RENDERED: Proton Irox SUV based on the Iriz

proton-irox-concept-theophilus

It’s a trend these days for global car manufacturers to create high-riding B-segment cars from their B-segment hatchback platforms. It’s not so much that people actually take these things off-road, but it’s more for people who like the rugged looks and prefer a higher seat position.

Peugeot has the 2008 based on the 208, Ford has the EcoSport built from the Fiesta, and Honda’s HR-V is built on the Jazz platform. Some manufacturers don’t really go to the extent of creating a whole new model, such as Volkswagen’s CrossPolo based on the regular Polo hatch, but then they also have a proper B-segment SUV coming up called the Volkswagen Taigun.

proton-irox-concept-theophilus-rear

Since Proton has global aspirations for the new Proton Iriz and its platform, we thought we might show you how a small B-segment SUV based on the Proton Iriz could look like. Malaysian Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin came up with this “Proton Irox” based on photos of the Proton Iriz. Quite an apt name which plays on the Iriz name and an off-roader’s possibility of traversing rocky terrain.

Currently we’ve got the likes of the Great Wall M4, the Toyota Rush, the Ford EcoSport and the Peugeot 2008 to choose from in the Malaysian market, with the Honda HR-V set for a possible 2015 introduction. What do you think? Would you be interested in a B-segment SUV based on the Iriz?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 177
    • Ya,BEROX is suitable for you!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 6
      • !@#$%^& on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Setuju. Kat kampung aku pun ada berox nama joe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
        • R&D is but another word for Waste Money on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:51 pm

:)

Hey Proton, just hire Theophilus.

Pay him $10million, and you can save $490 million.

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • afiqhakimi on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:33 pm

burok lagi nama joe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • jeremy on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Because it’s not a real car???

• FailFish on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:17 pm

“This car is designed as an apology for Malaysian, after producing inferior products for the people. And now to correct this, we’re presenting you our new car that’ll meet all your expectations. Introducing the all new, Proton XORI.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 55
      • Jimmy on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Very imaginative, thumbs up.
        Perhaps you can come up with some innovative design to make the rear view of our Iriz better. The front and side are cantiq, especially in blue colour.
        It is definitely a good idea to produce a crossover Iriz for the lower income group who need higher ground clearance vehicles. The ground clearance can be made 5cm higher with wider treads, wider tyres and thicker tyres with R17 alloy. I am sure you can do that Proton. Price should be around RM70K with 6 airbags + ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Xori? It should be aptly named Sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • ProtonGSC on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Theophilus chin, Proton should realise by now you’re far better then any current proton designer’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
      • Black Dog on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Fully agreed. Now why would Proton spend millions designing a car when Theophilius has done such a brilliant job. Irox rocks too!

As usual, Proton will wait till the market saturates then only will produce it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Blaze (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:41 pm

VW has a concept named IROC. So i dont think Proton will be stupid enough to use IROX as this may lead to a very lenghty court battle.

• Sky Dragon on Oct 19, 2014 at 2:01 pm

yg BEROX tu engko ,ske hati nk kutuk name kete negara sndiri

• Wow! Sooo macho. Much better looking than IRIZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • That name suits you better.

• Gwm m4 sister??

• abahko on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:18 pm

should have named it IRON instead.

• No,Proton already produce a SUV car that using Proton design.Youngman use it to sell in China.The Proton SUV is now on testing.Maybe around 2015 the car will be launch.BTW,GO GO PROTON!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • zeek (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

So is this going to compete with the EcoSport & 2008?

• Ong Chee Boon on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Someone in Proton, please hire this guy immediately for future car designs. This rendering is excellently done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Sorry.. ve to outsource engines for this.. no engines dy..

