Scrappage scheme should be implemented – MAA

kedai-potong

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) is pushing for a scrappage scheme for old cars as annual vehicle sales surge past the 600,000-unit mark, according to Berita Harian.

President Datuk Aishah Ahmad told the Malay daily that it has already proposed for the implementation of such a policy to the government to ensure there is an orderly way to retire cars that are no longer safe from the roads in the long term. She added that a vehicle scrappage scheme has to be formulated thoroughly to ensure all makes and models are accounted for.

“[Translated] There needs to be a scheme that enables old cars to be disposed appropriately backed by vehicle scrappage guidelines dictated by the government,” said Aishah. “This will ensure that only vehicles in good condition and that are environmentally friendly remain on the roads, contributing to a safer and cleaner traffic environment.”

PJ Traffic Jam

The rising number of new vehicles on the road every year is said to have been the main cause of congestion – especially in large cities – but it is not the only reason. According to Aishah, other contributing factors include poor city planning, inadequate road infrastructure and maintenance, low enforcement and an incomplete public transport system.

MAA projects a total of 680,000 vehicles to be sold this year, with 598,400 of those being passenger vehicles. It expects the figure to rise to 693,000 vehicles – including 610,300 passenger vehicles – in 2015. The total industry volume (TIV) in the first six months of 2014 is 333,142 units, 6.3% or 19,654 units higher than the same period last year.

Aishah said that in that same period the passenger vehicle segment recorded positive growth compared to 2013. Sales of passenger vehicles rose 7.5% or 20,788 units, while sales of commercial vehicles dropped 3% or 1,134 units to 36,363 units.

toyota-showroom

Meanwhile, an automotive analyst said that Malaysia being among one of the main producers of passenger cars should have a end-of-life vehicle scrappage scheme to ensure the industry grows sustainably. “We could perhaps begin on a voluntary level first before the government makes it mandatory,” he said, adding that one effective method would be to provide an incentive for owners to trade in their old cars for new ones.

Another analyst who also declined to be named believed a scrappage scheme will also help address the abandoning of used cars. He said the government has to revise its tax structure, in particular excise duties that are currently imposed on new cars at a rate of between 65% and 105%, to ensure the effectiveness of such a scheme.

“The reduction of excise duties will enable new cars to be sold at a lower price, enabling buyers to shorten their installment plan durations and dispose their cars after a certain period,” he said.

used

He added that lower new car prices will also ensure that used car prices will be lower, providing more choices for people who are unable or unwilling to be in debt by buying a new car.

The report mentioned that a number of developed countries including Japan and the United States already have a scrappage scheme for vehicles older than 15 years. It also claimed that the implementation of a scrappage policy will provide benefits across the country’s economy.

This isn’t the first time we’ve heard about such a scheme over here: MAA has suggested it before in its Budget 2013 wish list, and even the government itself proposed a Vehicle End-of-Life Policy in 2009 before a poor reception led to it being, ahem, scrapped.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• it all bout money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • fast5 on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:43 pm

In the end, excuse for can’t abolish “excise duty”.

If people no demanding on old car scrappage scheme will die.
      Because bolehland selling expensive new cars that’s why people still choose to scrappage scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Abu Sayur on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

He’s right about the money. Once cars in malaysia reaches peak demand and growth slows, they will implement this scheme to save the auto industry’s ass.

Really a sad case, cause in the end the poor are the ones who will suffer most.

Usually i don’t really bother about the policies the government implements. But this time I will fight hard against this policy..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:34 am

Please be considerate for so many old Iswara/Wira/Waja/Tiara on the road!

1. First, the cars didn’t come cheap
          2. With break down here and there, owners have to fork out extra money to change this change that.
          3. The owner turn out with less (or no saving), thanks to its build quality and fuel consumption.
          4. And government want to implement this scrappage scheme?!!

It is pushing them to take bike indirectly.

Government for rakyat????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • bbtree on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Some party will make money
            Some will loose, most likely the ordinary rakyat

• Datukship Changes Mind on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Aishah used to fight for consumer rights a lot. then government gave her datukship and suddenly her tune changed. She now sings for the government and even MAI. She even sits in press conferences with Ministers paving her way for a post in the Ministry. It is a pity how a Datukship can change and buy a person.

Datuk Aishah should instead ask what happened to najib’s promise of reducing car prices. This is the most important thing. Najib promised to every single of the 30 million people in Malaysia that he would reduce car prices by up to 30% if we voted BN in the last general election. One year has passed by but we see, car prices increasing whilst car spec reducing.

Aishah should ask Najib, what happened to his basic promise? Najib told the people BN would always honour their promises and it was certain that car prices would drop by 30% and people should not doubt it.

Datuk Aishah should also ask why we Malaysians are still suffering with dirty diesel. Dirty diesel poisons all of us and our hospitals are full of patients, especially the old, suffering from severe respitory illnesses caused by dirty diesel. Dirty diesel does not only have high sulphur emissions but extremely dangerous particles that are so poisonous to the human body that the EU has labelled Euro 2 Diesel as “extremely posionous” and at par to drinking poison.

This the MAA got no guts to tackle. They just sit with their fat pay packets and suck our money dry. MAA should be abolished because all they do is tabulate car sales figures per annum which a Form 5 boy can do part time. It is so easy. Just collect sales figures from each car manufacturer and tabulate it in a table. What so difficult about this?

So, we the LHDN taxpayers pay the MAA fatcats big money just for a huge team to sit in the office and collect car sales figures and table the figures.

Let us hope MAA and MAI close shop. It is costing the taxpayers a lot of money supporting their big pay packets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
          • disgruntledBMWowner on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:50 am

If government really care for safety, please carry out annual or 2 yearly free vehicle inspection to make sure tires, brakes and emission is safe.
            Most accident is caused by people not able to afford new tires (sadly Malays whom prioritize on gaya rather than safety) whom always bang people from the back.

If government is sincere make tires cheaper with subsidy. Afterall we are rubber producing country. WTF??

• peynoo on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:51 am

Good news for Proton too.

