• no direct injection?

• Shedvtec on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Gov tax killing this korean beauty..i wish Hyundai Genesis also brought here but without tax..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Kalun on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Hyundai Genesis is even more expensive. Dream on la. Only can afford the cheaper but similar Toyota 86.
      Hyundai Genesis cost twice the price of 86. Is it worth it to buy? It given a choice between A Nissan GTR and a Toyota 86.

• excuse,genesis is about comfort

• retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 4:53 pm

xxxx,Im asking you,who the hell would buy a coupe and want a comfort?and hell yes…genesis has being smoked by Japs coupe over and over again..

• gmorque on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Correction.. this time its not about gov tax.. its all about sime darby’s stupid pricing.. bodos..

• again, strip down version for manual box. when this practise will stop?

as if its not enough for them to take away the excitement by bringing in non-turbo version…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • lonelyobserve on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm

This is the mindset for car dealers in Boleh Land. Knowing manual gearbox not very popular mind as well just strip down some accessories and equipments just to make the car’s sales can be a bit better.

• CARtoon on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:35 pm

seriously. and to think of the Polo GTi at 130k plus previously was a steal. oh well….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • True the polo Gti was a real good deal looking back before tax increase!

• PauKaya on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:38 pm

a bit weird when the cheapest version is the one to have. not a bad thing haha. though i wished there was a manual version with better specs though.

• lonelyobserve on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Again it is the mindset of the car dealers here. Providing manual gearbox as an option just to please those hardcore manual gearbox lovers (including me :D) or else those dealers will be questioned by the minorities like hell.

• why dont sime darby launch the new hyundai verna/accent first? im sure the market for verna/accent is more huge than this veloster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Kalun on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Agree with you. Hyundai Accent should be release about NOW! Same goes with Kia Rio.
      But most probably Malaysian would prefer Kia Rio instead.
      Sorry for breaking the news, Hyundai Accent look hideous from the back. Sorry again! Kia is still the choice.

• I actually think the new santa fe would also be a better bet than this over priced car.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

i will go to honda cr-z than this kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
    • retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 4:56 pm

please do…get the manual one..smoke this stupid car.hahaha

• 138 hp/158 NM, Only dual airbags(I expected more), and no cruise control.
    I still am not sold on the front looks. And there is no premium manual[sad for me] so no automatic airconds or fanciful DRL for my kind. I actually expected more from The Kimchis.
    Nah ,I’ll personally prefer the CRZ manual. And I stress not because it has an upright H or RV. But because I prefer that minimalistic design and futuristic interior(altough loosing out a door and proper back seats) and compare with the Veloster manual price, better spec (a rare victory for the Japanese Marque in this comparison) .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • gmorque on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Again.. please dont blame the koreans.. blame sime darby for stupid pricing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • I am not blaming the Koreans.
        Along with the Jazz Hybrid CKD, I am not blaming the Japs either.
        Is the Malaysian that I blame[sounds kinda rude]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • dont blame korea

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:46 pm

wtf 130k. Ford Focus laaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Sime Darby just killed the Veloster, way too expensive and lackluster engine. CR-Z is a better choice nuffsaid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • isnt this car was used in the Korean drama “City Hunter”. the one lee min ho was using? awesome :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • all looks but no ba**s this car..still, its selling point wud be its aesthetics..chics wud dig it I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • p308t on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:19 pm

with current political temperature, distributor got easy way out in capturing greedy profit when ppl just blame the govt tax if any new car is priced high.

lets think objectively. is the engine power or exterior design or interior equipment justified with its tag price vs. its class in Msia & country assembled origin? if all answers are no then u already know who benefit rather than victimized from the pricing strategy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • thebugbud on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:24 pm

looks funny on those pricing… btw, a vw scirocco is supposed to be cheaper than vw golf gti but here, it’s 30k+ more.

think hard and smart before parting your hard earn money cuz behind it all, the super rich is getting even richer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • way to expensive, and premium spec even goes 132K,im just speechless on SD ambitious.

