Car prices to be reduced by 1-3% after GST – MAI

Car prices on average may be slashed by between 1-3% after the Goods and Services Tax (GST) is implemented on April 1, 2015 if the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) is correct.

According to Bernama, MAI CEO Madani Sahari said that its simulations showed there should be a slight price reduction for most models, including imported cars.

“Our target for the total industry volume (TIV) next year is 700,000 units as car prices will be more competitive. As for this year, we are forecasting a TIV of 670,000 units,” he said after the Altair Annual Technology Conference 2014.

Madani added that there is no point in holding out on buying a car before GST is implemented, as there will be little impact on new car prices. However, he claimed the institute expects the values of used cars to see a larger reduction, by an average of between 5-10% every year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• If things will be taxed along the supply chain under the GST, wouldnt that result in higher car prices as obviously the extra cost would have to be borne by end users/customers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 12
    • Dukun on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I rather trust Bomoh Coconut than bullshit craps by MAI.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 6
      • Bogus MAI on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Madani Sahari is a shameless man. He is used by the government to confuse the people with heavy duty analysis and charts. He has no dignity. Malaysians not interested in the 1% to 3% and all that. We want the below 3 issues looked into. After all we are paying 3x the car prices compared to world prices for the same car.

Madani Sahari, where is the clean diesel for the whole nation? Important things like this you don’t address. Clean diesel is affecting so many lives and causing so much of health problems for many. Where is our clean diesel? No 1 health problems in ALL government hospitals is respitory illnesses and it is cause mainly by haze and posionous emissions by dirty diesel. Government spends billions on the other hand for healthcare because MAI is protecting Petronas.

2nd issue. Your boss, whom you kipas, promised before the last election, that all car prices would be reduced by 30%. Why isn’t MAI pushing for this? Ask your boss to honour his promise. He promised the nation that he will match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. What happened?

Thirdly, why no action on the AP boys who are minting billions at the expense of the 30 million Malaysians suffering with high car prices?

There above 3 issues including clean diesel, Madani got no telur to tackle. The MAI guys are paid very high pay to confuse the rakyat with all sorts of analysis and charts but there 3 issues, the don’t bother.

Our hard earned money is spent to support the fools at MAI. But no result. The last big paper/NAP they were to scared to touch on the AP Kings. Kenapa takut? The AP Kings are the main cause car prices in Malaysia is so expensive and collapse of our potential trillion dollar car industry.

Please Madanai and MAI, have some guts to serve the people of Malaysia and not just your own pockets.

All this drama/bull by MAI is for the rakyat. We know, nothing will happen. MAI love to do this. Come out with analysis and charts, but nothing will be done. Remember MAI is the Government and the Government is MAI. So, it is a drama for the rakyat.

It is solely because of Mahathir and his AP kawan kawan, as well as inaction by Bogus MAI that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of the AP failure, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton, Mahathir’s AP cronies and the fat cats at Bogus MAI. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives through the AP system. and the inaction by Bogus MAI
        The AP system as well as inaction by bogus MAI, it has also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Mahathir and his AP system as well as inaction by Bogus MAI, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

So, in summary, the 30 PEKEMA members have solely caused Malaysia to lose trillions in investments. What have they done? Nothing.
        The AP companies also don’t employ many people.

Yes you read it clearly. Only about 10 people working. That includes the 4 Bangladeshi guys whose job is to wash the cars.

Go around KL and Jalan Genting Klang and see, all the AP cronies have hardly 10 people working for them each (including non bumi boss, non bumi salesman and secretary).

Remember one thing, other than Naza, each AP company have hardly 10 people working. So, if you do the maths, about 30 AP companies x 10 people = 300 people. Majority of which (98%) are non bumi. Defeats the whole purpose of the AP system to help the Bumiputera to venture into the car business.

Madani is protecting 300 people vs 30 million Malaysians suffer?

No need to wait end of this year. Look at this as a crime. Abolish it today itself. Abolish the AP system now Madani. It is causing too much hardships on the 30 million Malaysians!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 495 Thumb down 23
        • Vader (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Ya, why not?
          They even claimed that the car price already reduced 7-19%, so this 1-3% just a piece of cake.. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Next time Proton will launch a Saga SSV (Super Super Value). RM3500 cheaper (10%), with no rims no tyres…

Then they claim they have reduce the car prices by 10%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
          • Nonsense.