Lots of unsold 2013 Preve, Suprima stocks at factory yards can be scrapped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Most advance country already implemented this.
      some cars are scrapped, some cars are exported to other countries.
      1 of them – singapore
      New car are safer – more airbags, ABS , Traction Control and so on … except volvo, haha old car still remain sturdy and tough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
      • flat_tire on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:22 am

but we are still nowhere near being an advance country.. remember wawasan 2020..? well i have a feeling we won’t be reaching that goal either.. might wanna add +5 years over that target..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • Nissan on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:26 am

2050 also can’t achieve that giving fact that all politician only interested in playing the cheap racial game with their people. Poor people die poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
          • Proton on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:18 am

Tun will bring u to ISA.
            So next time u won’t talk so much.

Don’t like here, GET OUT OF Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:37 am

You talk something I don’t like, you go jail.

You don’t like here, you get out of Malaysia.

You don’t buy Proton, you balik kampung.

Sounds so similar from North Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • samelorsark on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:57 pm

So why you are still here?
            Just go away.

• MoFaz on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:52 am

Japan has the same system, plus a mandatory bi-annually ‘puspakom’ check. the good thing is the accident rate due to old / malfunctioning cars are very low in Japan. New car has better safety and techs, which help to reduce accident or save lives in accidents. vehicle related death rate in Japan and Europe are very low compared to Malaysia.
        however, as mentioned above, excise duty should be lowered until completely removed to have such system in place. Cheapest Saga without tax is only RM20k, i wonder how much Axia would be. imagine if we could have 4 star Asean NCAP rated car with just RM15K, we could replace the old saga, iswara, wira, kancil, viva, etc, and the road fatality will be reduced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • bullshit!
        SG is a small island with a good public transit system, they need to control the number of vehicles.
        here, the chronic under investment in public transport leaves people with no choice but to buy an expensive crap local car! expensive relative to what the average take home salary. and we are nowhere near an advanced country.
        who would scrap their car after paying for it for 9 years? what advanced country has 9 years car loan?
        stupid idea and MAA only care about moneys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • BeemerFreak on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:03 am

Then you should have picked the other side last year……notably speaking since our gov is full of shit and all talk no action, it could be preferable we we outsource and contract the governing of this country to somebody more capable, say Singapore or Japan.

• Annaeh on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Airbags, ABS, traction control, nothing can save you if you drive like a crazy nut on public roads

• ThePolygon on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:28 am

Just when I am about to consider a secondhand car, this kind of news come out. Last year same thing. I won’t even walk into a 2nd car dealer now until they have some clear direction of how it’s going to be.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:28 am

Yep.. it’s all about sales. .

We all know who keep nagging about dwindling sales..

Protongs idiots better keep quiet.. & stay quiet.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:41 am

Yes!
        Everyone is Proton’s victim, there are 2 group of Proton victims:
        1. Those with more money, already get rid of Proton, keep a distance from it.
        2. Those keep on paying extra for Proton build quality and fuel hunger engine, has no money to change their car.

They aim at group 2 first to force them change their Proton, action for group 1 is coming soon!

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Fine simple solution.

We sell u buy, you don’t buy we ask more from r&d.

Proton win – win situation.
          Rakyat win – win built quality.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Finally you admit the truth!

Proton sale good or not, ask money; Proton car good or not, ask money.

No matter what happened, government is Proton’s private ATM.

There is a similar creature in the world like this, we called it “leech”.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Yep.. culprits at last… SOB..daylight robbery. . show your true mentality.

Good.. we ll make you tapau faster..

You just wait… what goes around will come around..

• lolzer on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Many impersonators and blind bashers here. Anyone can talk kok sing song as much as he wants.

Btw many companies got incentives from gomen, inc p2 which hide behind national cars title despite the money gone out and the plant built outside bolehland.

Loled

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Hiding what you idiot? It’s a strategic partnership. . No secrets. Since day 1 of P2.. don’t forget P1 started it first with Mitsubishi. Where were you at that time? Kindergarten?

In fact auto strategic partnership is common around the globe.. Nissan Renault. . Ford Mazda.. VW Audi etc..

Unfortunately. . With financial woes & bad reputation. .Nobody wants P1 now.. Delisited since 2007.

Protongs idiots better keep quiet. . You ll expose more of your low mentality.

• lolzer on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:55 pm

I didn’t use that word. Secret is different from hide moron.

• Strategic partnership kunun. Until now no home grown car. Why?

• perzx on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Who are you to us following what you said? Why must keep quiet? Remember vvt thingy? You dun even know it’s already in CFE

Dun get me started with dvvt thingy
            D = dual?
            Haaaaahhhhhaaaaaahhhhhhhaaaaaahhhaaa

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Dual dvvt what idiots? Read back.. you are talking to the wrong person. Not my pick of topic.

What to shout about something from lost making company? Must be desperate for living eh?

I ve nothing to do with P2 anyway. . Just enjoying life from stuffs that work for me.

• perzx on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Fool you dun see I put it in different para? Anyway I still right about the VVT

Haaaaahhhhhaaaaaahhhhhhhaaaaaahhhaaa

• Some of the older cars, esp Japanese or some Germans, are much more well made than modern cars. No fancy electronics to break down, simple to fix, and overengineered components.

Instead of the cost-cutting stuff we get today, like thinner components (to “save weight”, but break down easier).

• anandlm on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:35 pm

My 1992 accord has far fewer problems than my saga,iswara,wira,and icing on the cake is I bought the Honda used! I’m third owner and no power window issues. Running CNG last 3 years. Economical,environment friendly. RM 40 JB to KL and back. Toll is the major expense!

• money? yes on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:58 pm

this issue has cropped up several times already, but i believe the biggest resistance is the second hand market.

As the cars were bought at a much higher price, if the excise duty is removed and the new selling price is lowered, what will happen to the older cars? some with 5-7 years loan. the new car is cheaper than their loan balance.
      Based on the report, over 600k vehicles are to be registered this year, if i assume 70% are on a loan 5 years or more, the loan market will crash, and so will the used car dealers.

Many blame the cronies, AP, NAP. but i believe the problem lies with the very HIGH amount of loan by the banks involved.
      please don’t be mistaken, i’m all up for fair trade and competitive pricing, but until now, i have not heard or read of any concrete solution to address the issue.

