Perodua hopes for easier car financing in Budget 2015

perodua-ceo-028

It’s T-minus one day to the tabling of Budget 2015. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has expressed their wishes; now it’s Perodua’s turn. The Rawang-based carmaker hopes car financing will be made easier for buyers, reports The Malaysian Insider.

“The average (car loan) rejection rate is 28%. At one stage it was at 35%,” TMI quoted Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh as saying.

“On the one hand, the government encourages people to use quality affordable vehicles, and while we respect the policy of the central bank, we hope it does not get too strict on those who meet the requirements.”

Aminar hopes the government will make things easier for first-car buyers, particularly those who live in areas where efficient public transport is not available. “They need to have their own transport… we hope to provide a solution to that,” he told the publication.

Apart from that, Aminar also expressed his concerns about rising living costs amidst the dawn of the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST). GST is scheduled to take effect next April.

Last week, Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari said that Budget 2015’s auto-related matters are likely to align themselves with NAP 2014’s aspirations. Budget 2015 is also expected to yield a list of zero-rated or tax-exempted items with respect to the upcoming GST – will our petrol and diesel be GST-ed?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kacimara on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:38 pm

senang pinjam tidak bermakna senang bayar hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:39 pm

hahah
      axia sales not as good as expected

now beg support from gomen???

ayohhh last week got support feom homwn oredi ( gomen incewasw fuel price)

• JPJ Director on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Lagi songlap, lagi best!

• Rakyat on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Aminar should ask the gov to abolish the excise duty if he really care for the rakyat

• carlover on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Wanna buy axia ?

• Now go for Honda cub, financing cannot, my area, bus don’t have, LRT don’t have, Road Rosak, longgang sesak, banjir just because our G make it, let people pay for it.

• should stop giving loan tenure for 9 years.
    maximum should be 7 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Yep 9 years is too long and the bank will benefit even more. Problem is if you don’t qualify for a hire purchase loan then that means you have too much debt. Regulations were set in place to reduce household debt which is rising everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • levah on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:42 pm

car priced up to 80k allowed to get loan up to 9 years. 80k and above 7 years.

• Thinkg first before simple saying 7 years on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Well, if you want to sponsor everyone whom cannot make it for the 7 years by putting their down payment for the car then by all means. Just because you can make if for 7 years loan does not make everyone fall under your quota.

Or if the gomen will completely remove the tax for cars, then they can even make the car loan tenure for 5 year, people would be able to afford them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Afraid on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I would say only buy something that you can afford. Just like how a family should only buy a property worth 3 times their combined household income and buying anything valued higher would result in a heavy burden of debt. Same thing with HP for cars.

With a rejection rate of up to 35% for P2 car shows that many people try to attain a car which is out of their budget even with 9 year loan.

Household debt is at all time high and with more price hikes and GST coming, more steps taken to curb the rise of debt is a necessary step.

• Pokli Seluang (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:58 pm

people from group ” kerja sendiri ” very very susah to get new car loan.
    so sad…

• Carlover on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Ease financing? You think Malaysian debt not enough high.. Everyone carried high debt and want them borrow more.. Any economic down turn, many Malaysian will cry to bank. Why not request open market? What not reduce all car duty? Why not come out plan for foreign car market to invest in Malaysia. Last year got one EEV car plan but Rakyat dont see result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • MyViva on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Hope so Datuk. And also hope that apart from building a cheap & spacious small cars like P2 Axia that can easily carry 7 people, would like to see P2 also building safer cars like P1 Iriz.

Because people need safety more than easy financing, price, space & FC. In the news today is 7 people travelling in a P2 Kancil involved in an accident resulted in fatal injuries.

• Perodua, apart from hoping for better financing, you should hope for a better quality product. Stop selling products with crappy quality. You are just riding on the legacy of the previous product line now. All the new products quality sucks.

• Without excise tax..Rakyat will let it go like toilet paper!!!

• tishaban on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:20 pm

In other words P2 wants to increase their sales and maintain their number 1 spot irregardless of whether a buyer can afford to buy the car or not. Turns me off from ever buying a P2 car now…

• azrai on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:22 pm

It easy. When you can’t afford it, bank will reject. It is simple as that. Making it easier? Perodua gets the profit, the buyer? Building Cars, People First. is that your motto?

