CKD Suzuki Swift 1.4 is here – GL RM66k, GLX RM74k

Suzuki_Swift_CKD

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile has officially announced the arrival of CKD versions of its Swift hatchback. Now locally assembled in Pekan, Pahang, the CKD Suzuki Swift 1.4 A/T is available in two variants – GL for RM65,888 and GLX at RM73,788 (OTR prices without insurance). On the options list are a bodykit package – the same one offered on the top-spec CBU GLX-S model – for RM5,300 and metallic paint for RM500.

The move from CBU to CKD has brought in some savings (Swift GL costs nearly RM10,000 less than the imported model), though the cheaper variant is more sparsely equipped compared to the GLX-only CBU models. Identical to the imported units in specs, the CKD GLX is just a shade under RM2,000 cheaper than before.

There’s quite a gap between the two variants’ equipment lists. The GL loses out on the GLX’s passenger side airbag, steering audio controls, retractable wing mirrors with indicators, keyless go and push start button, automatic climate control and 16-inch alloy wheels. In place are a single airbag, four instead of six speakers, manual air con and 15-inch steel wheels with covers.

An unannounced but notable change is the updated colour options. The bodykit is now limited to Superior White, and not Snow White Pearl as listed before – a sign that a different colour palette is used. Suzuki has yet to update its Malaysian website to reflect these changes so the full colour chart is not available to us.

The 95 PS, 130 Nm 1.4 litre VVT engine and four-speed automatic combination remains unchanged. With a significantly lower starting price, the third-gen Suzuki Swift looks likely to be the choice of many. Will you be one of them?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Im looking forward to the Swift Sport! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Oh my SKY on May 13, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Its costly and under Spec,
    1 air bag !!!!!!
    Worst than India !!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 5
    • hindo on May 13, 2013 at 9:22 pm

i rather wait proton preve hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 53
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 160
      • pak jabit on May 14, 2013 at 10:52 am

hopefully ur desired preve hb will be ok in term of part quality & part fitting…my cfe give lot of headache less than 1 year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
      • Green on May 14, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Suzuki New Swift = 15km/L City Driving
        vs
        Proton Preve CFE = 10km/L City Driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
        • bonbon on May 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm

are they same HP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • SedanDrv on May 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Preve has far much bigger space and more comfortable too. Not to mention huge boot at the back. Please copare with similar segment if price that you want to pint out here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Wasn’t there a law that says any car sold on the market must have at least 2 airbags? Or that law is just a manifesto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Jeritanbatinku on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:19 pm

The law said that any car sold on the market at least have an airbag.. not mention how many airbag there have but must HAVE.. it can be one and its impossible with no airbag..

• Apek hitam on May 14, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Ckd discount only 2k, far inferior quality, ckd for what?

• paparazi on May 14, 2013 at 3:36 pm

why 1 air bag only?
      cause they will give additional pillows and bolster for more protection.

• ONE AIRBAG?DO YOU WANT THE PASSENGERS TO DIE IN A CRASH ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
  • Why 4-speed?
    One of the biggest disappointment when every manufacturer goes either 6 speed touque converter/ CVT/ or 7-speed DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • theanswer on May 13, 2013 at 10:47 pm

cvt is good. but small engine (low power) with many gear ratios..welcome to gear hunting session.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on May 14, 2013 at 12:31 am

The Swift is available with CVT gearbox but as usual, Malaysians get the crap specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • theanswer on May 14, 2013 at 12:52 pm

nothing new with msian getting crap spec. and we still think that we’re developing country. third world mentality.

• “GL loses out on the GLX’s passenger side airbag, steering audio controls, retractable wing mirrors with indicators, keyless go and push start button, automatic climate control and 16-inch alloy wheels. In place are a single airbag, four instead of six speakers, manual air con and 15-inch steel wheels with covers.”

wonder should I walk towards the Almera. It’s about the same spec and it’s bigger. Furthermore you get to option it out with Sat-Nav. Yes is uglier, but the Swift isn’t going to win any beauty awards.