• guberment on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:28 pm

This is assuming that our government would be willing to even consider the notion of restructuring their tax scheme. Which, surely, will result in innumerable ‘reasons’ why the present tax scheme needs to remain as is. What else is new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:32 pm

At least for vehicle 15 years and above..and incentives to be given by assesment of the car..If still in great condition then MAA should refund accordingly to let owners at least have the capital for new car downpayment.
    Should have an off peak sceme for owners who not into everyday driving by giving at least RM15k rebate of original car price.
    Off peak usage Monday to Friday is from 6.30pm-7.30am
    Sat-Sun and PHs is free all days..Outside the allow timings drivers have to purchase RM15 coupon to drive .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
    • anandlm on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:45 pm

There has to be a structured approach starting with proper MOT test that cannot be manipulated.
      There should be a reliable method for valuation of motor vehicles. Our system of pricing is artificial. Looking at Singapore and UK there is adherence to rules as they are not arbitrary and there are clear areas of responsibility regarding motor vehicles and road transport. Here we are subject to the whims of incumbent and incoming ministers and their minions..

• Leonard on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:33 pm

It is a good plan to be implemented, it would be best if the car price or the tax is to be reduced to 3%, then this plan can confirm being implemented successfully. Next year will be GST year which is additional 6% impose to the car sales. By then how can people afford to buy new car?

Proper planning is needed before the plan being implemented, after-all it is a good plan which can boost the country economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • Sure they do… why wouldn’t people who profit from car sales want a policy that leads to more car sales. Doesn’t matter if it takes away people’s freedom of choice to keep their property for as long as they like – profit is more important.

Instead of proposing policies more suited to dictatorial regimes, they should talk about giving incentives to highly fuel efficient cars and free road tax for cars less than 5 years old as well as free road tax for hybrids.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:37 pm

many old cars are safer, faster, more stable better engineered than the so called “new” cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 6
    • sumavulu on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:50 pm

What car? Give example with price.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:20 pm

my w124 230e will last another 50 years and can easily cruise at 200km/h on kesas highway without the whole car shaking

• sumavulu on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Is there any star on Euro NCAP?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:51 am

well. no. but this car you can say pioneered the whole test altogether. http://wikicars.org/en/Mercedes-Benz_W124

• anandlm on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Honda accord 1992 sm4 cb3. Bought used 8 years ago for 18k. Installed CNG. Cheaper to run than my protons which had myriad problems from day one. I guess I was unlucky in the QC sampling. All three were unlucky for me. The Honda requires little TLC. Did nearly 100k km. Still chugging along. No complaints. Road tax discount 25% as well. Insurance cheap. I drive carefully and responsibly. Not to say I don’t speed. Still it can do 160kmh on gas. To me it makes sense. Money saved is money earned. Plus its handling is acceptable for me. I will fight tooth and nail for a fair system of valuation and inspection.

• Marse09 on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Turunkan harga kereta, pinjaman max 5 thn. Selalunya org dah jemu pakai kereta yg sama selama 5 thn, so diorg mesti beli kereta baru. So kereta lama tu boleh jual ke luar negara dgn menggunakan channel tertentu. Takde la rakyat guna satu kereta selama 9-10 thn tunggu Loan habis byr. Masa tu nak jual pun kereta dah basi org tak pandang pun.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • tu la pasal..penat2 bayar loan kereta 9 tahun lepas tu nak skrap?? bodo piang btoi lah

• Kereta Malaysia ‘right hand drive’ … tak banyak negara yg mcm tu!

• komarad on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:45 am

ok what.. can export to these right hand drive country- India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Botswana, Nepal, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Australia, New Zealand, Zambia or export back to UK and Japan….

• Ben Choo on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I think she means non-existant public transport system, because let’s face it, outside of KL and Penang (if you can consider what they have there as adequate public transport), the only way you’re gonna get around anywhere else is via privately owned vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Steven Yong on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:51 pm

To… MAA..
    Not everyone will succeed to get the loan approved from bank…
    Some high commitment..
    Some blacklisted..
    Some CCRIS CTOS..
    SOME prefer to drive the old car and maintain it GOOD..like re spray ..new rims…
    Thank you…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • vintage classic on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:55 pm

then.. how about those old classics/vintage cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • In Turkey , if you scrap ur 29+y.o car, you get around rm5000. 25-29y.o car rm7500, 24-21y.o car rm10000.
    And if you scrap and buy a new car, you get tax reduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • In Turkey , if you scrap ur 29+y.o car, you get around rm5000. 25-29y.o car rm7500, 24-21y.o car rm10000.
    And if you scrap and buy a new car, you get tax reduction.

• Low Budget on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:12 am

It makes a lot of sense.
      Remember one Minister said that Malaysian cars are built to last 5-7 years, how on earth did the financial institutions allowed the car loan of up to 9 years?

• najib on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:26 am

bcos malaysian cant afford to pay installment if the loan period is 5 years.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:07 pm

No need to look far
    Just learn from Singapore experience.
    !0 years up, you scrap your car, you want to keep your car, you pay up. The amount to pay is usually higher than if you just get a new car.
    For vintage cars, another special category is present.
    Of course, It will not happen in Malaysia because it will impact on Pekima and Pukima

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
  • PocketIn on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:16 pm

MAA, please abolish all the Taxes and AP for cars, then only talk about scrapping cars. Cars have to be affordable cheap in the first place,only people consider scrapping it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
  • Wayangkulit on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Good!
    Let’s test their sincerity in putting public safety as the main reason for end of life vehicle policy by giving a full vehicle tax free if the public voluntarily scrap their vehicle

Scrap one unworthy end of life vehicle and that person is entitled to a brand new car of his/her choice fully tax exempted.
    To protect from abuse, once purchased the car is not allowed to change name for the next five years and is entitled to another such privilege after 10 years of such exemption has lapsed.

That should form as a litmus test for their so called sincerity in ensuring public safety and not another scheme to milk the public dry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Tax mau.. duty mau.. protection mau.. scrapp pon mau..

Mau kasi mampusss org ka?..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
  • Painter on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Tax Structure doesn’t favour car buyers. Some more, purchasing power parity not comparable to developed nations which have the scrapping scheme.

USD1 buys you a bread loaf, USD 30k buys a decent car. MYR 2.40 buys you a bread loaf, RM30k you get a Perodua Viva.

