Volkswagen Malaysia outlines customer satisfaction measures – up service capacity, offer courtesy cars

20130313_0448

Amidst the local recall of the Beetle and claimed resolution of DSG-related issues, Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) MD Armin Keller reiterated the company’s commitment to its customers at a press briefing today, and outlined the measures it is taking to improve customer satisfaction in the country.

“We acknowledge that we have made mistakes in the past, but (now) we want to overfulfil expectations – we want to go the extra mile,” he said, citing vehicle servicing as an example, where there have been issues concerning long waiting times for parts and insufficient servicing capacities in the past.

As such, VGM will be increasing their service capacity by 30% nationwide, through the expansion of existing service centres, the opening of new dealerships including 3S and 4S centres, and an increase in the number of technicians.

Volkswagen Armin Keller

Keller said 10 experts from Germany have arrived at the main dealership, and they will do a rotation around service centres to provide on-site coaching. More transparent communication with customers and the media is also mentioned.

Additionally, from November 1, VGM will provide courtesy cars in the event of vehicle breakdowns. Dealers will have Jetta, Touran and Passat courtesy cars for customers whose vehicles have to be in the workshop for more than 24 hours.

Parts ordering and delivery now happens daily through a parts depot in Singapore. VGM are looking to increase that to twice daily, through the building of two parts depots in Malaysia – a main one in Johor Bahru and one in Kuala Lumpur for fast delivery. The KL parts depot is targeted for completion by year-end.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jetta ckd on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

If VGM is serious, pls provide clear escalation path for vw owner to feedback dealer poor services. Current VGM call center lady is well known for one of the culprit. Email send to VGM never got reply. If you want evidence, email me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:04 pm

lol..how they want to sent u email if u dont give ur email.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • TOKOK on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Take a closer look at VW logo…

V
        W

Its a Man (V) humping a Woman (W) … and with the Woman’s legs wide open

You just got screwed !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
        • VW DSG on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:46 am

VW reputation in Bolehland gone to the dogs…..because the first appointed Malaysia MD gave out dealerships to NON DESERVING individuals… Anyone that got money can get a VW dealership.. because they wanted to quickly open up as many dealership as possible overnight.

The VW MD then was being praised by the car industry captains for making VW brand so “successful”. Suddenly so many VW on Bolehland roads

Unfortunately the dealers they appointed were mostly RECON car dealers.. And we know the attitude of RECON car dealers.. SELL AND FORGET..MONEY IN POCKET

Today VW is paying the price…

now VW acronym means = Very Worried

as people shy away from second hand VW.

Yeeech !

• kongGTI on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:07 pm

If 100 cars are in SC, do you have temporary cars?

If no, no buy. Malaysians pay more than luxury cars just to buy this ‘Proton’ of Europe. VGM has to know that customers are KING, understand

Or go back to your country!
      Even GTI loses to modified Preve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 58
      • TOKOK on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Got they provide them with BMW…

BAS MINI WILAYAR

• Same L0rrr on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Proton tried very hard to be Malaysia’s VW.

But it is no way reliable, nor cheap as VW in Europe. Even Tata does better than it.

• vivek on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Do u drive one bro? I drive a C200 and Preve. The ride and handling are near comparable. Please do test drive before speaking nonsense

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:12 pm

In Europe, including Germany, VW cost more than a comparably specced: Ford, Citroen, Peugeot, Renault, Opel, Seat, Skoda, Toyota, Honda, Mazda.

• Bro, you are insulting Proton. Proton’s aftersales service is 100 times better than this so called German car.

Anywhere, I wonder why people buying these extremely outdated ugly VW at the first place ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
        • alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:29 am

JD power CSI surveys didnt say so. pls check your facts, dont simply type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • hahahaha no way! My colleague had a Proton Savy, SIMILAR problems like VW: GEARBOX! he sent it in for repairs and it took forever to get it back. And this is also after he kept calling the SC and scolding them non-stop. And he had to force them to give him the extra car to use. Literally had to force. I know this because I could hear him everyday scolding the Proton SC people.

• vagine on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:31 pm

This guy “kongGTI” seems to have his brains up in his arse. First, he said VW cost more than luxury cars – pls check your facts. VW cost the same as a Toyota or Honda these days. Compare Jetta and Civic and Altis.

Second, he said GTI loses to a modified Preve. He must have lost his head when he said that.

• GTi is not that diffiult to overtake, if you do it right

• vagine on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:39 pm

i must agree.. the best time to overtake a GTi is when the driver is having foreplay with his girl.

• yourmom on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:16 pm

I think what did he mean by “cost more than luxury cars” is when bolehland people compare the price with USA.

Of course in USA it’s much cheaper

• Passat on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:34 am

Yes. I m a passat owner. VGM customer service is extremely poor!
      Service center skill not only under expectation but also very poor.
      Unable to solve problems, keep pushing, avoiding.
      Spare parts long waiting, threaten to customer if any clips broken during repair/warranty, there are not responsible!
      I m satisfy with VW technology offered to Malaysia market.
      But, very, extremely disatisfy
      1.Poor service
      2.Poor maintainance skill,
      3.Poor after sales service.
      4.Poor CKD Quality
      5.Poor service part waiting leadtime

