Proton signs MoU with PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari for development, manufacture of Indonesia’s national car

proton-pt-adiperkasa-citra-lestari-1

Proton has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari to develop and manufacture an Indonesian national car.

The MoU was signed by Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, witnessed by Malaysian ambassador to Indonesia Datuk Seri Zahrain Mohamed Hashim, with PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari CEO Abdullah Mahmud Hendropriyono signing on behalf of the Indonesian partner, witnessed by Indonesian ambassador to Malaysia Herman Prayitno.

The MoU aims to further business opportunities between the two companies where development and manufacture of the proposed vehicle project are concerned. A feasibility study will be conducted, including the potential development and manufacturing of the project in Indonesia.

The collaboration potential will see both companies conduct feasibility studies to explore specific areas of cooperation, including commercial and technical aspects. The parties will also plan localisation, purchasing, engineering and design activities, logistic services, market studies and other relevant processes.

proton-pt-adiperkasa-citra-lestari-2
Tun Dr Mahathir taking Indonesian PM Joko Widodo for a spin in the yet-to-be-launched Proton Iriz EV – this is the first time we’ve seen it on Malaysian soil

The MoU is merely an expression of current intentions and is not binding on both parties. Subject to the completion of a successful feasibility study, Proton and PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari will sign a definitive joint-venture agreement for the proposed project.

“The collaboration will be good as both nations specifically work together to develop products for the larger market. Proton, which has the facilities, capabilities and technology know-how in design, development and manufacturing of cars, is the only company in ASEAN with an in-house R&D facility,” said Harith.

“No other countries in this region have their own national car project other than providing manufacturing and assembly services,” he added.

Present at the signing is Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Indonesian president Joko Widodo, who is in town for a three-day official visit.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• pak jokowi on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Can we oso swap Jokowi with Najib?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 340 Thumb down 43
    • nabill (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Haha.. Good one! U will surely get alot of likes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 22
      • ProtonGSC on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:45 pm

And hoping Indonesia won’t became like bolehland, crazy heavy taxes and stupid AP system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 25
        • Kuwoo on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:28 am

their tax also heavy larr.. their GST tax at the rate 10% lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Protonist on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Tun M to President Jokowi, “Sila uji pandu Iriz EV, Encik Presiden”

President Jokowi said, “Tak apa, Tun. Saya sibuk.”

Tun M said, “Sila, Encik Presiden. Ini teknologi baru.”

President Jokowo bengang 2 sec and said, “hm… er… bolehkah Tun uji pandu sama saya?”

Tun M bengang also 10 sec and then said,”Ok?!!”

President Jokowi said, “Jom?!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Their tax on car is very high. Even higher compare to malaysia. They dont even allow their citizen to bring back car from overseas. My fren here in japan(indonesian) always says to me: ” bagus ya bapak bisa bawa pulang mobil ke malaysia. Kami nga bisa. Jika bisa, saya pun mau pak. Mobil di indonesia mahal bangat”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:58 pm

When Proton found out they can’t longer con Malaysians anymore, they turn to Indonesians.

Poor Indonesians…

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:09 pm

I wonder how many Malaysia menteri-menteri besar in the event actually own a Proton??

Look at the pic here, no one (from Malaysia) actually give a damn about Proton.

http://paultan.org/2015/02/06/proton-pt-adiperkasa-citra-lestari-mou-indonesia-national-car/pic-3-4/

• paulz on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:08 am

Indeed Likes continue to comes in…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Close Down Proton on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 201 Thumb down 276
      • DonkeyKong on Feb 06, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Long story but zero intelligence. Typical basher with no knowledge of facts and economics.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 143
        • Agree with the donkeykong on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:27 am

I agree. He make himself sounds smart but actually no intelligence. We have a lot of people like this as a political leaders of our country (PR and BN).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 24
      • Wow, u sure score A in english, write so long essay like that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 8
      • Don Juan De Marco on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Balik balik wasting tax payers money..wasting tax payers money. Itu jelah modal ko.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 20
      • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:50 pm

If you have such capabilities to write a long post, Im sure you have the capabilities to fill in migration forms to your countries of choice
        Why lived a sour and miserable life here while you can enjoy so much in your country of choice?

Sure Proton is sustained with taxpayers money which is not right
        If its not bleeding money and not profitable might as well close shop

But your car prices has got nothing to do with Proton
        Even if Proton closes down, our TIV is still 660k vs 16.4 million in the USA
        Theres no way we can hit that sort of figures
        If Proton closes down, theres one less competitor on the market which is of no benefit to us consumer too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 71
        • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Seriously, only morons believe that Proton has nothing to do with the car prices in our country.

Time and time again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
      • Alister on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:12 am

Ummm… The current Camry for the North American & Korean market is manufactured in Kentucky & Indiana.

The Camry currently sold in Japan, is similar to what you guys get in South East Asia.

You could only get a Japanese-built example up till the previous generation Camry (That also depends on the stock dealers get.).

Back on topic, I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s an eco car project, competing with the Toyota/ Daihatsu twins & the Karimun Wagon R. Here’s hoping that their national car project bears fruit this time around (The failed M3 Maleo project comes to mind.).

