Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo unveiled

Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo

Say hello to the Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo, a one-off concept exclusively created for the PlayStation 3 racing game Gran Turismo 6. The “visionary super sports car” will make its virtual premiere when the game is launched next month, along with various other exclusive concept vehicles under the Vision Gran Turismo collection.

Purely designed as a concept vehicle without any production considerations in mind, the 585 hp/800 Nm AMG Vision Gran Turismo features extreme proportions (long bonnet, aerodynamically efficient dip at the rear), dramatic wheelarch bulges and swooping contours. The two gullwing doors open upwards, a modern nod to the 300 SL and SLS AMG.

LEDs play a big part in the concept’s design. Red-glowing contour lines on the lower part of the vehicle offer some colour variation over the silver paintjob, adding some visual drama. The radiator grille with central star, meanwhile, is equipped with variable LEDs with different light patterns – a further development of the diamond grille introduced on the A-Class.

This Mercedes is the first in line of many bizarre concepts in store for Gran Turismo 6. Designs from Alfa Romeo, Alpine, Aston Martin, Audi, BMW, Bertone, GM Design, Honda, Infiniti, Italdesign Giugiaro, Jordan, Nike, Nissan, Peugeot, SRT (Chrysler), Volkswagen and Zagato will join the fold soon enough. Check out preview sketches of them here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Acid corrosion at its best!

• motorhead on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:42 am

No production consideration? Just produce it.. Some billionaires can buy.. No problem.

• TJ Liew on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:52 am

Is it me or it somehow looks like One-77.

• Classic, classic Gran Turismo Crazy concept car design, just like the Citroen GT, Nike One and etc.

• FabulousCommentator on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:44 pm

silver surfer will like this.

• Haksung on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Wow..i can drive this for only 180 ringgit.better wait for PS4 version.

• If you can wait. You gotta wait for another 3 years for the next GT game on PS4. Kazunori Yamauchi himself said this.

• Al Gorilla on Nov 18, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Which – if you followed GT5’s development process – means another 6 years lol

• jeremy on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:15 am

Kazunori Yamauchi said “within the next two years” back in September…get your facts right

• No offence to Merc fans, but in my eyes, its absolutely hideous[-opinions may differ-], It basically took all I hate about Hyundai’s fluidic design and as if its not corroded enough, with a huge dose of something with a Ph value of 0; Either that or they’ve went ugly-fied the Infinity Essance concept. Thou like all dark skies have a silver lining, that side profile looks awesome.

• Jimmy on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Cantiq, garang. Shark face.
    But loss authenticity, no?

• karthik007 on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:12 pm

I LOVE BENZ
    BENZ GET SENSE

• PauKaya on Nov 18, 2013 at 7:26 pm

this should be the source of inspiration for the next c class