Hey ! Mr. Keller!
      Open and share your email address to public
      if you really want to improve VW service and
      save VW reputation!
      I will show you how terrible of VW Malaysia Dealership services!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • VW desperate dah.. Sale plunge like wrecking ball huh?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
  • passat pkv on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:48 pm

my engine cover was dismantled during the verification of mechatronic and clutch issue, and never put it back until the low level engine oil signal triggered. Call up service center and demand for explanation but no avail especially the manager, this is don’t care attitude shown in service center Sg Pinang. each time they promised to call back but NEVER happen and we have to make the 1st move. I am frustrated. I have 3 issues now, to replace mechatronic, clutch and high consumption engine oil (8k plus out of 15k service interval), what u say VGM ??? I am the picture and service records you want to see ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • better check your pistons. one of the symptoms is high engine oil consumption. i know, because my car is in the workshop close to 3 months now. courtesy car? yeah if one is available. take a look at the service centres and they are chock full of cars with problems. you think you can get a courtesy car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • maXref (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:52 pm

About damn time

• Really? on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Really?? giving courtesy car for services more that 24 hour??!! Throughout all my car services from VW Cergaz, Swire Motors and VW Glenmarie, ALL the services were more that 24 hour!! AND the amount of cars in the workshop, were just overwhelming!!

Don’t provide statement on what you can’t deliver…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • Yes, really on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:21 pm

If you re-read the paragraph, it is stated that the courtesy car will be given beginning 1 November.
      Please control your anger before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
    • shhhh jangan bising on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:53 pm

another keyboard warrior…
      try break down or break ur car after 00hrs 1st november

• Jerung on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Nobody (or no car for that matter) is perfect. Sh*t happens. I commend VGM for putting in the effort and initiatives to overcome the support and reliability issues, instead of sweeping it under the carpet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • Vagger on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Too little too late. I’ll never buy another VW from VGM. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • yup, my first and last vw for the rest of my life. the way they handled my problem is just appalling.

• I had trouble with my Subaru Impreza. Let’s jst say I got rid of it, man that thing makan minyak like thers no tomorrow. But I changed my car to another Subaru (XV) and you know what I love it! So you can’t chalk up one problem to hating a brand for the rest of your life. S*** happens, at least VW is trying to do something about it.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm

There seems to be a lot of promise from VW now. The biggest thing they need to do is bring a full 5 year guarantee, not some insurance thing. And the parts too, for a company selling tens of thousands of cars, how is it possible all these years, VW never bothered to build a parts centre? I can understand a part delay for smaller brands like Jaguar Land Rover, but even dealing with JLR, I was able to get parts flown in a week. Mind you, JLR’s sales volume is not as large as VW’s either!

I guess they realise how big of a screw up they did, and how the line “That’s the Power of German Engineering” was not enough to save them from this mess.

I do hope both VW and other brands take note at this whole fiasco and learn, don’t ever dare treat your customers like trash, cause those who make you, can also break you. After all VW has the “honour” for the first and only auto brand now in Malaysia to have customers to come and protest in front of their HQ!

Especially BMW, Ford, Audi and Hyundai. Better be careful, cause I already am seeing signs with BMW’s rubbish 2 year warranty, Ford’s PowerShift issue, Audi’s poor service, and Hyundai’s lack of dealer awareness in reporting a serious issue in a model that can potentially be fatal, all because of “not enough cases”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:05 pm

I’d venture to say that “the Power of German Engineering” is what got them into this mess in the first place. That along with the high sales volume from their initial brand strength and aggressive growth plans coupled with an unprepared aftersales system exploded the problem. Doesn’t help them also that the people who buy VWs are savvy customers who know their rights and are enraged to have paid so much for something that’s more problematic than Proton. Proton had a lot of interior QC issues but most of the time, owners could still drive around. VW car problems have ranged from immobility to being lethal.

We’ll see how much they’ve improved…someone I know just recently bought a VW Beetle. I wonder if they knew…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Precisely. A lot of us, me included, got a bit deluded by the idea of driving a German engineered car for the cost of slightly more than a Toyota. I don’t deny, on the highway, the DSG is a joy to drive, the way it shifts is second to none, and I did enjoy the pretty extended highway blast I had with a Polo TSI DSG.

However the main issue is the part, we pay premium prices for something in essence costs the same as a Toyota, but in the end, when shit hits the fan and sprays, not only do you expect a proper service, you also don’t expect them to void warranties for what is essentially the manufacturer’s fault for not being able to cope with demand for repairs.

But yes, it was all a big mess cause I don’t think VGM never expected to sell that many cars.

Proton is a different case, for the most part they didn’t have that many drivetrain issues, or at least in the main models like the Wira and all. Just things like the electrics would go a bit wonky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:42 am

proton did suffer from transmission faults for the following models

1. 1995 onwards Proton Perdana SEi AT (code E55)
          2. 1993 onwards Proton Wira 1.6XLi AT (code C98)
          3. 1995 onwards Proton Satria 1.6XLi AT (code C98)
          4. 1996 onwards Proton Wira 1.8EXi AT (code C99, engine 4G93 SOHC)
          5. 1999 onwards Proton Perdana V6 AT (code E54)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • taboogen on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:05 am

its all Mitsubishi AT box.

• L-Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:43 am

You are talking about pre-2000’s models. It is 2014. 2015 is near too…and VM will having the same issues.

• Radical on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Yeah. I don’t think they did expect crazy sales volume. But look. They’re trying. at least. My dad drove a Camry and there was a problem with the disc break. Its been 6 months, every time we go in they say it’s been fixed.
          Finally a really lame attendant told us that perhaps my dad shouldn’t drive the car through potholes! Potholes?! Like he WANTS to aim for them? Plus…I don’t see many potholes on the highway from Mont Kiara to Bangsar. Now they refuse to fix it because it’s my dad’s “fault” what rubbish! We have tried to complain and make noise but Toyota sweeps it under the rug. Pffft. I monitor VW and think.. “you know what?” at least they’re trying. I believe they’re fixing it. But the volume of damage is so intense they’re having trouble coping. Cut them some slack.

