Volkswagen Malaysia – all DSG issues resolved

Volkswagen Armin Keller

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) MD Armin Keller has said to members of the media at a press briefing today that all DSG-related issues have been resolved, for new cars as well as existing ones.

Customer cars that have been reported to have DSG (DQ 200 – the dry-clutch seven-speeder) issues have had their mechatronic units replaced with a new version. Additionally, mineral gearbox oil is now used instead of synthetic oil, and according to Keller, following these updates, no issues have been reported thus far.

Also, all new Volkswagen cars in showrooms now have received these counter-measures, and based on the latest after-sales update, tech solutions have already been found for all issues. Reported engine issues have also been fixed, he said, although he did not elaborate on the technical measures taken.

Bold claims indeed – as such, we’d really like to hear from Volkswagen owners – has your car undergone the said updates, and if so, how does your car perform now? Please share with us in the comments below.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• David Yuen K on Oct 20, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Yes DSG issues solved for me, no issue anymore since it was replaced last year in June.

But now other problem cropped, broken engine and i am already on the 2nd engine, enroute to 3rd engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 18
    • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:08 pm

They replaced the entire engine (including cabling, exhaust, etc) or just the block? Would like to know what happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • Waja2003 on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Looking at VW MD Armin Keller pose again … his fingers is telling us …. “AAF U”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • David Yuen K on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

they replaced just the engine block and its internal that comes with the engine block

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Yes, would like to know more as well. Is it a Polo GTI?

• David Yuen K on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

its the 1.4 twincharge engine. dowan to name which model.

• Sawwy on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:00 pm

VW should give 10 years warranty entire car including engine and gearbox. Follow Proton power window solution, okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • cthock on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:19 pm

He is talking through his nose
      The SO CALLED 5 YEAR VW WARRANTY do not cover
      1) Suspension parts
      2) Ignition coils ($300+) each including labor cost
      3) Horn
      4) All parts having rubber content
      VW is rubbish and lpow quality. Do not buy any VW CARS

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 28
      • Alvin Chong on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:34 pm

My absorber been replace but the manufacture date since year 2007 what a joke. Still having the suspension problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • shhhh jangan bising on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:05 am

dude the horns are covered in EWP.
        got mine changed on the dot (4yrs old hence EWP).
        YES the EWP also the approval was on the dot (no need Q or many days to wait).
        got mine done at FA.
        suspension depending on parts if absorber of coz la wear and tear.
        as for eg speed sensor/abs sensor are covered in EWP as i’ve got mine changed under EWP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Chong Yew on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Actually yeah, as a VW owner, I can attest that after the 2-year manufacturer’s warranty period, many parts are lumped into “wear and tear”

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:17 am

malaysians should be thankful to china VW owners. i frankly believe VGM would not listen to us at all.

• aitor on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:49 am

hola,siento escribir en español pero de ingles ando justo.yo tengo un vw golf 2008 dsg 7V 1.4 tsi 122cv..se averio en mayo 2013(coche no anda y prnds a la vez en cuadro).vw no se hizo cargo y me pedian 6000 euros por reparar caja dsg.fui a un taller particular(reparacion 1800 euros).he recibido una llamada vw de campaña 34f6(cambio aceite dsg sintetico a mineral y reprogramacion).en el taller que arregle el coche me dicen que solo cambie el aceite y no reprograme.Vw dice que tengo que hacer las dos cosas pero si se estropea la caja dsg no se hacen cargo,asi que me dejan a mi la decision de seguir con el aceite sintetico en la caja o cambiar lo anterior y arriesgarme a una nueva rotura.en atencion al cliente no quieren saber nada.He visto que hay gente que ha pasado la campaña 34f6 con la caja original y al de 2 meses se les ha roto la caja dsg.CARE OWNERS OF ORIGINAL DSG 7V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Rusmah on Dec 16, 2015 at 11:28 am

Get away from 2010-2012 twin charger engine.
      Piston cracked is common issue.

• wilson on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:08 pm

seem like the rumors are true…………….

problem car

• firdaus95 on May 12, 2017 at 2:05 pm

vw polo 1.2 tsi year 201 dsg juga boleh masalah ke , ianya hanyalah 6 speed , adakah 6 speed juga boleh kerosakan dsg ? , sebab saya berminat nak beli di second hand yuscar

• Peter How on Oct 20, 2014 at 3:53 pm

good news?!!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • RIngstar on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Not yet, all the hipsters and the cheapskate German worshipers are still suffering from buying this low cost European brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
  • DSG Sucks on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Yeah right ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Glad to hear that. Sounds like VGM is taking customer complaints really seriously now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 32
  • sam loo (original) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:03 pm

lawak la u all ni.. DSG resolved? what a joke. RV still dropping..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 64
  • Askzidane on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Damaged done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • elainne on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

car is coming to 2 years old. now, changing gear in 4th or 5th gear, will result in “click clack” sound
    – clutch changed 2 times
    – mechatronic changed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
  • VWfan&critic on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm

REALLY? I won’t believe this until I hear from the people at VW DSG 7 Defects facebook.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Very bold statement, I personally feel it was not a good time to open on that topic, especially after the recent Beetle recall. Plus, now the thing is, we may see a flood of owners with DSG issues (from today onwards, assuming that there are still a few) bringing in this paper to the dealers. And considering he does say “all DSG-related issues have been fixed on current and new ones”, I would assume the clutch pack wearing out prematurely has been solved. You could sue them for lying that the issue has been solved if the problem is still wide and large.

Note to VGM = solving a problem != providing an affordable solution to replace the clutch pack.

If I were him, I’d have said, “While we are currently deploying a fix on the DSG issue, and believe the problem is solved, this doesn’t mean a car is 100% problem free, as there is no such thing of a perfect car, especially in mass production” or something on that lines is a less blunt way. Let’s see how is goes, cause right now, this statements looks like it’s opening a can of worms for me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • Peter on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:33 pm

The way Armin Keller speak sounds like he’s very upset with local owner’s response. He may think we purposely exaggerated the issue to ask for more advantages from VGM. With praise freq received by German marquee, it’s not too much to say they’re upset with our complains (remember the owners demonstration last year?).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Tidur on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:48 am

VGM should hire you as a PR spokesman.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

I know your dsg is very good and remain a popular choice but VGM please give manual transmission as an option especially for golf, thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • Francis on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:16 pm

No doubt having DSG is quicker and making the drive effortless but having manual making the drive more interesting.. Here is the video of mk7 GTI DSG & manual..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5sC9rvv81c

Ill vote for manual anytime..Cheers

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

The problem is the Malaysian market. VW mostly sells manual in its home country, because they are popular there. But in Malaysia sales would probably be very poor, cause people are lazy.

Also, I don’t like manual VW gearboxes, the clutch lacks in feel (though still much better than driving auto).

• Kuntakinte on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:14 pm

The lesson to be learnt here is that they’d have avoided many of the headaches, heartaches, bricks and bats of owners by being responsive and responsible from day one. At least to existing owners, The positive is that it’s better late than never

Hope that this serves as an important lesson for Audi when they reclaim the dealership from crappy euromobil. Don’t take your customers for granted thinking they can be exploited with the weak consumer laws in the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Richard on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Now that is total BS! I replaced the clutch in Oct/Nov 13 and within less than 6 months I am having the same problem again. Sent the car to the service centre to ask them to replace it and they give me some ridiculous procedural excuse that they need to do a software upgrade first and then drive for 1,000k to see if problem is resolved. Well, I can tell you that it is not resolved.