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:22 pm

“Aminar hopes the government will make things easier for first-car buyers, particularly those who live in areas where efficient public transport is not available. “They need to have their own transport… we hope to provide a solution to that,” he told the publication.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/10/09/perodua-hopes-budget-2015/#ixzz3FdFizgsO ”

Laaaaanjiaooooooo

Axia E spec was a con. A deception to whore for attention that they’re selling RM25k car.

But the truth is, they’re most reluctant to sell it. Axia E spec has >6 months waiting list vs <2 months for all else, Advanced spec is even as quick as 0.3 months. It's from a memo circulated to their SA, a way to discourage people to buy E spec, and get slaughtered to buy Advanced version. Some SA even BS blame govt forced them to make E spec, they're selling at a loss for E spec.

Aminar don't care to help rakyat. They'll prioritise E spec production if that's true. People can get E spec for RM300+-/mth for 9 year full loan. Even for G spec MT, it costs RM360+-/mth if all else is constant. Topup RM60+-/mth makes a huge difference for lower income people who need transport badly. If he cared, he'd push for quicker delivery.

Aminar is a ruthless capitalist pig. Perodua benefits from national car status. They get EEV status for Axia. Yet, he's too stingy for safety spec that's costlier. Instead, he gives fugly bodykits, coin box, tissue box holder, hook that's so revolutionary it justifies charging nearly RM20k premium over base. He exploits our market's stupidity that worship them and wants max profit, that's why Advanced specs gets delivered fastest.

Paultan writers, be aware of how cheated E spec owners feel. They pre-booked without seeing the car, relying on info given at face value. That is strong loyalty. Yet, Perodua treat them like dirt, didn't bother to reward them with quicker delivery, but delayed it to get max profit from Advanced suckers. People can book Advanced today, next month, next next month, and they'll get their car before those who pre-book E spec.

At the end of the day, Aminar gets 11, 12 months bonus, that satisfies him more than helping as many lower income people as possible. Well done, pig. Very well done.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • E spec on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:18 pm

The E Spec is really meant for driving schools, its just that they open it for public sales as well. They will always manufacture the E Spec by batch together with driving school’s batch order rather than on demand for efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Low Budget on Oct 09, 2014 at 6:08 pm

You booked Axia E and kena wait for 6 months? Its a con job by P2 for sure. Anyway any sane buyers who can afford it should go for G spec. This G spec is p2 bread and butter model.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:41 am

G spec MT is RM 5k more expensive. You really gotta wonder if these are worth RM 5k:
        – radio with CD, not even AUX, USB.
        – coin box
        – tissue holder
        – anti-snatch hook
        – electric adjustable side mirror
        – alloy wheels

Not much else. So are they worth that much? I don’t think so. RM 5k is a huge amount. RM 5k is more than 2 months’ salary for freshies who are among Axia’s main target market. They work so hard for over 2 months purely for some plastics and alloy? Come on.

You can fix much better radio for less, there’s even portable speaker such as Edifier MP18, search for it on lelong, it costs only RM 125++, but has FM radio, can save preset radio stations, SD card, USB, AUX connectivity, LCD screen to view info. Those coin box, tissue holder etc can be bought at Daiso. When do u adjust side mirror after u got it just right? Almost never. And is alloy that critical? For lower income or people on a budget, it’s unjustified. It’s gonna be an economical workhorse, so steel or alloy, hardly matters. Now with rising fuel price, cost of living, GST, you think the freshies have the spare change to care about alloy, when steel can do the job just fine? Salaries continue to be suppressed, already our salaries are much lower than developed countries, now some smartarse even say freshies must bersyukur with RM2,500/mth, must change your lifestyle to become banggala in our own country. Way to go for high income nation ambition, BN.

Notice what Aminar stresses on: easier financing. He wants more people to walk right into his trap, buying car more expensive than they need. He’s cunning, he can secure higher sales, higher profit, higher bonus. That’s his main motivation. He’s not gonna make more E specs, he’s clearly given subliminal message to his SA to lure people to buy more expensive models.