• ezralimm on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:12 am

RM20k in 1990 is at least RM70k today due to inflation (using conservative inflation numbers; it’s likely to be higher). Note the prev gen cars were mostly under 1 ton. It’s inappropriate to compare pre 1990s cars with todays cars.

Japan has a huge incentive to export to the US for one reason: the USD aka “The Petrodollar”. This does skew trade with the US, and Japan has always (well, since WW2) had a good reason to sell goods to the US.

Note advertised prices are almost never on-the-road prices (it’s not a legal requirement in the states, and has only recently been a requirement in OZ).

We do have tax havens in Malaysia. You can compare the prices of foreign cars in Langkawi for a reasonable idea of what prices would be without any additional tax. Note “additional”. Yes. Proton pays tax too. In Langkawi proton cars are still popular, believe it or not. Sure the other cars are cheaper, but so to are Protons. (not to mention maintenance costs etc).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • Regina on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:20 am

So you are not happy that thousands of Malaysians have jobs at Proton and as a result have been able to support their families?

You are not happy that thousands more have jobs at Proton supplier companies?

You are not happy that because of Proton, we have been able to reduce capital outflows from Malaysia?

You are not happy that Proton today has sufficient skills and talent that they can now build cars for other companies?

Smart la you, should make you Prime Minister. You can bankrupt the country overnight and sell everything to the highest bidder! Who knows, we may actually be able to get SG citizenship overnight like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 42
        • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:02 am

Actually the truth is, he cant earn enough to own those cars that he loves

Thus he has blame it on others and try to con others to think like him and live a sour miserable life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 16
        • zaizaizai on Feb 09, 2015 at 9:08 am

I’m one of those guys that worked as a vendor to P1. In fact it’s my first after jobless for almost 9 months.

The fault, if any, lies in the top management along with their political masters

• Pemikir on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:09 am

Ini contoh komen yang tiada visi dan misi. Orang sebegini tidak mampu menghasilkan rakyat yang kreatif dan inovatif. Tetapi hanya menghasilkan individu yang hanya tahu mengkritik dan hanya jadi pengguna sahaja.

Harap yang berikan komen ini bukan rakyat Malaysia yang berdaya maju.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 25
      • OMG..agreed, bcos of P1, we need to buy expensive foreign cars….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
      • Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • OMG…damn you… dun talk cock here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • US 2014 total vehicles sold 7.918 million units
        MAL 2014 total vehicles sold 0.666 million units
        To generate same profit must times 12, use US Camry $22000 x 12 = MAL Camry RM264000. You understand or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • symusty on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Right.

You know cars in the US are actually cheaper than even Europe in some cases? This applies to even European cars.

You didn’t even take into account the dealer mark ups. Sticker price is not indicative of final price here in North America.

• policeman on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:54 pm

30 years ago there weren’t 30 million people in Malaysia. Not even 20 years ago. Anyway not everyone is suffering. I believe people’s biggest monthly payment would be for their home, unless they’re getting a car they can’t afford, in which case they deserve to suffer for being foolish.

“Yay, close down Proton and foreign cars will then be cheaper. Yay….” The mind of a child.

If you choose to buy foreign cars, you pay the tax. Just like if you choose to consume only imported food/groceries, you’ll be paying much more.

You’re a PKR supporter right? You want free tolls, cheap fuel, and don’t want to repay your loans. Really gullible.

Anyway, here’s a joke for you. Once upon a time, there was a fool, his name was Fool. Fool wanted to buy a car that he could not afford. The car was taxed at 60% of its value. So Fool took a loan to purchase the car. In essence, Fool took a loan with interest, to pay taxes to the government he hates. Isn’t that funny?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
        • Low Budget on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:56 am

So every car buyer is a fool, because we take 5-9 year loan to pay tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • jiang on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:36 pm

“that he could not afford”

understand???

• RBA detected!

• Better Go Thailand on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:13 pm

PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari, better you go to Thailand. More established market. Here Proton is a failure actually. Why they are surviving is simple, Malaysia “forces” people to buy Protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 97
      • fmnglobal on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:18 am

Thailand is mere motoring-prostitute-land and hub where they invite foreigners to setup shop. Little local content and no own initiative to create own brand, much less own national car.

They keyword here is “national car” and Proton is the example in ASEAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
      • Low Budget on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:58 am

If the Gomen force all Malaysians to buy Proton only, then Proton won’t be in this ‘teruk’ situation right now.

• jemah on Feb 06, 2015 at 6:10 pm

better swap bunga cinta lestari with kak rosmah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 14
    • Poor Jokowi on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:08 pm

I respect Jokowi for his honesty & humble personality. Little will he realize for being taken advantage off and made a scrape goat by Proton.
      This will happen soon enough when Proton will demand 20 Billion Ringgits for R & D fees. By then rakyat Indonesia will blame him for making such a big mistake and his credibility will be in ruins. Least he could do is to learn from someone else mistake and not make the same blunder we did. However, I salute Proton for their success in finding another partner to share their coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 67
  • haiko on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:34 pm

I think its good as long they can innovate both proton and future indonesian own brand. Im sure we have to balance between national pride and tax money bailout. as long it doesnt waste tax payers money, why not?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Makan Suap Culture on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:08 pm

This deal sure will fail cause the Indon side don’t know our culture.