In summary, the Almera, thou bear and ugly, looks a wee bit more promising than this. Now , about the Swift Sport……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • are you joking me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • joanna on May 13, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Yeah vote for BN no car price reduction. We Malaysian are very rich to buy expensive cars or either to dumb to buy boring cars from our national car markers.
    Go Malaysians go! Keep fooling yourself! We dont want car price reduction. We are super rich!!
    Proton worshippers, goverment hardcore fans and pessimists will surely dislike my comment.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 145 Thumb down 169
    • theanswer on May 13, 2013 at 10:48 pm

move on pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 35
      • joanna on May 14, 2013 at 12:18 pm

No only stupid people will move on with all this nonsense about our country’s car price and poor public transport service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
        • theanswer on May 14, 2013 at 12:56 pm

oh sorry then. and pls tell us what u can do? i’m a petrolhead too, no use if we get cheaper car but crap spec. those business minded people up there will always ‘troll’ us. “let us give cheaper swift, but with less airbag and ‘botak ‘ spec”. after all msian only want cheap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Han Soon on May 15, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Eh! Come on la..BN also got say that they will reduce the car price also la.. bias information.. do some homework before posting any stuff la.. Joanna, wonder what car you drive.. Hmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • korloff on May 14, 2013 at 11:24 am

Rubbish..!

• mystvearn on May 13, 2013 at 8:12 pm

CBU>CKD only RM2k cheaper? I thought was around RM5k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Hot mama on May 14, 2013 at 12:36 am

Avoid this car at all cost! There are much better and well specced car in the market…Fiesta, Pug208, Rio. Heck, even Myvi is worth it compare to this junk.
      p/s: in Sarawak, the cost is easily more than RM6k dearer than in WM, so ppl be aware don’t get conned by SMA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Roger on May 14, 2013 at 12:55 am

Makes it really difficult for us to support local assembly

Only conclusion is that our factories are simply not efficient

• brutus on May 13, 2013 at 8:18 pm

OMG! CBU and CKD only different 2K!?
    UBAH!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 52
  • sudonano on May 13, 2013 at 8:22 pm

“The GL loses out on the GLX’s passenger side airbag….”

IS THIS SOME KIND OF JOKE? SMA should have more sense and not follow the Almari path which is a real insult to customers. 1 airbag. What is SMA thinking?!

Not to forget, Swifts are generally driven by younger people, and they need protection. In fact anyone needs protection. Rather get a Saga/Myvi/i10/Rio at this price. Or a 2012 MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Finally something to kill off myvi’s sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 62
  • Matchbox on May 13, 2013 at 8:33 pm

CKDed it and get chopped off the specs. Kesian Malaysian kena juiced by cronies car manufacturers/ assemblers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
  • Matchy on May 13, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Did they strip more things than the previous gen GL?

• Roger Tan on May 13, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Striped spec again?

Why couldn’t they just introduce a striped down version instead if they’re confident that’s what the market wants? Not enough volume if they maintain the higher spec version? Then don’t strip down!

Good thing for those who got it when it first launched.

• Are you kidding? SINGLE AIRBAG? This proves the authority is not doing their job on the enforcement of the law which states that ALL Cars sold in Malaysia has to have at least 2 airbags. Sadly, Almera came out with a Single Airbag variant and now followed by Swift. Malaysians life are cheap :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • DRB Hicom losing out on May 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Seriously under spec…

The mini hatchback is so competitive now, for the price range of RM75k-RM85k

We have Suzuki swift 1.4, Kia Rio 1.4, Peugeot 208, Ford Fiesta and not to forget the aged Mazda 2. We shall keep VW Polo sports out of this due to pricing.

Paul Tan… Bring us the comprehensive review or the ‘versus’ write up… This segment is the mass market seller… Sure lots of interested reader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Hell no i wont!

• Again, what’s the point of a CKD when so much features and specs, especially are omitted. Boo to Swift. Boo to Jazz Hybrid. Boo to CX-5. All CKD casualties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • tikus on May 13, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Dont buy from them….let it rot at Pekan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • JPJ still can allowed this model with single airbag? Why not just take off all airbag and sell below 60k?
    Want cheap only but no safety..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Boycott every car that does not have full airbag and vehicle stability control and see the auto industry going down on their knees. Even saga flx Australia have this. Most major accidents u will see the car skids.Tell every car dealer u see that u won’t buy without it . Stand up for our rights M’sia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Jonathan Ali on May 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

support!! boycott motorbike as well!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • theanswer on May 13, 2013 at 10:51 pm

in oz, even swift got 6 airbags n esp. i’m not asking for cheap car..cheap fuel..but pls, give us better spec and no el cheapo ckd!