• I think white color more beautiful than others for this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • Lee Syameer on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Ehmmm will this car sell like a hot cake? Yes if the price tag is lower but at this price, I doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • hahaha…that kind of pricing and just the NA version. Better get the Honda CRZ if u need this type of car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • i definitely will buy that car if the price is including those girls.haha

• I wont part my money for this korean car! It looks horrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Maserati on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Rubbish cheap looking car that is overpriced and rv will drop like a stone with rubbish service centres! Just look at the interior! The same rubbish interior with the kia koup, looks so cheapo!

By mid of next year, there will be a huge discount on this car! Mark my words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
  • The Enthusiast on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Hyundai’s new design language looks good on most of their cars, personally on the Elantra and Tucson. But not this one. Unfortunately and horribly so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I agree, though the Tucson still dose’t catch my eyes.
      The new Santa Fe on the other hand do.

• Idiotic Price on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Only an IDIOT will buy Veloster with these prices!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Come on lah all of us, this is Mercedes Veloster.
    And I am willing to pay double of this price because of Mercedes and Mercedes Veloster sure will have 6 airbags.
    Add 10K and you get Sportage with bigger heavier body with 6 airbags and lagi cantiq.
    SD is Korean UM-W.
    We must voice for Keadilan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • hyundai on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:11 pm

i saw a honda crz…

• mini one on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:13 pm

I use a hummer h2 to crash you die.

• mini coupe on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:16 pm

I use a Jaguar XFR and race with you i win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • pokemonster on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:35 pm

I use Kancil Turbo and i race with you i lost.

Problem?

• dozy888 on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:20 pm

I think Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors ONLY want to launched the car.. but no intention of selling them..

• interesting on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Sime Darby always sell expensive…..Govt Link mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • ShiokSendili on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:32 pm

This kimchi will sell like hot ais kacang :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Kubuddy on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Wonder how their sales person pursue buyer ? Perhaps free service labor & parts for life!

• something like: “Don’t blindly support T&H” or “You are different or unique with this Hyundai”[please note sarcasm]

But mostly with it’s party trick, The one-side-only rear door and usable rear seats.

• just tell the customer this car can pursue many chics.

• Drive Your Way on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:06 am

Honestly, the price is simply outrageous and unacceptable. Goodbye and good luck, Veloster.

• civicEK on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:09 am

130k?? Pffffffttt…

• janjidicapati on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:15 am

not enough HP to justify the aggressive weird design and overpriced. no thanks.

• polo saga on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:16 am

overpriced, again.

• Overprice loh .Better buy a Honda CRZ than this. RM 133,000 for the highest spec.RM 115,371 for Honda CRZ .
    plus, honda run on hybrid compare than this 1.6 litre petrol run engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Overprice loh .Better buy a Honda CRZ than this. RM 133,000 for the highest spec.RM 115,371 for Honda CRZ .
    plus, honda run on hybrid compare than this 1.6 litre petrol run engine. CRZ also better looking than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • honkokchey on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:58 am

Overpriced & cant afford nicer models. SD motors is hopeless, better continue selling tractors instead!

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:00 am

I was wondering about this car. It’s not for me but I was curious to see if Malaysians would take to a car with 1 door on one side and two doors on the other side. Its natural competitors are the CRZ and the Roc but the prices are all skewed so we’ll never know.

• design is good, eye-catching, sexy & fluidic..saw a few @ brunei earlier this year…brunei car selling cheap. It is a sport car design..personally this hyundai car got looks. maybe the reason y SD set high price. im sure a few dont mind spend money for car peculiar & sporty looks

• dream on on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:03 am

im quite sure ‘a few’ referring to ladies or metrosexual/gay.