• Ahmad on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Your comment seem to consist lots & lots of expectations and complaints. UMW Toyota complaint no VSC, Honda “cheap interior”, VW treat customer like rubbish, BMW limited 2 yrs warranty, blah…..blah….. Who know in your mind Proton “local brand” quality tak da…… Perodua maybe u think “too common”, Korean cars u complaint Lack of dealer Awareness. Is not easy to run business and sometimes company have difficulty in budget!!!! Plus
      not many expertise wanna work in Malaysia, and Company need support from Government too. Tax so high but majority profit go G, and yet need to please customer like u. Take example in western countries whereby company make good profit and from there they can use their profit to channels to customer service. I’m not arguing with u or support those companies but seriously don’t think u paying so called “premium” price in Malaysia, u r expecting “Rolls Royce” treatment because actual price for these so called “premium” cars, in German it just another Civic/Corolla to Germans. Try take away tax 100% to 150% for CBU VW & u know it same standard as Proton Inspira price range. TQ & forgive me for those “uncilivised” comment. If u hate this comment pls click “thumbs down” . Hv a nice day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 83
      • sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:03 pm

First and foremost, this is the main issue with Malaysians. You should stand up, as a consumer for your rights. As a consumer, I stand up for my rights, and don’t let a bunch of people in some dealership or shall I say, stealership to take me for a ride to the moon and back.

1. UMW deserves to be critiqued for not giving VSC in their models. Considering how many cars they sell and the price point, not only is the lack of VSC dangerous to the driver of the car, it can be lethal to others too. Imagine having a Vios spinning out of control coming right at you head on. If only it had ESC it may not have skidded. Many Toyota buyers don’t know the various safety techs available. Toyota could have used their benefit of reliability to also push safety, which is what is allowing competitors like Peugeot to eat into their market share.

2. At no point did I say Hondas have cheap interiors, though I did critique the poorly finished Civic, I did praise them highly on the quality of the new City which in my books is the best car in Malaysia for the price, period.

3. VW does treat its customer like crap. Try walking into one of their showrooms and try and see if you can get any information on a car they are selling, even if you come right out of an office in office wear or even if you walk in well dressed.

4. If you own a BMW, you will know how expensive parts can be. For a company that charges a premium on their products, I’d expect more as a customer. Plus, Mercedes is offering it, Audi does it too, why not BMW?

5. Did I ever say Proton’s quality is not there? Check your facts. I only mentioned about their poorly done transmission in an otherwise decent car. Poorly done transmission != poor quality.

6. Perodua is making a bunch of tins on wheels. Try driving a Viva on a highway, you will have a fright of your life when cars pass you, even when you are on the slow lane.

7. If you have been through the hell I went through a Korean manufacturer who had no idea what in the world they were doing to my car, leaving me car-less, and the complete cluster funk they did to it in the end, you will understand why. Probably you should go and read what I said in CarBase.

Do you actually think these companies are not breaking even? Come on, be realistic. While I don’t deny the tax is high, you have to be completely oblivious to how BMW manages to mark up the cost of their locally made cars to exceed the costs of Audi’s similarly equipped (in some cases even better equipped) offerings, which get slapped a full tax, while BMW’s tax bracket is nearly half. With the 100% tax on the BMW 328i, and a 130% tax on the Audi A4, how is it that the Audi and BMW both have the exact same price on the range topping 328i and 2.0T respectively? Don’t forget the 20% savings in tax on the BMW. And it’s not like Euromobil is running at a loss, they are making good profit. So why is it that we have to put up with poor service to get to buy a good car.

And FYI. Do you know, abroad, even if you buy a Ford in the USA, Yes a FORD, and when you send it in for service, your Ford dealer will give you a loaner car? The same thing with Volkswagen USA too. Meanwhile here?

Probably you should check your facts. Cheers mate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Chill, bro. sudonano has his reasons to criticize the car companies this way. I won’t go through those reasons but I want to point out that constructive criticism is important for any industry or company, heck, even individuals to better themselves. This isn’t plain, mindless bashing but it’s purposeful criticism aimed at raising awareness and hoping for improvements to the automotive scene in Malaysia further down the road.
        (Oh, if you don’t know, sudonano has been viewing Proton in a more positive light as of late. Mostly due to their focus on safety as this guy is probably the Safety Officer of the paultan.org comment sections. The improving interior QC is a bonus.)

Anyway, the criticisms from the developed countries, especially, can be far more scathing with their heightened consumer protection laws and rights along with their knowledge of the said rights and laws. This, however, drives the companies forward to better themselves and gain the upper hand over the competition.

Volkswagen has the stated aim of displacing Toyota (or GM, depending on who has the crown at that time) as the #1 automaker brand in the world.
        Do you think they can achieve that with their current host vehicular issues? Don’t forget that Toyota’s in developed countries are just as well-equipped as Volkswagens. It’s just the Toyota’s brought in by UMW that are ill-equipped. Toyota’s aftersales service is also not to be underestimated.

Volkswagen has their work cut out for them. We shall see if they can go the distance.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Thanks!

PS: Volvo wagons are cool. If you drive a Volvo wagon, especially if is one with a Polestar chip, you are really cool.