What is really upset is the fact that we need to send the car in for a few days to get the clutch replaced and one is left without a car for a few days. Will VM Malaysia even loan affected car owners a car for a few days or the very least compensate us for having to rent a car when the car is in the workshop for parts replacement?

The kind of service or protection that consumers get in Malaysia is down right pathetic. I support the implementation of Lemon Law in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 2
    • dodgeviper88 on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:57 pm

If lemon laws were in place, I would nickname it Volkswagen law cause for all you know the inspiration for this law comes from Volkswagen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • KK Tan on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:42 pm

i already have had the DSG changed and rectified 3 times on my 2 1/2 yrs old X touran and it’s still juddering. The piston cracked in June and it took the workshop 3 months to repair. I am currently waiting for other parts to arrive and replace. I am so scared to send my car in for repair unless the car is stalled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Yes this is my first ever post in paultan. I have to agree that the issue is not solved. I have my clutch replaced once last year and once this year n still…it is not resolved. I do not bother to go back for third replacement because as explained, we don’t have a car for a few days and they take their own sweet time to make us so frustrated that we give up trying.

I love the car but the engine issue is really a pain in the ass.

• VW should instead scrap their DSG programme altogether and replace it by simple non-DSG gearbox such as ZF 8 speed gearbox.

Hassle free.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

I’m confused. Is he from Proton or VW actually because most Malaysian says only Proton have problem, not a contis like VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 24
    • Proton has nothing to do with this!! on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:39 pm

My Preve has no engine or gearbox problem after driven for 9 months~~the punch VT3+ gearbox is not a gem but it gives me no problem at all~~at least not on the technical problems~~

dun mock Proton for this~~they have improved :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 15
      • ProTun has nothing to compared with VW on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

People mock proTun not because of this. ProTun always kena mocked because of:
        1. Bad quality & services. you will see problems when the car reached its 5th year. You are too early to be happy your proTun with just 9 months old.
        2. Because of protection for proTun, we all get expensive cars with at least 50% duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 63
        • buaya on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:32 pm

2 years and counting. Still no problem on mine either. Later when reach 9 years no problem oso you will say ‘let’s see another 5 years’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 15
        • Ricardo on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:19 pm

For crying out loud tell me which car got no problem after 5 years. Stop kidding yourself. I drove a high spec Persona and after years only problem I faced is the door handles come off. The car served me well after all this years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
          • what ever on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:07 pm

I think those proton lovers are never driving Japanese or continental car before and stay happily with the (standard of )proton. Not a bad thing to be happy easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
        • Fredo vteckiller 4G93 on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:21 am

hahahhaaa…..do not BS!
          my 18 years old dirt cheap satria 1.8 has always been reliable, easy to maintain and repair….quiet fast and fun to drive too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • Kopisusu on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Same to me as well. My saga 1.5 I (year 1989) 25 years and my Waja 1.6 (year 2003) 11 years are still in good condition, reliable and run smoothly without any problem. The cabin for both still quiet as well :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • funny kopisusu on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:02 pm

you r a LIAR or keyboard warrior. Nothing worng to be a proton lover but your comments must also have convincing facts, even a 25 yrs old Japanese or continental car also got problem..Jokers

• followthehead on May 31, 2016 at 4:09 pm

I must be lucky having a problematic Proton Sabby, bought in august 2005 till now other then tyres,engine oil etc. the only things that gave problem are 1 blown head bulb and 1 blown signal bulb, swear till now 11 years of low quality no problem car @ bht3x06, just bought a preve turbo last year august. well I’m a poor guy, only can afford to throw rm1200 montly for repayment of 5 years, with some balance for vacation. it hv 6 airbag,traction control,abs,distribution control and ancapp 5 star and can speed to 210km/h that enough for poor guy.

• nottheheart on May 31, 2016 at 4:19 pm

it really pity to see a guy with a new shining red car waving traffic at 5pm busy hour,hope he read this site. my dashcam captured it along fed hway,near subang parade, ( who arent angry and ashame ) as owner, what ever brand we must voice our right and follow through and not to let being toss around

• Milanista on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Azrai actually mocking proton haters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Guys, please google ‘sarcasm’ for more info. :-) Haiyaa…no sense of humour one..

• preve user on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:17 pm

So far, my preve hasn’t let me down as a daily driver in the last 2 years. It has been dependable, comfortable for a family of 4, powerful & handles well enough for a spirited drive, and makes a brilliant long distance cruiser with the turbo’ed 1.6.

Although I must admit that the service centers are sometimes incompetent in diagnosing complaints such as squeaks & rattles. Also, the long wait for a simple oil change warrants some improvement done to their customer care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • What a bloody joke. My 3 yrs Golf having driven for 40k only had the following changes
    – piston cracked
    – clutch plate
    – mechatronic
    – power window regulator
    – Aircond aluminum hose

Now the car has undercarriage rattling sound still unsolved and unknown. Their SC are all run by jokers. It’s all trial and error for them.

VGM : ask yourself this question. Which car company has performed so badly that has resulted in public protest in front of your office?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 1
    • Nazir on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:25 pm

‘Piston cracked’

You really want to us believe that nonsense? :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 77
      • yup.. mine too. Piston crack you can check in VW SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • Bro Nazir…u bttr believe it, the 1.4TSI Twin Charger have a lot of cases of these piston cracked issues, happened to my sis 2012 Golf TSI (whole engine replaced due to this and car stuck for a month at SC) but so far my 2011 Golf TSI is still ok wt regards to its piston, but both Clutch & Mecha need replacement at 55,000km end of last year (car stuck for 3-4 days and have to take public transport, no replacement car provided..bloody VW)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • samlok on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

This is common issue, every owner knows it.

• nazir you apparently haven’t heard of google. get out from under the rock some times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Nazir on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:12 am

Apparently people like you believe everything what others are posting on the internet :)

BTW: How is it possible that a piston is cracked without damaging the block? Can you give me a google link too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
          • Bro Nazir, you dont have to google to believe it. The above comments are from owners. I myself am one of the owner although i have not had that problem (touch wood) but have friends who had the same problems.

• vw owner on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:22 pm

My partner’s jetta has similar issue and sold it after repaired.

He is a happy owner of Mazda 6 now.

• Nazir on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

This Nazir talks like Minister aunty Nancy “dun trust the media”. and apparently nazir is not a owner of VW.

• Heng Lee on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:01 pm

‘ but have friends who had’

Yes, my neighbors daughters uncle knows someone who heard that somebody knows too… :D

• Ulkamikup on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:22 am

Nazir, dont act like a bloody ham roll here. Please respect the owners who had gone thru a bad ownership with vw. If u ask for technical reason why the pistons cracked, they dont have the answer unless u own one and feel the pain. Most of them are not an automotive engineer nor a foreman. But if u still want to follow the logical on how the pistons cracked, just go on and dont F around here with your bullshit comments

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Your last statement is funny because not even Proton had a picketing squad mobilized against them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati(Official) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:29 pm

good job VM! I’m a proud of owner of V and never had a single problem, always enjoying my driving moments, its a pleasure to have a V at home as a daily driver even i have other contis parked in my garage…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 88
    • SamTowTruck on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:22 pm

But but your wife ran away with Sam Tow Truck coz the VW always break down.