• Programmer on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:29 am

In paper Proton Gen2 can produce 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm but this veluster can muster 158 Nm at 4,850 rpm only. way overpriced…

• “Look like a sport car , but sedan car performance.”
    130k …. no paddle shift coupe , no cruise control , no turbo , apa pun tak ada…..

I rather get VW polo or Ford focus, both can easily smoke HY veloster away

• my 1 week old peugeot 308 T can eat this nut any time anywhere
    wins hand down in all aspects except the price.

• Rewlie on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:45 am

Again NA NA NA NA.. no turbo imported, BN suck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • shashii on Dec 01, 2012 at 7:09 am

actually i am having Hyundai i1o, but once i saw hyundai veloster my mind is to buy that profesinal n sport car……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • If only the manual version is just as good specs than the auto version, and adds a turbo to push the horse power to 185hp or 200hp, then it will be a hot seller.

• loneobserve on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:46 am

I also thnking the same way but the mindset of most people is traffic jam and driving car with manual gearbox will kill their left legs. Even though the manual version of the car is superbly well-equipped still can drive some potential buyers away because of gearbox.

• Traffic jam only happened in KL area. I have no problem driving my manual RCZ outside KL. Rarely met with traffic jam.

Of course, AT is often more attractive to drivers.

Megane RS only sell manual version in Malaysia. Something that Hyundai should think about…

• manual well-equipped? I actually expected more from Hyundai, considering that the Kimchis boys almost manage to convince me that Koreans are selling well-equipped car at lower price. This one against it’s most similar sushi rival, The CRZ manual, is less well-spec and more expensive. I guess this is an exception.

The looks depends on individual.I said before that I think it looks weird. Considering the front end looks its design for a D segment car size and the C-pillar sloped ever so curvy couple with that large rear wheel and wheel arch makes it looks like a frog from some angle[like the main pic]. But judging from previous comments, there are some that like it.

I’ve been using my first generation Proton Saga to commute the LDP or NKVE almost everyday. It’s an old car with a very heavy clutch and I still manage to tolerate it even in heavy traffic jams. Because when the road finally clears up, nothing beats a clutch and a stick. Overtakes is a breeze for somethin 20 yrs old.

But I still do wish for a auto during a crawl. But I have a solution, why not invent a auto 1st gear. So you do not have to press the clutch when you come to a complete halt in first gear, and subsequent gears have to be change with a clutch. This mean you enjoy the full benefit of a manual, but able to crawl like an auto on first gear. You heard it here first….:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Turboman on Dec 02, 2012 at 6:47 am

There are good korean cars, and there are not so good korean cars.

There are good jap cars, and there are not so good jap cars. Same goes for german makes.

Although im not a big fan of this veloster, i’m sure it has its target market. That 1.6 engine won’t please any boy racer here i suppose. Heck, even the CRZ is not that powerful, but it handles well.

By lumping all jap cars and korean cars into one lump is not a very mature way of thinking. Just like ppl says german cars are not reliable. My uncle E46 325i has done 180k km and still going strong with no need for an engine change.

Ppl say jap cars are reliable. My neighbour has a brand new city that has seen gearbox failure, problem with all sorts of sensors. Engine not smooth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
          • Agreed,
            The CRZ also won’t please the boy racer, but listening to reviews(albeit both cars were German spec at the comparison), the CRZ is nimbler and sharper than the Veloster. As for Practicality the Veloster takes home the price with proper rear seat.
            The looks still depends on individual, I am still not liking it though. That’s why my vote for a sport(er) two door three padel coupe RM80k to RM150K goes to the CRZ. Face it you can’t compare the Veloster to either Focus or civic rite. Totally different target buyers.
            People say Proton is unreliable, or Japanese for that matter, my P1 has over 220k in the odo and has not received any major overhaul apart from several radiator pipes replacement. Though that said that rear left door is vibrating at idle .
            And I think not everyone can get a perfect car. Even merc or Beemer , every 1 in 10 cars sold(depending on manufecturer has defects . My Family’s Alza is having problems others don’t , and its unfortunate for your neighbour but my dads almost 2 yrs city dose’t suffer from any of those problems. That said the engine is harsh, but its a SOCH and I compared it to a DOCH from the Alza