If contract is RM1 billion, that means RM300 million go to the project/contract, and RM700 million masuk pocket pocket UMNO.

Also, all parts supploers must be crony parts suppliers who supply low quality parts.

That is Proton’s biggest problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 53
    • Indonesia No Racism on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Indonesia all races equal. They each call themselves Indonesian. Chinese India Bugis Bajau Indon, Singh all SAME status

I wonder how they gonna work with Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 28
      • So then, can we close vernacular school as well. What say you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 18
        • Closing madrasah too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 46
        • Actman on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:55 am

No problem if you guys want to close up the vernacular school… But the biggest question is who will become the headmaster on every vernacular school? Don’t tell me ur race as always. If this become reality, can you make sure that every single race (teachers & Headmasters)can be promoted and treated as fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 35
          • Observer on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:12 pm

What nonsense are you trying to spread? Get out of your house, away from the keyboard and see the reality… there r many NON-Malay Pengetua at sekolah kebangsaan… SMKDMT at my hometown has a chinese pengetua…many sekolah in KL has no malay pengetua… duh….you still live in stoneage eh??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
        • Actman on Feb 07, 2015 at 3:56 am

No problem if you guys want to close up the vernacular school… But the biggest question is who will become the headmaster on every vernacular school? Don’t tell me ur race as always. If this become reality, can you make sure that every single race (teachers & Headmasters)can be promoted and treated as fairly? If nope please f off…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
          • if they r no more vernacular schools, y u need headmaster 4 vernacular school?

• IrizX on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:01 am

Sure, but first close all the Sekolah Agama first. What say you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • irizxbodo on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:43 pm

You mixed up between race and religion
            Go back to school and ask your teacher its difference

• bigboy on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:08 pm

sekolah agama is not for certain race. it is for islam students, not malay only. so, your argument is invalid. the main thing is, why the heck do you want to talk about this in an automotive site…lol

• Yeah, and vernacular school should change their name to Buddhist & Tamil school.

• Actman on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Lol… So do you think other races are interested joining your so called “Religion Of Peace” school? You can’t say every race would had one idiot…

• Lpost on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:17 pm

They are different that us because the vernacular system exist (such as school) in malaysia was a requested by chinaman during independence process. Furthermore, sukarno pro-communist.

Its a good move by proton but stupid politicians must not interfere with the proton internal strategic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • agree with you on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:53 pm

well yeah. off topic here a bit. I agree with you that they are one. and the main reason is that everyone there speaks bahasa indonesia. Doesn’t matter if they are chinese, jawa, bugis or etc, all of em speaks bahasa indonesia.

And that is the recipe for unification. Once a nation only speaks one language, then all barrier are practically broken. No one misunderstands one another, everyone understands what others are saying. That is why i agree wholeheartedly that all malaysian should speak a common language and that is bahasa Malaysia. I know for a fact that many non-malay cant speak proper bahasa, especialy if one studies in vernacular school. deny all you want, but that is a fact.

This might not be a popular opinion but the only way to let all races speak the same language is to only have 1 school system. No indian school, chinese school or whatnot, everyone should attend national school. Just tell me which other countries splits the students and have vernacular school in their education system?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 17
        • Hehehehe on Feb 07, 2015 at 6:43 am

ok tell that to Dong Zong. Lets see what is their answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • Actman on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Yea… Indonesia belongs to Indon… Fact 100% agree. Thailand belongs to Thai, that’s very true… But here at Malaysia belongs to all races… Negara ni kongsi punya bukan lu punya datuk yang datang dari Indon punya…u guys very only considered as 2nd class citizen comparing with orang asli…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • Low Budget on Feb 08, 2015 at 4:02 am

Tell that to our ‘national heroes’ from Perkasa and ISMA.

• minder on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Learn history, they didn’t come from Indon

• Actman on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Then where did they came from? Mind to share it with me? Don’t tell me that they were sun of soil of this country… Over my dead body they were… Unless they were orang asli… If nope all were pendatang too with no exception….

• language of real use on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:48 pm

See what language are you conversing here? There’ll only be unity if we all use english as the primary education language and compulsory taking of bahasa, chinese and tamil class, this way we don’t have to quarrel over who’s language to learn. Language of real economic uses is the most important, not by sentiment.

• M'sia memang apa pun boleh on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:51 am

Y worry lots of runaway m’sia polititician or govt worker wit lots of our money oledi thr sure all standby before sign partnership …….

• Bajau are philipinos,dude -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • come on on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Come on now…. Think it on a bright side… Dont judge this collaboration before it starts… At least they are doing something to improve… For high taste low money people…. Like us lah… Lg mau bising

• azrai on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:39 pm

What the gain will Malaysian get?