• Maserati on May 13, 2013 at 10:40 pm

This is so much better than the Kia Rio . Its engine is punchy unlike the underpowered feel of the Rio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
  • darker marker on May 13, 2013 at 10:41 pm

nothing to shout about.
    Cheaper price, lower spec.

Suzuki might as well announce that the car is now 50k. Remove more stuff from the car. put 13 inch rim, install rethread tyres, remove ICE, remove floor mats, remove speedometer, remove all seats but driver’s seat…Remove also spare tyre…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Roger on May 14, 2013 at 12:54 am

darker marker:

Reminds me of Proton Iswara Taxi spec

Single speaker on casette radio, seat foam replace with coconut husk, no clock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • dugong on May 14, 2013 at 2:12 pm

1.4B spec 3 speed auto for barebone spec at 40k. no a/c, no side mirror, plastic windscreen,no wheel cap,no radio,no window, no antirust and no paint.

• seancorr on May 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

First was the Honda Jazz Hybrid that got its specs cut off and now the Suzuki Swift. They should just continue selling the CBU car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Khairul Faizi on May 13, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Thank you very much DRB Hicom for spearheading the government car price reduction by 3%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • i have SUZUKI motor, not good, hahhahaa

• tokmoh on May 14, 2013 at 12:26 am

dey, kononnya new cars must have at least 2 airbags, janji dicapati edi? biar hilang airbag, jangan hilang bn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • This is not new car la, already years on road, popular among aunties and uncles. In other word kerata orang tua. Orang muda semua nak beli Fiesta.

• confused on May 14, 2013 at 5:50 am

Funny to see some people also blame gomen for this stripped-off Suzuki. It is, to some extent on the enforcement of how basic the basic car should be.

But, at the end of the day, we must consider also, those stupiak marketing people who only chases sales number and doesn’t give a shit about the equipment level. Because they also being pressured by their superior to meet the sales target.

So, conclusion, be a better, more rational opposition la. Buat malu je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh on May 14, 2013 at 11:22 am

Bangang, camtu baik takyah buat ruling 2 airbags kalau dah bole diabaikan pasal nak kejar sales.

• theanswer on May 14, 2013 at 12:59 pm

true. after all, gomen who control the ministry. ministry who control the market. so think about it.

• joanna on May 14, 2013 at 12:23 pm

How we cannot the blame the govt when the safety requirement in cars are regulated by authority?
      Poor comment by a govt hardcore fan.

• theanswer on May 14, 2013 at 1:03 pm

i’m a govt follower too..but wont let myself succumb to their stupidity. hahahaha.

• _xXx_ on May 14, 2013 at 8:39 am

Pls listen to the customers, SMA. BRING IN the MT Swift….

• i F**king Regret getting a suzuki swift sport, Handling sucks, brake sucks, Petrol like pissing in my toilet for every second. thats how annoying when i send for service as well in agam makmur.. Nevr Buy Suzuki Anymore!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • haha really? i’ve seen top gear review Swift handling is better than mini cooper….stop spreading shit lah! looserrr…

• powershot on May 14, 2013 at 11:59 am

maybe his previous car got better handling. don’t blame him. you’re the loser if you tend to believe every car review. go try it out yourself la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • theanswer on May 14, 2013 at 1:02 pm

did we have to try ferrari too? just to believe the review came from mag or tv is true? the purpose of mag or tv review is to tell people who didnt have the opportunity to test drive it, or potential customer. some of the reporter didnt just drive swift only..but numbers or cars…different models..different type of engine. swift handling might be bad compared to lotus evora. so it depends.

• defty on May 14, 2013 at 4:20 pm

His previous car is NGV fueled 3 series beemer LOL

• Han Soon on May 15, 2013 at 8:59 pm

I test drived the new Swift.. Steering responds is really quick and light, it respond to the speed ur going too.. pick up is ok lo for 1.4 and brake i nearly snap my neck, the brake is awesome la.. please lo..compare the cars with the same price range, dun overkill it even i also hate the CKD model.