Tada enjin kita beli enjin.. duit R&D pon kita sapu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Toyota pun beli enjin BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Toyota tak pakai duit rakyat Malaysia beli enjin. Proton berharap RM1.7 billion nak buat R&D. Cakap Global Car, enjin pun tak boleh pakai. Duit R&D buat apa? Baik simpan aje duit tu, bina sekolah, bina universiti, tingkatkan sistem pengajaran. Kan lagi baik, buat pelaburan untuk generasi akan datang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
      • BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Toyota tak pakai duit rakyat Malaysia beli enjin. Proton berharap RM1.7 billion nak buat R&D. Cakap Global Car, enjin pun tak boleh pakai. Duit R&D buat apa? Baik simpan aje duit tu, bina sekolah, bina universiti, tingkatkan sistem pengajaran. Kan lagi baik, buat pelaburan untuk generasi akan datang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • Macam la USA Jepun tak pernah pakai duit rakyat selamatkan sykt.

Enjin boleh pakai la, Europe pun bole cuma kena bayar sikit la, tara baca ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Real Motorhead on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Baca kalu bole sikit, kira kalu tara bole. Apa itu 3000K aaa?

• Motorhead kata 3000K tu Axia order on first day launch!

3,0000,000!!!Haha!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Nope Chevy was bankrupt & sold..

Tak tau baca ka?

Only in Malaysia. .cam dah bankrupt. .sold out but still can money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • huehuehue on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Potong iLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • kzm (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:41 pm

those headlamp meant for SUV..look nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • eims perfume on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:44 pm

yes please!

not because i am a fan of big, heavy, more FC SUV , but only for the sake of more variants of iriz and more spare parts for people to play. LOL

im more of a family man.. can theo please render a stretched iriz, just hot alza as a stretched myvi to become a mini mpv, LOL again.. many will want a cheaper mini mpv for their family is still small. they want a bigger boot and seldom bring 7 people inside.

• rifle on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Wow..handsome one there Theo! Congrats!

• M/T is KING on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:13 pm

How about IREX. Sounds scary.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Brilliant idea.. Makes alot of sence… Bt in this rendering… Terrible execution…!

• Souya Tempe on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:53 pm

I’m just glad that Theo moved the back numbering plate up. Nampak licin sangat belakang. Macam kepala atuk gua.

• Albert Lee on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

How about” IAGRA “. Only the front V is missing.
    Theophilus Chin should replace the designer who designed the Suprima.
    The Suprima has a horrible looking backside that looked “smashed” up.Even the Savvy looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • landiar on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm

That cannot bear horrible looking Vios, like double chins hold tight

• cendol (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Vios is best selling non-national car. SO many people like that backside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • landiar on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Best selling is dugong, catfish is rare on road.

Rakyat smart oredi, Lol

• jeff lim on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

if they’re going to produce, I’ll definitely buy “irox”. Iriz is pretty good, but I’m more looking forward proton’s first suv!

• pxp154 on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:23 pm

awesome design & why not make them.

mini suv market is growing globally…

• insider on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Theo should work with Azlano

• Great Design !! Thumbs up

• marieta on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

This is great!…Proton should consider this trend and I don’t see why it can’t done…

• Bataman on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Proton IRON(MAN).

Did i win a car???

• Winning Loser on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Yessss, you are the winner! Not a car but a sterika! Now you can be an ironINGman!

• Bataman on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Ok what. Better than nothing. Got free IronMan Blurray disc or not?

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Okok.. Datuk Najib.. now give them 2 billions some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • VW Taigun or Tiguan ?

• i thought proton new model will be based on other suv car such as forturner and cr-v cuz dah dua kereta proton based on other model right?

• jackson on Sep 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Yes please. I take one in Fire Red Premium Spec like Iriz.