Anyway, Saga FLX discounts at 33k last time and Preve with 6 airbags for all variants are much better than Vios without VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
          • Stupid Malaysians on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:33 am

Malaysians always accept berak thrown at them. Kerajaan promise 30% but give rakyat 1% and yet, Malaysians are so happy.

1% on a Myvi is just RM400 lah. Go out makan with whole family already come to RM200 in food court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • MAI Lawatan Sambil Belajar on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:16 am

Every other month MAI got lawatan sambil belajar to car factories all over the world. All fly Business class at RM25,000 each flight ticket and stay RM1000 per day 5 star hotel. One big rombongan will go.
            Each get big big daily allowance also.

I think they learn ZERO from all their visits.

You and me are paying for all their visits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm

People called me Mani, i only recognized $$$, why not choose to trust me?

for an example, the Honda Accord going to reduce 1% from 135,219 to 133,866 (total of 1352 reduction)

30m Msia please appreciated and thanks on my effort make the Honda Accord reduced by RM 1352.

Milo did cost down from 1.5 KG tin pack (~rm30)to 2 KG soft pack (~rm33), total 17% cost reduction just by swap packing compared to 1~3% Mani achieved. sooooo… shamed Mani $$$

Who is more smarter —> Nestle CEO or Mani $ ?

Not only by packing, each hypermarket come out with own sales / promotion, further reduction of 10% on 2KG softpack from rm33 to rm30

Measured by 1.5 KG from Tin pack rm30 to soft pack rm22.5, total of 25% reduction achieved & direct benefit to end consumers.

The Fact & Figures tell: The MILO even better than Mani $$$

• bogus bogusMAI on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:46 pm

The first part of your comment is very original and I agree about MAI’s role or more accurately, lack of role in coordinating efforts to improve the automotive industry.
          The second part of your comment looks very familiar as i’ve seen it before on paultan.org. I hope you are not cutting and paste and plagiarising other people’s comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
        • Kimi Raikkonen on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:23 pm

I cannot give you enough ‘likes’. You deserve more, Mr. Bogus MAI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • unforgiven on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Unfortunately we need the majority of Malaysian to be educated and equipped with the necessary knowledge. Once we have the education and knowledge about the facts, on how a car price ended so expensive in Malaysia (what’s those open AP is doing), we’ll definitely see the CHANGE! Knowledge is still the key here!

• unforgiven on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Same goes for neighbouring countries (Thailand, Indo, etc). They are building the knowledge fast, once majority have it, you’ll see the CHANGE as well, global standard price one day!

• nojokingone on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:11 pm

yeap, they said reduce car price to 1 – 3%, wait ! the features inside the car too…left you with 1 dashboard with meter, driver seat n the rest plastic chair nothing else.

• and Thai is moving towards CO2 based taxation for the car industry…see how advance they are comparing to Msia and the have been Euro4 compliance years already

• anarchy on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Your comments are well on spot !
          Those 3 issues existed since long time ago…but the gomen chose to ignore them for their own benefits…

• The Real MAI on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:48 am

I vote this comment of the year! Well written. You summarize all the problems of Malaysian Automotive Industry.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:16 pm

u still dont get those price in thailand or brunei for sure mr bogus MAI..

• unforgiven on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Again it’s the education and knowledge, once majority of Thais understand the cost of the car price, what do you think will happen? Not forgetting they are advancing fast too. Please ask.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:12 pm

If MAI bring to down the price too much.

How can protong survive in his own country?
        Tun and his buddies won’t have extra money to spend.

1%-3%? excise duty 65%-105% still remind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
        • Mai full of lies on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Please MAI, please stop lying to us Malaysians. In the US, a good Toyota Corolla Altis, after the discounts, is US$12,000. That comes with 8 airbags. My cousin just bought one.

So for RM36,000, we can get a good C segment CBU car.

But the same car here is RM139k. Malaysians are overpaying by RM100,000.

If there is any reduction, car prices should fall by at least 50%, after all, ours is CKD and it should be cheaper

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 7
          • Please go n join your cousin in usa. Seriously, please go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 104
          • unforgiven on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Educated Malaysian needed, the knowledge to understand the facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:17 pm

do you can get those price in Thailand or Brunei?

