Suzuki Swift RR – a limited edition run of 200 units

Suzuki Swift RR 16

Earlier today, Suzuki Malaysia Automobile previewed its upcoming Suzuki Swift RR, a limited-edition run of the third-generation hatch. Set to begin selling from mid-November, only 200 RR units will be available, and though pricing hasn’t been revealed, it’s expected to be below RM70k, which would sit the Swift RR in between the base GL and GLX.

The locally-assembled GL and GLX debuted in May this year, at RM65,888 and RM73,788 respectively. Essentially, the Swift RR is a Swift GL given a jazzed-up treatment, and offers a cheaper route to taking a GL and dressing it up with the optional RM5,300 bodykit that was announced when the locally-assembled versions arrived.

No mechanical changes to be found here, the K14B 1.4 litre VVT mill continuing as is with its 95 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm, paired with a four-speed auto ‘box.

What’s in place is a signature RR four-piece body kit, made up of front and rear bumper splitters, side skirts and a roof spoiler. Also on, a decal strip set and special 15-inch black alloy wheels, as well as a swift RR emblem on the tailgate. As for the interior, the only change is the inclusion of a Blaupunkt touchscreen double-DIN head unit, complete with navigation system and reverse camera.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• same power? i rather spend money on turbocharger ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:30 am

I don’t know about this car but the Suzuki Swift got bad RV. So many traded in their Swift for a Vios but unfortunately they only got half the price for their Swift, even though 1 year old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Anyone notice no foglamp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Maybe for brake cooling ducts as available on BMW M cars and Honda’s Type-R cars. If nothing functional, then it’s lame.

• Pinky on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Sam Loo : If your swift bang with me, you will get crunched by my almighty hilux’s tyre. So better buy hilux!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • Inspiwa on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Lol the centre screen is the exact same unit in our inspira.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Kereta ni tipu Malaysian ke? Add some plastic and paint some wheel add few thousand. Why Malaysian car buyers always treated like an idiot?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • pewpew on Oct 27, 2013 at 7:35 pm

harlo ! and removal of foglamp, why malaysian car buyers always treated like an idiot ?

• because lots of malaysian like ricers

• komarad on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:35 pm

at least give a manual gearbox la….baru ngam dgn bodykit…

• roxas on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm

zzzz… the head unit is so ugly. an aftermarket one looks more premium and intergrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Cosmetic enhancements – Very Typical of car distributor in Malaysia.
    Next pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • zamer on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:12 pm

jizz..i thought its rear wheel drive

• motorhead on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:19 pm

RR what? Cosmetic? Come on.. Not for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:21 pm

What’s the point? The GLX is just so much better value. Keyless, passenger airbag, fog lights is more worth than some Ah Beng body kit and rims. And nag? I’d take a Garmin any day.

Think about it, is a bodykit going to help you more, or a KESSY and fog lights and an extra airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • mario on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Suzuki Malaysia as usual less idea…
    Now already 2013!!!! WAKEUP!!!!
    The way they r doing is to damage the brand and destroy the company..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • mantop on Oct 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Whoaaa….bang here bang there bang everywhere…but still thousands will be on our roads….u people can keep falling in luv wth toyota n honda….this is suzuki maa…what can go wrong with it!! LOL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Erm, how does 200 units in a limited production run equate to thousands of units on our roads? Bodoh. If you like it, buy. Otherwise, just comment but with SOME brains la…

• Mamatwhyla on Oct 26, 2013 at 6:16 pm

For them RR they mean by Rogol and Rompak the buyer … When i saw this post i thought some tok kong 200 hp specs car with RR word . C’mon la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • mario on Oct 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

Strongly agree with u! I like the word “Rogol and Rompak”… This company is also always Rogol and Rompak Malaysian…. Corruption!!!

• Henry on Oct 26, 2013 at 6:31 pm

This is another way of killing a brand. Tasteless.

• carazy on Oct 26, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Four speed auto.. weak-up Suzuki, 2013 is almost over dude!!

• motorhead on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:05 pm

RR.. But minus fog lamps.. What a joke..

• Suzuki Malaysia since 2006 got no improvement.. their management should replace new team member to get more brilliant idea and creating new superb bullet to present to Malaysian. Their current soldier is all puppet..

• LimitedLimitedLimited!!! on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Shld hv at least smoked the headlamp and tail light to complement sporty look….

• yes!!! finally… a limited edition with more powerrr… what??? no increase in power??? same as the other pointless limited edition cars??? shame…

• Submarine96 on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:44 pm

If you want to increase the power, go buy Swift sport la. Or u dont know Swift Sport? well typical p1 and p2 user. My standard swift can tapau ur myvi lol.

• mason on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:31 pm

RR?only with some bodykit and rims,then it is RR limited edition?
    then honda civic with some mugen RR bodykit can be Mugen RR limited edition too loh….

• seancorr on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Despite all the negative comments from the rest above me I think this is not too bad. Its still under RM70k and it comes with full body kit plus rims and Suzuki even added a reverse camera and navigation into the mix.

