Here’s something we stumbled upon, a reflective Toyota Harrier. On display across Japan, it’s the latest Toyota Harrier wrapped in chrome for what Toyota calls ‘Reflection Mapping’. According to responsejp, the project was led by Akira Oikawa, the man behind Seiko’s luxury Galante watch range.
The same source says that the Harrier’s body was given a wrap that reflects light like the surface of a mirror, then parked in a virtual 3DCG imaging dome where it refracts and reflects environmental images projected onto the inner surface of the dome. The wrapping process took two months, resulting in a Harrier that can be art, or rather, part of art.
Behind the trickery is the XU60 JDM Toyota Harrier, which we first saw in July last year. The Toyota Harrier and Lexus RX used to be one and the same, but the latest Harrier has gone its own way in the looks department. This writer prefers the Toyota’s aesthetics.
The engines are smaller too – Japanese buyers get to choose between a 3ZR-FAE 2.0 Valvematic (2WD or 4WD) with 151 PS and 193 Nm and a hybrid powertrain. The latter marries a 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle 2AR-FXE (152 PS/206 Nm) with an E-Four dual motor system. Click here for tech details.
We had a close look at the Toyota Harrier during our visit to Toyota Megaweb in Tokyo late last year, and the pics are below. We’ve yet to see the new Harrier in Malaysia yet, which is rather surprising given how popular the nameplate is with grey importers and affluent households. Like what you see?
Soon to be here in our shore in Viva Cermin form.
Toyota sales easily 10 million cars. It’s ok for them to do it.
If you produce 100K cars but act sohai gold colour, then it’s simply wrong to do it.
What a stupid car. This clearly shows, Toyota and Lexus got brains in their backsides. Woi bodo Toyota, instead of coming out with trash like this, ask your Malaysian UMW why the are only giving 2 airbags in their Camry and Altis when in the whole world, its far more airbags.
Fully chromed vehicles shouldn’t be allowed to be on any road as it will distract others & endanger all including its occupants.
I saw a fully chrome civic in LDP months ago. Najis say in Malaysia u have endless possibility
Ah Beng is now known as Ah Bling Bling.
Only 3 unit of this car will be available at NAZA …hot stuff in JAPAN…. Everybody want one…
Naza is conman. Dont buy from them. They sell u accident car from Japan.
Won’t this be dangerous for other road users at night if it can reflect beams at higher intensity than normal?
‘ This writer prefers the Toyota’s aesthetics’
And I share the same opinion. The RX(or any Lexus crossover bar the new NX) are stuck in the ‘dull’ period of Lexus. Thou not internationally and mutually loved, but a far sight more exciting and original than anything else on the road.
Any how, given that this gives that this ‘reflects like like the surface of the mirror’ ,I want this just for a certain portion of the rear of my car. So that anyone shining high beam will be instantly blinded by its own reflection ‘instant karma !!!!!
Still better than Gold Ploton gen 2.
haiyaaa… what is up with these companies? first was youngman gold persona.. now mirror harrier? whats next?
want to compete with youngman L3. bwahahahahaha
Will be popular among chinese syampooboys…so that they can syampoo blow n dry in front of the car…wah la toi…simply amazing it works yes it works…
A car wrapped up in chrome, and Toyota gives it something flashy sounding for a name. What’s the hype in watching a car with a mirror surface reflect/refract light?
almost invisible, look awesome when it clean but not sure if mud splash on the skin.
why i don’t see anyone bashing toyota for the chrome effect but keep bashing the youngmen L3 because its a proton???
typical Malaysian bro…u know i know…it’s because of the brand…pathetic!
Youngman what have you done again? Wait.. Toyota? what?
It should gain the same amount of bashing from here…but why so quiet here???
It is ugly.
Think mirror wrapped around is dangerous bcos it blends with the environment. Hardly notice by other road users. Remember predator’s camouflage?
Oh man, if I am going to drive this car, I will get static shock on every exterior portion of the car.
The Harrier itself is already a beauty. Now with this skin, I brought out the inner beauty in it. Looks like I will have to change start saving my money.
•ok creative but nothing special. next.
Drive this car can beat the traffic/speedtrap camera or not?
This car will be a chick magnet.
Every chick will want to use its mirrors when it is parked.
LOL!!