• Penipu BN on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:41 pm

How can you trust the Government when basic promise of Najib also he never honour?

Malaysia’s GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world. This means that our pay packet in one of the lowest in the world and our purchasing power is so small.

We earn so little and yet we have to pay overpriced cars? It is time to tell the kampung people how we are cheated.

When we balik kampung, let us all relate to our family members how we have to pay 3x the amount for cars when our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
          • unforgiven on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Knowledge and education is much needed here, the ability to understand how the cars price ended so high in Malaysia.

• tisha on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:07 am

The prices of B and D segments are similar with Thai but C

• kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Proof it..that the boleh GDP per capita is the lowest in the world.

• Bin oh coconut! At this point I rather trust the coconuts!!! But good one Dukun…..it’s good to know we have comedians in MAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • MAI- Where is Najib's promise? on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Madani Sahari should firstly honour his boss, PM Najib’s promise. Madani loves to come out with all sorts of announcements every month but all got no substance.

Madani, ask Najib to honour his promise. Before the election, he promised the 30 million people in Malaysia that he would reduce car prices by 30%. He made this as his election promise. He assured the voters that BN could be trusted and BN always kept their word and we should not worry about anything because he was 100% going to reduce car prices by up to 30%

This was more than a year ago. Nothing has happened. Car prices have gone up instead.

So Madani, instead of carry balls and waiting for your datukship, please see to it that the 30% promise is honoured. After all, it is your own people that is suffering the most with high car prices and heavy monthly car loans.

If Madani cannot do this, better he resigns because car prices are the most important element in the 30 million rakyat Malaysia’s lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
        • drMpower on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:49 pm

he already did it

as a proof, i give u that a mitsubishi last time cost 130-140k RM. now u can buy one with 10-15% less.

najib did this by charging less on CKD operation.

so if u cant stomach this fact, then i am afraid u are a failed person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
          • Vader (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:38 am

Don’t bull bull here and bull bull there..
            There is different on import duty between CBU and CKD since N years ago, so the price for CKD is slightly lower compare to CBU.
            So this is not a promised action to reduce the car price.
            Still not get it?
            Let say you promise your wife to give here additional 10% monthly household expenses.
            After that, you still give the same amount without additional 10%, but that Tesco did offer Milo 3 in 1 10% discount.
            Can you say that your janji ditepati since now your wife already can buy Milo with 10% less..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Car Lover on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:00 am

What is the actual promise made? Did he mention a reduction on CKD or CBU unit? Never trust a political quote blindly. They can twist what they previously said. They will always make an open statement, and never tell the details. As long as there is a price reduction, they will said ‘We’ve honoured our promise’…typical Malaysian political…

• drTaikPower on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:30 am

drMpower has nothing in his head. Blind person who has his pockets full of contracts and handouts.

• anarchy on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:10 pm

30% …? that will only happen in fairytale…

• ThePolygon on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:51 am

Sorry to say this but if he said up to30% then anything between
          1% up to 30% is also considered he already fulfilled his promise. Sad but true :(…

• OMG…Dear rakyat, “MAI” Dreaming lah…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:49 pm

People called me Mani, i only recognized $$$, why not choose to trust me? for an example, the Honda Accord going to reduce 1% from 135,219 to 133,866 (total of 1352 reduction), total of 30m Msia please appreciated and thanks on my effort make the Honda Accord reduced by RM 1352.

Milo did cost down from 1.5 KG tin pack (~rm30)to 2 KG soft pack (~rm33), total 17% cost reduction just by swap packing compared to 1~3% Mani achieved. sooooo… shamed Mani $$$

Not only by packing, each hypermarket come out with own sales / promotion, further reduction of 10% on 2KG softpack from rm33 to rm30

Measured by 1.5 KG from Tin pack rm30 to soft pack rm22.5, total of 25% reduction achieved & direct benefit to end consumers.

Fact: The Nestle MILO even better than Mani $$$

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:51 pm

People called me Mani, i only recognized $$$, why not choose to trust me?

for an example, the Honda Accord going to reduce 1% from 135,219 to 133,866 (total of 1352 reduction)

30m Msia please appreciated and thanks on my effort make the Honda Accord reduced by RM 1352.