• *SOHC and DOHC
            Correction

• Turboman on Dec 02, 2012 at 5:58 pm

AVH

I notice u r very articulate and able to present your points from a very neutral point of view everytime. U said u are young, and if that is the case, u have a bright future ahead of you. Malaysia needs young educated ppl who can articulate their ideas and can see the big picture and at the same time, able to look at the details as well. I have been working for 20 odd years, and everytime i see graduates like you, they go very far in their careers in very short time. And everytime i see a whining closed minded graduates who cannot communicate their ideas properly, they don’t go very far, or stuck in a dead end job.

Take my advice, join a MNC to work with like minded ppl who can grow u. Don’t ever work for local companies. They don;t appreciate ppl like that.

Back to cars, my vote for a sporty car from 80-150k is still suzuki swift sport manual. Spend 8-10k on a stroker kit and you will be chasing those golf GTIs. You won’t overtake them, but keep your rev high, u will be able to keep up with them. And its able to ferry 4 in decent comfort. The poster car for most ppl here, CRZ only sits 2, and its not a sports car. And a SSS is as fun as the CRZ. The seating position of the SSS is rather high though.

Veloster. Not my cup of tea. The best korean car i have driven is acutally the genesis coupe V6. That engine is silky smooth and its an able cruiser. It won’t beat a 370z or a boxster dynamically, but its not too far off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • David D on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Kudos to you guys, Turboman, AVH, as well as Kumar san, for being the bright sparks in this forum that still gives reason to debate here. Being a car lover, and being in my early 20’s, i would say that the young generation of today needs to demand more out of their car. I mean, yes, it needs to get us from A-B, but let’t not forget, shall we, that the price we pay should be justified by not just RV, but also the safety kit, technology, as well as overall packaging of the car itself.

In my three years of driving, i have been through quite a few cars, and none of them were Peroduas or Protons. I have been driving a Korean car since i started my early university days, with an Accent. The first thing i get was nothing but laughter from my uni mates, as they all were like:- Why not a Myvi? Nicer mah. And there you have it, this mentality of ‘Myvi is better, just because it is nice outside’ has made me realise how damned overpriced cars are here, hence setting out to buy a car that gives me the best value for my money possible.

Fast forward three years, and the Accent is with my sister, and i’m now driving a Spectra 5. Frankly, it’s not the most common car one can buy, but it does have its own traits, such as a well-built interior, reasonable comfort, and not to mention the price i paid for it:- 31k. Frankly, people like Sam can keep on ranting about low RV of these cars, but to be honest, for the price i paid for my car, i can easily pay the downpayment for a new house i can keep as an investment, or even go out for a much, much better meal, as opposed to the person who would take a longer loan just to service, say, a Myvi 1.5 at least.

• Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:37 pm

However, ALL Korean Cars have poor RV

Majority of Jap cars have great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • David D on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Dude, you and your RV rants sicken me. Who the hell buys a car just for RV only. Get out or I’ll just smash your head for being such a childish ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:01 am

Wow, I am really shivering now…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Thanks Anyway, but I’am studying for design, so I take time to digest a design of a product, some cars like the Jaguar XJ and the 458 took me time to actually like it [I have to slap myself bcuz the new Camry rear end also is adjusting to my fancy weirdly] I was supposed to go into automotive design. But lack of choices and fund prevented it. The SSS is a good car, my neighbor has one[Auto ver though]. But I’am still waiting for a new one. My Saga is doing fine and I don’t really think I need a new car anytime soon. Thanks for the compliment and take note not all AVH is my comment[the AVH in the otofest 2012 at Cheras Auto City on 27 Nov is not by me, I’am not analytical in the financial sector]