So how is your green hat wearing ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • Kelvin on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Just had my mechatronic unit replaced after 80k km, 3 years.

Very reliable before that. Not much to complain and the service was done in 3 days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • kambinganas on Oct 22, 2014 at 4:27 am

Wow, orang bawak proton sampai 200 ribu km tak tukar ape2 pun. Very lucky la you, 80km only need to replace your mechatronic kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Kelvin on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:16 am

Unfortunately this is the price to pay for having a VW at the moment. Until they make the DSG reliable – I’ll be happy as the acceleration, fuel economy and usability of the car has exceeded all expectations.

The mechatronics breaking down is not unexpected but frustrating still. But overall ownership experience is not bad coz VW does give good service.

• Proton car is even better than VW car

it’s just u ah beng2 susah mau believe that facts

proton power window problem u orang suda kata kereta malaysia low grade

ini VW ada major problem gearbox dan engine u still kata kereta ni bagus good german engineering

kanineh la lu orang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 24
    • ProTun has nothing to compared with VW on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Agreed. Ah Bengs always feel excited when driving a “VW” car because of his all also ah beng friends telling him that VW is germany continental car, although they cant even pronounce VW correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • kiasu on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Ah beng will say “Eh, how your Walk Wagon today, ah”
        Ironically, it really is a Walk Wagon because their cars are sitting in the workshop waiting for a DSG problem related part to be fixed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • Vincent on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:13 am

You are very humurous! Your post on walk wagen make me laugh for days!!!! Thanks for sharing

• Calvin on Nov 07, 2016 at 5:58 pm

I do agree vw car is nice and comfort to drive. And indeed effortless it can reach 100km/hour. I have been owner for vw since 2012 and almost 4 years and have this dsg issue now. Haiz.
      Well for malaysia boleh car and jap car which i own it before as 1st car was saga, then wira, vios and passat there’s a great deal of difference between those and of course different league. But i still enjoy conti even having dsg issue with vw but if ask would i ever buy another vw car the answer will be NO Perhaps should get to benz out the bunch of conti car

• wkaka on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Sold my car after it broke down (Passat). New owner seems to have no issues after having his mechatronic replaced (3rd one in total)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • mat anip on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:20 am

Clutch ada tukar tak passat???…i ada problem bila tukar sport mode bila speeding..maybe mechatronic prob??

• hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:28 am

out of the sudden, buying a vios makes more sense.

cheap, economical, ultra reliable, superb after sales service support (include 3 years manufacturer warranty) + good parts availability, nationwide service network.

ps i am not toyota salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Hey guys, heard from forum who said the characteristic of dual clutch is jerking at low rpm.

Now my question is what is dual clutch? From what I know, it’s a semi auto/paddle shift.Correct?

If so, cars with paddle shifter is dual clutch?

If my understanding is right, then so far I didn’t encounter the characteristic of dual clutch which jerking at low rpm. Been driving civic 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 55
    • Would really hear from VW and experienced owners. Has been keeping my eye for a while on VW touareg but with all those dsg issue holding me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Edward Liew on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Touareg is not using DSG…
        It’s a 8 Speed Auto from AiSIN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

What is dual clutch?

Dual Clutch Transmission (DCT) is essentially at automated MANUAL transmssion. Not an automatic. It’s a manual, but without the need for you to have a clutch pedal to engage when shifting gears, or a hydraulic (oil filled) torque converter to shift the gears in an automatic. Just because a car has paddle shifts, it doesn’t mean it is a dual clutch transmission. The Civic 2.0 is a normal automatic with paddle shift manual control so you can change gear yourself for the “race inspired” feel. There are also some cars like the Proton Preve and Suprima with paddle shifters too, but they use a CVT, a belt driven transmission, so no gears to change, like a golf cart.

You will not have jerking in low RPM in an automatic since there is no clutch to engage and disengage. The DSG “jerk” is the same jerk that you get when you lift off the clutch in a manual car without balancing the accelerator, causing the RPM to drop.

The main issue here is that for a car that costs this much, it is a bit unacceptable for them to have a transmission that jerks (it’s German!) and for it to have issues like clutch failure and transmission failure so early.

As for the Toureg, it is using a normal automatic, in fact it is a Toyota based automatic, used in the Porsche Cayenne. However I will not recommend one at this point in time, as the new Toureg has been launched globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Now if you’re interested in more definitive information about the DCT in general…

What sudonano described in his first paragraph is closer to what is called an automated manual transmission or AMT, which is functionally a manual transmission except that instead of you being in charge of controlling the clutch, a transmission control unit (TCU) processor and an actuator controls the clutch for you. The Proton Savvy has such a gearbox but it proved to be quite an unreliable unit (not all of them are as unreliable) and has caused many Savvy owners a lot of grief.

The Dual Clutch Transmission (DCT) as the name implies has 2 clutches instead of the AMT’s one clutch. It is more complex than the AMT, with one clutch being in charge of the odd numbered gears like 1, 3, 5 as well as reverse and the other being in charge of the even numbered gears like 2, 4, 6. The DCT is supposed to offer lightning fast gear changes without an interruption of power flow because the next gear in line is already selected by the other clutch and spooled up to speed. The clutch swap happens very fast — faster than you can blink.

The Civic automatic transmission is a conventional automatic transmission and has nothing in common with the above 2 transmission types. The primary way the gearbox is coupled (read connected) to the engine is via a torque converter instead of a clutch. That’s why this site calls it a slushbox from time to time and that’s why the transmission is so smooth when moving at slow speeds (that behavior is called creeping). The gearbox itself consists of multiple planetary gearsets which is very different from the ones from the AMT and DCT that more closely resemble a manual transmission.

Paddle shifters are merely control devices that allow the driver some degree of manual control over the gearbox. All automatic gearboxes can potentially be manually controlled via paddle shifters or some other method of control like tipping the gear shift lever forward or backward in manual mode, or putting it into D3, 2 or L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • mat anip on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:26 am

Passat i ada prob bila tukar sport mode jerking then semput2…then kena brhenti dah sejuk cket bru ok balik…ke mechatronic prob???minta penjelasan dri u

• thefact on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

A dual-clutch transmission, (DCT) (sometimes referred to as a twin-clutch gearbox or double-clutch transmission), is a type of semi-automatic or automated manual automotive transmission. It uses two separate clutches[1] for odd and even gear sets. It can fundamentally be described as two separate manual transmissions (with their respective clutches) contained within one housing, and working as one unit.[2][3] They are usually operated in a fully automatic mode, and many also have the ability to allow the driver to manually shift gears,[1] albeit still carried out by the transmission’s electro-hydraulics.

a quick search on the internet u can get answers :)

• Your understanding is wrong.