The Fact & Figures tell: The MILO even better than Mani $$$

• Matchy on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:05 pm

They suppose to be able to claim back the tax that the supplier paid. So, technically the cost should be lower. But I’m sure that there are other factor to consider as well and I feel that there wont be drastic change to the car price.

• Hamdan Md on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:12 pm

All over the world, once VAT or GSt comes in, everything goes up. I was living in the UK before VAT came into effect. Once VAT came into effect, everything went up.

Don’t know what lies our government, especially Madanai is telling everyone in Malaysia. Don’t lie to the people Madani. Common sense will tell you, everything goes up in price.

Enough of all the government bull about how things will go down in price.

Madani, your own people gonna suffer most lah. how can you sleep at night?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • What is 1%. A simple C seg car like Altis is already RM140,000.

1% of RM140,000 is RM1400.

So, my car now is RM138,600.
        What insult is this?

Hello Madani, waiting for your Datukship is it? Bangsa sendiri yang susah lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • Pening on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:41 am

En Hamdan, what does Madani cares or do you think he cares? Latokship and Tong Sri title more important mar….

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:35 am

He can sleep soundly every night-lah, with good income and can talk kock.

• Vader (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Shame on MAI..
      They even claimed that the car price already reduced 7-19%, so this 1-3% just a piece of cake..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Michael Teh on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:45 pm

It is amazing how every country who has implemented VAT or GST has seen every single item going up in prices.

In Malaysia, gomen goreng to us and say prices are going down. This is logic of MAI workers who are mainly UiTM grads. What do they teach you guys there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 24
      • Annaeh on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Hey Teh,

If you hate MAI and the government that’s your freaking business. But where do you get off insulting ALL UiTM grads. What did all of them ever done to you? What a bigot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
      • Im a uitm students….dare to meet me, michael?…I like to slap you face and then we talk further about car after that…..brave enough?..or just a keyboard warriors like your species

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
        • Vader (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:43 am

He may wrong to say something bad on UiTM at the first place.
          But just a sentence already trigger you to slap somebody else???
          |||

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:37 am

At least he just say he wants to slap but not asking for leaving Malaysia if he does not like it here.

• Bad English on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:52 am

I spend half of my office hours and productivity correcting the English of my staff work. So I have to agree. Man, better you go and improve on your English than want to slap people. You will save bosses like me lots of time and effort.

• Headmaster on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:20 am

aiyoo English so bad. Typical Uitm quality. Malu!

• i’m not a uitm grads but most of them are doing quite well and performed at corporate level up to C levels ….even the current TV3’s CEO is a uitm grads amongst few other prominent corp figures and even top world uni english debaters. Maybe those are the lower grades uitm’s students are giving bad perception…

• Vader (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:35 pm

oh gosh, better you don’t mentioned it since nothing much to be so proud as working in TV3..

• vti-L on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:04 pm

That’s much better than working in other bigger company but only as a menial worker and only can affoed a kapchai.

• uitm lampar on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:37 pm

See. Uitm gangster rempit spotted. Talk big. I telanjang kow u then you know!!!

• kairul abdul on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:11 pm

I going to agree with you.

You’re the man. MAI piece of shit like university level. Go back to study.

Students please learn before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • unforgiven on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Educated Malaysian is needed, we need the knowledge, don’t assume and get the facts right. We need to understand how a car price ended so high, is it free money into the pocket system/policy (AP)? Knowledge is still the key!

• Annaeh on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:25 am

I suggest you read what you’ve just written 10 times and ask yourself what in the heck are you trying to say? Do you need a PhD from Harvard to understand the underlying issues regarding the high car prices in Malaysia.

Got a feeling that you just came out from school thinking that you are so smart, better than everyone else and a wannabe social justice hero. Well I think you need to go back and spend a few more years in school before you can start making sense in what you’re trying to say.

Actually people know where you’re coming from and where you’re comments are leading to. It is so very typical of bigots like you. You and your ilk can be noticed from a mile away.

The sad thing about bigots like you is that you are fodder to the bigot politicians that we have. They exist because people like you exist.

If really you want make changes in how this country is run then start by looking in the mirror and ask yourself whether you are part of the solution just another part of the problem.