• Kumar san on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:27 pm

I have to agree with Turboman,just like him,i have been working for just under 30 years,those days the only college that offered a decent or rather diploma in itself for Automobile Engineering was FIT,so i did my best and excelled in it and my dad sent to the United States to read engineering,i went on to to do my PHD and it was the most rocking 27 years i spent there.I worked for all the Big 3 (GM,Ford & Chrysler) over the years and developed many cars from scratch.It was daunting but very fun all the same.I’m an senior automobile engineer by profession but i can’t teach or pass my expertise to the younger generation because of too many red tapes,it’s simply annoying.How they can allow our country’s economy to drain like this is beyond me.

I have only come back to Malaysia for just under 4 years,i plan to go back to the States and continue my career,they keep on calling me to go back,which i will in a couple of years because i love engineering and developing new technologies,it’s not easy to relocate again.I still have my 23 muscle cars in storage in my garage over there.I am appalled my the Malaysian automotive industry and how it’s going to go to the dogs.If you vote,please vote wisely,you young bloods are the future generation that will lead this country,as for me,i have to go back and continue where it all started for me,Detroit,Michigan.

As said by Turboman,you are indeed articulate,therefore,get the your necessary education in design and if you have the chance,please excel in your career overseas,there is so much opportunities for bright individuals like you,here,for one thing,they will not appreciate your talent and try to suppress you at best.Very retarded mindset from what i noticed.

I tried so hard to propose many new technologies but i was always turned away,simply because i was not the preferred race if you like.Very annoying,here i am trying to contribute to for the future of of fellow Malaysian car owners and they treat me like this.And because of this,i will go back to the U.S,not immediately.

I wish you all the best in your future undertakings and endavors.

Btw,i still have a vintage 1970 Datsun Bluebird A510 SSS,it’s a fast road/track car-I spent 4 years building it myself and it’s original engine puts out 235 bhp at the rear wheels.It’s still in storage in the U.S,i last drove it 3 months ago when i visited my home and garage in Detroit.Simply an ace car,they don’t build them like this anymore and i also plan to find a first generation 1985 Proton Saga Orion 1.5 4G15 to restore,i restore cars myself(it’s my hobby),if can’t buy a component,i will build or make it.

Cheers.

• Turboman on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Surprisingly, for somebody who works in the automotive industry, your hobby is to restore cars.

I work in the drilling industry, and the last thing i want to see during my time off is anything related to drilling.

Your passion towards anything automotive is amazing.

I too just got back to Msia 4 years ago, before that I was working in Australia. Yes, australia has a pretty big oil industry that most ppl are not aware of. At that time, Talentcorp has yet to exist and in hindsight, should have waited for them. If i do, I get to buy 2 cars in Malaysia without the need to pay tax. But that is all water under the bridge now.

What i notice about young Malaysians are the fact that they can’t reason very well. Relying on rhetoric most of the time and hearsay. A glance at pt.org’s comments section and u will see many of them in action.

• If you are reading this Kumar san,[this post is quite old]. My Saga is a 90s model and I the engine is running fine, but the body is quite out of shape. You can actually hear it squeek like an old cars in corners. Still finding a garage that can fixed that.

• If u read test drive reviews everywhere , u know this is a “all show no go” car.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 01, 2012 at 8:47 am

Many sore losers who can’t afford this price range make so much noise up there!!!!!

Even if Merc C Class or BMW 3 series selling at this fair open market price, these same sore losers will post similar craps!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • warlock on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:55 pm

I beg to disagree. As far as this car goes, the so called noises are well founded. Also, I don’t think anyone would complain as much if C-class or 3 Series are having the same price as volester – people will definitely go for the former two and ignore volester completely.

Between BMW and Merc – the kimchi has not basis for comparison, to say so isn’t a crap!

• polo saga on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:31 am

too expensive, and u’ll be surprised that how much this cheap coupe sold in US.