• Win liao lor

• Matrix on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:57 pm

get honda city. no problem at all.
    Good CVT. good FC. Good RV.
    Problem free.

best car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
  • Michael Lee on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Sure or NOT? DSG (my gold have changed 3 times), Clutch (3 times) and Engine (1 time), Undercarriage (just changed at own cost) and etc…. – 3 years old car – was sitting in VW SC for more than 6 months and going to 9 months) Issues RESOLVED?

That’s Good News! BUT Hope that is true, or what shall we do if the problems still arises? Sell back the car to VW at normal market valued – not taking into account the sudden prevailing RV valued now done due to the DSG, engine and VW service that the market already knew?

But Really I can say – The solutions came too late and sales is dropping – the whole market knew the problems and spread like bush fire! Sorry but true, just talk to any stranger and ask them, 90% will tell you VW have gearbox problem.

What a waste of this good car to have this fate in Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:31 am

up to rm40,000 rebate (simply said – discounts) is on offer for 2014 VW models.

• parts u can tink of u name it and it will break or have broken already..rubbish service, they dont stock spare parts…dont give a replacement car while its being repaired like merc beemer or audi, their service costs as much or maybe more den other conti…VW is an absolute joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • meejawa on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Mr. Keller, you need to be in touch more with your customers on the ground and not just listen to your senior management that everything is ok and you just take the opportunity to showcase you are doing things. Your staff are lying to you, and you are lying to us.

I have replaced my mechatronics/clutch parts last year and a few months ago it’s misbehaving again. Why am I still driving a defective car for a few months? Because when I called your service centre, once they know that I want to send in for warranty claim they will replied that there is no slot available. The earliest is usually 2-3 months later. When I asked, “So you want me to drive around with a defective clutch?”, they just replied”sorry there’s nothing we can do”. If you think I’m blowing hot air, please contact me via paultan (my email is there), and I hope you can pull out the recording of what your staffs in TWO service centres told me.

So, Mr. Keller, is it VW Malaysia, or VW policy, to have your customers driving around in an unsafe car just because “there is no slot available”? Where is the sense of urgency? Remember the time where we held a demonstration and you promised Sundays will be available as well for service and repair? Go and check how many are open now.

You are messing with your bottom line, your job and literally our lives. There is no use of giving false hope to your future potential customers if they will get first hand accounts of all the truths from your current customers and stay away from VW forever.

What audacity!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 1
  • Very Worried (VW) on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:12 pm

WOW what A BOLD statement..

• Enjoyable drive on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Hi Matrix. I use a jetta and my neighbour just bought a latest city for 3 months and the gearbox jammed.Just one of those days and unlucky. Even good cvt failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Matrix on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:54 pm

hey man, just 1 case only of gear box only.
      your DSG many broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • nissuh on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:28 pm

its babye for VW, this car was my 1st option as my 2nd car..now i am thinking to buy skyline R34 or BMW…huhuhu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • funny nissuh on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:43 pm

skyline/BMW as second car? keyboard warrior. I am thinking to buy a jaguar or Ferrari or a jet may as my second car tim while driving viva…

• veedud on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:39 pm

i owned to dsg7 equpped vw, both need clutch & mecha replacement at 45k & 55k mileage. both need be left in the service centre for 3 days each for vw to replace the parts & took a mth for parts to arrive. VW do not even provide me wt a replacemt car & i hv to take public transport during the total 6 days i cant use my car. If u guys enjoy taking public transport, go ahead…get a vw. now one of the car dsg is starting to hv clutch wears symptom after only another 30k after replace….go figure guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • This kind of MD just come here to spend their retirement age for summer holiday for few months or most to a year or two in Malaysia. Similar to the previous one. Made some good baseless statement but the reliability it is all crap sold by VW. Engine and gearbox failure, bunch of sensors failure, bad after sales service, low resale value and so on….. I have been driving two VW craps. The time of visiting to SC more than visiting my customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Car-Fans on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Branded Car but not so Branded Quality, Staff Skill & Service !

• Car-Fans on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Branded Car BUT Not So Branded Quality, Services and Skill !

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:52 pm

In GOLF we trust….not?

• kapchai on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:53 pm

I am not familiar with this issue but I am curious to know whether VW has this same DSG issue overseas, or just in tropical countries like Msia? I mean, VW has sold millions of cars with this DSG gearbox and if all got problem, surely the company can close shop by now. cheers

• lancerwaja on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:55 am

I still think, first come in my mind, the word SABOTAGE by other car seller to make sure diz brand cannot sell well in our beloved country. Same happened at proton a long time ago. At that time, around 1985,1986, many proton car towed by someone to prove diz car is not good and tendency to kong early. Rumours said proton car even cannot go uphill to genting at that time. Then goverment do something, challenge anyone who say proton car is no good, to prove with evidence, amazingly no one dare to do that. So, back to the topic, are dsg gearbox really crap and very rubbish? Are technician, foreman do really well their job, callibrate the diagnosis tools always? Have vwm check every item come to the sc? Or, can we say spotcheck, to make sure sparepart, lubricants, meet the vwg standard? To vwg malaysia also, have u study the suitable spec vw car to be sell here? Just to inform, our jet tudm, bae hawk 100 and hawk 200 cannot perform well in flight training, show only 60% because of the electronic failure, grounded for a few years to modify. Seems like humidity, hot weather are the enemy for fly by wire system, just like vw car

• cendol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:00 pm

I am telling from personal experience, my sister’s Jetta of 5 years old has TWO cracked piston while driving on the road.
    Total damage – RM10k++ (including tow)
    She swears no more VW in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:01 pm

its true that the atf oil has been replaced
    mine was replaced without any heads up , just send for 30km service and they replaced the atf…under a service bulletin catagory…i guess only now i know why
    although the dsg is erratic in slow traffic situations , thats how it is no matter what vegetable oil u use!
    but its been trouble free so far , no issues at all…

• nabilah nordin on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Mine is still not fixed. After sale services sucks big time. Most of vw authorised service centers need to prebook (imagine your car is having problem & need a check , and i have to wait for a month for my turn, not to say that is only on weekdays). Weekend priority for scheduled maintenance only. So, i prefer to wait for my next schedule at the end of the year to fix it. I know that i am taking a risk here! #fingercrossed

• oil_worker on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Hhahahahahahahaha best joke of the year.. you know what mr Keller, my car JUST BEING DIAGNOSED WITH MECHATRONIC PROBLEM TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what a coincidence eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • cthock on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Our 2010 VW Passat CC broke down due ignition coil problem which is not covered in.VW 5 years warranty.
      We had to $300+ to replace 1 defective coil. Car horn out of order and some suspension parts worn out,also not covered under SO CALLED 5 YEAR WARRANTY
      VW warranty and quality is rubbish and bullshit from our experience. DO NOT BUY ANY VW CARS. BEFORWARNED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • oil_worker on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:19 pm

this is my car…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-bysPiIuR8?w=200

• VW DSG7 Defects Community on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Mr. Keller , we hope you are reading the feed back from VW owners here and also visit our FB page . It is good news to every VW owners that VW has resolves all issues with DSG Transmission problem. We hope your team will follow up closely on those who are reporting problem with their transmission. We take your words seriously and we will also be conducting a survey among vw owners who has their clutches and mechatronic replaced to check on your claim. The survey result will be made public this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • kudos to those at FB group vw dsg7 defects comm for keeping the pressure…press VWM hard until they improve their services & stop treating customer/owner like dirt!!!