VW can achieve it, but on one condition, build customer reputation. Many of us want to drive German, after all, pinnacle of automotive engineering. But when it breaks down this often, Houston we have a problem.

And yes, Toyota’s aftersales is only second to Lexus. I for one as an ex Toyota owner was 110% satisfied with the service I obtained from them. If only the cars were a bit more enjoyable to drive and didn’t come in poverty specs.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Y U tease me with Volvo Polestar wagon!? WHY?! (I can’t afford it, but I do like it)

Houston, we do have a problem. There’s a picketing squad outside the office.

It’s only fair that Toyota’s customer service is second only to Lexus. Lexus is like Toyota dialed up to 11, including the price tag.

• Abu Sayur on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:24 pm

bn scum detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:44 am

total import tax + sales tax + custom excise for new cars below 2,000cc is 125% only.

max is 193%, for cars like 5000cc

• explorer (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:49 am

To be precise :

Total tax for CBU car above 3000cc is 193.15%.
          Inclusive of import duty, excise duty & sales tax.
          Import duty 30%
          Excise Duty 105%
          Sales tax 10%

This is the maximum.

• Inspira you compared with Civic?
        Inspira where got VSC, it’s from old product of Lancer
        Iriz 110% better!

• cobra on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Couldn’t agree more with you. Sent my wife’s mini for repairs. Was told spare parts would arrive in about 3 days. But they only got the parts after a month later, that also after I made several calls. And I was the one following up with them. They never bother to call even once to update. Rubbish BMW service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:41 pm

From what I have experienced, dealing with Auto Bavaria needs you to follow up, make noise and chase them. For a premium brand it is genuinely deplorable. Quill and Ingress are just so much better.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:31 am

I tend to skip AB for anything dealing with warranty claims and service. Their discounts and sales are plenty but its better you take your ride somewhere else for service.

Its the same if you have a Mini. Take it to another dealer to service since its all under the same umbrella.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

Couldn’t agree more especially for the other brands that are still behind its rivals.

I think VW will pull through given time but they will have to stick to their promises.

• i must say kudos to all those who make a big protest at vw hq previously and those at the FB group dsg7 defect community for keeping up the pressure…..guys, stay away from VW product until these measures are really is genuine and not just lips service due to their poor sales lately…keep on pressuring them till they improve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • oil_worker on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:23 pm

seriously? my car just got problem with mechatronic today and need to leave the car for repair.. asked the SA if they have any courtesy car, answer is sorry we dont have… WTF laaa all this press conference just bullshit me right in my face… Please check your jalan Ipoh service center why they dont have courtesy car??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • “Additionally, from November 1, VGM will provide courtesy cars in the event of vehicle breakdowns”

• venven81 on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:17 am

some people just blinded by anger and frustration. please read the sentence carefully again. let’s see whether VW will improve over time. i hope the same practice (or even better) will be adopted by other companies as well so that in the end we as the consumers will be the happy bunch :)

• GUEST on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:28 pm

So fast change to different MD.

• Matrix on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:52 pm

get honda city. no problem at all.
    Good CVT. good FC. Good RV.
    Problem free.

best car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:30 pm

true

• maXref (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:18 am

If I’m considering VW polo, then yes, city is a good alternative to consider. But if u wanna get a more premium range, how la? Cannot simply recommend city for everything

• RicoT on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:48 am

I am waiting for the Honda City i-DCD Sports Hybrid, tentatively coming out next year.

• Leonard on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:00 pm

your spare part still always out of stock n it takes ages for Goh brother to get the spare part ready. N guess what? Another pieces of faulty spare part detected by the time the stock of the 1st faulty spare part arrived. Your supply chain seems like got issue

• till now i still cant find a replacement car brand for my vw, refined finishing, good fun ride, best nvh n good fuel efficient, a German tech that doesnt need to spend too much to get a merc or beemer..

once get poison by German engineering, its hard to look for other car brand to replace it..

thus all i hope is VGM walk the talk, improving their after sales n solve all the mechanical prob tat we face, as i plan to keep my vw for much more longer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • maXref (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:20 am

true that. Upgraded from honda civic 8th gen to mk 6 golf. Never regretted my decision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Garfield (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Just sharing my experiences, not in any order of grievances put thru by the contributors. My CT now is out of warranty and I made use of the fifth year’s warranty to maximum effect (bought the car 2nd hand).

The warranty is underwritten by Allianz and in one instance I called them up to complain about the SC. In fact, to the SC’s credit, it was the supervisor who suggested that I call Allianz. I got my warranty claim approved, and all my subsequent claims were successful. At one time I did some legwork to visit all the SCs that the previous owner had gone to and request for the copies of invoices. I had to do both only once.

The explanation is this; the service system was not centralized. Each SC support one major dealership, hence they are competitors with each other. It was the SC who did not want to go the extra mile.

One reader mentioned high oil consumption. Pls know that due to the turbo, one needs to top up half a litre about every 3k km, and if u did not do so u may find the oil level at low after 7-8k km. The SCs do offer express service for owners willing to pay for this. But I would just follow the topping up route.

I do understand anyway, that most VW owners come from those bracket who never pops up the boot for simple maintenance culture. U see, in Europe, VW is just a normal brand and people there do bother that each service visit cost a bomb (for any brand). Being regarded a semi-premium brand here with car prices only affordable to medium-class people is what caught VW unawares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Garfield (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Sorry typo. I wanted to say never pops up the hood…..my bad

• macroemdia on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I do not agree that DUE to turbo, one needs to top up engine oil. I have had turbo cars before, non of them do this. So I do not consider this to be normal. On the other hand, to be fair, I did hear that Subaru’s Boxer engine does that, but I have not experience it yet. In this case, it was so-called, a boxer engine ‘feature’. Oh another one would be Mazda’s Rotary engine.