• matomato on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:41 am

Honestly I would say rather buy japanese car than this kimchi at this expensive price car, no uuumph at long term used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:33 am

And if you go Jap, selling time will come much easier as the used car fella will not need to show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • CARtoon on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:52 am

Looking at the pics again. But help but notice how similar the alloy wheels design to oars!!!

• nighttrain on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:11 am

1.4 Roc should be sold at this price! Which idiot put the Roc at it’s current price? idiot..

• breyton on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:46 am

is this a joke or what….

• Korean cars – yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Cheah Tat Cheong on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:28 pm

The wigs make the aunties standing next to the cars look very scary, car is boring, price is high, will become dust collectors in Hyundai car yard. Who would want to buy such a car? Hair dressers? Ahh, I get it, finally!

• perodua on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Myvi rocks. Enough said :b

• Kent Loh on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:30 pm

This car is weird,so I will prefer the Honda CRZ.

• vincz on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Guess M’sian life is cheap – always give 2
    airbags only.

• matomato on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:09 pm

In malaysia all cars sold are under Umno bn haram jadah price thats why its so expensive , unless if pakatan rakyat eleected by the people than almost all thing sold will be cheaper , so as car prices . I will buy kia k3 then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Macroman on Dec 01, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Fantastic design, i lov it. The front is a lil bit ae86 front. The rear is a bit like megane rs. I m confused, is this a 2 door? From thepic it look as if its a 4 door. Good looks, no comment on the engine tho. Seem malaysians gnerally have a low perception of its durability.

• slimershine on Dec 01, 2012 at 4:05 pm

chun la dis car.. i like it..

• VW Beetle hands down!!! no question asked!!
    I think they are only targeting die hard Korean Expat only

• I don’t think you can compare this cars.
      Not because either one or the other may be “better”, they have a completely different character.

• If u have like around 120k,which car would u buy?,in my mind I have likes Mazda 3,Honda civic and newly ford focus…I know ford focus might be the best car at the moment,but really afraid of their rv and also services price and parts…anyone can give me clear idea on how to choose..or do u have any better idea?

• DayDreamCar on Dec 01, 2012 at 5:24 pm

better put campro cfe if wanna cut cost

• Rakyat on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Better use cardboard if wanna cut cost.

• Inb4Stupid on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:18 am

I was having the same dilemma as well. I took test drives for all three of them, and found out that Mazda 3 is lacking in power, compared to the other 2, all of them being 2.0. So Mazda 3 is out for me. For Ford Focus, it has the best driving experience and techs than the other 2. I was so convinced I had that “This is it! This is my next car,” moment. Having said that, I went for Civic 2.0 in the end of the day. Resale value being the main reason. Lame, I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • beatnik on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Flop. Just like Hyundai Coupe/Tiburon.

• The front look like LFA…

• Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:31 am

Kimchis will never make cars like Lexus, please compare kimchis with the likes of TATA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • dugong on Dec 02, 2012 at 10:40 pm

That’s what nokia ppl said about samsung last time. Samsung is tops today. Where is nokia today? No where to be seen. They progressed too slow just like jap cars( some even moving backwards). Jappys are always lagging behind Conti and Korean cars be it technology,safety or design. The day will come when they are no where to be seen if they do not buck up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • sam loo junior on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:50 am

Only dumb people would compare the mobile phone/gadget industry with the automotive industry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • disgusted on Dec 01, 2012 at 10:37 pm

such a pity. all looks but no go and too expensive. Sime Darby management must be getting senile.

• Rakyat on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Over price piece of junk!

• Angry bird spotted!

• Rakyat on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Give me for free also don’t want.

• Rakyat on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Should be called hyundai hamster.

• Necromancer on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:03 am

Another Hyundai pricing disaster by Sime Darby…

Doubt it will sell well with the ridiculous pricing. Better of with Ford Focus which has better performance and features.