• Alvin Chong on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

They say will arrange german technician to test my car coz my golf under power, car still judder like hell after changed the latest clutch, mechatronic still angage like lorry gearbox (VGM said this is the COMFORT ISSUE which is mean Malaysia Road Builder Useless). 2 time batteries, 3 time mechatronic, 1 time gearbox, 3 time clutch, 1 time water pump, 4 time on tow and 2 times almost kill in the highway due to mechatronic and EPC failure. Are you kidding me Mr. Armin Keller???

• AmnoK (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

DAS AUTO boleh tukar kepada DAS AUTA atau DAS BIN. VW punya hal Proton lu orang kutuk. VW bukan segmen kereta premium jangan dok perasan & hidung kembang sangat. Kereta rakyat perasan jual macam segmen premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • changes clutch pack, mechatronic,engine…literally everything never solved my issue. but I finally solved all the issue this month after 3.5 yrs owning a golf 1.4 tsi coz I sold it..n tat consider problem solved!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Alvin Chong on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:27 pm

VGM call me last Wednesday regarding my issue, They say will call me ASAP so I ask them how long i have to wait but so far I get the empty promise again. My 2011 golf just left no more than RM80K value in market, most of the 2nd hand car dealer ask me to face the reality. Mr. Armin Keller…I ask your VW sales person to sell my car they also want to think twice, some even try to push down my car value below RM80K. What a joke!!!!! My car no. AHT 722 Golf TSI Year 2011, Ipoh service center is my second garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • NoMoreVAG on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:33 pm

So according to VGM, “all DSG and engine problems are fixed”. Any new cases will be out of ordinary and they are not aware of.

The salesperson already used this phrase since day one at the showroom!

No More VAG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • DSG resolved? Bad, bad, bad experience with my Passat… just changed the mechatronic last June and last week gearbox problem again, and now the whole gearbox need to be changed and it will took 3 weeks, they said. Really hard to get thru the service guys to seek info or status of the repair. No more VW for me after this.

• anwar on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

I got my car stuck at service centre for 6 MONTHS!!!! First case, in Feb 2014, my car was towed to Glenmarie due to clutch problem. After agonising 3 months, the car is ready for collection. Guess what, the whole GEARBOX failed within 3 DAYS. Then it was towed to Kuantan for gearbox replacement. Only in Aug 2014, I got my car back. The new gearbox is not totally fault-free as we still can feel the jerking & prolonged use of second gear. I pretty confident the clutch will fail again within two years time.

Please do not put your remarks for the sake of improving the sales!! It won’t as we will haunt you down.

• he showed closed fingers. We show middle finger to him. There are 77 comments, I didn’t see any good one

• Amelissan on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Jonathan or Paul, I think it would be a good idea to forward some of these comments over to Volkswagen. Would knock some sense into them. Volkswagen is last in the JD Power survey behind Proton. Justified.

• AmnoK (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:05 pm

kereta tersadai berbulan-bulan di SC, pembeli kena juga bayar loan kereta. kesian….mana hak-hak pembeli yg teraniaya kera jaan oiii

• yeah as if your PR wants to bela your nasib sibuk bergaduh nak jadi MB jaaa

• kalau beli japanese car sure no problems, why waste ur life fixing rubbish cars. what happens after warranty expires?..lol

• Own 2010 golf tsi totally regret. 2 times changed mechatronic n next week changing clutch . Now worry as many comments on engine failure which so far i hv not kena. Touch wood pl dun fail. VW biggest con job n irresponsible for selling defective products . Lemon law is a must

• Second protest in from your office will tell you whether you closed your finger or keep your mouth shut.

• Solved? Why my car still in sc? Everyday i call, they said will contact u when the car is ready.. I ask how many days approx? They said give us time to address & solve the problem..

• Alexlsk on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:39 pm

So far no DSg issue for me (yet)..hopefully not. However after getting the Jetta in June 2014, I experienced misfiring in August and sept where the former only diagnosed by updating software! 2nd misfiring visit only take things seriously where they found out that 1 of the ignition coil failed. Replaced the part within 2 days. Other problems faced were quality issues, i.e crackling sound on doors, dashboard lock came off (replaced with unoriginal), abnormal sound on brake and absorber…a brand new car with these issues…totally unacceptable!!

• Das is Rubbish! Das is Lying! Das sounds like desperation to increase sales! Das should just fixed the problem and let the customers say its fixed instead of holding a press conference with NO SUPPORT FROM CUSTOMERS! DAS USELESS!

• i spent 20k to fix it!

• Porsche guy on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Hahaha… DSG ISSUE IS A BUSINESS ITSELF…people in VW KRAUT GOT RICH BECAUSE OF IT….nothing is free guys… I am asking you all… Are you ( VW) owner clever or the SC at wearners? Answer me….

• Chee Wee on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Resolved? Serious? Why my car is still in service center? Not sure when I can get back my car. It’s the 4th time I have to send my car to sc for emergency. 4 major problems within 3 years.

• death (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Walau eh, win liao lor~

• In T & H we trust.

• AmnoK (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Owner VW pakat ramai-ramai pi letak kereta & claim warranty part di SC Shah Alam. Ajar VGM & respect sikit owner VW Malaysia, kalau tak kamu orang kena buli lah jawab nye.

• Alfatits on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:07 pm

You know, people used to laugh when i bought an alfa 156 selespeed. I agree the first gen silispeed was pretty horrid and full of issues with the gearbox but the 3rd gen silispeed is much reliable.

Now looking at VW dsg, i must says, the experience is even worst than Alfa silispeed. Looking at my friend who drove 159, 4 years and 100,000km, his silispeed didn’t throw any tantrum. Look like italian is more reliable than VW after all :)

• shhhh jangan bising on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:18 am

SILLYspeed dont have warranty and also no more dealer for Alfa no.
      not so alfa anymore :)

also 159 no resale and eat petrol like mad and performance is not good.
      better with the german

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Ian Chung on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Alfa romeo always builts strong engine and transmission ,the italian really mean serious business when making engines.onces I raced
      my alfa boxer until the clutch plate totally destroyed smashing the flywheel .then after changed the clutch and repair the flywheel, my alfa works wonderful till now.

• l3ryan on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:21 am

Seems like most of the problem is coming from the 7 speed DSG of most TSI cars like golf tsi, jetta, and polo tsi?

what about the 6 speed DSG found mostly on golf GTIs? they also suffer from so much issues as well?

• Mark Onah on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:22 am

My daily driver is a cheapskate Proton Preve 1.8 manual. I have clocked 120,000 kms so far, into 4th year of ownership.

So far it has cost me the following:

1. A pair of wipers
    2. Tyres (3 sets already)
    3. Engine oil, gearbox oil, air filter

Damn Proton for giving me a bland car with equally uneventful ownership experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Preve ada 1.8 manual??

• Dafuq on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:17 pm

I’m a Preve. As far as I know Preve launched in 2012, so the oldest Preve on the road will be only 2 years+, and there is no 1.8 manual unless u change the engine yourself. U sure u r drive a Preve? Or Inspira?