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2014 at 4:56 pm

IRV, Innovative Runabout Vehicle, or IRC, Intelligent Runabout Crossover.
    Well, it is not difficult to jack up the height and to spread out treads, and to change the rims and tyres, right? Can fully use the original Iriz to do that, even good Abeng shops can do that. Have we seen very tall Hilux and car-height Hilux with extremely large/wide rims/tyres?
    No need to change the basic structure/platform of Iriz, just calculate the height and stability only. Now you have a cross Polo, cross Touran, Cross Iriz.
    Don’t be too greedy that you want a true genuine 4WD SUV such as Proton CRV/RR, most people just want the height. Your common rakyat are putting hopes on you, and these are your majority supporters during pilihan raya.

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:00 pm

No need to worry about power nor torque for larger wheels, 1.6L is enough for most family, just look at Toyota Avanza with 1.3L for 7 persons.

• steben on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:31 pm

siapa yang pergi karnival proton dan pergi ke R&D ada satu kereta bungkus..besok akan reveal.tengok dari cutting mcm iriz cross version..

• malique on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Do not critic without your face

• Don Juan De Marco on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Just one of those boring SUVs.

• Proton already do a test for the Proton SUV.The car now is now on testing in Europe country.If you guys want to see the images of the Proton SUV,search Youngman T5.That’s is Proton and Italian design.Youngman just rebadge this car to sell in China.BTW,GO GO PROTON!

• JustWannaSay on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Atleast this more promising than Perodua Nautica…actually i seems can’t found it on the road…ppl keep saying Suprima is rare…but i think Nautica is Super Extreme Rare…keh keh keh

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Yeah.. fortunately yg rugi 1 billion is plotong klentong. .

Lotus lay off dy.. Tg Malim is next..

U can celebrate that..

Xde enjin kita beli enjin. .

“To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • JustWannaSay on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Hahaha…why so butthurt bro?? Hadui…relax la…Your Perodua still got the mighty Myvi and powerful Axia…so sorry if i did hurt your feelings by bringing up bout the Nautica bro.. keh keh keh

• mohd aiqall on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:47 pm

kena tunggu tahun depn lh nampknya…go! Go!! PROTON

• If patria neo design become SUV, that’s cool!

• Alami on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:39 pm

This SUV will be launch tomorrow by Tun Dr Mahathir at Proton Centre of Excellence (CoE) Shah Alam. Supposedly launching is today but postpone due to Tun’s busy schedule. So, just wait and come to Proton CoE tomorrow to explore the first Proton SUV.. cheers!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:01 pm

When jerks that making billions of lost mock others that making billions of profits. . You sound like a plain idiots. .

Jerks become idiots. .

Keep it to yourself bro.. deal with your problem first. . Pray hard this Iriz can save you..

A few thousands jobs at stake.. not my problem.

Parasites must be removed. . Sooner or later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • motorbart on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Eh you go and tell Theo to do Axia SUV lor.

You are too butthurt to read praises for Proton, lol

• Botol on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Wow… Now suv version… Bigger and heavier parts but same shitty engine and gearbox… I cant wait for suv R3 version with more heavy parts added like fiberglass bodykit and bigger wheels… All come with same shitty engine and gearbox.. More money, more weight, same power, more fuel consumtion … Go go peoton… Go to hell .. Rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • mascaretaker on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:30 pm

give the suv a lorry rigidity chassis. then accident nothing happen

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

I wonder why Proton want to test their cars overseas when they dont have the engine that meets the EU or US emission specs & fuel quality. Just like the Iriz blunder. It only makes sense when you have 2 types of similar engine for the vehicle. One that runs on low quality fuel & another for tough emission & fuel std. It would be different cars if the engines are not of similar make. It will look the same but wont drive the same.

• Gueszt on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:49 pm

What a looker!!
    Throw in a Turbo, AWD, a bit larger boot and sell it at RM70-75k. BOOMM!!!

• AMG POWAAA on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Will it achieve 0-100km/h under 10 second? Hope it will avialable for Petrol and Diesel because 10 second o-1-00km/h is not acceptable .

• senaling on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:27 am

No need SUV. Suzuki sells more swift than SX4.

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Aug 13, 2023 at 6:40 pm

Blkgnya comel, tp namanya lucu!