Cannot simply copy everything and apply it to our situation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • asraf on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Buying new cars doesnt mean your car is more safer or not than the old car,it’s depend on the model and specification..please reduce taxes and gives incentive to allow people to buy high end car which should be more safe and environmentally friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • MrNyx (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:33 pm

On the other hand, start imposing the minimum use of Euro 4 or above of fuel!

• brick on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:41 pm

sell or auction some cars and halfcut scraps to other countries like Japan currently doing right now. so there would be grey imported proton and perodua

• Old dog on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Since when USA got a 15 years life time for vehicle? This people simply said? Ask them to show any formal info?

• panjang on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Scrap old car?
    Nonsense law to be implement inMalaysia.
    We are not a high income nation.Forget what the news is feeding us…
    Price of house increases each year,only next year its EXPECTED to be stagnant.Our cost of living will keep on increasing too.

Scrap our car and use the public transport? Sure fine but wait a minute,Where is the non existent public transport?

So,after 5 year or whatever time they set we are supposed to scrap our car.If we only stay in our house for forever then its fine but the non existent of public transport makes is compulsory for us to have car.So we go buy one…maybe its cheaper that time
    but we get a loan again…and again…and again…when will we be debt free.We have to sacrifice to kept the industry running?
    Will we be benifited from it? I know the bank will. They always find a way around bnm and further depress us.

Congestion?
    pfff…lowering car’s price and scrapping old one supposed to solve this?
    U guys should try play Sim City maybe or start driving around big city and see the real picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • andyc on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Popcorn please….here we go again ~~

• Aero (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Eh MAA, why don’t you publicise new car sales by models first ?

And push the government for better and safer road infrastructure ?

What about better public transport ?

How about better quality and well-maintained roads as well (look at the condition of the roads in TTDI / Damansara now ! It’s like a warzone !) ?

Not forgetting Euro V petrol AND diesel NATIONWIDE (not just because Singapore forced you to do it in Johor).

And better automotive safety standards (make 6 airbags and ESC compulsory for ALL new cars) ?

As well as better incentives for EV or alternative energy vehicles (why did you guys stop the tax rebate for hybrid cars ?)

I can go on. My point is, MAA has no right to force a scrappage scheme which will trouble many low-income and elderly Malaysians. It will only enrich the already rich cronies. I understand where you guys are coming from, almost every European state, America and Japan have scrappage schemes, but they are developed countries. Name me one developing country which has a nationwide scrappage scheme ? Right. Let’s not get ahead of ourselves MAA. Do what you can first, the ‘simple’ things. Then we’ll talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • JohnLegend on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:00 pm

unless they will provide 80% cost of new car when you want to buy…then i agree! lmao..

• Amnok on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:09 pm

MAA & Kera jaan jangan pikir perut kamu orang aje. Sesetengah masyarakat yg berpendapatan sederhana pun tak mampu nak buat loan kereta baru. Beli kereta terpakai RM5K tunai kira dah beruntung. Kamu pikir golongan macam ini senang dapat loan n bayar loan ke? Cakap pakai otak skit plssssssss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Beckscum7 on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:26 pm

What you expect from MAA president, you think she really care about your safety? Its all about sales volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Yep.. then keep the duties.. & force to buy Plotong. .

Unfortunately. . Ada P2.. kacau daun betul.. ini semua salah Perodua.

Sales shrinking to 19%.. in its own country. . Malaysian x patriotic. . People keep buying cbu..ckd..

Salah Perodua juga.

• nighttrain on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Cronies need to make money to support political parties. If the govt help out the rakyat, cronies won’t make money. Cycle of death. Car scrapping scheme only works if the poorest rakyat who owns a car can afford to change vehicles every 15 years. This, so far, is not the case.

• Wise guy on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Saya percaya kerajaan kita yang mengamalkan negara berkebajikan tidak akan melaksanakan polisi ini demi tidak membebankan >20juta rakyat

• cut down the car taxes by at least half before start talking…who doesn’t want to change car if he can afford it? Think about it,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • NSern on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Driving an old school’s cars in Malaysia become impossible…how sad…

• The US does NOT have a federal mandatory scrappage scheme. During the bail out of the American auto industry, certain incentives were given to encourage the purchase of new cars.

Many states impose strict requirements for emissions and safety on older cars to ensure that they are road worthy and aren’t excessively polluting. In the event that the regular periodic tests are not passed, owners are given the opportunity to remedy the issues and have the vehicle re-tested. Some states continue to offer incentives to encourage the purchase of newer cars that meet safety and emissions requirements.

Basic research and reading comprehension skills – give it a try lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Scrap AP across the board on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:38 pm

These “smart” dude never understand that super expensive car prices doesn’t augut well with scrapping policy.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I fully agree with this

It’s an eyesore and danger to other road users when these half baked cars are driving on the road, sometimes even hogging it knowing that they are untouchable.

15 years is a reasonable figure.

For Korean cars, I would suggest 5 years scrap policy for the simply reason they are plain unreliable and a bigger eyesore to the aesthetics of our well built roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
  • paanjang16 on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:48 pm

MAA can proposed all they want but the government will never allow it short of pissing off a vast majority of its vote bank. In fact I’m going to be extremely surprised if the government actually have the balls to force people to scarp their cars, knowing how our government always U-turn on unpopular issues.

I can afford to replace to my ageing 20 year old national car, but choose not to since I do not want to be in debt. In fact after reading this kind of news from MAA it really put me off thinking/considering of replacing my ageing car with the P1 Iris, or any car for that matter. Thanks for killing the mood MAA!

• if so then, their r old too need to change first..then only talk about this.. AP old system too n..bla..bla…

• Mau Ambil Abis on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Why MAA PUSH THIS POLICY ? Very clear what , it is all about Big money. They wanted to korek wang from car buyers. Surelah, after implementing scrap policy, many people are forced to buy new cars and then kena suck money by banks eventhough their car is still in good condition.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

I have mixed opinions on this push for a mandatory vehicle scrap scheme.