• me Beetle is booked for clutch change next week. according to the SA, the new version has a thicker shim, whatever that means, but they could not guarantee how long this new version will last. this to me sounds like a design fault rather than a defect. the juddering on my car started right after the 1st service at 15kkm. i’ve driver many cars and never had to change a clutch due to wear after 30kkm. let’s see if this version can really solve the issue.

• waema on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:52 am

welcome lemon law..
    Guys lets support lemon law

• Das Kena Auta on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:14 am

You all kena con again.., how is it called resolved – if the ‘fix’ is merely a ‘cheat’? I felt very stupid by the way they fixed this issue – how would changing the oil to lower quality oil would solve the issue? so.. it’s a short term solution., long term – your engine lifespan will be shortened bro! We have been buying/using this fully synthetic to all our car and previous car – as to get a smooth ride, reduce friction and prevent problem later-on as our mileage adds on. With this ‘mineral oil change’?? say goodbyelah to use this car for longer than er.. 100k? 150k only?

How long more malaysian customer have to suffer this 2nd class treatment? bring the lemon law ! I will pile all the lemon in-front of their office.

If this happen in US – the govt would have instructed VW to totally recalled the car and compensate all owner. Looks at what happen to Toyota pedal acceleration issue! Million dollar court case there. Nationwide recall, until the CEO bow very low to US customer to say sorry over the issue. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8502894.stm)

• das tak tahu baca on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:49 am

please understand what is being said before you run your mouth. the switch in oil is for gearbox oil, not engine oil.

• Mazlan Mohamed Din on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:48 am

My Passad 2012 model B7 have not been recalled. Please advice.

• I have heard of plenty VW horror stories as per this thread. However my Scirocco 1.4 has had no major breakdowns since the DSG update 3 years ago (only water pump replacement this year which is a caused by wear-and-tear). My 2 cents :)

• NoMoreVAG on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:39 am

Either you are lucky or the judder has not bother you yet. Once you notice it, you will not miss it again.

No More VAG!

• TheDean on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:38 am

My 4-yr old Polo TSi with 50k km has had mo problems whatsoever with the gearbox or engine. My 2-yr old Sharan too no problem. My previous Mk v jetta was a solid rock, no problems. Only problem is with SC. Slow response, poor handling of customers’ cars.

• passat owner on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:11 pm

All BS. Sent in for service in June , Come back V-belt broken and they said this is wear and tear. Have to pay for it, cost RM1K ++. Clutch changed 2 times for 2 years car. Worst is after change the clutch , didn’t fix back drive shaft properly for me cause the leaking of gear oil.
    What the fxxking services VW is providing.

• Daniel Wong on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:09 pm

My car was in the SC for 10 days just to change the front wheel bearing. I had a knocking sound when I turn right . This was since the 2nd month . It’s 3 years old now . Sent in 4 times still unresolved . Nobody called me to change the oil to mineral oil . Mine’s a golf mk 6 TSI . What say you , Volkswagen Malaysia ??

• fuyenhou on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:27 pm

it depends on year of model, I think.. maybe your model was not affected leh! anyway you can always divert this issued to the service centre see they had change/use the new mineral oil.

Anyway service you sent your car to? mind to share more issued over your car?

• KH Yeoh on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:28 pm

This is a manufacturing DEFECTS! So VGM please recall all the models effected and change the parts be it the car is still under warranty or not. Have pride and own your mistake to build back the buyers confidance.

• FaiSaLDaDeCo on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Stop complaining. Buy Proton / Perodua.

• NoMoreVAG on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:43 am

Wait until your warranty is over and go to the SC. I’m sure they will be able to identify the problem and replace the affected parts promptly.

No More VAG!

• keluangman on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:32 am

Run as far away as possible when you see the VW logo! If you think Proton is bad with their power window and noise rattling problems, then you should try VW for a change. If you want to drive conti so bad, save up and go for BMW or Mercedes. I am not saying this two are better(the fact is the are, my 2012 merc C class has only had minor issue nothing major such engine exploding or gearbox mechatronic replacement) If your budget permits only VW, better stick with conventional japanese brand such as Toyota Honda or Mazda.

You will thank me later on. Avoid VW! You have been warned.

• Face the Fact on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Sorry to hear form all vw owner problem. For me I m just one of the conti car owner. Just my personal opinion … If u r driving a conti car… Pls accept the car problem as wear n tear. U just name it merc BMW Volvo Renault Peugeot ….etc. this car r not reliable in our country n the wear n tear, sensor clutch engine parts suspension … R easily go off n need replacement more frequent then those Japanese technology. Conti car technology is totally different from Japanese car technology …. Those driving a conti car will feel the driving n handeling pleasure. If those 1st time conti owner still keep their mind set of owing a Japanese car of reliability . My advise is u better sell ur conti car. Trust conti car r not easy to maintain. As u never hear u need to change ur disc break for ur city n vios… But u needed to change ur disc break ard 60k km which usually cost u ard 2k. for the disc n break pad n suspension assorber for ard 4k at 110k km. *i always in high speed :).

P/s conti car is all about ur budget. If u can afford u don’t feel the pain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Please VW MD, keep your mouth shut. Don’t make irresponsible and baseless statement here. We are struggling to own this VW crap here

• passat owner on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Y

• tan chong por on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:15 pm

where got. i wait already one year…

• Will not BUY VW on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:11 am

Will not BUY VW

• Xb

• Rashdan71 on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Praised to Allah SWT, last Feb 2014 nearly bought a Passat but finally decided to go for Accord 2.4….no problem…very satisfied. Nearly fell to the VW salesman …Passat can easily cucuk those japs…

• Peter Foong on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:08 pm

I just changed my mechatronic for my golf mk7 1 month ago. Gearbox error. So far so good. It’s pleasing to hear such assurance from VGM.

• My wivey 2012 polo 1.2TSI replaced clutch at 15000km in June 2014, and tow to sc to replace mechatronics at 15800km, now clocked 21000km 6mths after change mechatronics, the dsg shown sign of breakdown…vw sucks

• Soli…replace parts in April 14, not June 14

• vw_veryworried on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:58 am

i think VW needs to look beyond just their dsg gear box when it comes to selling cars.

I believe after-sales is one of the main issues they are facing.

Are they even knowledgable enough to advice what’s wrong with the car? I’ve seen so many repeated cases of people going back to the service centers.

Customer service is so slow and they can’t give a proper answer other than bringing the car to the service centre (which isn’t qualified to fix our problems).

Even with the dsg issue fixed, I’m seeing a lot of other comments on their engine failure, breaking Pistons, etc. What has been done to solve those items?

I’ll never buy a VW even if they offer a great price.. not unless they start making a whole difference and people stop complaining.

• 2011Touran1.4 on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:35 pm

My Touran 1.4 TSI went to the repair queue 3 months ago and not out yet. Still Repairing.
    Courtesy Car only arranged after 2 months on Queue.

Potential Customer who need to get a VW, please beaware of the period of repair of waiting.

Make sure you have your “own” courtesy car to use while your VW being repair.

Till Today, there is no guaranteed of When my touran will be out, What is the cause of problem, Why is the repair so long, and How can we prevent it.

We are still waiting VW Malaysia to return our car.