• theanswer on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:00 pm

rebadge proton? penetrate asean market? that’s what proton should do first..not straight to global car. should target asean market with better spec (beat innova..avanza market in indonesia). but of course..toyota/honda in indonesia is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Johan on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Cannot even sell their own cars to their own Malaysians without Protectionism, now want to make cars for Indon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
    • Money! A lot, if it works.

Let’s just assume that Proton gets 20% from each car sold, and given that it’s a government-related project, the Indonesian government will definitely encourage its people to buy it. If the car manages to capture 10% of the Indonesian market, Proton will be sleeping on piles of cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Malu Betul! on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:20 pm

So shy. Already fail big time in UK and Australia and everywhere else. Now want to do this.

Australia and UK and Jeremy Clarkson and Vicky Butler Henderson rated Proton cars as the most dangerous cars in the world. Even worse than Lada from Russia.

Now they want to ruin Indonesia’s good name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 56
      • 2ltrbottle on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Just came out of a cave is it Uncle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Here is daylight on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:07 am

Seriously? Which season of top gear did you watched? Baru keluar dari cave ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Peter on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Gain face … after loosing all the money. Proton is a typical funded non-profit organization.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • medic on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Should have thought of this years ago…. hopefully it will profitable and pray there are no similar cronies in Indonesia like here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • theanswer on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:02 pm

hahaha in indonesia..cronies is a common practice. but of course the competition is higher there.

• Gen2 (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:42 pm

I’m afriad that your prayers will never be answered. I hate to say this but croynism is even worse in Indonesia. Just get your popcorn ready and watch this automobile joke of the century fumbles in its stupidest fashion. Reason? I’ve written below.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Thinker on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Haaaa BASHER…wanna simply bash stupid Jokowi? Come on…at least PRoton is going somewhere..the new engine has VVT that can give 6.4 L/100KM to 7.0 litre/100KM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
    • Gen2 (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:30 pm

So? 30 years only able to produce a normal VVT only kah? … 7L/100km is nothing to boast about lah dei.

I remember there are 2 automakers, which not long ago (during the 90’s) used to produce cheap and low quality car, even worse than Proton. Their car are always laughed about, mocked and even humiliated by Jeremy Clarkson in TopGear.

Fast forward less than 20 years later, these 2 car makers not only conquering Asia and giving the Japanese a run for their money, they even took over THE WORLD by selling MILLIONS to Europe and America. You can see the K&H badge on the streets of New York, London, Sao Paulo, Johannesburg, Moscow, Beijing, New Delhi, Sydney…. Proton? Mana badge Proton ah?

So, tell me many how many cars did Proton sold last year to UK? USA? Australia? Indonesia? Thailand? Or Brunei perhaps? Haha

Going somewhere? Yeah right, only jaguh kampung will consider taking 30 years to produce a VVT an “achievement”. The Japanese and Koreans would have commit suicide in shame already!

Actually, we should be proud of Proton. It has surely achieve some great “milestone” and “going somewhere” along the way:

1) Highest power window fail rate in the world in the 2000’s

2) Selling good in UK in the 90’s, only to decline and close dealership eventually. In fact, all its export market is making losses and struggling to maintain dealership, only subsidise by Malaysian Proton buyers (who buy substandard cars with inferior spec) and tax payer’s money.

3) Steady decline in the domestic market, dropping to 17% in 2014, “gear towards” single digit in another 5 years time.

4) On steady track to become “minority” in its home grown market! The first in the world (applause please)!

Going “somewhere”? Of course! Going from worse to worst! 30 years of shameful, disgusted, declining, poor quality and low-tech achievement, That’s what you call “going somewhere”, by definition of jaguh kampung. Better go to hell lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 35
      • Hellhole on Feb 07, 2015 at 8:36 am

Simple, Have you been to Seoul? How many Japanese cars are there on the road? Less then 2%. They protect their car industry ensure that H&K can obtain the volume from their 35 million population.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:55 pm

H&K sponsored cars for world cup 2014 in Brazil, bro!

Your almighty Proton can’t even cross custom border to Thailand or SG.

Why? Build quality!!!

Kimchi cars are acceptable in quality (bad in RV). Proton just nothing more than junk!

See the difference???

• Karipap otak otak kering on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:18 am

Bash bash bash. At lest Proton is still around. Holden was subsidized by Austrian government even when it was bought by GM.

Malaysia and Indonesia can work together to create their success. Be positivelah. Why you hate yourself so much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • austin on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:00 am

Long enuf to fool people, you compare big company with puny p1? That insults logical thinking

• Gen2 (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Yes, P1 is puny compared to Kia and Hyundai. Maybe your are too young to understand some history. Back in the late 80’s early 90’s, Proton Saga was one of the best selling budget car in UK, beating even the Koreans! At one time, Proton was even hailed as the fastest growing carmaker in UK market!

At that time, Proton used to, let me reiterate, USED TO MAKE GREAT CARS. Hyundai and Kia are simple no match to Proton’s quality and reliability. My neighbour still drives a 25-year-old Saga Megavalve, still in perfect running condition. This is a testimony on how good the first generation Proton Saga is. In fact, when I was a kid, I always fancy and admire the special edition Saga Knight every time I saw one on the road.