I agree with their premise on making the road safer through removal of vehicles that are no longer safe by today’s standards. I disagree that older cars are safer than newer cars. Some old cars are built very tough, no doubt but this actually worsens the effects of a crash involving this vehicle, especially when pedestrians or riders are involved. The lack of a “safety cell” and airbags for passenger protection in older cars also compromise their safety, not to mention stability control. It’s a different story when the car is not well-maintained, however.

And while I do agree that the cars from an era where safety was not such a high priority should be scrapped, I have to ask to what extent should this scheme be carried out? Should a well-maintained 15 year old car that comes equipped with 6 airbags, stability control and other safety features (as is the case with some premium vehicles) still be scrapped?

If their concern is about poor vehicle maintenance, then why force them to scrap their cars and buy a new one when you could arguably just as well force them to fix up their cars so that they’re road-worthy again? If they refuse, then make their cars illegal on the road until they do something about it.

Otherwise, this is merely a scheme to increase the revenue of the auto-industry. Then there is the reason of improving emissions. Probably the most logical sounding reason among them all but it’ll also need some work from the government. The government could encourage changing to more efficient vehicles through a new road tax structure that is based on carbon emissions rather than engine capacity.

But in the end, for the mandatory scrapping scheme to be accepted at all, like the analysts say, the financial blow of buying a new vehicle needs to be lessened.

• Kaimeng88 on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Wah MAA u are killing me… I just started working travel 60km in total everyday with an old 16 year old wira with 25cents per km fc !!! Now u wan to scrap my car… OK la… No more saving… All money give to you ok? Ms chairman from MAA

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Those protong macai idiots always talking craps on over priced. . Under spec japs cars.. please read this article 20 times.. especially the sentence below. . The facts that more than half of the so called overpriced cars (CKD & CBU) is actually duties & tax..

“He said the government has to revise its tax structure, in particular excise duties that are currently imposed on new cars at a rate of between 65% and 105%, to ensure the effectiveness of such a scheme.”

Ini semua salah protong sampah.. xde sales. .

Meanwhile. . Perodua’s sales is overwhelming. . Axia bookings already pass 6K.. exceed planned production of 5K for the first batch.

• Honda can sell B segments with more airbags and VSC, why not Toyoltak?

• dugongxx on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:52 pm

My 15 year old E46 is better than any new crap from perodua or proton.

• bmworksyop on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Got how many star in Australasian NCAP / EuroNCAP? 0?
      Hahah

• Replace on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:52 pm

If my car is nt roadworthy, it can be repaired. Replace me a new car if u12 scrap my car. Watever incentives or tax reduction won’t be enough, v still need to pay more in the end. U r just increasing our burden.

• tiger on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:44 pm

why there r so many genius in bolehland?? if made mandatory, it will lead to crash in the popeerty narket as most buyers unable to obtain housing loan due to commitment for the HP car loan..and trust me NO MEDIA willing to publish this issue..prepare for more propaganda sapoting tis scheme in the next few days in the local papers..and oh, btw, me driving a 20 year old wira fast and stable

• improve our nation’s public transportation! problem solved!

ajiajo here and there just to squizz rakyat’s money

• Prominence on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:11 am

Might probably get lots of dislike for this comment but I am quite fond of my ‘old’ 15 year old car.

To many, it is just an old junk car and doesn’t hold much value but to me, I like it very much to the point that I’ll rather have my old car than a new Vios for example.

Tested a new car like Vios before. The electric power steering and electronic controlled throttle feels really unnatural for me compared to my old car’s hydraulic power steering and cable operated throttle.

Call me old fashioned if you want but that is just how I am. Sometimes, too much of electronic assists and interference can make things become boring.

• samelorsark on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:30 pm

But Same Lorrr swore Vios is the best car in the world!
      Muahahahahahhah

• Prominence on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Depends on what you want. If you want a decent point A to B car, then Vios it is for you.

For some people where technical performance oriented things like throttle response and steering feel, Vios is not the car to go for. Plus the rear torsion beam suspension for Vios makes it inferior compared to multi link rear suspension.

Nonetheless, most people don’t really bother about these things.

• someone will never allow reduction of duties period, as it is p1 poor performance is blamed into allowing foreign cars into malaysia. still a dream…

• Dear MAA,
    It looks like u’ve again missed d ‘average’ rakyat’s point about d whole scrapping scheme. In my opinion (and like many that have pointed out over d years), it would only b possible basically if:
    – final selling prices of new vehicles come down significantly (please do not suggest vehicles of ’emerging-market’, ‘budget’, ‘special value’ or ‘end-of-life-promotion’ class cars eg. Vios, City, Viva, Persona/Saga SV coz they r designed to b ‘cheap to build’ or in more comforting words – ‘value priced’ in d 1st place). This also involves all taxes applied n not just focusing on particular categories like hybrids or EEV for tax breaks.

– a steady/gradual n mutually agreed vehicle depreciation/de-valuation mechanism among all parties(eg. used car dealers, consumers, insurance & finance agencies, n not just d new car manufacturers n sales agents/organizations tat u guys always rope in) is in place. This will help as a guide when a vehicle is traded in without loosing too much value tat d buyer feels too much pain getting a new car

In fact since the past couple of years, there has been (and some forecasted) quite a few hiccups in your plans to encourage regular vehicle sales, namely
    – previously executed tighter car loan application rules (http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/02/01/tight-loan-application-rules-affecting-car-sales-says-perodua/)
    – OPR/interest rate hike (http://www.themalaymailonline.com/money/article/car-dealers-forecast-drop-in-sales-after-interest-rates-hike)
    – Ever-increasing spending costs (http://m.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/car-buyers-set-to-downsize-as-price-hikes-hit-home-maa-predicts)

And of course, have you really thought of how would your scrap-plan fit in with consumers and car dealers with happenings like this
    – PEKEMA: Abolishing APs affect govt revenue (http://paultan.org/2014/08/30/pekema-abolish-ap-affect-revenue/)
    – GST implementation in April next year

Those aside, you mention the idea of retiring old cars because they are no longer safe and as you said “This will ensure that only vehicles in good condition and that are environmentally friendly remain on the roads, contributing to a safer and cleaner traffic environment.”

