Cash for Clunkers scrappage scheme for automakers “may increase TIV figures to 750,000 for 2015” – MAI

kedai-potong

At its 2014/15 review and insight on the local automotive landscape, it was revealed that the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) is set to introduce a Cash for Clunkers scrappage programme. The consumer incentive scheme, pending approval from the government and several manufacturers, “may increase TIV figures to 750,000 units,” said MAI CEO, Mohamad Madani Sahari.

Viability factors are now being evaluated as the necessary recycling infrastructure need to be present and up to standards before operation can begin. The scheme aims to present itself as a form of scrappage programme for most, if not all, manufacturers based in Malaysia.

In 2007, Proton introduced its own scrappage scheme with the Proton Xchange Programme before pulling the plug at the end of 2009. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has also lobbied for such a programme to be implemented with annual sales of cars increasing, leading to more severe traffic congestions.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• PocketIn on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:28 pm

This only will work if cars is cheap in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:39 pm

true…plus cheaper interest rate. go for volume. so ppl dont have to bear with 7-9yrs old car or maybe more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Savy Velu (SV) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Very good plan by MAI for those with shipyards of unsold old stocks to be clear off (eg. Proton).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Old Car Owner on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Exactly. Our Malaysian cars are so expensive to own and make them so precious even aged..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

great initiative by the government!! syabas!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Low Budget on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:08 pm

It is a good idea but should be based on voluntary basis by the old car owners rather than force scrapping of cars beyond certain age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Low Budget on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:11 pm

There is a need to set up ‘car scrap junk yard’to collect abandoned old cars as many foreign students bought old cars during their study here, but just abandon their car by the road side upon graduation and returning to their home country.

• Kelvin on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:53 pm

I’d rather have a law to have mandatory biennial inspections for cars above 3 years old. This will ensure only roadworthy vehicles are on the road.

Non-roadworthy vehicles must be repaired. If owner decides that it is not financially feasible anymore to have it repaired, then owner can opt to scrap.

The biggest obstacle I see is the rampant corruption and quasi monopoly at Puspakom. There should be another independent body for certification like TÜV and DEKRA in Germany. Also have at least 2 bodies allowed for inspection to avoid monopolies and better manage capacity.

A first step could be to have large service centres conduct mandatory inspection on their brand vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • i am definitely not going to let you scrap my precious car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

This will be a blessing for KIA and Ssangyong owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • jacksonljs on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:15 pm

2004 – 2013 Altis 1.8G – Got VSC (be it buying second hand or first owner that using it until now)
    Brand new 2015 Altis 1.8G – NO VSC

2006 Camry 2.4V (with VSC) vs 2012 Camry 2.5V (without VSC)

If you ask me, 2015 Altis 1.8G without VSC and 2012 Camry 2.5V are much more worth to be scrapped off rather than old Altis 1.8G and Camry 2.4V with VSC as those cars (especially automatics) without VSC or stability control is damn dangerous to drive on the road, even with slow and steady apek style. Of course, car owners shouldn’t overlook their car maintenance schedule in order to remain roadworthy.

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:42 pm

i hope they will be kind enough to ppl living in the rural areas. look at kelantan as an example. they do not have the capabilities of buying a 40K car, let alone an 80k.

to engage scrap car policies, limit only in the cities please. those driving 30 years old accord or sunny can always opt for 10 years old waja, which sells at abt 15k now. KL, JB, Penang and Ipoh.

if still reluctant to buy a car, use public transport (local authorities pls improve this area)

• tiger on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:59 pm

old Mercs or BMW still loaded wit tons of safety features wit solid build quality, MUCH SAFER than any NEW P1 model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • jaggy on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:39 am

Old bmw?
      Not by much, it’s not far. Both got above 30 out 37

• Sparcov on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:11 am

When car is second biggest “investment” after property, you wanted to take it away as a scrap after few years of usage?

No doubt a 10 years old car may still be in running conditions and road worthy, but do i need to folk out another sum of money and bank loan for a new car when the current car serve me well?

As a typical malaysian, we like to compare.
    Without calculating the maintenance cost, a typical new car in UK will only cost you between 15k-20k pound. After few years of usage, the car might end up valued at 3-5k pound.

My lost is approximately 12k pound after let say 5 years of usage.

In Malaysia, A typical car vios, city, preve, almera and so on B-segment car will take you from RM 62k-90k.

After 5 years of usage, a typical preve will set u back at around 30-35k based on years 2012 preve *(RM42k selling)- 3 years car. If only you are lucky.

My lost will be around RM32k after 5 years.
    Meaning, when i sell my car, I will lost all my downpayment and some even need to topup the remaining bank loan before we can get a new car.

We dont mind to have a expensive car provide we can afford it. by average, this is the problem we are facing

• The best sample to show off this program is by start scraping Suprima S

• nabei on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:07 am

wanna earn more take your car and smash it against a lorry head on. claim total lost

• BMX XXX on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:26 pm

EVERYTIME!!! this madani fella really something lah… I wonder if those ppl who are affected in the flood will say about his grand idea.