There’s sure plenty people riding motorbikes thinking the E spec is all they need for a safer commute that’s easy on the wallet. Aminar rather them risk their lives than helping them make their wish come true. He gets 11, 12 months bonus, daily chauffeured in company car’s Lexus, while rakyat can just suck it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 6:19 pm

*gets up from chair*

*slow, classy applause*

• Motorbutthead on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:16 am

Heard from an insider p2 makes less than RM1k from each Axia E spec but profits around RM10k from each advance spec. So selling 1 Advance = more than 10 units E spec. Now which do you think p2 will “force” those gullible idiots to buy?

I bet motorhead already book a dozen Axia Advance.

• Clueless on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:35 pm

And make the road more congested.

• Jinyiwei22 on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Yes,not only road more congested. You even find it hard to get Parking.

While Amina* can hope, let me hope the Govt think twice the consequences too. Dont end up like Bangkok easily caught in jam for 2-3 hrs.

• Besi Buruk on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:22 pm

You scrap your car and the road will be less congested.

• Anti-Establishment on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Even with more stringent loan requirements current sales are off the charts.

Current loan requirements are adequate, thank you. (And I should know, I did buy a car this year).

• areos on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:37 pm

P2 should offer soft loan and easy payment scheme to own Axia and Myvi not just thinking making tons of money at the expense of duit rakyat..

• Besi Buruk on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Easy Payment Scheme – RM1.00 upfront payment

Soft Loan Scheme – 100% Soft Loan for car + 50% semi-soft loan for petrol + 30% semi-semi soft loan for accessories.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Companies can make a wish, I also as tax-paying citizen wish that there will be no taxes on ALL cars for next year. Heck I’ll be reasonable enough pay prevailing petrol prices so as long as there’s no tax. Beneficial to car companies also as car financing will be much easier

• TheDuh on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Easier car financing so that Perodua can sell more moving death traps? Come on, put in some safety features first then you can talk.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:01 pm

If people need long term loans and still getting rejected, means only one thing. They can’t afford it.

This is unfortunately caused by high car prices. A Axia E will likely cost 18k without taxes.

You really want to help people, go lobby the government to reduce taxes. You are barking up the wrong tree with the banks.

• darkermarker on Oct 09, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Easy financing like having installments extended until 15 years ka? hehehehehe

No matter how or what, I believe the culprit is the taxes imposed by the damn govt. They are the real hantu that make the cars prices so high….

Proton is oso another hantu…..that spoils the market….

• Steve Jobs on Oct 09, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Aminar Rashid x guna punya orang.sendiri fikir untung…

Bodo punye berukdua…safety pun sakai.

• haji die on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:01 pm

easy to apply n probably easy to approve but most of the car price are not easy to swallow

• Besi Buruk on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:36 pm

“we hope it does not get too strict on those who meet the requirements”

The statement above is like talking in dreamland.

When you meet the requirements, you get your loan. What is there to be strict?

• People, Building Coffin People First

• panjang on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:36 pm

seriously?
    asking the bank to make it easier?

what kind of thinking is that…just so u can sell your car.if the person cant pay his/her loan,who cares…u got your sales already.u want to call yourself responsible…pffh..

on the loan,its not about the tenure.its the loan structure itself.we are being ripped of by the bank.

loan being rejected?it means u cant afford it,live with it.its better for u in the long run.

• bmpower on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:05 pm

his face look like some douche bag yet some scammer or cheater.

• screwu (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Hope that bnm don’t bow down to these manufacturers and property developers request to loosen up the requirements

• Das Auto on Oct 10, 2014 at 12:57 am

Perutdua, produce more E spec axia la. Don’t force ppl to buy your rubbish SE and Advance spec all the time saying E spec no stock 1 yr waiting list. Then I’m sure loan approval will be more than 90%. Not everyone can wait 1 year for their car. No car cannot go work.

Don’t blame bank negara. Look in mirror Datuk Aminar. You are the problem.

• Albert on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:39 am

Das auto, you are correct.
      Perodua wants to maximize profits at the expense of consumers.
      You can buy the basic variant,go to any car spa spend 2to 3k,you can be happier than all the unnecessary frills perodua forced into your throat.
      En.Aminar has a degree in “profit maximisation”.