Unfortunately as a petrol head who travels >60km daily covering highways, urban and trunk roads for almost 20yrs, I noticed a majority of road accidents involve cars that are much less than 10yrs old, while commercial vehicles eg express/factory/school buses and lorries emit much much more visible n smelly fumes than cars. D closet regular real life happening I’ve encountered involving ‘old cars’ are breakdowns although I do not see how this affect others apart from attracting nosey motorists that eventually cause traffic jams. Thus is it possible that safety and environmental concerns should have a wider scope of analysis instead of banging on d average motorists head?

Or maybe you should spread your wings to help public transportation become safer, cheaper to run, more efficient n cleaner since it has already been proven in many places d answer to issues of congestions, n promoting a less stressful, safer and cleaner traffic environment.

Lastly you mentioned “a number of developed countries including Japan and the United States already have a scrappage scheme for vehicles older than 15 years. It also claimed that the implementation of a scrappage policy will provide benefits across the country’s economy.”

This has long been argued by members of d public, so its just a waste of time repeating all over again. Instead, I’ve found a rather interesting article from NST/CBT 2yrs back that humms the same notes, “Average Age of Cars And Loan Tenure Period In Malaysia”

• 1, scrap the AP system first
    2. Scrap off the car tax system
    3. Scrap off MAA for not been pratical with the people alway think for the rich not the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • anti macai on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:31 am

ini bangang pembuat polisi hIpOkrit nak mampus..lu x yah sembang pasal keselamatan la..kereta baru keluar tahun 2014 ABS pn xdak(p2 axia)..airbag pn 2 je pun..cube bayang kalo ABS xda sondol kereta org ,trlanggar pejalan kaki ke..gua jijik tgk bangang2 ni sembang pasal safety concern..puih HIPOKRITTTT!!
    sebenarnya yg bangang2 ni kisah hanya pasal duit!!

• MAA should be scrap – Malaysian

• Classic FTW on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:36 am

Old cars are better than new cars but they wont listen. Example: http://www.carthrottle.com/5-reasons-why-ill-never-buy-a-new-car/

• MangkukMAA on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:16 am

This policy is bonkers. You want me to buy a new car when my car is already fully paid and still runs well? The view is always rosy when you sit high on a pedestal. Suruh BOS MAA makan gaji 2k n no allowance + benefits = baru ko tau rasa kitaorang. Malaysian people bukan taknak beli kereta tapi harga kereta macam pukimak. Bukan nyer kereta tu boleh naik harga macam rumah. Imagine buying a car every 15 years and only having 6 years of stress free car ownership. Kalau miss satu payment, bank would use collection agency to call you up and threaten bankruptcy. If this keeps going on then i urge our malaysian brothers to pressure the government to abolish MAA. Living in Sarawak and Sabah, even the car price is much higher.

• itu lah..kalo nak skrap juga kena buat benda2 nih dulu:

1. abolish taxes on car
      2. lower road tax
      3. upgrade public transports
      4. scrap MAA and MAI

• goldavanza on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:31 am

The MAA lady is probably crying as she reads how we hentam her proposal on Paul Tan.

Resign dan pencen lah makcik!

• Henry on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:32 am

Talk is cheap but a new car price is not. Do you know how many months’ salary it cost to own the cheapest new car?

• fast5 on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:07 am

She only care for cronies and the Rich.

Others she pertaining(poor rakyat) invincible and less care attitude.

She need to resign and be sack because she don’t understand the word 1Malaysia.

• Don’t think it’s a good idea just to scrap old cars.
    Because vintage cars are also ‘old’.

It’d be wiser to scrap road-unworthy ones.

Stricter than-always-can-pass-Puspakom-test-if-you-know-the-right-people-and-pay-the-right-amount would be a better idea.

So that we can ensure all cars are roadworthy.

• Low Budget on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:18 am

Puspakom? Ha,ha,ha,ha……….
      I bought a 2nd hand car a few years back that certified ‘PASSED’ by Puspakom only to find out, Auto Gearbox, drive shaft got problem…

• Anything with puspakom is all under table…

• I think the policy of scrapping cars, is good for environment and reduce high cost to clean up these environmental issues. Funds comes from tax payers pocket to address this issues.

MAA should evangelise about environment to local car manufacturers and oil companies to upgrade fuel / engines to be more environment friendly.

Lastly Are we there yet?

• For Once, in quite a while, I can see ALL MALAYSIANS banding together for a common good cause. Way to go MAA!!! You have just helped form Malaysia biggest opposition group.

• (1) Number of cars on the road remain the same no matter how may cars someone owned – only one car can be driven at one time!
    (2) Do not bring in any arguments and comparison to developed nations as we we have to admit we are not there yet, not in nearest time.
    (3) MAA is not proposing the transport or traffic, but more on RM side.

• Low Budget on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:14 am

Quote: The reduction of excise duties will enable new cars to be sold at a lower price, enabling buyers to shorten their installment plan durations and dispose their cars after a certain period,” he said.

Yes, 10001% agree with the above quote.

• Francis Keng on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:22 am

If BMW latest M4 is less than 50k, I don’t mind

• What about people who can’t afford to buy new cars?

I know people who are driving their 20 year old car because they really can’t afford to fork out another Rm30,000 for a basic axia or so…

• Diesel Power!! on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:40 am

Dun talk abt scrapping cars if town planning also damn bad. Most of the accidents occured bcoz 1. Sudden big holes on the road. 2. Motorbikes use highway and zig-zag with superhero stunt. 3. Triple park and dun follow road sign. 4. 9yrs loan. 5. Bad transport. 6. Poor lighting on major road. 7. Crazy traffic light. 8. Super modified cars like wiralution!. 9. Poor enforcement.

• Diesel Power!! on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:52 am

The most thing i cant understand is y motorbikers are more arrogant nowadays. They pay cheap roadtax, no need pay toll, contribute the least income for the country interms of tax, duty & petrol but they entitled to use toll roads, park anywhere they like freeofcharge, driving in opposite direction, horn to force ppl to give way eventhough ppl are infront of them are miles ahead. Btw, do the AES camera snap motorbike photo, like speeding and dun follow traffic light?

• rider on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:03 pm

I know what kind of driver you are. Drivers like you, wont give signal wen changing lanes, wont see side mirrors for coming motorbikes/cars wen turn and changing lanes and will turn and change lanes suddenly withaout giving damn for other road users. Last but not least using handphone while driving. If drivers like you start using public transport then our road will much more safer.

