Gran Turismo 6 to feature exclusive concept vehicles

Due December 6, Gran Turismo 6 for the PlayStation 3 gaming console will feature a collection of exclusive concept vehicles from various carmakers, design houses and other brands. Dubbed Vision Gran Turismo, the collection celebrates 15 years of the 70-million-selling franchise.

Design teams from Alfa Romeo, Alpine, Aston Martin, Audi, BMW, Bertone, GM Design, Honda, Infiniti, Italdesign Giugiaro, Jordan, Mercedes-Benz, Nike, Nissan, Peugeot, SRT (Chrysler), Volkswagen and Zagato will each have a concept ready for the racing game.

As virtual on-screen concept cars, however, the chances of them making production is even slimmer than that of usual motor show-bound concepts. Yet, a few of them do look very interesting, not least the Porsche 911-shaped Mercedes-Benz, anime-style Bertone design, all-carbon-fibre VW Golf and BMW’s futuristic M racer.

Also bizarre yet real are concept vehicles from sportswear company Nike and its basketball sub-brand Jordan. We’re not making any of this this up, seriously. These concepts will be available to GT6 players in staggered releases up through 2014.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Along with Initial D, Gran Turismo really played a major part in nurturing my love for cars. Looking throu the trailer, its graphics isn’t as great as Forza(given that its for the older generation of console, the PS3) or Project Cars, But Polyphony always seem to have huge success giving goosebumps to anyone that love the world of automobile, espacially the trailers. Really wish to get one but buying a PS3 when the PS4 is almost out seems impractical.

PS: that Bertone design really look like its been design by the illustrator Redjuice. Very Cyberpunk.

• Crasher on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:36 pm

There are fears that Sony might abandon PS3 support after PS4 release, so Sony released this on PS3 after Polyphony poured a lot of game engine development on the PS3 for GT5.

Sony will focus new racing game for PS4 launch, DriveClub.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:52 am

Gran Turismo takes very long time to develop, usually 5 years and 5 years before, PS4 is still on paper and in meeting room.

• that is one serious looking BMW, anymore got more link about those?

• Haha… PS4 nak keluar dia baru nak release.

• sudonano on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:06 pm

That BMW is WHOA. AWESOME.

Looking forward to the Aston too. And I hope they will have something like this for the PS4.

• Haters gona hate this….

but hey all of you… Remember Proton did came up with a initial drawing of a super car back in 2002??

it was a concept drawing, till today…..

not the PM5…. Its the diff one….

• Naise !

Gonna try and buy a PS3 before December. Then again, my 4 year engineering degree starts in October. Sure gonna become a zombie after it starts. Might as well spend the money on my actual car. -__-

On a second note, I have a strong feeling that the S2000 Satria Neo will NOT be in GT6 as previously expected. Proton already abandoned the WRC. But on a third, Proton is more favourable than Hyundai-Kia in Japanese-made media. Yes, there were Hyundais ever since Gran Turismo Concept 2002, but only a few were offered in that and all subsequent GT games. American-made Forza 4 has many, many more Hyundai-Kias than GT5, despite having lesser cars overall. Polyphony Digital must hate Hyundai-Kia, then again, most Japanese do. Try and see if you can find a Hyundai saloon or hatch in Japan, I’ll give you a hundred bucks if you do. Proton sold more Satria Neos in Japan than all of Hyundai’s and Kia’s cars at some point in 2010/11.

Which is why I said Proton is more favourable. Proton is inferior, but at least we’re neutral in the global stage (but not in her own home market sadly). xD

• frenzyaustin on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:50 am

Hyundai only selling bus in Japan, KIA sell everywhere except Japan.

• True.

Conversely in South Korea, Lexus is the only profitable Japanese car brand. There’s Acura, Infiniti and others too, but they’re all the American Domestic Market Japanese brands.

Toyota only just entered South Korea, but their Camry became Korea’s 2013 Car of the Year. Don’t know how that happened, but it did and the Koreans aren’t too pleased with that.

Ever notice whenever there is a Malaysia vs. Indonesia football game, sure got some bitterness, problems etc. ? But either way, the people of Malaysia and Indonesia always bond together and support their national teams. Same case with Lee Chong Wei and Lin Dan. WHOLE of Malaysia will support Dato Lee, kaw kaw to the max. After a few weeks, nobody will even care who won, but it’s that patriotic, almost kiasu-ish feeling… that’s the key to success in nation building.

It’s just too bad Indonesia’s national car industry failed, I swear to God if it didn’t, Proton will be three or four times more successful today because of competition stemming from patriotism alone.

………

Crap, sorry for deviating from the topic.

Gran Turismo FTW ! :D

• Fredo on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:38 am

Will they include SIC in this game?
    It would be great if so, we can practice virtually prior to our usual trackday… awesome!

• bongeks on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Still loving S2000 GT Scheme in PS1!!!

• farghmee on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:07 pm

hmph..kalau setakat kereta2 merapek nih, bukan playable dlm major races pn.
    lumba pn kdg2 dlm event dia je.