• DArkerMarker on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:13 am

Sime Darby thinks that by having (pregnant) lady model, they can up the price tag without raising many question……

Anyway, this car is ALL LOOKS, BUT NO GO.

• ahway on Dec 02, 2012 at 7:31 am

Just went for a test drive. Everything is fine but only poor acceleration with cvvt of 1.6l engine. I would only consider this car if the price is below rm90k. Jus check from USA website, this car is sold at USD17k, and only USD21k with turbo engine. Really good job, sime darby!

• 3 door car should not have high tax imposed on them, no??

• Expatriate VN on Dec 02, 2012 at 9:33 am

“Hyundai Veloster: three variants, RM117k-133k”

Ha, ha, ha, ……. The story behind the boardroom meeting …….

Chairman: Please advise on the selling prices for our upcoming 3 variants.

Managing Director: Oh, this is what you want. OK, what is the price proposed by you?

Director of Marketing: I proposed the selling price over RM 100 K for the following reasons: –

1) NAP give us a good excuse to do so.
    2) We can please cronies out there since our pricing is not encroached into Jaguah Kampung No. 2 territory.
    3) The market out there, there are still many dumbo-jumbo consumers, look is more important than performance!
    4) Although ts is cheapor low cost Kim Chi products, but we can sell it as premium price, NAP allowed for min but not max. So, we can squeeze consumers and maximize our profits!

Chairman: Good, good, good ideas, approved and so we sell it at RM 117 K to 133 K. Good job, once we have good sales, we will decide and reward our-self yearly bonus from 6 to 12 month, ha, ha, ha, ha ……… see which dumb customers will make my dream come true ……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • tunggguuu on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:27 am

hahaha..nice one..same as Toyota and Honda i guess :) huge profit margins too..n dumbo customers buying them in droves even though their cars are practically kosong in specs.. :)

• Littlebear on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:52 pm

I would take the Honda CRZ over this anytime. CRZ has been well recognize throughout the world & it is much cheaper than the Veloster. I must give credit to Hyundai as they are good at naming their cars unlike PROTON which always give lame name to car models :/

• ivn79 on Dec 02, 2012 at 2:07 pm

This is what when GLC like this is too greed to take so many things, plantation lah, property lah, tesco lah, cars lah. The cars oso got alot to handle lah… Got BMW lah, Mini cooper lah, Peugeot lah, Lamborghini lah, Ferrari lah, Alfa Romeo lah, Jaguar lah, Mclaren lah, Mazda lah, Volkswagen lah, Audi lah, Renault lah, Suzuki lah, Jaguar lah, Chevy lah…. Opps Did i miss something… HYUNDAI lah! Haizzz I got nothing to say.

• Gangnam style on Dec 02, 2012 at 2:36 pm

aiyoo..sick of gangnam style alreadylah….after some time the gangnam car doesn’t hold ‘ weight’ lah ..just look at sonata now..the ‘ fire’ just dies off..parked side by side w Jap or continental….

• For that price on a Korean car…?! Not worth it at all. It should be priced at RM75-80K, and even at this price, the dealers are earning huge amount.

Poor on price, weird on design, looked like it has been squashed a bit.

• Simon on Dec 02, 2012 at 4:56 pm

SD , u did it again with such stupid price, better keep in your hq and one year later cut rm40k as over trade!

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 02, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Tks Naza, treasure my 2.0 Koup much more now!!

• Ashes on Dec 02, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Funny, the moment you guys were saying “the car looks good/awesome” or “over price” why no people mentioned about how alike is the Hyundai V compare to Renault Megane? ;) Megane looks way better IMO

• Jack76 on Dec 02, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Paul Tan reader is really funny…on the post of Japs car (example: civic…) launching, you all critisize like hell & praise for kimChi car (like this veloster…). Now your dream comes true but stil critisize like hell…Can you all contribute in positive approach?

