New Suzuki Swift unveiled – larger in every dimension!

Click for enlarged image

This is the all new 2011 Suzuki Swift and as you can see a layman would be hard pressed to find the difference between the old and the new car based on a glance at a photo alone.

There’s no doubt that the Swift this new model replaces looks good and it looks like Suzuki has taken a leaf out of BMW MINI’s book here – this new Swift looks like a subtle evolution of the old one just like now the new second generation BMW MINI still looks very much like the generation it replaces.

Under the skin though, wheelbase has grown by as much as 50mm longer, bringing the wheelbase of the new Swift up to 2,430mm. This comes together with an increase of overall length by 90mm. The body is now 5mm wider and 10mm taller. Front and rear track has also been increased by 10mm and 15mm respectively.

Click for enlarged image

So yes, this is a larger car and not merely a rehash of the old Swift.

The new Swift will be available with a 1.2 litre Dual VVT petrol engine with variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust, producing an impressive 94 horsepower and 118Nm of torque, of which peak torque kicks in at 4,800rpm.

This petrol engine will be accompanied by a diesel with 1.3 litres of displacement, though no details on the oil burner have been revealed yet.

Click for enlarged image

Only two exterior photos have been released so far but we have something nice for you. Theophilus Chin has whipped up this quick chop of what a 3-door Suzuki Swift Sport could look like, based on these two photos that Suzuki have released. A 3-door body for this new Swift has been confirmed and both the 3-door and 5-door will be launched in the UK in Autumn this year.

We’re still waiting for Suzuki to released more photos of the car, as the first two photos you see in this post are the only they’ve released so far. You can also expect a new Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire to spawn from this new Swift. The Swift Dzire is a really weird looking sedan version of the Swift for the Indian market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Hakka on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:47 am

Nice Car..Loike it

• skiborne on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:52 am

i was hoping that the all new swift would get a pair of projector lamps. haihh

• DAPtuanPAS&PKR on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:03 am

swiftly nice..!

• DAPtuanPAS&PKR on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:04 am

swiftly nice..! swiftly great car..!

• jab strong fierce! on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:16 am

am expecting a total re-design from scratch for this new gen and was hoping that suzuki would give the swift a more “unique look” approach.

I’m wondering if the rear passenger seats ain’t as claustrophobic as it’s predecessor

I guess they still would want to retain the mini cooper-inspired look here. Well, ain’t nothing wrong with “if it’s ain’t broken, don’t fix it” motto, but seriously suzuki, you can do better than that

• skatax on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:40 am

Correction: Should be “Only two EXterior photos have been released so far…”

• Gajen on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:19 am

nice but still the same design…playing safe i guess

• yeap, there’s an old saying, don’t fix what isn’t broken :)

• shawal on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:55 am

Don’t fix whuts not broken , as they say…..
    I hope the interior will be dramatically different, to avoid people from being conned…

• taboogen on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:16 am

nothing much…

• It’s definitely a nice hatch. But still…

• BlackJack on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:50 am

Maybe its coz we havent seen any rear pics.. Perhaps there could be several changes to the rear?

Any rear pics paul ? hehe..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:35 am

This was posted up three days ago

http://paultan.org/2010/06/08/2011-suzuki-swift-exposes-its-uncovered-bum-in-public/

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

BMW better, MINI is win

• leekowchai on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:05 am

all new? it looks like a facelift to me.

• littlefire on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:05 am

Sh*t.. Paul next time better censor all those related to politics name & comment here also.. have seen a few here trying to mess up people mind from cars to politics…

• kyoshooo on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:07 am

What’s the different??

• cant wait to see the sport version.

• heeman on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:25 am

I hope the increase in size won’t compromise the handling. Can’t wait for the new Sport version :)

• bobdbilder on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:43 am

Bigger, Less Power and Heavier (unless the chassis is made out of aluminium or titanium). It’s the Swift BRIC version.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:32 am

I love small and light cars, but reckon that this length increase (width and height is jz marginally up) is good for the Swift. The current car is quite tight behind, especially with the bucket seats of the Sport

• TheophilusChin on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:12 am

How, how did you know it’s heavier? It’s already officially mentioned that it’s lighter than the previous Swift, though longer and more spacious.

Less power? Dude, the new Dual VVT 1.2 produces 92bhp and 87lb ft, both figures slightly improved over the 1.3 unit. Best of all it’s even more economical, and lower emissions.

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/250430/

• bobdbilder on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

I mean less power than the Swift 1.5 (here in Malaysia) not the MyVi’s 1.3. Don’t even compare with the Swift 1.6 Sport.

Maybe they only had the 1.3 Auto in UK? But cannot be; didn’t we see them review the yellow Sport way back when?