This effectively made the GL an expensive bare bones Swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • noperodua on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:08 pm

same strategy like perodua ?

no changes to the engine ,

i rather have car look standard but more power……………

• Arvin on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:29 pm

If swift RR use same technology like GSXR 180hp with 13000 rpm and paired with 6 speed manual box I will consider to get one.

• ben yap on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:43 pm

lotsa looks but a car with no go. nampak power tapi kura-kura.

• cheap & cheat

• works on Oct 27, 2013 at 11:48 am

For another 200 units..upgrade the engine to 110 HP, torque 150Nm with the same price..probably you can get malaysian motorhead attention…

• Luigi on Oct 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Who’s want to tune up the engine. They will get destroy the machine even they don’t know how to do this. Their local engineer is “Haprak”…

• toyol on Oct 27, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Remmember suzuki BEST kapcai and suzuki RR..haha..

• Theanswer on Oct 27, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Fyi this version came without rear demister. How cheapskate is tht?

• Eddie on Oct 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

I don’t understand….WHY SPECIAL EDITION IF ENGINE IS STILL THE SAME?

• sume sticker tu …race strip…race flag kat tepi —yang hitam kat bumper depan tu (nampak macam tampal je, betol ke? )…semuanya buleh DIY jer….. hampeh betol kereta ni .. x padan nama RR limited edition..nak nagis pikir kereta kat malaysia ni.

• If the price is below 70k then it’s a damn good deal.. Most negative comment here don’t know the price of swift GL .. GL model is RM68k .. And since this one come with rims, decals, reverse camera, blaupunkt touchscreen with navigator at the same price then this surely worth it for anyone looking to get a swift..

Or are you who posted negative on this new RR could get all this for RM2k outside??

• im not talking about how much the upgrade take cost if DIY but at least DO NOT USE “RR” term …………….. the upgrade dosnt match the term laa…..

• Swifter on Nov 12, 2013 at 4:25 pm

You tak tau ke yg GL tu ada cash rebet 3k..so harga 65 saja…this RR is selling 69999 without insurance..if with insurance will be 72000…the GLX selling 76400 with current promo 2k..it 74400…beza 2 k saja for…keyless,2 airbags,16inch rims,4 disc brake,front fog lamp,electric rectractable wing mirror,auto climate aircond,rear demister….the RR ni hanya nak bagi hidupkan GL yang dah mati…for sure this model will mati 2 kali…their plan totally suck…

• norman on Oct 27, 2013 at 6:04 pm

I sense next year facelift will coming soon so base stock need to clear hence the make up,RR?You must be joking Suzuki..already half of your models is already lemon somemore dare to use RR?

• adoi..proton saga se is lot-lot better than this junk..rr stand to what?Rossi Replica?haha..

• Wilson on Oct 27, 2013 at 7:08 pm

this “RR” kit should be on Swift Sport! especially Manual Version!!

• tok_kok on Oct 27, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Special edition? they learned from P1 lah…
    after all.. P1 and Suzuki under same boss now.

• i think they learn from toyota rather than p1.

vios sportivo-bodykit,same lame engine..

p1 saga se-bodykit,1.6 engine..

• PeteOM on Oct 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm

This kind of “upgrade” doesn’t deserve the title “RR”. When I read the title, I was hoping for an upgraded version of engine and gearbox. Turns out it’s a disappointment.

• RR = Reuse Recycle. Sad!

• Intel Core Inside on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:01 am

This is what you can expect from an international company that is in partnership with DRB. Their mentality becomes localized. Do minimum, expectation maximum. Suzuki, wake up please.

• benzs on Oct 28, 2013 at 10:27 am

What a crap! Those sticker can be found n DIY, for car enthusiast we can done it easily. Dont fool us Malaysian, we can tune n turn much better than this piece of junk. Those rim r standard n spray black only. RR? Reproduce Routine? This car never touches our Malaysian heart at all. Put this car under the heat in Malaysian weather n I believe those sticker will never last.

• doubleR on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:03 pm

i think the price is ok..since even GLX around 75k..and this with sport rim,bodykit,reverse cam and touch screen player..below 70k..just no fog lamp only maa..

• submarine96 on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:20 pm

This is low spec car right? Damm. I just bought low spec car without sport rim, touch screen and reverse sensor for price RM66k. I spend 1.5k for new sport rim , 2k for touch screen + reverse sensor and 1.5k for body kit (skirting n spoiler). Total damage 71k.

• Dayah on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:22 pm

is it design new sport rim? i notice the design not same with other varians swift and also swift sport. can i purchae this sport rim only? How much it cost? Tq.

• nzainN on Oct 28, 2013 at 3:23 pm

its so ugly dashboard instead no fog lamp..pfffttttt…and RR stand for what??

• Tasteless. Another shameful “new model” when actually it is SUPER OLD with minor cosmetics changes only. SHAME SHAME

• The dashboard IS SERIOUSLY FLAAAAATTTTTTTT. No efforts in designs at all. OMFG….

• FAFAU on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:57 am

Instead of putting RR badge,better put Pikachu or Hello Kitty. Target budak baru lepas SPM.

• hahahahaha on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:58 pm

malaysian never stops complaining.

• Mikey on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I owned one but these upgrade is not wise… get a fog lamp please for safety..