Perodua 1KR-DE 1.0 litre engine shown at KLIMS13

perodua-engine-klims 143

It would seem that Perodua has quietly revealed the identity of the aluminium engine that will be utilised in its new model that’s due out next year – the 1.0 litre Daihatsu D26F-1KR-FE is on show in an engine layer display at the automaker’s stand at KLIMS13.

The three-cylinder mill, with a displacement of 997 cc (Perodua tags it at 998 cc), is also known as the 1KR-FE (as used by Toyota). The 12-valve twin-cam unit can be found in the Indonesian market Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya eco-cars, with 66 PS at 5,000 rpm and 87 Nm at 3,600 rpm for output numbers.

Weighing in at 69 kg, the aluminium-block unit is 10 kg lighter than the 1.0 litre cast-iron block equivalent, the EJ-VE. In Indonesia, the engine is mated to either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic transmission in the Ayla and Agya twins.

perodua-engine-klims 144

The ‘reveal’ of the 1KR-FE, coupled to the intimation of the new car’s interior as shown by the GMA Space design study, cements the view that the new Viva replacement model will be based on the Ayla/Agya and not the Mira e:S. The latter utilises the 52 PS and 60 Nm KF-VE transverse three-cylinder 658 cc NA mill, also known as the Topaz Neo.

Previously, Perodua has intimated that the new car will offer very good fuel economy, and while the 1KR-FE doesn’t have the KF-VE’s impressive 30 km per litre economy (based on a JC08 mode test cycle), it will deliver a minimum fuel consumption of 20-22 km per litre, stipulated to meet Indonesian Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) programme requirements.

Back in 2010, the automaker said it had plans to develop a next-gen eco-mill with the help of Daihatsu, and the target specifications for the mill would be a 63 hp and 100 Nm 660 cc inline two-cylinder turbocharged configuration, complete with direct fuel injection. Theophilus Chin has done a VRM rendering, working with the Agya as a base.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Raja Lawak on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Some smart people want 22KM/Liter non-turbo engine…

Some blind fools want 9KM/Liter turbo engine…

Which one are you???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 82
    • ouldmenaz on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Some smart people want 6 airbag …
      Some blind fools want 2 airbag only…
      Which one are you???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 11
    • imran on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Some smart people want more power for more fun & the car us powerful enough to move a bigger 5star ANCAP rating car even with full passenger.

Some blind fools want small under powered car just to go and back from work alone. The small and light body wont help much in case of accident.

Which one are you???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • Joker on the loose on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Your handle says it all: you are a joke! Do you think only you know which car is fuel-efficient? Those who bought Preves sure as hell know Vivas are more economy to run but what is stopping them from buying Vivas instead of Preves? Is it because Viva is too small for them? Or Preve is safer and better equipped than Viva?

Anyways, they have the means own a more powerful and less economy car because THEY CAN! It’s the concept of free will, in case you do not know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • I need a small car with very good FC for my daily use. But I need it to be very cheap. And I really don’t care much about accessories as long as its have decent design, and practical. I wonder if this new car of perodua can provide all these things.

P.S For a bit expensive, I rather go for a car with turbo .. haha ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • 22km/l is a joke. Look at the mirage FC, can get less than 20km/l only on highways. Try do some real KL FC you are won’t be blind fools.

• bikers kental on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:51 pm

haha kena setepek!

• 9km/l? lol. I believe it’s 9L/100km. You don’t know how to count? Go back to school lor.

• hope this engine can be transplanted plug n play into my aging kelisa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Interesting. However, what would be replacing the 850cc and 660 cc engines, or are they going to soldier on?

I think for now, the 850 cc seems to be the volume seller though…

• jacksonljs on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Hopefully P2 will reintroduce Myvi 1.0SR (aka Myvi SV) fitted with this engine with price around RM35k – RM38k (beside manual version, an auto version is better to be made available since 1.0 Myvi is more suitable for city driving compared with highway driving).

As for me, 1.5 engine in Myvi is not really needed since the handling is so-so only as well as kerb weight is less than 1 tonne.

• motorhead on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Yes.. 1.3 is enough for myvi.. For 1.5 they should improve the handling.. But put some performance stuffs, problem solved.

• sohai on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Perodua should had invested more capital into developing a turbocharged direct injection 1.0 litter engine, something similar to Ford’s ecoboost engine.

Why must Malaysians always get second grade stuffs???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Haha , someone calling others fools for wanting a high powered car vs a eco car obviously haven’t heard of the term bicycle

• blacktop 6 speed on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:33 pm

i saw toyo t1r tyre…

• YeapyEvo on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:04 pm

What Malaysian really need is a Kelisa replacement with the same quality and handling with ABS, 2 airbag, and a better engine (1L Ecoboost) and safety rating like Hyundai i10 and sell at RM40k.

• pirlo on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:17 pm

the engine is made in malaysia?
    no vvt?
    the engine oil viscosity is low, hence contributing to better fc due to less friction generated. but, it will compromise the engine protection. since the engine is not performance type, i think it meets their objective for green oriented engine.
    wow. first perodua engine using electric throttle body.
    euro 4? iafm+ and cfe is capable for euro 5.

• wrong on Aug 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm

You’re wrong. Only CFE engine is Euro V. IAFM+ is at Euro 4

• This is a good toyota engine. light weight & fuel efficient.

• The KF and KV difference of 8km pet litter, that’s crazy. Should have it in our local cars that crawl along traffic highway….

• firts on Nov 16, 2013 at 6:45 am

Show the real bad jam FC. If can get 18km/l only can show them the money!

• Azharu88 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:34 am

Handling for Latest version Myvi 1.3 is better compare to the previous one. But it is normal for the current 1.3 myvi are slower than the previous 1.3myvi?

To compare. im drive 2013 myvi 1.3se A/T at 4000-5000rpm – only reach 155-160 km/j..so damn hard to reach

while my bro drive 2005 myvi 1.3 M/T at 4000-5000rpm – can reach 190km/h over..

even though there is different in trans..but it is to much gaps..

• I guess people under estimated 1KR-FE. The major different between EJ-VE (Fitted in Kenari and Kelisa)

– 1KR-FE, timing chain, 65ps, powerful than EJ-VE
    – Full aluminum head and block engine
    – Electronic Throttle Body instead of Mechanical ISC
    – Thinner engine oil, 0W20SN API (I din see that b4)
    – Electric Power Steering
    – They removed DVVT to cut cost (too bad!)

The fact above, at same weight around 800kg as Kelisa / Viva, Kelisa auto without DVVT can get 13.9KM / L whereby Viva get more with DVVT, therefore, the best this model can give was 20KM / L

What is people car? Lot of peoples only focus on luxury fitting and powerful tranny forgotten the fact of A to B

People was looking best value cost of ownership and higher reliability to get from A to B with standard safety features and useful accessories.

Hopefully new perodua plant based on Daihatsu Concept can make it lowest defect output.

• Kangkung on Aug 15, 2014 at 2:41 pm

I m sure the mid life facelift for this AXIA will be fitted DVVT. Probably together with 4 Airbags or Traction control on high end series.

This is their common strategy.
    If you can wait, use your current ride until they release DVVT.

• Kangkung on Aug 15, 2014 at 2:52 pm

More bags in car, safer to ride.
    You won’t feel that’s necessary unless you smell
    the bags smoke.

Hope malaysia car maker stop making kangkung car.
    Make 6 airbags, ABS,EBD, TCS/VSA as basic line up of the model.

Stop treat Malaysian life as Kangkung!