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:57 am

The answer I gave is just to explain the 15k km service intervals recommended by VW. Granted u own many turbo cars, but how frequent do u service them? 3k – 5k km are typical for ppl who love their turbo cars, right? Even 7k km are pushing it. Another thing is the way u drive your turbo. My latest oil change have survived 5k km without a top-up so far. Oh another thing, my car run well on RON95; but I guess your prized turbos run exclusively on RON97.

If u have chatted with a VW specialist then u will hear the good and the bad of them all. All GTIs suffer from makan minyak sindrome, but most owners don’t mind anyway, except Polo GTI owners. I buy my liquid gold at spare parts shop myself at 30% savings and it’s not too bad bro.

• Leonard on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Things do not end there, after gearbox issue resolved, there are other faulty party need to be changed. The spare-part always out of stock and it takes ages to arrive. By the time the spare part arrived, another faulty part detected. Think you need you improve your supply chain, especially the Goh Brother. Sending car to workshop more than driving it…

• Kelvin Tan on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:36 pm

I just pick up my car after leaving my 2010 GOLF for three weeks to repair a oil leaks in CERGAZ auto. The car was there waiting for parts from Singapore, I can’t believe that VW doesn’t even keep simple parts in Malaysia.

Service advisor were so hard to reach, no one pick up phone most of the time. And keep promise date to complete the repair but never fulfill!

The car only have 38000 km done and oil were leaking from a few area.

I had the car towed 3 times due to ignition coil and PCV valve fault in the last 4 years!!!,

This will be my first and my last VW until they step up the quality and service!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Porsche guy on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Everyday you all went to SC YOU PEOPLE NEED TO THREAT THEM WITH LAWSUIT…. That what i usually do at porsche glenmarie…. Hahaha… All my issue is solved within 72 hours….

• i did. they buat bodoh. until i served them with the arbitration notice. the look on that vw guy lol. can’t tell you which branch, but all staff there don’t dare to look me in the eyes anymore

• So far i think best after-sales service for european cars is Volvo, 5 year free service is a true hassle-free 5-year free service unlike VGM’s offerings. Except their cars don’t break down even after 10 years, unlike VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • latacc (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Cars are like banana; never sold when they are ripe. Bear with it – with any engineered product of increasing complexity there comes higher chance of failure.

• Old dog on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Sorry folks, Ah Mok and ah tar only target to take money from monopolized business….we are probably lucky that the Germans take action after tons of direct comment.
    Protong, Vw, Honda all same and you think they care about consumer complain? Ah G is behind them anyhow…

• Jap car still the best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:27 pm

A little too late for this sui kwan Euro.

Reputation is down the gurgler and the monsoon drain.

Too bad for them now. Damage to reputation is beyond repair now.

• Sometimes i wonder why the hell manufacturer kept parts in singapore?? It expensive there and Port Klang is before Singapore if coming from German. If from Thailand better still, use railways or lorry. Plus VWs sales in MY should be higher in Spore. I just don’t understand these people.

• bystander on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:57 am

VW has had that parts depot in Singapore for many many years before VWM was set up. If you had a VW from Mk4 days and before, you can definitely get parts from there…

• Will not touch vw with a stick.

• Let’s give this German a chance and see if they can really prove it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • A sad VW owner on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:31 am

A bold promise indeed. Now time to sit back and observe if VGM and its vast network of distributors follow through on their words.

As a Volkswagen owner myself, I think it is important to first state for the record that Volkswagen cars are truly a joy to drive (that is of course, when they work). Amazing handling, sumptuous performance and excellent fuel consumption are among the characteristics of Volkswagen cars that I have no shame in extolling.

It is however, an altogether nightmarish experience when even the slightest problem with one’s car surfaces. My Polo GTI, purchased in October of 2011, has been unfortunately plagued by the well-known engine oil consumption issue affecting the 1.4 TSI engines, burning through close to a litre of oil every 1000-1500 km on average. (See: http://strikeengine.com/polo-gti-1-4-tsi-twincharged-factory-recall-engine-piston-rings, http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/f128/polo-gti-high-oil-usage-discussion-thread-57967-202.html)

Prior to June this year, I brought my vehicle to the service centre in Sg Besi no less than five times, the first time no later than 2 months after taking ownership of the vehicle, imploring my service advisor to perform an engine oil consumption test. My objective? To get the dealer to at the very least acknowledge the issue. My efforts were, unsurprisingly, to no avail. Every time my car went in, my complaints were met by vehement denial. Only in June did the dealer acknowledge the consumption issue, attributing the problem to the “breather pipe”. Offering to replace it, I happily agreed, thinking that this would finally resolve the problem. I had spent over a grand on engine oil topups in between services at this point, and would’ve given anything to have the ossie resolved. Little did I know, I would be in for a rude shock – when the service advisor contacted me informing that the car was ready for pick-up, I was also told that there would be a hefty several hundred ringgit charge applied, being the cost of parts and labour. What happened to the warranty, you ask? Well VGM’s extended warranty programme very conveniently does not cover the breather pipe part that was replaced. All this, after having initiated my complaint 2 months after purchasing my car. Had this issue been acknowledged at any point during the two year factory warranty, the part would have been replaced at no cost. So what else can a VW owner do but begrudgingly pay through his nose if only to be reunited with his tempestuous love.