My friend’s 15-year-old Satria GTI was stolen a few months back. Can you imagine there are still people wanting to steal a 16 year old car? Yes, it does happen because it’s a Satria GTI, which I can honestly say the best car Proton has ever made. If you have drove the GTI and the Satria NEO, you’ll know the NEO is nothing compare (even rubbish) to the much love GTI.

Make no mistake, Proton CAN make and indeed CAPABLE of making good cars. Instead, they CHOOSE not to, taking consumers, who are Malaysians largely for granted. Slowly, Proton had deprived itself of the decency that a great car maker should have. Instead, they choose to protect their cronies, make lousy quality cars and indulged themselves in utter disgusting pride and arrogance, maybe they think Malaysian will blindly support them even If they sell us cow dung!

Now they have realise how deep shit they’re in, but I don’t see the modus operandi change at all. They are the same old, same old, boasting to the world how they are “making a comeback” with the same marketing gimmick, yet still turning out substandard car to the consumers. Actually, I was so tempted to buy a Preve, but I decided not to after looking at the dashboard material and the paddle shiftter. Even my five-year-old nephew’s toy from China has better plastic material.

Now Malaysian shun them even further and sales drop every year, because consumers had grow sick and tired of their “comeback game” and “BMW of Asia” bullshit.

Fast forward 25 years later, Kia & Hyundai are now selling cars in millions, GLOBALLY. Proton? can’t even maintain its domestic market share, let alone export to foreign countries. It is such an irony to know that Kia and Hyundai were at one time, inferior to Proton!

This shows the Koreans are IMPROVING Leaps and Bounds, Proton is DECLINING and becoming from worse to worst. A normal person with sound rational mind will start to question: What went wrong?

Only jaguh kampung will feel pride in a declining, begging (for tax payer money), struggling P1, regardless how screw up it will be. In fact, P1 is indeed screwed.

Don’t get me wrong, I still salute the engineers and hard-working employees who worked hard to make cars day in day out. Sadly, Proton’s management and ownership is always dictated by political reasons which defeat business sense. That’s the real trouble of Proton, the grassroot Proton employees are simply helpless on this situation. Proton today is nothing but a cash cow to be milked, screwed up and turn over to another crony, just like MAS and IMDB.

I think many Proton haters are actually Proton owners at one time, including me. Actually, many Malaysians wanted Proton to be great, but we could only look back to history for some solace of national pride while seeing the Koreans truly becoming a global giant. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • ragret on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:17 am

I regret I only have 1 upvote to give you. You have summarized the issue so eloquently, though I fear your message will be lost among the rampant protong fanboyism here :)

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:41 pm

The latest Perodua Axia does better FC than that with VVT removed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Malaysian car enthusiasts’ favorite passtime = Hang out @ paultan and bash PROTON…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • At least? You are taking billions, losing billions. Causing miserable to the whole population and you feel that at least is enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • after 30 years learning from Mitsu.. now can teach Indonesian make car d?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Abu Sayur on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:09 pm

AHHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• Remember proton partnership with Saudi before? http://paultan.org/2010/12/11/kacst-presents-proton-persona-based-aseelah-car-at-riyadh-motor-show-2010/
    What about Islamic car? http://paultan.org/2007/11/13/proton-to-develop-islamic-cars/
    What happened to them? So where do you think this plan will go? =Always propose propose plan plan but nothing concrete in the end. All hype no substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • thinker on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:29 pm

its not you to judge they fail or not..u dont like proton Dont buy…simple as that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Till now still thing the people old you. You are taking tax payers money. Why cant the people question your failure? So full of yourself. This is why the people want to see you close shop. Whether you can built a good product is another story. The main reason people want to you fail is your arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
        • soso82 on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Talking as if you pay 10k every year in tax
          maybe not even RM1!!

• Super on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:57 pm

I’ve paid more than RM10k/annum for income tax. So I have the right not to be silent!

• berserk on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:28 pm

I guess that should be good news for Proton as they secure some future project and expand their expertise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Gen2 (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:28 pm

This is gotta be my amusing news of the day. I highly doubt this MOU will be a fruitful one. Owing to how business is done there (Jakarta) and likewise KL, croynism and politics is too embedded in the mind of business oligarchs of South East Asia.

It will be a miracle if any of the big players of Jakarta or KL is able to clear their mind and work towards something benificial. As we know, corruption always call the shots in Malaysia, even more so in Indonesia. So if Proton design is to rebadge there, who’s crony suppliers are we gonna use? Crony suppliers are the prime stake-holders Proton got to think about, how does that work if the other side also has another long list of “VIPs” which they need to “protect” and “kasi kontrak”?

This is an utter conflict of interest that will NEVER work. Remember this is South East Asia, not Europre, this is a place where law and agreement clauses are for window dressing only; human factors, corruption, and political interest always prevail. Thinking of a Volkswagen-Skoda like cooperation to be materialise in the two most corrupted nation of South East Asia? In your wildest, thousand-year-dream maybe.

On the other note, this MOU also signifies how desperate Proton is after its domestic market plummented to 17%, its export had reduce to a negligible figure and all its gimmick is not working. Proton is definitely heading to a slow demise, one could only imagine what will happen if those people had a sound rational mind to let Volkswagen took over back then. Instead, they choose crony, bini and money (from the tax payer).