And one more thing, don’t bother to get your friends to click on the the thumbs down dislike after this, as if people care.

• The Real Bigot on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

Only a bigot with no friends and love would stay awake at 3.25am and post the same thing again at 4.30am, one hour later.

This shows frustration and sadness in life.

• Annaeh - me don't need an army on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:30 am

I suggest you read what you’ve just written 10 times and ask yourself what in the heck are you trying to say? Do you need a PhD from Harvard to understand the underlying issues regarding the high car prices in Malaysia.
          Got a feeling that you just came out from school thinking that you are so smart, better than everyone else and a wannabe social justice hero. Well I think you need to go back and spend a few more years in school before you can start making sense in what you’re trying to say.
          Actually people know where you’re coming from and where you’re comments are leading to. It is so very typical of chauvinistic bigots like you. You and your ilk can be noticed from a mile away.
          The sad thing about bigots like you is that you are fodder to the bigot politicians that we have. They exist because people like you exist.
          If really you want make changes in how this country is run then start by taking a very good look in the mirror and ask yourself whether are you part of the solution or just another part of the problem.
          And one more thing, don’t bother to get your friends to click on the thumbs down dislike after this, it’s so juvenile and as if people care.

• Stupid Malaysians on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:33 am

At least he is doing something to make people aware of high car prices. Look at you, what are you doing? Who is really the bigot here?

• Heskey on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Manufacturers can claim gst charged to them by their suppliers (called input tax) so no effect to their costs.

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:40 am

Correct, multi level tax on a finish product right from the raw material stage.

• yup, if u understand the mechanism of GST…there’s output/input tax which in theory should lower the cost from the current Sales Tax regime. BUT, in theory…whether they’ll pass it to consumer thats remains another matters…somemore there’s the notion of exempt business which do not have to declare GST but the GST charged to them by suppliers are not able to be claimed back…its a bit complicated when they say it good that certain industry like healthcare/education/land transportation are exempted…they cost will go up since they’re unable to claim back the GST they incurred from suppliers…go figure

• kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:32 am

do you how to calculate GST?

• Anti CO2 on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm

“…if the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) is correct…”

• Here comes the BS again….! My crystal balls say it will be the same I reality or even more. And this ppl will just take some outdated promo prices and declare price reduction since no one can question their methodology and logic! I guess next year cars will fly in Msia too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • common sensor on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Demn .. he did it again!! This smart ass is the better than the politicians!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Albert Lee on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:03 pm

The price reduction of 1-3 % is chicken feed cos interest rate keeps going up.Imagine the hire purchase burden the rakyat have to bear especially those on 9-10 years loan.
    What we need is 10-30 percent reduction(which takes a miracle to happen)so that we can focus on other necessities like home loan,education and other fundamental needs of life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • yamseng on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Car prices to be reduced by 1-3%, RON95 subject to GST of 6%. Total crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • gengchong on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:43 pm

With the implementation of gst, the car prices should go down, as the abolishement of sales tax on manufacturer/producer. If manufacturer sources their need locally, thats will reduce their cost further as gain on input/output tax.

However, it looks like it will not as manufacturer will take advantage to gain higher profit margin n they might even increase the price to blame the gst or gov.

• panjang on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:33 pm

At one time he said to expect 700k sales du to the more competitive price.

Then he said no need to wait until GST as the difference is no huge.

• wise guy on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:42 pm

as i mentioned few times b4 buy affordable car and when really necessary. and rule of thumb is max loan 5 yr, mthly <15% of salary/income. put more priotity on children education n enrichment, comfy house, good quality food n saving for retirement. trust me, once msia becomes developed country cost of living will be very high

• cendol (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:29 pm

We just want safer car with safer features. But now all cars are K specs only, K stands for Kosong
      You want safer car, there is an optional ‘safety’ package for it.

• Guys, hold on your horse, don’t buy Iriz or Axia first, as the price will be lowered after gst.

• lowered by how many margin? 200-500 bucks. I can dig my nose all day & find much more money than that =D

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:42 pm

You dig gold off from your nose also no need to even consider Axia or Iriz lar…

Migrate off to greener pastures better… Don’t invest here and benefit the cronies…

• Buy now bank interest 3.00% buy next year bank interest 3.50%, so what’s the difference?