Fast forward to today, my minimalistic-yet-beautiful instrument panel is, a mere thousand-odd kilometres after my last full service where a small fortune was spent draining and replacing the supposedly superior 5w-40 Castrol Edge fully synthetic oil that VGM sells at MYR 69 per 1L pop, again flashing. The all too familiar orange oil can symbol illuminates tiredly on the centre display, looking comically out of place against the ephemeral red-white glow of the dials and needles that otherwise exude performance. It serves as a nagging reminder that no, the problem has not been, and very likely will not ever be, rectified. Tomorrow I will be yet again going out of my way, on what should be an uneventful workday, to the dealership, where I will be coughing up another MYR 69 for a bottle of what must be some form of liquid gold to quench my car’s seemingly unslakeable thirst.

VGM, my relationship with you has been one of much love, yet unquestionably so, of equal amounts of hate. I absolutely adore my baby GTI – it is a right rocket of a car on any given Sunday – and I suppose I have you to thank for bringing it in. It is an immense shame however, that such a brilliant car has to be tempered by its association with such execrable levels of customer satisfaction, driven primarily by the utter incompetence of the distributors with whom you have chosen to work with. It is with the heaviest of hearts that I admit defeat in this seemingly unending battle – I will be selling my car, or attempting to at least, to someone willing to appease its temperaments. I do not possess such resolve. It will be a sad day to see my little red car streaking away from me for the last time, but I will nonetheless be breathing an enviably large sigh of relief. I do not know if you will ever read this, but if you do, know that though your Madmen-esque marketing and exceptional engineering had me sold, your dealerships’ shenanigans have made me sell.

Yours truly,

A sad VW owner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Garfield (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:38 am

I pity u for hoping for a solution but none forthcoming. VW knew the problem of boosting 180PS from the tiny 1.4litre. U need RON97 all the time but you know that already. That’s why the new Polo GTI shall be a 1.8litre boosting just around 200PS which is bearable. Still need to top-up oil, u can’t expect miracle. U must be a courteous driver considering that engine not broken yet. That probably would be the best thing to happen to get a new engine. If it happens after Nov 1 then according to the VW MD u should be able to get a courtesy car. Update here later bro

• arthw on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:15 am

come work harder and get a 125i, you’ll never look back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:41 am

A BMW? That’ll be another sad story in the making if it transpires.

• Share your pain bro. Went to sg besi to change batt recently n they took 6 hours. Just a damn batt. Nothing more.

• medic on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:46 am

Exactly how i felt.Very well said.Love my Vw to bits,but so many issues,so many tiring visits to SC,hassle to claim using the insurance.Finally gave up,changed to Jap.Less exciting driving experience,but more peace of mind.Vw need to buck up its QC,after sales service,spare parts sourcing time,have a 5 yrs manufacturer warranty.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:40 am

I like the way you write though you write out of the sadness of your heart. Manly tears will be shed. Here’s hoping that you find a more temperate but no less capable stallion in the future.

• Ash Menon on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:44 pm

You know, I’ve been seeing you comment quite frequently on PT articles and I have to say, I like your contributions. Cheers to making the PT comment section slightly less angry-mob-ish.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Bro, I feel you.

There there, the way I read your comment, I myself could not hold back emotions.

While I would recommend something from the BMW 1 series lineup, MINI Cooper S lineup, or the A250, heck even the V40 T5, I would say by far and large, the Mercedes and Volvo experience was a bit better for me. Tried and tested the Volvo living experience, it was good. Reliable too.

The MINI and BMW? Well by far the Munich sausage has been working well, but the 2 year warranty is a bit meh for the price. Though, having said that, I have heard brilliant experiences at places like Quill and Ingress, or even the one in Setia Alam (I think it is Wearnes or Tian Siang, can’t remember the name). And the whole feeling of a RWD car is just…

The 125i is German built too, but comes at a whopping price.

And on a side note, just curious, why do you need to buy the oil from the dealer? You could get it from your VW Parts Stockist or direct from Castrol or heck, try Bavarian Auto. Bavarian Auto is the BMW stockist in Klang Valley, they should bring in some variants of Castrol too as BMW recommends Castrol. Not sure if the type you use is available but you can try and check the price there. Interestingly, I noticed mysteriously, the same exact engine oil used in a conti car, when bought from a non conti dealer for a non conti car, is about 3 times the price. Magic I call it…

• wajib on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:35 am

Their car sales has been dropping skyfall..Now ask him to talk c..k

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

VGM should offer a FOC conversion to manual transmission for the DSG involved as an option.

• Alex L on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:13 am

I always take good care of my cars. Everytime I sell off my car (I hve owned many cars), I think the next person should feel very lucky, because it will always be in good running condition and I usually do a full service inclding changing the tyres (if necessary), as a way for me to bid farewell to a car I grew to cherish and love.

For the first time, in my life, selling a car is a relieve and I feel unfortunate for the next person getting my Golf GTi. The car looks pristine outside. But, the engine is leaking oil, flywheel is fried, air cond is gonna die soon at 80,000km, water pump cracked 4 times in 1 year. All the best to all VW distributors

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:42 am

got enough car to provide ah?

• VW tak laku one on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Got! a lot of un-sellable VW sitting doing nothing at storeyard..
      Just go to PKFZ area .. you will see a lot of unsold VW cars with all the model above that they provide as a courtesy car..! later.. after clocking few thousand KM.. can try to ‘lelong’ murah-murah! hopefully this time some unlucky-don’t-know-anything buyer will be duped and bought the lemon..

too many unsold car.., too bad we cannot see the statistic of non national car.. if not.. sure you will see how VW sales figure are falling like a waterfall..