This MOU is nothing but an utter joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
    • cronnny on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:20 am

The crony supplier for proton is Bosch, ZF, Denso, Punsch, Ngk, Borg Warner, Siemen, Continental, APM, Saint Gobain and many more. Toyota and honda also nissan and even perodua also have the same cronnies. Dont say malaysia is a failure. If malaysia a failure millions of indon wont come here. What are we have here in paultan is bunch of stupids acting smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • IrizX on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Don’t be too sure. Indon is rising very fast. Their economy already overtake ours. Very soon we will be sending maids to Indons…and the Indons will gets to torture them in revenge.

• Malaysia is not the top choice for Indonesians anymore. Many other countries offering much better pay and wages for their services.
        Go check the world ranking for GDP in 2014. Malaysia is nowhere near the top 20 but where do you think Indonesia stands?? Just google and see. Their economy has long overtaken ours and is bound to be the market leader in the ASEAN region soon. Their purchasing power parity GDP is top 9 in the world above UK, Korea, Saudi, Australia.
        Like IrizX said, one day we may be sending our own people as maids and labourers to Indo instead in the next decade or two.

• panjang on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:31 pm

No offence to anybody but those whom has lived in Indonesia will know the crony and bribery are a lot worst than what we have in our country.

Only recently it improved a bit but still behind us.If u think our nation is bad then double the ‘bad’ effect and thats how our neighbour is.

Anyway,its just an MOU.I wont be surprised to see it does not habe any follow through.On one hand is an improving small volume car manufacturer and on the other an assembler.

Just like marrying P1 and P2.

One easy way to suceed is to design and develop small cheap car or a small cheap sedan.

Then again,only MOU.If it does go through then it will be at least another 3-5 years wait in this kind of economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • i just wanna say.. all the best.

• isuzuki on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:34 pm

pitty them

• Gen2 (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Proton always likes to reiterate that its is the only, ONLY car manufacturer in South East Asia that can design, develop and manufacture car bla… bla… bla…

So what? Domestic market of 17% with laughable export close to nil says all. That’s like a lazy, fat, and incompetent swimmer boasting to the world that he had won 7 gold medals bacuse he has been competing with the paralympians all these while.

Throw him in a proper, regular Olympic pool, he will be bucthered in no time. Still wanna teach other people how to swim? Teach yourself how to swim properly first lah!

Kereta bagus tak bisa bikin mau ajarin orang lain. Aduhai Proton ni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 21
    • anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Design, develop and manufacture a car nobody wants. Only people who buy it is because of its price tag. Bring other brands down to the same price tag and proton will sell zero cars. Good luck in marching forward, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • jezztt on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Zero? That’s childish. Count the number of saga on roads while there is tight fight with myvi and 2nd hand “imported” cars. The market is still there for p1

• ragret on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:27 am

Adui, this fanboi still living in the past, tokking about saga pulak.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Actually they were headed in the right direction, but as usual fails during execution

Take this with a grain of salt, Ive no way to verify it but some one who supplied raw mats to them and has some insider news told me the design and develop part was easy, they bought over a korean design/development firm, register and moved that company to Malaysia
      Tada! Designed and developed locally

• i dont own proton on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:47 pm

some never underestimate the power of history..
      our country may slow on economy right now due to many factors..
      but once we there…we will be there..this is actually not the 1st time Indon trying out her national car..pls remeber before this there were indon national car already but its a huge failure due to corruption & many more..
      even if they succeed…there will always a history that proton is behind it..
      go ahead & buy ur P2 expensive than u think..no R&D, only facelift, no ori blue print just copy & paste from japan, no need testing some more which is already cut many many many cost of it, but yet..still sell it like its really brand new fresh from oven & didnt give a Tuutttt to make it more cheaper it should..after all..it’s still a small car. only now add ABS lah apelah..all the money goes to Toyota only..still wanna talk about croyism lah apelah..

• nabei on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:36 pm

teach the indon how to make cars. later they become the biggest producer in Sea. Just look at what happen to palm oil. 30 years ago Porim went to Indon and taught them how to plant palm trees. npw they are the biggest prodicer

• kl fella on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:58 pm

and because of that most of the palm oil plantations there owned by malaysian enterprises..

• Wallllaaaaa…soooooo many many Board Director of PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari here in PT…

• Aero (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Don’t jump to conclusions yet.

Proton signed a MoU with Nissan in 2011 for the new Perdana. Nothing happened.

Proton signed a MoU with Hawtai for marketing their Prevé and Exora in Thailand. Nothing happened.

So far, the only MoU that bore fruit in the recent years was the Proton-Honda MoU for the new Perdana.

Time will tell whether this latest MoU will work out, or not. However, I have much more respect and faith in Mr. Jokowi than our own Jibby… I have a feeling that something good will come out of this.