• James bond 007 on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:08 pm

3 months?? to which SC did you send your car for repair? Lucky VG had provide you with a coutesy car, you still have transport to drive around. mind to share what happen to your Touran? any update from the SC? but maybe they are arranging for the german engineers to check your car..because I read in one of the article that VW sent their engineers from german to malaysia..

• fuyenhou on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:00 pm

yeah.. it will be helpful if you delivery us some details.. s

• Radical on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:12 pm

They have in a way solved most of the DSG issues, but you can’t expect them to magically makes the changes to all the cars! it was a bold claim, people tend to do that under pressure.

• icecoolman on Jan 18, 2015 at 11:20 pm

To “Face the Fact” on Oct 22, 2014 posting.

I used to drive a Toyota Camry 2.4 and I also had to change break pads I think twice over 6 years and also not cheap though I can’t remember exact price. Also the suspension is quite soft and if you hit a big pot hole, it will spoil your suspension. My suspension was spoiled in less than two years.

On the 5th year, you can start to feel the car is having issue and changing some of the parts also cost me a bundle like air cond major service at 60,000km cost me I think RM1,300-RM1,500.

So finally decided on a VW Passat and so far I have had a good ride and it has good handling but pray hard I will not experience all this comments made here.

• Mr planters on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:15 am

Hi there…would u mind to share it experience with it Passat…is there any major or minor issue with ur car…it will surely helps me to make decision…tq

• Calvin on Nov 07, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Hi im owner of passat manufacturer date 2012 and sportsline fully CBU. After 2 1/2 years there’s issue with exhaust sensor which caused misfiring and it will cost you 1.2k cos warranty period past 6 months. Had been lodging complaint after complaint (ownself and sc customer service team) manage to get free parts but still have to pay for labor around 3++. And now after almost 4 years im having mechatronics issue. Fun to drive but aint reliable

• My car is in SC for more than a month with piston problem But the worse is that no one ( whether customer service) or SC can tell you when the car can be ready. The “fun” part that made me real angry was that customers service called me to find out whether the car is ready instead of finding out from SC/internally and gave me an update. The procedures in this company is designed by some real weirdo

Oh yes ( gear 2 times changed; car doors lock – all 4 changed). Big mistake buying VW.

• white rose on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:15 am

just test drive golf tsi 1.4 and beetle 1.2 tsi sport today. reading all of the above comments make me freaking scared & think twice now to get one of these VW model.

• drive Volkswagen CC 1.8 manufacturing year 2012,current mileage is 38,000km , so far no service comments by technician or replace the DSG ? Is it necessory to replace new DSG or software up date .
    thanks.

• drive Volkswagen CC 1.8 manufacturing year 2012,current mileage is 38,000km , so far no service comments by technician or replace the DSG ? Is it necessory to replace new DSG or software up date .
    thanks.

• You should check from SC! No letter or call notice to you on Mar 01, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Mine 2013 passat, never receive any notification! I found out my DSG need to change oil from SC!
    Even oil changed, still useless . DSG failure after oil changed around 17k km. Obviously, DSG issue will not solved by mineral oil!

• Pacman on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:21 am

Golf TSI 3rd clutch replaced last week (car has done 75k). Now mechatronics gone. No updates or news on engine/piston update from dealer. Should I push for info as I only have one year warranty left?

• prakash on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:43 am

hi guys
    i think want buy
    passat 1.8 year 2011/2012
    jetta 1.4 year 2012/2013
    any one pls tell more details about it

• Azizul Aedrus on May 16, 2015 at 3:04 pm

My Jetta engine also need to be replaced. Estimated time to get my car back is 4 months. no car for raya.. huhuhu..

• The problem wit VW is worldwide.
    The recall of their brands are worldwide.
    Even this “controversial” sudden decelaration which cause fatal accident in Au http://youtu.be/FXEVuXLwMcs

• warwar on Jun 02, 2015 at 3:25 pm

cancle my planing to buy VM this year.. lost my respect to german car

• JACKY KS CHAN on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:05 pm

i plan to buy VW jetta 1.4 TSI . reading all of the above comments make me freaking scared.What happen to the VW.

• VW team on Aug 21, 2015 at 3:35 am

Hi Jacky, don’t scared every car got problem. It depend on how u drive you lovely Jetta Car..

• mat anip on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:57 am

What happen x pyah beli la kena sekali menyesal….mmg ada waranty tpi prob not resolve ok…dah hbes waranty 5 years nk jual trkejut la tgok harga second value

• Alfred on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Is it possible to install back the old software into the ECU instead using 37G7 software. It was lousy!

• Golf indo user on Jul 06, 2015 at 1:24 am

Hi all,
    Here in indonesia,we hv similar problem with vw dsg issue & engine failured, mostly for 7speed dry clutch, the problems still appears even after replaced the clutch+mecha,others fact, A friends of mine that jst bought a brand new mk7 1.4tsi & audi Q5 not even closed a week, already failed/problems w dsg mecha.
    Imagine that – a brand new VAG car only in a few days bought already got a problem. Totally dissapointed.
    Reliability of this car is sucks n below average guaranted

• Nathan on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Dear Sifu,

I’m looking for you opinion about Passat 2014 model which now in RAYA PROMOTION with 0% interest.
    I have done test drive and feel good…but I need some advise from sifu those who having Passat 2014 model…

• mat anip on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:49 am

Pikiaq hbes2 dulu bro…dsg mmg kcau…
      mcm aku kereta bru 2 tahun dah mcm2 tukar…

• Hi Anyone cares to share?
    I am experiencing new problem with my 2 years young CC (besides the DSG issue):
    Today, I have two occasions when driving slow, there was a sound created underneath the car, like when you hit into a box and drag it along. And then I observe, the ESC yellow sign lit up. Feel that the car is a bit pulling back.
    Gosh, I dare not drive further as today is Sunday.

• khairul danial on Aug 23, 2015 at 11:29 pm

resolved? just had my cc gearbox + fuel pump + mechatronics replaced. Luckily under warranty. Can’t believe a 2 years old vw car require these transplant

• had my 1.4 scirocco 2012 replaced mechatronics & clutch for almost 2 years . Still worry due to i always travel outstation, i love this car especially handling part & modification on R front caliper was excellent. For 3 years i still enjoy to drive this car especially on highways .

• Ronlim on Aug 31, 2015 at 11:04 pm

My wife’s 2010 1.4 Golf TSI has its mechatronic replaced in 2013. Recently it broke down again because of the same issue! Warranty is expiring end of this year.
    Armin Keller has the balls to made such bold statement-that “all DSG-related issues have been resolved” but I can tell you that it is all BS!!

• mat anip on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:41 am

dalam seumur idup aku x prnah jmpa lg keta problem gearbox kaw2 mcm nie…menyesal pon ada beli passat…x da solution,,,prgi sc tukar clutch still prob sama…jerking & semput2 bila tukar sport mode…lembu pnya dsg…dalam setahun aku rasa berbelas kali ulang alik sc…bek aku pkai kncil je…yg depa taw ckap model passat 1.8 tsi mmg ada prob gearbox pergh…tapi speeding not bad la…heheheh…jgan mrah ehh brother2 vw…tension dah nie dalam dilema nk jual ke tak???