• yayaya on Dec 09, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Jack you are abit emo and dumb.

We bash not bcos its jap, korean, msian or german. So long as we know its not good.

Veloster is also not good. So we are fair and smart in our choices. Unlike you, anythg from t n h are good. Tat makes you a fool. Just by writing tis it shows. U are probably driving a vios or camly and feeling proud abt it dont you.

• You also should’t also bash jack, he did’t say only t n h are good.
        What Jack says have some truth to it, any car launch in Malaysia will always get criticism. Just bcuz he says that you come to a conclusion that he is a fool and you are not?

• The only thing I notice is that the spare tyre is carried outside the vehicle !! SPOT it ??
    how cruel am I !

• sepul on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:11 am

the only thing i am curious about is the pricing.. why so expensive? kia forte koup is fully kitted but only sells for rm115k (abs, esc, 6 airbags, etc.)

what is sime darby thinking? i think naza is doing a a better marketing approach

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:04 am

Just be patient. 6 mths later, preowned unit will lelong at 50% off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • ss427 on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:43 am

Sigh… I can only sympathize you my bolehland friends on your Velosters..

SG market Velosters are eith 140hp Gamma GDI with 6 speed DCT or the superb 186hp Gamma GDI Turbo with 6AT.
    Best of all, specs are nearly full (7 airbags and auto climate control are standard) and the Turbo Veloster comes with HID and even sportier seats and of cos the color matched wheels.

• vee-oh on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:02 am

yeah sure…and you guys can only drive at 60kmh..lame

• ss427 on Dec 03, 2012 at 11:26 am

Funny… and who will drive at such speed realistically?

Anyway, there’s still one equipment missing from our Velosters… factory fitted GPS. That large LCD displays everything EXCEPT GPS function… oh well its becos of our importer stupidity than Hyundai’s. Hyundai offers full Sat Nav for Velosters in other countries

Else, things such as LED DRL, sunroof are all standard

• Selipat81 on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:24 am

No wonder Sime Darby able to pay 6 MONTHS bonus to their staff….haihh!

• Bello on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:08 pm

The max I will pay for buying this car is only RM100k. Beyond this is considered very expensive.

• MiddleClassCitizen on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:44 pm

my personal opinion.

exterior is good looking, futuristic design, same goes for the interior, thou seems like a cheapo plastic. quite sad bcause got no auto ac,auto cruise, and i really wonder why la the manual version always dianak tirikan. this is really bad.
    dont they know a lot of people in BolehLand prefer manual? Tuihh.

And the engine. Cmon, why la u no bring the turbo version. I bet the CFE turbo is better meh?

Anddd the price. So not cool. with NA engine, lack features, for that high price? seriously i prefer to go for new Beetle. or Polo. or maybe even Preve. or 2 Neo.

korean car with that price is so wrong in many ways. i love my current volkswagen more!

SD, why la u keep the richer getting richer? u just made Kimchi looks bad. (Well theyre still not too good) :p

Sincerely. Middle Class Citizen.

• warlock on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:44 pm

imho, the same money is better spent on SUV – tucson or sportage – even if it is a 2nd hand kimchi.

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:33 am

Pre-Owned kimchi is the best buy for used car around 1 year old. Drop by around 50%

• Winmac80 on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:50 am

To be a different breed of cars (3 doors), 1.6 NA engine admittedly decent design, I’m surprised that they are pricing it at RM130k. I mean, you’ll get the Ford Focus with all the bells and whistles at RM130K with a decent design too. CRZ is just RM120k. Peugeot 1.6 award winning turbo engine (currently driving one and the best engine ever – when not in jam because kuat makan minyak) is available at around RM125k admittedly 408 is kinda weird looking.

Good luck Sime.

• elvin on Dec 18, 2012 at 10:40 pm

nobody will buy this car with this price.SD is getting crazy for this..

• TY Ong on Jan 14, 2013 at 8:29 pm

This car is over price