In any case, good luck Proton, you have come so far in the last 30 years… don’t let us down now. Malaysia is counting on your success !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • come on on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Come on lah… Take it to the bright side… At least they are doing something to improve as 2 nations for people like us, high taste, airbag 8, harga 20k.. Mamposla…

• Albert on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:32 pm

MOU does not make any difference.The BENCHMARK of cars in JOKOWI LAND is Toyota.
    When I was in Bali lately,taxis there are plentiful,mainly VIOS.Protons? Dont dream and waste your time in Indonesia.If you sell 80 cars a month,like in Aussie Land, even a kacang putih seller makes more money than Proton’s coming to Indonesia.
    Jokowi is probably smiling cynically,in his heart thinking” Come and waste your US Dollars,as long as my Indons got employment”.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:23 pm

I sincerely hope Proton can make it big in Indon. So they can migrate most of their business & thousand engineers over. Just leave us alone will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • karipap basah on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Honestly, MOU is just a paper signing.
    All syoik syoik only.

Tak laku piece of signed paper. Please dont tipu tipu rakyat with this MOU.

• Karipap otak otak kering on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:14 am

Most MoA of big cimpanies started with MoU lah. You can take MoU as a draft for the Agreement. You may not need MoU to set up a karipap business. For big industries involving countries especially….is yes.

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Maybe indonesians think they can get a car free of pig fur!

• Ranger on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:08 pm

They will try to educate Indinesia to follow NAP so import car will tax heavily so their protong-Indonesia jv can sell better…

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

The irony.

There is a Malay proverb, translated it’s like a crab teaching it’s baby crab to walk straight when itself can’t walk straight.

Proton must be joking. Okay so the Iriz is impressive for what it is, and the Preve and Suprima is not bad. But that is it. The Saga is dated, the Exora should have ESC standard and the Persona is the embodiment of Proton’s success in not improving fit and finish even after 8 years of production.

I’d rather they have their act right before going and signing stuff. Look at how the Koreans got their own stuff right before allowing others to use them and do contract assembly. Read the Hyundai i10, Elantra and Santa Fe for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Hellhole on Feb 07, 2015 at 8:37 am

Simple, Have you been to Seoul? How many Japanese cars are there on the road? Less then 2%. They protect their car industry ensure that H&K can obtain the volume from their 35 million population.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • angah on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:33 pm

I dont care about u sign whatever MoU with anyone u like, what important is will car price drop. Dont change the subject.

We will continue to avoid buying any new cars. If we dont buy whatever u do is irrelevant….

When the buying stop, the killing can too,
    If we work together, we can win this.

• frossonice on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Proton haters are having a field day today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Jenglot on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Too bad for Indonesian, later their car price will be hiked to protect “National Car” too lol

• Miss Palmer on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Why is the name of the company so similar to Bunga Citra Lestari? Brb toilet

• transformer on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:02 am

Don’t need to worry much about this project because it will not succeed because these 2 example:

For years, MY gov has tried to solve indon maid issues but no avail even with the help from PAPA, MAMA, MEF and others Gov agencies. Gov approved 4.4K for new maid but agent asking for 8-12K.

For years, Proton has been struggling with the quality issues, R&D and expensive parts supplied by Cronies causing Proton to rot. For years MY Gov has been pumping Rakyat monies to feed Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Karipap otak otak kering on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:24 am

That is an accusation sir. Is it fair to say things without any proof?

I think you are Zionist from Israel trying to plant negativity in Malaysians mind <—this is another example of an accusation.

Dont simply accuse. Love progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • A positive people – do development of their own and acquired more technology from others. Not more as despatch and built their own.
      A negative people – sees eveything negative and avoiding to develop their selves. Sees coping is the way of life.

Seem like pasar malam here ….many foreign nationals, smell stinky by criticized just in the name of fun and fool everyone in the indusrty using massmedia as well as the divert prospect customer for the joy of other car company. The media bulling trend has been detected here by those who claming their expert in this issue.

• Hernan on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:21 am

Gosh. Sorry Indon… The AP bumi sickness has gotten you guys. Prepare to pay car price heavy than us overhere. Since its alrdy taxed heavily at Indon. I am sorry for you all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • hondaman on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Indonesia used to have a national car project in early 90’s under the Timor brand which is basically rebadge Kias (ala proton& mitsu JV) owned by Suharto’s son, Tommy Mandala Putra but it failed because of opposition from major japanese car manufacture over there eg. toyota. Hopefully history won’t repeat itself. Good luck proton

• CyberPatrol on Feb 07, 2015 at 7:29 am

Lot of bilateral issues between two countries has yet to resolve like maids abuses, illegals and cultural heritage disputes. That can break the MOU agreement later, but a good news back for Indonesia folks back home when head of country visited another country show some form of KPI and prospects. Let look out for follow-up news of this MOU then.. stay tuned

• krs189 on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:12 am

Yup. Jokowi must bet as strong as Mahathir to fend off the Yakuzas in the disguise of Japanese carmaker in Indo.

The Japanese still hated Mahathir till today. I know because I work with them.

• Positive on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:09 am

Good luck Proton. Never give up is the key to success!