• Passat problems record on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:31 am

200km – rattle dash (Sponge tape fix)
    1500km – wind noise (Door rubber seal changed)
    15000km – humming noise from fuel pump
    Above problems still persist. Lazy to argue with poor SC service,

25000km – Mineral oil replaced
    30000km – Xenon bulb explode.
    40000km – Mechatronics down. Gearbox replaced.
    65000km – Rear absorber noise, replaced
    75000km – Monitoring.

I can accept the DSG issues, its high end products.
    Takes time to refine. but for others issue, it’s not acceptable.

VGM,
    1) pls improve your production, CKD Quality.
    2) pls improve your service center quality
    3) soonest reply and response to your customer by VGM carelibe.

VW/VGM. Your R&D build a good car.
    but, your QA still far away yet.
    Your after sell service is terrible.

Improve above, you will be No.1 again!
    Das Auto, Das Service, Das Quality!

• plan to buy mk6 on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:47 pm

i plan to buy VW golf TSI mk6 2nd 2012/2013 is it worth it? any advise??

• plan to buy mk6 on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:51 pm

i plan to buy golf tsi mk6 is it worth it?? any advise?

• biscotto on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:31 am

better not.. i have had enough headaches for 5 years with my 2011-12 golf tsi..

• biscotto on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:25 am

in 2011 i bought a golf mk6 1.4 tsi.. vibration.. jerking.. power cut off when i was cruising the highway.. all sort of issues.. visiting the service centre more than i go anywhere else.. today 2016.. problems still haunting me.. sigh speechless.. how do i dare to purchase another volkswagen.. how many 5 years i have..

• I plan to buy 2014 Jetta, any advise? could someone share some analysis on this model realiability.

• wilson on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:24 pm

seem like better buy jdm

problem is they act too slow…………
    and bad after sales service in malaysia

• Passion on Mar 17, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I would like to know is there any issues with Polo 1.2? Am driving Polo 1.2, warranty going to ends in 11th May 2016. I have just changed the gearbox microtronics. Thinking to sell it off or use for another year see if any problems occur. Please advise. TQ

• leoarmada on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Hi guys, I’m planning to buy a 2014 new passat. Is it good?

• vikay on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:11 pm

hai guy i test drive vw passat. really good pick up and interior quality good. price rebate superb now for 2015 stock clearance. good price vws are offering now. i need opinions 2015 passat got any issues please?

• Now I know the whole truth, 2014 n 2015 got problem.

• Roger on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:33 am

How did you come to this conclusion? I am also considering 2015 Passat due to the discount. Anyone have 2014 or 2015 model can give your 2 cents on owning one unit?

• tailow on Apr 08, 2016 at 6:02 pm

I m interested to buy a 2015 VW polo, only 69999, any problem for this model, pls advise.

• wendy on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Hi, this is to all future and potential VW customers.

I seriously doubt if VW has resolved their after sales service issue as of April 2016. My VW Polo 1.2 TSI is very lightly driven and never misses a service at the recommended intervals. The first service in 2013 was okay, not much complains there, but when I got back my car, the gear change flow started to sound and feel like like it had a new found jerking motion. The second service in 2014 had the SA returning me a service booklet that belongs to another car; TWICE. The third service is in 2015 and that was the time VW Glenmarie has told me they were too busy to take in more cars for service so come back at a later date even if your service indicator lamp is saying it is time for service; if they cannot handle the number cars, why are they pushing for more sales?

Today, I’ve been without a car for a month now because my car is still in VW Glenmarie waiting for them to decide if they can process a warranty claim on 2 car parts apparently faulty after I sent my car for a check on the central locking system. Apparently, there is some mess up in the system and my car registration date has some discrepancies so they cannot proceed to fix my car?! I personally handed VW SA a copy of my car registration card, but a week later, still no news. No news as in NOTHING. No one will tell you what is going on. You literally have to beg them to tell you why you cannot have your car back.

VW do not hear your complains. They do not call you back even if they promise they would. It is really hard to get through to someone to get the status of your car. Social media? Just read the comments on their FB site. The simplest way the bad comments would go away is if the author of those comments decides to delete them. But even after VW launches the “Volkswagen Cares Program”, nothing has changed on my side. Still no car, no update. Perfect.

If you are a brave one, get a VW.

• Indo_Owner on Sep 08, 2016 at 6:07 am

Golf 1.4 tsi 2010 CAVD.

I have had the car since end of 2010 and never had major issues except for transmission.

Yes DSG sucks, had mecha replaced under warranty around 16k, then at 60k clutch pack has to be replaced (cost like USD 1.700 inc labor).
    Sounds bad? NO.. considering the car has been stage 2 tuned using revo with only 3 accompanying hardware: full turbo back exhaust with sports cat, colder spark plug and audi s3 intercooler pumping out 225hp @6.000-6.500rpm / 280nm @4.000rpm.

25% of the car’s lifetime is being spent on high speed exercise like you guys at KL often do enroute genting.

No cracked piston, epc, etc .. just weak dsg.

Yes, there are some minor issues. At around 50-60k KM, I got hit with

1) failed fuel sender ~no biggie, fuel gauge shows 0
    2) failed rear wheel speed sensor ~annoying abs light
    3) failed rear latch release ~cant open rear trunk
    4) failed supercharger engage mechanism~ get to
    experience vw other product for free (1.4 single
    turbo)

Well thats it!

Either you guys have sh1t luck or I am simply the jackpot lucky bastard

• michael moi on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:58 pm

hi all,

i am contemplating buying a used New Beetle for my daughter ( a new driver ). Having heard all the horror stories about the gearbox, dry-clutch issues, which year of manufacture would mark a threshold year before the introduction of this troublesome “innovation” ? I have even gone back as far as a (30-40) yr old original air-cooled, manual, Beetle, which is cheaper, more robust; but then. admittedly, this type of vehicle requires more effort to drive. I appreciate these differences since I presently own a ’97 Defender,’06 Discovery II, and ’16 Subaru XV. All vastly different driving experiences. Your guidance please ! Thank you. Michael (potential used beetle owner)

• TokGuru on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Don’t go near vw. All the above comments are self explanatory

• Lionel on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Why pull out such an old article?

• Morgan on Jan 04, 2018 at 2:06 am

I bought Jetta year 2012 on in January 2013. I’m pissed of with Goh Motor services. Sucks! May car towards the end of 5 years Warranty this month. You know what, my service advisor don’t want to entertain my complains!!! They have changed the clutch several times, then followed by mechatronics. I still facing jaddering issues & car not move immediately from N to D or N to R. Shit…Will not advise anyone to buy VW anymore. Service after sales worse!

• musabri on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Good

• For my passat b7 the mechatronic was replaced twice and the problem is still going on. He should tell that to me in the face, not in front of the press in full glamor…

• Yusni on May 02, 2019 at 1:14 am

name me the suitable or correct engine oil and gear oil to be use for passat 1.8 TSI 2012 model especially hot weather like malaysia.Tq

• comel on Jul 15, 2019 at 8:23 am

Have the problems really solved? It’s been quiet here.

• Yes, I also want to know whether the Dry Clutch DSG problems has been resolved. Any Golf TSI 2013/14/15 owners here?