• youruderider on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:40 pm

It’s rude to honk cars if they are changing lane, especially during traffic jams. Cars cannot move as fast as motorists. For comparison, do you do speeding in housing areas, schools where pedestrian are moving slowly by walking? If yes then think twice, you should go back to driving school and take road testing again.

• Garfield on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:59 am

What about AP cronies scrappage system being implemented as well? Much more easier to implement than the car scrappage system. Scrap AP holders now who are known to be rent-seekers and replace with genuine entrepreneurs or koperasi. Yearly audit to replace the ineffective ones and limit what I call concession to no more than 10 years (even less than 5 years if possible). Award those who show outstanding after-sales service with extension (by customers’ feedback, not by authority alone).

• Henry on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:39 am

Forget what she says. Remember who she is representing.

The last thing you want to do is be a slave to the auto and banking industry. Seven to nine year loan for just a car and it depreciates like hell. You can pay off your housing loan in the same tenure.

• No problem, but any tax on the cars should be removed.

• conclusion: buy a car that last 10years with peace of mind.. to reduce Burden…

not a car that last only 100,000km = 5 years under testing.

• kalam on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:52 am

I’m Agree with this policy. But the excise duty must be drastically reduced. The scrapped car price also must be higher depend on the car brand.

Then everybody can change their car regularly.
    …..but if only our salary rate similar to the develop country.

• OldcargoNewcarcome on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

This scheme is very good idea, old car more than 15 years cukup guna..la beli kereta baru kan shiok ? Sekarang harga kereta kan sudah turun ? Apa lagi bising ? kalau tak nak pakai kereta ada MRT, LRT , Monorail, KTM, bas, motor dan lain lain banyak pilihan. Saya naik motor sampai juga .

• Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Nooooooooooo this will ruin my future plan to have a project car like the 80s-90s era LR Defender or Toyota Landcruiser

• If new car price is extremely cheap in Malaysia then u can do so, but that is not the case. After all the price hike, even turning on tv at food court also have to pay now, and you want to introduce this? I do not think accident in Malaysia is cause because of old car, but illegally modified or under service car. Better focus on this. And if people can afford new car, who want to drive an old car? So uncomfortable and can kill them as u think. Have u ever think of this?

• Rags1968 on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Finally somebody who has some sense, First of all, everyone crying for cheap cars, with the current situation and prices, already there is an exponential growth of automobile ownership already , if we do not keep this in check, the daily jams seen in KL will become Bangkok where everything is in a standstill most of the time. The Idea of introducing EOL policy is good for the economy, good for jobs, good for people who buys cars. With this policy, old clunkers which are no longer fuel efficent, safe and reliable are taken off the roads and new ones introduced , this will in turn satisfy the need to own new and cheaper cars by the masses which keep up with the current technology on fuel efficent yet powerful cars.

This situation should be viewed positively by all parties concerned as it promotes new . cleaner , more safe and fuel efficent csrs with reasonable prices.

After the mandatory period of 10 or 15 years of ownership, the approved scrap price for a particular vehicle would be set, the owner then drives the car to the approved scrapping facility and pick up a discount coupon for the surrender value of the car and proceed to go to a car showroom and pick up a new car and get the appropriate discount of his new vehicle based on the amount given for the scrap vehicle. Also the gov’t shold also consider exporting used cars above 5 years to 3rd world countries and the value of these cars should be a minimum of 60% their original value, so in turn, those who want to sell the 5 year old car can do so with a confirmed and guaranteed value. This will in turn encourage people to buy new cars for replacement and this in turn will promote the economy from car dealerships to banks

• Annaeh on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm

What about classic, antique, vintage or whatever types of old cars you want to call them. Are they only for the luxury brands only therefore allowed for the rich people only? What if someone keeps his 1984 Proton Saga in pristine condition? Would he still have to scrap it.
    ln a “low” income country like Malaysia with very high car prices and poor public transport this idea of a scrappage policy should be, well, just scrapped.

• Jimmy on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:03 pm

May not be a bad idea. In fact, good if properly planned, I repeat, properly.
    Various aspects have to be taken into considerations, tidak boleh suka-suka terus scrap tanpa rancangan jangka panjang. Use your brains please, Orang-orang Besar.
    Terutamanya tidak boleh fikir tentang koceks sendiri & rakan-rakans.
    And, please saman those who bakar sampah-sarap at open space. Please provide us the number to call when we see such thing, in every cities and towns.

• yeah good try

another monopolize project like feldar, bernass, NFC cow ,indah woter. AESS.. all control by cronies family.

u haven’t fully decreased 30% that u promise, now u want to propose scrappage old car. im sure this guy is gang of new chair man mamak kutty.

don’t forget we pay over price for automobile industry.

• MAA_bitch on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Want to save environment?
    upgrade to euro 5 fuel just like Singapore

Want to reduce road accidents?
    Implement euro Ncap safety standards

What? Going to burden coorperation that feed MAA all this time?

• v-power on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Those sitting in ivory towers often make decisions like they have thought things through. Well Datuk Aishah, not many Malaysians can affors new cars(retirees, fresh graduates, housewives, etc). No matter how much you want to sugar coat it, the scrappage system would definitely do more harm than good here in Malaysia…

I feel this is another money-spinning opportunity by those in the hot seat, than having the rakyat’s interest at heart. We are not Japan or Singapore; most of us don’t have such disposable income to afford a brand new car and burden ourselves with a 9 year-loan repayment…

I would rather sell my car and top up with money saved and get a good and fairly new second-hand car that would serve me well for years. Tak pening kepala bulan2…!

Even if the government offer some trade-in scheme, how much money can we actually get for the car…and what car can we actually afford to buy? Also, what will happen to the uncles & aunties plying around the rural roads in their trusty old bangers…does MMA have a contingency plan for them…? And what would happen to the second-hand car market then…will millions of cars on the lot at the moment be just piles of expensive scrap…?

