GALLERY: 2014 Toyota Harrier at Toyota Megaweb

Toyota Harrier Tokyo27

You’ve seen the official shots, now here’s a gallery of live photos of the 2014 Toyota Harrier, snapped earlier today during a visit to the Toyota Megaweb in Tokyo. The vehicle was first announced in July, with tech details revealed last week.

Both engine versions of the Harrier, which returns to the model lineup after skipping a generation, are on display at the showcase centre – the vehicle comes in 2.0 litre petrol and 2.5 litre Hybrid guise. Powering the petrol version – available in both two- and four-wheel drive configurations – is the 3ZR-FAE 2.0 litre Valvematic mill, good for 151 PS at 6,100 rpm and 193 Nm at 3,800 rpm. It’s paired with a Super CVT-I transmission.

As for the hybrid model, that’s equipped with a powertrain comprising a 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle lump – offering 152 PS/206 Nm – and an E-Four dual motor system, made up of 143 PS/270 Nm and 68 PS/139 Nm electric motors. Combined total output is 197 PS for the all-wheel drive offering.

Aside from the tech bits, it looks like the JDM Harrier gets a pick of seven exterior shades, three interior colour options, four seat material alternatives and two interior ornament choices, according to a bunting displayed at the Megaweb.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:52 pm

After so many good korean. This look so so to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 50
  • sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm

meh….boring……………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
    • artworks on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:46 pm

obviously u didnt drive last gen before. after u test and u will understand why ppl willing pay 200k for a recon unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
      • sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Obviously u r the sorhai who buy an ugly toyoita car like wat the Hilux face on Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
        • muller on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:51 am

What wrong with you???? Pay 200k for recon was “sohai” ?people will to pay….if you not dare…..please buy others car which you can pay for. You sound like most “sohai”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo 2 on Nov 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

The previous gen is the bestselling car for the bloody Cinapeks …

All just want BIG IMAGE, but still low tech.

And still willing to pay 200k for one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:21 am

This bugger try to save face after being shown the broomstick by one of my fellow colleagues in Selayang trying to trade in his K5.

Anywhere in Malaysia, all used car dealers have set a price of 15mth old below Sonata and elantra ~50%.

For KIA, no one will accept trade in anymore.

Other Hyundai Models like Tucson and Santa Fe, depends on the locality and target market segment

• sam69 on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Pity u..toiyota saleman cant cari makan, no sales and too free come here and show ur Hilux face..go hug ur ugly Vios nobody cares..

• Pay 200k? That’s because they can’t afford the real Lexus RX!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • dino years on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:26 am

obviously you enjoy the eagle badge more than the eagle feeling.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:08 am

This bugger was not even shown the Hilux coz he is driving a K5. He was shown the broomstick instead to take that piece of rotten cabbage out of sight.

We can understand how pitiful that can be. So ker lian

• Polo Saga on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Most stunning design from Toyota by far! Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • sam69 on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:30 am

you must be kidding, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:11 am

Face it. If its a Santa Fe, there was one victim from East Coast that posted he can even get a trade in price with Hyundai for a 2008 Santa Fe.

If dealer also dowan to accept, used car fellas also will not even bother to show them the Hilux

• Looks like fl-ed cx-9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • azrifahmi on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Been waiting for the new gen of Harrier to arrive, the design looks stunning and I like the sharp edge design. Skli pandang look like evoque. Can’t wait for it to arrive in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • AutoFrenz on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:06 pm

The icon is back…expect the price of a 2.0 litre model to be around 200k…

• AutoFrenz on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:01 pm

…but what if the price is about the same as the new Lexus NX (little brother of the RX), which is based on the latest RAV-4…hmmm quite tricky isn’t it…

• Toyol Thai on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Toyota new ‘invention’, SUV with looong fr overhang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • BLT CLUB on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Wonder how it handles?

• Denaihati on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:43 pm

exterior look much different from the existing and very stylish. also very luxurious interior.

• Gary Yap on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:06 am

YUCKS! I wished it had hair so it’ll look more interesting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • PauKaya on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:27 am

i think the interior is great

• Front look like cayene, 2.0 petrol harrier can compete with 2.0 crv if this arrive in malaysia