• Vee fook yew on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:59 am

Anybody tried using higher viscosity lubricant to reduce the heavy oil consumption issue ?Maybe a 10w-60 grade? Recommended for high performance high temperature engines. The 10w-40 grade is just good enough for an average performance engine

• aiks, my Beetle is booked for a clutch changed on the 27th Oct and it will take 3 days to fix! Damn, too early to get the courtesy car.

• veedud on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Bro, if its me…will re-schedule after 1st Nov and get the promise courtesy car. 3 days without a drive or having to tompang ur other half car is a hassle

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:48 am

This German engine is pure rubbish. How can it burn up engine oil when engine oils were never meant to be part of the combustion. Many other better designed engines with high pressure turbo never had to top up oil the way this engine requires. This really is a lemon engineering brand.

• With this statement from an MD ““We acknowledge that we have made mistakes in the past, but (now) we want to overfulfil expectations..” it shows there is still hope. The first steps in solving a problem is acknowledging there is one. So, i wish all those owner can share your experience from now on. All the best ya.

• blaster88 on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:47 am

VW are in serious trouble, look at the comments above. They are being compared with Proton! I agree with some of the comments above, regardless of whether its tax or mark ups, Malaysians are paying A LOT for their cars, we deserved to be treated MUCH better. Some of the things that are going here would not be allowed in the West. They would be sued till kingdom come!!! Malaysians please wake up!

• skloke on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:24 am

My car a CT was broken down due to mechatronic failure. Was in the workshop for 1.5 months. No courtesy car was offered or provided even though I asked for it.

• nizar on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Look, he’s like pointing a gun to his head, i wonder why..

• David Yuen K on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Good job.
    I am one of the beneficiary of this program, tho i was carless for 2.5 months.

another 4 months to go..

• Vince on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:02 pm

My experience as a TSi owner.

23K car with superior engine that needed an engine block change… sure some kind of Very Worried engineering?

Two months’s wait for engine block change and no courtesy car provided despite promisesssss that “we put you on the waiting list!”. Two months inconvenience.

Told to pick up the car and was given back with a shuttered windscreen! What they did & wonder they care at all? And dare they said it was like that!!! WTF!!!

Less than 1k later, oil leaking & under carriage started making noise!!!!

My request would be to compensate me for the two months’ loss of car usage… not to mention the “accelerated” depreciation that I have endued on a 3 years’ old car.

For other readers here, just take a look at the number of VW used cars sitting in the secondhand car dealers’ yards all over to figure out yourself what actually transpired and sufferings of the first owners… inconvenience and financial loss, probably bad for the heart too.

Want another VW car?… May be a miracle to make that happens again!

• David Yuen K on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm

i feel you bro..
      i am on my way to 3rd engine as well…

sighh… and demand for used vw is very very cold.

• panjang on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I understand the feeling of VW cust about their service even not owning a VW.People dont mind the process of getting the car fixed.
    What not up to mark is the way its done and the hardship the owner has to endure.Stuff like time usage,no mean of transport,quality of service.

Its not about paying peanut and asking for rolls royce service level.imho from what reported in the papet and from a friend whom own a golf gti,the aftersale is very2 bad.Even for a small job.
    1 month for a part to arrive?
    Thats just lazy at its best from the human involve.With the slowest mode of postage,things can arrive within 2 weeks.Fedex or anything similar less than a week.

Nothing beats euro ride and handling which is why in my opinion purist opt for them.

• Kamsaini bin Kamaludin on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Easier said than done! Sorry VW hope you’ll rot in hell.

• wayangkulit on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Next time think carefully when purchasing a car

I kept reiterating to people that a car ownership encompasses not only price/spec but after sales services, the willingness to stock parts, the design that uses parts that are common enough to be stocked or shared across models, second hand value and quality of original parts.

If consumers demand for the latest and greatest technology while being significantly cheaper than its rivals, then there are chances that such models might have some reliability issues or stocking of parts should you need a quick replacement.
    Its logical and acceptable that car manufacturers that offers the latest and greatest to not know the effect/flaws of their design in the long run, no?

So next time asked yourself when buying a car if you value reliability or if you value the latest and greatest. They dont come in a package especially when cheaper than others comes into the equation
    Certain aspect of things has got to be sacrificed in order to achieve certain outcome.

So now it makes sense why certain brands that our so called “car enthusiast” likes to bash are still surviving.
    And why second hand value for “piece of junk” is higher than a piece of “high tech full spec” model
    If you are buying used you wouldnt choose a complex and unreliable model would you?
    Thus the second hand value of a model can be a pointer to its reliability

• Former TSi owner on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:31 pm

i was a former owner of a Gen 6 Golf TSi, the car is great for what it is, very quiet interior, great suspension, long highway cruises are assuring.

I too suffered form a fouled fuel pump ( 1 month wait ) but very fortunately i was provided with a courtesy Previous Gen Jetta, and 1 year into ownership, a failed mechatronics ( 1 months wait ), until i bit the bullet and sold it off, of the 18 months i paid for the car, i drove it roughly 15.5months only.

there are other things a VW buyer must be aware of,
    -its aircond blower is poor, on hot days the blower almost always maxes out, and when it does, its noisy.
    -the doors while very solidly built, opens (in my opinion) far too wide.
    -the side mirror is also inadequate.