• Creative on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:40 am

Wrong. When fail, ask more money from MITI is the key to success!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • old dog on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:30 am

the biggest problem with protong is …its our rakyat’s problem..never be Dr or Ah Mok’s problem.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:55 pm

The Indonesian national car project may actually work in Indonesia.

They have a much larger population, AND, if they concentrate in making affordable cars for the people, instead of Proton wanting to be the BMW of Asia, and failing miserably, they might just succeed.

Proton would have also succeeded had it not been leeched dry by cronies and had been run like a proper car company.

The danger is that there it will be tempting for them to “protect” home grown industry, in which case, they can kiss thier own growing auto industry bye bye.

Malaysia has given them a very good case study on what NOT TO DO.

• Alson P on Feb 07, 2015 at 5:32 pm

For the first 10 years PT Adiperkasa will rebadge few model from proton…. After 20 year PT Adiperkasa will have their own R&D facility, and don’t need proton anymore…

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:06 pm

The most pariah brand in the world.shame 2u all always give stupid comments unfortunately ur plan is rest& dead or r&d

• IrizX on Feb 08, 2015 at 7:39 am

I wish Proton success in Indonesia…Hopefully they will make it big there, and never need to come back and leave us alone in Malaysia….and never come back!!!!

• Meanwhile p2 and T are busy selling moving coffins like hot cakes!

• not bujang-lapok anymore on Feb 08, 2015 at 12:36 pm

once again Indon is Malaysian savior
    Latest 60s – they sent hundred teachers for our school
    70s – they sent thousand of malay ethnics (from sumatera, java, borneo, sulawesi) to balance our population and winning UMNO. Have you asked your grand parents? are their roots Indonesian ethnics? Javanese? Sundanese? Padang? Bugis? Dayak? Maduranese?
    90s – Now – Maids! what our family can do without them?
    80s – Amy Search said: Reduce it! – Massive Indonesian music. We import Wali, Peterpan, Sheila on 7, Chakra Khan, and tons other. We only export Sheila Majid & Siti Nurhaliza. Listening radio in KL during 90s-00s fells just in Jakarta or Bandung :D
    90s – Now – Cheap Labor!
    90s – Now – Skillfull engineers, technician, scientist, lectures. Just named it. You will be surprised: check how many Indons in Petronas, Proton, well-known universities, hi-tech industries. Just imagine how vital it is
    And just now, 2015 – Proton just postponed her death and get another sunrise & hopes. Asean car project. Proton will ne soon open their biggest plant in Indonesia (or relocate one from bolehland). I hope Proton workers & family here in Malaysia get ready for relocation option to Indonesia :D. Like it or not, its for Malaysia, our beloved country :D. Just hope that the new plant located somewhere in North Sumatera or Aceh or in Borneo. It will be easier for you for pulang kampong before Raya :D.
    Go Malaysia
    Go Indonesia
    Go Proton & her new sister soon :D
    Go Asean Community

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • C.P.MOHAN on Feb 08, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Proton is here to stay irrespective of bashing. The move by Proton to sign an MOU should be lauded, I believe Proton wants to increase its production volume ultimately I hope it will benefit the consumers in pricing, technology and design.

• Congooo on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:31 pm

goes global rupa nyee… still ok .. indon pun jadi lah.

• steven on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:16 am

New DangDut_CamPro VVVT engine coming soon. more vibration. more syok…lagi Best…

• No arguements, Proton bashes all other brands as my 2 years EXORA got ABS failure 3 times, all 3 times are still under warranty and got them replaced FOC.

AND i wish to grand world championship to Proton as my exora prompts the ABS failure again yesterday, this is 4rd times within 2 years!

Proton BOLEH! Yeah, i am looking to sell my Exora and leave PROTON to people who appreciate it so much.

• mugiwara on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:09 am

Can you tell me how ABS failure looks like ? because i never had an experience of failure ABS.

• common sensor on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:15 am

Good luck to Proton. I don’t see the way for this MoU to become reality anyway ..

• Orang-orang bodoh yang rasa diri dia dah pandai sangat tolong diam ….Proton nak joint venture ke ..jual mahal ke..itu hak mereka…korang tolong diam..sebab korang niee bangang..macam bagus tetapi bangang

• In fact, Adiperkasa is not recognized as outomotive company in Indonesia. How come Proton deal with this such company?
    FYI, the CEO of Adiperkasa is the main supporter of Jokowi in President Election last year. It’s like recompensation from Jokowi to Hendropriyono as a loyal supporter.

• carguy2000 on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:25 pm

BIG national Malaysian pride company sign a deal with Bogus indonesian company ?! http://bisniskeuangan.kompas.com/read/2015/02/12/115022026/Kantor.PT.Adiperkasa.Citra.Lestari.Hanya.Ruko

• fvvk proton on Feb 23, 2015 at 6:59 am

if proton cars is good ! why at thailand,china,macau,hong kong can’t see it proton cars ? malaysia government also no brains at all <<<< not like china car maker going to overseas! why??

• AnonMsianStudent on Apr 22, 2015 at 9:49 pm

What is Proton doing with a company that is a mystery itself to Indonesians? PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari has never been heard about among Indonesians and is LOOSELY associated with the automotive manufacturer Gakindo.