• scgtimk1 on Jun 15, 2010 at 2:56 pm

How do you know it has less power…..

if u wan to compare please compare 1.2 vs 1.3 and 1.4 vs 1.5 don’t compare power if 1.2 vs 1.5….

The 1.4L petrol unit has not been launched yet….. and why compare with swift sport…. this version of sport we don’t know the detail yet.

I take home a car with better efficiency then outright power figure anytime…

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:14 am

highly yawnable car.

• I can barely tell the difference between the previous and the latest generations.

This is worse than VW Golf GTI or Toyota Altis!

• Tiadaid on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:01 pm

The Old Beetle’s been practicing the same thing for years. They made only minimal changes on the exterior but introduced upgrades of the engines and transmission. In fact, there’s one ad in the US saying that you can take a body part from a Beetle from the 40s, 50s and 60s, put it on your late-60s Beetle and it’ll fit!

• SwiftMatrix on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:27 am

Minimal damage by Suzuki for existing Swift owner like me…
    I like it… he he

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:37 am

Theo’s 3-door Sport has got me salivating!

• TheophilusChin on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:12 am

LOL… Don’t lick your screen Danny!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Your warning came too late, screen is all wet now!

The corners look more “melted” now from the more square edged predecessor, very cute car, I like it :)

• Nutty Dad on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:04 am

Now the front bumper really look like Myvi…..lol

• nonon on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

my 1st car….sold it after a week of driving,changed to bmw z6…

• nebula87 on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:33 am

i tot i c a VIOS on the front…

• ex_live3 on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:34 am

this is a totally new car rite, new platform??
    the design still with the old fashion one…maybe suzuki want to be on the safe side…

• nighttrain on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm

where is that new tiburon that looks like sirocco… that’d be a nice hatch.

• nighttrain on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:45 pm

have to post comparison pics, then only can make out the differences.. like Nissan X-Trail.

• carsut on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:10 pm

chick magnet!!

• Bius Dogong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

boring…

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

I think the designers were clearly on leave when this did this …

It just looks ….. exactly like the old one !!!

• Philip J. Fry on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm

“European models will be fitted with either a 1.2-litre petrol or a 1.3-litre diesel engine, but Suzuki Australia has admitted there are larger petrol engine options available.”

Taken from http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/first-pics-2011-suzuki-swift-20100611-y1ru.html

• YeapyEvo on Jun 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Hope Sports version comes with VW 1.4 TFSI engine since now VW own 19.9% of Suzuki

• Neutral on Jun 11, 2010 at 6:55 pm

mmmm same as current Swift ? only minor facelift ka? Myvi baru lagi cantik :)

• Squawk on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Did anyone complain when new Mini looks like the old-new Mini?

• like em' on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm

gotta love the swift. nice one~

• More of a facelift to me, still prefer the current swift look ^^

• yippi33 on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:01 am

looks like a bloated swift…i like the old one better..it loses the machoness of the old..definitely a chick magnet like myvi..

• swift macho? my god…

• P4k4bu on Jun 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

As macho as Justin Bieber… I guess…
        My daughter and her friends really like him.
        That’s what some people call chick magnet. I guess.

:roll:

• Maybe suzuki already lose idea to design new swift becoz old swift is so gud …. heheheh

• DoubleA on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:49 am

Are they implement Kizashi style to this new facelit?
    But still, I prefer Swift old style which currently I drive it now. =p

• andre on Jun 12, 2010 at 11:07 am

how about interior?

• bacin (Member) on Jun 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

suzuki damn good compared to P1…in term of safety I must said work perfectly.. All the airbags activated but the driver still mampus in tragic accident..lucky the victim not drive P1… sure hancurrrrr….

• namerku on Jun 13, 2010 at 1:36 am

better p1 design more better..i proud to be malaysian..dat’s why i support malaysian product..

• vwoom on Jun 13, 2010 at 6:13 am

Okay folks…wanna new, fresh New Swift pics?

I’m so getting this car when it hits the USDM…get a load of these pics!!

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-9.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-4-533×400.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-1.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-8.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-5.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-Suzuki-Swift-6.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swift-exterior-21.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swift-exterior-4.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swift-exterior-1.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swif-interior-21.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swif-interior-4.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swif-interior-6.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swif-interior-71.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swift-interior-111.jpg

http://blogautomobile.fr/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2011-suzuki-swif-interior-5.jpg

ENJOY!!!

• heeman on Jun 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

At first i was a tad disappointed with the new Swift’s look being not many radical changes. After awhile I find that the looks kinda grow on you. Beginning to like it more each time I look at it. And the interior is very much improved than the current one.

Thanks for the pic vwoom!

• carnoisseur on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:02 pm

I think you would need to compare it side by side and then the difference will be apparent

• if 1.6 sport version i’ll buy it :)

• nonia on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:27 am

Old version is great but new one is awesome