As a side question, with so many cases of blown engines and pistons, could it be that its due to the RON95 grade petrol, causing serious pinging ( or pinking?)?
    With an engine forced induced so heavily, ie a twin charged 1400cc engine, i’m sure the intake air temperature is far too high, at least for malaysia’s hot afternoon traffic jams.

• Very Worried Owner on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Probably you are right. Even though VW claimed that the engine can run on RON 95, sometimes, you never know the quality of the petrol at our petrol station.

Most modern engine have knock sensor to prevent pinging or knocking by pulling back the timing, that is if it works within the programmed parameter. If any of this sensor is not in tip top conditions, and running on ron 95 or even diluted mixed with kerosene (no thanks to unscrupulous folks), and you are gunning to overtake the lorry at full throttle on a hot afternoon, whoila, piston ring koyak.

My advise, better to pump ron 97 if you are heavy footed for turbo-charged engine else drive like a pussy when using ron 95.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Well, they are moving in the right direction, but that should have happened several years ago. Now that sales are going down they start to do something, but that might be to late to save the brand in Malaysia.

• Lil_Fook on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Last year when one of the piston in my Cross Touran failed & the SC said that they have to change the engine, 3 days after the car was sent into SC, no courtesy car was given until the 3rd. week.
    And it took 3 months to complete the job, due to ordering of parts.

• Iskandar Firzada Osman on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Not another empty promise I hope. After more than 10 months still waiting for reimbursement from paying for a faulty oxygen sensor within the warranty period. Had to pay in advance since the VW SSS Centre said if I don’t pay in advance, they will not release the car. Whenever I asked them when I could get my money back, they looks as if they are arguing between each other and eventually told me the ‘central’ has yet to approve the payment. This is going to be the first and last VW for me. Whoever ask me wether to buy a VW or not, I’ll tell them to expect dissapointment for the after sales service.

• fuyenhou on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:28 pm

which service center you went/? have you complain this matter to VGM?

• vwoner on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Interesting thread. Not even one owner is satisfy with VGM. Including me.

Good car, bad service still.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Readers here should vote for lemon car of the year. Don’t take a smart person to guess who the winner will be.

• Chris YM on Nov 10, 2014 at 8:41 pm

My 2011/2012 Touran, coming to 3rd year service in Jan 2015 has suddenly got a mechatronic problem – as indicated by oil leaks and a “spanner” showing alternately with the gear ratio figure on the dash. This problem should not occur as it becomes a reliability problem for a beautiful car (MPV). The other problem ever since new, is the perpetual mug and haze-like layer on the windscreen, which could never be wiped clear even with soap water, unlike the clear windscreens of Jap and national cars. I wonder if the problem lies with efficiency of the silicone based wipers (have changed a 2nd set costing RM201)? Am going to change to Borsch wipers available from accessory shops if that could solve the problem. Anyone out there with this problem and solved it?? I wish to know. Thanks. VW cars are great cars to drive and very quiet, but they must solve the gearbox reliability. I don’t want to have a breakdown on the highway or in town driving. Never has had any problems with my Waja and Myvi !!!

• zumanji on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:14 pm

What is ur car status currently? sent back to VW service centre and waiting for them to replace you a new set of mechatronic. It seen like Mechatronic problem occur in 2011 VG models only.. my friend 2013 VW Polo 1.2 Tsi after driving so long, problem free to far.
      IN fact, we had chat about it.. he told me new VW model had solved the DSG and also Mechatronic problem also.

• Chris Lee on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Just got back my Touran today 12 Nov, mechatronic replaced and it’s better than previously. Moving off from stand-still is just like with a normal auto car, say my Myvi. No more sudden skidding or take-off judder, much smoother and normal than with the old mechatronic item. Satisfied and hope no more problems. Now awaiting for the windscreen washer motor which burned, maybe holding too long a spray. Of course, the smudgy windscreen is still a problem, either the glass quality is no good or the silicone based wipers are no good. Will see after I changed to normal rubber based wipers.

• Passat Owner on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:40 am

I was observing this thread thinking if one day i need a courtesy car from this new launched campaign.

And my passat b7 broke down again the 4th time (1st time on Saturday morning, clutch, 2nd – mecha, 3rd – battery, 4th according to technical turbine issues).

Reached SC, initial comment at the registration counter was, “sorry Sir is Saturday we only receive car for normal service”… i was shock, at least the clerk first feedback should have been, “Let’s register your car, but sir unfortunately it could be only diagnose and investigate the root cause on Monday”… at least i still could accept this.

Since the cleark was not helpful, i went straight to the SA i used to deal with, the SA accepted my car and did managed to squeeze the technician to perform an initial diagnosis on my car, but details can only be perform on Monday.. at least this better ask me Jalan Kaki balik rumah and come back on Monday..

On Courtesy car, i did requested. Is fully taken.. if you want to apply has to apply online to VGM then they will check if any available car only deliver to dealer, when i heard apply online and they need check availability.. this where i gave a smile to the SA, told i will follow up with you on Monday again..

• It's Too Late on May 01, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Why did VGM wait until their reputation is down in the dumps before taking action? If it is not for falling sales and cars piling up in the yards will they even take action? It’s too late. It took 3 years for VGM reputation to be badly damaged and it will take twice as long to repair if indeed VGM is serious this time. Better crank down your sales forecast, VGM.

• S.t.sum on Sep 05, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Need help my cross touran break down I need courtesy car from service center. But not given even repair work more then 48 hours