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:43 am

Ha,ha,ha…… You go and wait for GST lah.

• _xXx_ on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:06 pm

WOW! 1-3%!!! Im gonna get myself a Lambo soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm

sry, i don’t trust you anymore G

• Current sales tax 10%. if that were to be change with GST 6%, would nt the saving should be close to 4%? correct me if im wrong. (4% is still bullshit btw…)

• bogus bogusMAI on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:13 pm

GST works in this way:
      All steps in the car manufacturing processes are taxed 6% for each step.
      1. Raw material supplier to vendor (component manufacturer)
      2. Vendor to vehicle manufacturer
      3. vehicle manufacturer to car dealer.
      This is oversimplified calculation model but you get the picture to see where your 4% savings goes.

• Steve Jobs on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm

MAA and MAI…. bab kencing no 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • K_ass on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:25 pm

car prices reduced by 3% then plus another 6% GST. thats mean car prices will increase 3%.. hahaha

• This MAI guy ah, I seriously don’t know where he gets his number…dulu cakap there was a reduction of car prices by some x% which I believe a majority of the well informed readers of paultan, without a single grain of a doubt, agreed that it was utter BS…now cakap GST is expected to reduce the price of car even further… I really need to know who is supplying his daily dose of HIGHs cause I need to get my hands on some of those really quick!

• Thomas on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Why don’t we set up a forum to voice out? Paultan?

• Jimmy on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:48 pm

GST is mandatory tax on the poor people.
    I don’t support.
    Lets look at prices of most things after mid of 2015.
    I suggest only RON97 is taxed under GST. Please do not tax RON95.
    BTW I use 100% RON97 and pay income tax 100%, not even one cent is evaded. And I do not beg for reduction in personal income tax nor company tax.

• Kangkung on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Malaysian earn less, pay more.
    We feed them, using hard earn money.
    Sacrifice on life safety & paymore for less airbags, non ESC of crap.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:05 pm

If new car prices drop by 1%-3%, used kimchi trade in price will decrease by 10%-30%, easily

• I doubt it will go down. Everywhere with GST, things go up NOT down.

• samtolol on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Dont ever trust umno bn politician and people they only talk cock and we the rakyat beware of those holigan making a promise. At last we the rakyat pay more and become the victim of those corupted people.

• Goh Jeng on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Be it Umno/BN or DAP/PR, all politicians love to talk cock. In the end, rakyat suffer. Especially the ‘taksub’ ones.

• pondan on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:37 pm

All this morons who just talk without consequences will continue to talk cock and confuse the rakyat.

We shld hv a law

• pondan on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:39 pm

All this morons who just talk without consequences will continue to talk cock and confuse the rakyat.

We shld hv a law to punish for cock talking when the outcome is turn out rubbish. Our politician and gov have no integrity and definite not trustworthy.

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:47 am

You mean, if what they say does not turn true, we the people have the right to pee on them?

• pondan on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Subject to hudud law. Cut the lip off for talking shit. Next stone them to death

• Car-Fans on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:44 pm

They all talk Ting Kong Kong nia … end up also Ting Kong Kong ! U wanna to trust them … better trust our Pet (Cat/Dog) ! Blood Sucker! Shame On You !

• hadi75 on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Don’t bullshit la MAI…..

• cendol (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Now ALL car prices ALREADY down 1-3% just by discount given by car companies alone.
    Ajib PROMISED to reduce car prices by 30% during last GE, what happen to that promise?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:45 pm

T_A_L_K C_O_C_K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Apa ni? Dah cakap besar nak turunkan harga kereta sampai 30%… 1% nak buat apa… baik MAI tu, duduk diam aja… minum dan makan makan kangkung saje… jgn suka sebar brg brg yg bukan bukan…

• bootupjoe on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Price drop 1% to 3% mean other accessories also cut 1% to 3%….?

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Technically should be reduced. . Sales tax fix from 10% to 6%..in reality. . 1-3% reduction from total amount is acceptable. . But we ll see how the implementation. . Talk is cheap. . By next year. . We should see a few thousand price slash. Better keep your word.. I ll copy this article & remember the fact & figures for next years.