So many questions, yet I’m pretty sure MAA won’t have a ready answer for them…or even be aware such concerns even exists…

• Queen on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Old cars are not one of the reason of congestion.
    Plus, the way this article was written, it mainly aimed to the people in the city (eg kl, selangor). But then, If the scheme is going to be implement, all citizens will be affected. Like Uncle, Pakcik Ah Po, Amaci, Tata’s living in the outskirts or rural areas all have to fork out money to buy a new car. Do you think they can afford it?
    Dont want roads to be congested? Build a better public transportation system, lower rent, lower house prices, fix the potholes (reason why a lot of cars slowing down) then, maybe after all that are good enough, maybe we can do traffic control like London.

• idris on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

kereta pon mahal, nak scrap apa lagi? baru habis hutang keta nak kena buat hutang keta baru pulak ka?

• cikgu bahasa on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Boleh apply this scheme tapi buat mcm UK dan jepun… bkn mcm singapore. di uk atau jepun kereta yg dah lama di benarkan berada di jalanraya…dgn syarat masih sempurna dan tidak merbahayakan pengguna lain di jalanraya, setiap kali hendak renew roadtax kena disyaratkan wajib inspection utk menentukan ianya bernilai utk berada di jalanraya atau di scrap dgn sedikit pampasan. dlm pada itu harga kereta hendaklah mencerminkan pendapatan rakyat. di jepun kereta lama dikenakan roadtax yg tinggi…

• pakcik pencen on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:27 pm

bagaimana utk pakcik yg dah pencen ni…kereta semua dah habis bayar…takkan pakcik nak kena beli kereta lagi???

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Old car? I can change a whole new engine for few thousands. No sweat. What else can go wrong? Suspensions? Gears? All basic & simple tech. Compatibility. That’s beauty of Daihatsu’s. Still no. 1 in UK.

Back to basic.

• motorheadsark on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:45 pm

UK is only small part of the world, moreover we are in bolehland, nobody gives it a damn.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:08 pm

SarkSOB

Oh yeah? Where’s Protong in world index list? Please gimme any list.. from US.. or even India.. or Tibet.. or Zimbabwe.

No one.. not even animals around the globe give a damn. What a pity.

• motorheadsark on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:14 pm

I dun mention anything about proton . Better check your mind. Daihatsu is no. 1 in UK . Even if true so what? Why must folliw UK? If not reliable why give diff specs to bolehland? For selling badge?

Puih.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:20 pm

SarkSOB..

So what’s your problem Daihatsu is no. 1 in UK?
            What your problem with Daihatsu if not because of P1?

If it no. 1 in UK.. well it’s selling all over the globe? You ve a problem with that? I enjoying it.. & for that reasons (sales & figures) I can change entire engine for few thousands.

You ve problems with P2. . Well just say it? P1 macai?

Puiihh.

• motorheadsark on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Who cares about no.1 or no.10 in UK, that’s not bolehland

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:35 am

You fool.. Perodua is no.1 here.. u think who? Protong? P1 share market only 19% now.. & shrinking.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:21 pm

What about vintage or classic cars? What if one owns a modern classic, say a well looked after E30 M3 that he/she wants to keep forever. Shouldn’t they be rewarded for maintaining their car and reducing the cost of recycling? What of the old Mercs that are still going strong?
    I strongly believe that a strict MOT system is better than a mandatory scrap policy. Every car has to undergo MOT inspections every couple of years or so and after an accident repair to ensure their road-worthiness. If it fails an MOT test, necessary repairs are needed and the test be carried out again. As this will incur cost on the owner, he/she will decide whether the its worth continuing with the repairs or scrapping.
    This is especially fair for owners who cares for their car and couldn’t afford to keep on buying cars.
    Hey, you don’t like your beat up Altis, fine. I still love my 86 Saga.

• Vince Cheah on Sep 12, 2014 at 5:00 am

Will be very unpopular with the masses … Fat chance that it will be implemented … After decades of people being put in a false sense of actually being able to own a car with those 5 years, 7 years & 9 years car loans …

• Alex Thong on Sep 13, 2014 at 10:01 pm

First, if the implementation of this scheme is intended to create a safer road environment, I wanna ask, how 15-years-old-and-above cars can pose dangers on the road? For being too slow? Or because it has no air cond and it might endanger other people? By common sense, we all know that accidents happen mostly because of speeding. How often do you see a 15-years-old car driving more than 150kmh on the road? Road safety is because of Malaysian’s bad driving attitude, not because of old cars cruising on the road.

Secondly, regarding environment friendly, yes, old cars are producing more smokes and consumes more fuel compared to hybrid cars nowadays. But the worst thing is some people removed their catalytic converter and modified their exhausts so that it can produce loud and annoying sound regardless new cars or old cars. Isn’t that more harmful to environment? Have any party done any operation to catch those with illegal exhaust modifications? Scrap old cars huh?

Thirdly, those proposing and agreeing to this scheme are, i believe, mostly can afford to change a new car with their annual salary, or some maybe monthly salary. Have you ever put yourself into those hardly earning less than RM2000 per month shoes? We saved every single cents from our salary just to pay off the car loan installment every month, for up to 9 years, and few years after that, it goes to the junkyard. Craps!

Fourth, easing up traffic congestion huh? This scheme only meant to make the cars costlier so that only rich people like those who suggested and agreed to this scheme people can drive smoothly on the road. Did anyone of you ever wondered why so many people work so hard to pay for their cars and get stucked in traffic jams everyday? It’s obviously because the public transportations are not comfortable enough! If you do not know why, go sell off your car and start taking public transports to anywhere you want to go, without your bodyguards, assistants and cameramen.

Lastly, if you say “Scrappage scheme should be implemented because they are old, dangerous and pollute the environment”, i will say “Expelling high-paid officers should be implemented because they are old, outdated, incapable and deteriorating country’s image to the world”!

• I'LL AGREE IF... on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

I’ll agree if the below steps being implemented 1st.
    1) Scrap ALL the excise duties fees or watever duties.
    2) Improve & built more & more public transports (Incl zero lrt break down every week)
    3) LRT/MRT to cover more areas even for other states.
    3) Make sure all national cars (old or new) has airbags, abs and seat belts)
    4) Make sure national cars has good built quality.
    5) Toll-free inside cities area.
    6) Zero-crime rate at public transport areas.
    6) Then only Scrap old cars.

Thanks.