• never regretted getting the GX previously. good car. even the SX4 sedan was a good car. I drive these 2 cars often.

http://paultan.org/2013/05/13/ckd-suzuki-swift-1-4-is-here-gl-rm66k-glx-rm74k/#comments

• ben yap on May 14, 2013 at 10:31 am

not very keen on suzuki swifts or even suzukis.

i rather save up the money and get a Inspira.

• spyshotX on May 14, 2013 at 10:32 am

I thought I read it some where here in PT posting about new cars entering m’sian market require minimum TWO frontal airbags..

Oh here it is.. found it:
    http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

Still there are peoples who choose to refrain themselve from blaming the policy makers for not being stricter against those who reluctant to follow the rules..

So much for walk the talk huh..

• Anonymous on May 14, 2013 at 10:39 am

+1 for Malaysian Hot Hatch shootout!

• hatliv on May 14, 2013 at 4:24 pm

This has no turbo engine, how come to be a hot hatch?
      Let the new 308 turbo and preve hatch turbo coming in the list

• Peter on May 14, 2013 at 10:52 am

Suzuki must be thinking we Malaysian are desperate for cars. I rather spend additional 8k for the CBU GLX b’cse there’re so many things added. If I really short of budget, I’d save another 10k to go for Myvi which is now the Daihatsu Passo with perodua badge, equivalent 4-speed VVT engine .

• Steven on May 14, 2013 at 12:01 pm

The design is still the same right?
    Come on Suzuki, this car has been so long in the market.

• frenzyaustin on May 14, 2013 at 1:29 pm

I kinda like this car actually. It looks very nice, got personality. Everything is good when I watch a review about this car in UK. But when it reach our shore, another rip-off car. Then I realized, nearby every car in our country is rip-off. If we can’t drive good car, at least provide better public transport. Our LRT is completely terrible compare to Bangkok and Singapore. We lose to our neighbour and still need to compare to other country? USA public transport is terrible but car is cheapest on earth. Prius sells cheaper than in Japan. C-Class sells cheaper than in Germany. Wages is one of the highest in the world. Car is necessary in Malaysia, but wages is low like 3rd world country, everything priced so high like 1st world country, development slow like a 2nd world country, this country is killing it’s citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • bonbon on May 14, 2013 at 2:17 pm

are we talking about suzuki or politik?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • paparazi on May 14, 2013 at 3:49 pm

only reduced 2K, you really bau Susu dan pergi la – Suzuki

• Sgt Scoop on May 14, 2013 at 4:45 pm

How much does it cost to install an airbag? RM50? RM10? Suzuki should be ashamed of themselves. Cheapskates.

• no DDiS Swift offered?

• yingyang on May 14, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Hikari bodykit is not worth it. I hate it when there is faux exhaust pipe. Shame it mimics turbocharged car. I’d rather have a car with a tail pipe but real turbocharged engine.

• ququbert on May 15, 2013 at 1:21 am

The price omissions are pathetic to say the least. But blame should be towards the policymakers actually and not Suzuki per se. I’ve a contact in Suzuki who said that they had to submit the ‘pricing’ paper to the gov countless times but in the end had to settle for the final prices above. Their intention was to price the premium ckd sub RM69k but the gov would not have it.

Shame though, test drove the car and instantly fell in love with it. Despite the 4AT trans theres healthy amount of torque thorughout the rev range, no probs pulling even with 4 adult passengers. Not to mention the car corners like a go kart.

• Han Soon on May 15, 2013 at 9:08 pm

I know right, i fell in love with the CBU model also, waiting for glx.. if they put that price range, local car maker like proton and perodua will suffer even if their car is up to standard in accesorries but you know la, ppl’s mindset of foreign brands are better. :) i can say i understand their doing but i cannot understand why malaysia get local car brand with “good” specs compare to export unit with betul betul good spec. :)

• mentari-o-korea on May 15, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Old is not gold!! The all new Kia Rio anytime !!

• Hey, where is the 20% – 30% car price reduction promised by BN?