Or MAI will be in my list of bashing.

• old dog on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Who will believe to that BS since they will said, “its due to xxx reason, protect xxx business” so cant drop price, but raise price for sure. Bolehland way.

• drMpower on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:55 pm

many people cannot comprehend that najib did deliver his promise. not less than 3-5 vehicles sold in malaysia, cost less. a certain MERCEDES now cost almost 50%. a hybrid mercedes.

and all CKD operations, gave us atleast 5-15% less. and this is because najib.

well, it isnt really him but because many people blamed him for reason unrelated to him, so i guess in the spirit of check and balance, it just very appropriate to praise him on this achievement.

the fact that matter is, he delivered on his promises. and that promise is delivered through CKD operations.

this what i want from my leader. u can forgo something but u got to return something else. my country need revenue.

and MAI, dont count on GST to reduce the prices. factually, yes GST reduces car prices. it is a confirmed fact.

but these car sellers, they will want to sabotage this move by slowly increase the car prices quietly, so that reduction by GST looked like not happening. the same principle about people building houses and sell it.

so yes GST reduces car prices, but it will not happen.

• Pakai Hotak on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:11 am

Only a real bodoh will say car prices are reduced. Pakai hotak. Today your apple cost RM3. Next year, the same apple cost RM3.

Any reduction in prices?

Can the same bodoh buy the same Mercedes Hybrid today? Pandai cakap. Go to buy the Mercedes now and see what they shove into your mouth.

• Mai talk kok la MAI.

• Make the people stupid only!

• leonardo on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:31 am

Looking at the comments above, Malaysians would be happy if we only have cheap Mercs, Audis and BMWs. No one mentioned the pricing of such cars in our nearest neighbour Singapore?

• Singapore Logic on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:05 am

Singapore cars are actually cheaper and more affordable. Because Singaporeans earn 5x more than Malaysians. the GDP per capita is 5x more than Malaysia.

Even after paying COE also, it is much cheaper than Malaysian car prices. Malaysian car prices are the HIGHEST in the world. Much much higher than Singapore (you must always base it on GDP per capita and purchasing power)

Singaporean government servants normal ranking also earn SGD7000 very normal. That is RM18,000.

Our government servant earn RM1500.

BMW 528i in Singapore is SG$250,000

BMW 528i in Malaysia is RM425,000

So, who do you think can pay off his loan faster? The Singaporean (RM18,000 gaji) or the Malaysian (RM1500 gaji)?

• If RM100k car slashed by 1% so we save Rm1000. But then in 9 years we have to send the car for service twice a year, thats will up 6% charge. Change tyres, batteries will add up 6% some more.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:50 am

Oh no. MAI has just made a big faux pas.

By logic of deduction, the switch from 10% sales tax to 6% GST means price will go down 4%. By saying only 1-3% he has basically admitted that with GST EVERYTHING will go up that much.

Great job. Shooting your master in the foot. GST tak bebankan rakyat? Right.

• apparau on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:01 am

Bullshit news…end of the day won’t happen any things…talk bullshit no action…empty promise

• why reduce car price . Malaysia is pack with car . if 30% reduction , imagine the worsening traffic flow .
    just follow Singapore .car should be exclusively for the rich . poor take public transport

• ‘Singapore Logic’ gila Singaporean government servants normal ranking also earn SGD3000++ ,mana
    ada SGD7000 .except high ranking . Malaysian high ranking also can earn RM10000++ salary .
    so Singapore car still more expensive than malaysia

• Malaysia road now is full of merc bmw audi ,why want to reduce car price . so you want people earning RM3-4K driving bmw to work .

• most developed countries citizen taking public transport to work . most Malaysian driving to work .so we should thanks BN for their great effort improving Malaysia economy

• Just 1-3%? u can get more than that during the promotion period la!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Consider a used Hyundai.

15 month old unit will sell at around 50% of new car price

• HidupAmatSusah on Sep 13, 2014 at 6:50 am

Wonder how those earning at the minimum wage grp going to survive in GST era? The already expensive standard of living will get worsen with that GST add on. Harga semua brg naik… also subsidies petrol get GST. Macam ni, banyak lagi kes kes rompak.. main tarik tarik ATM.

• Billy on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:31 pm

NONSENSE…