Proton to sign ASEAN car MoU with Indonesia today?

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

Proton is set to sign an Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with an Indonesian partner later today to produce an ASEAN car, according to reports from Bernama and Utusan Melayu.

Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak reportedly said that the archipelago is interested in making the national carmaker as a partner in the project.

“Through this MoU, Proton could expand its business in Indonesia to build ASEAN cars,” the premier told reporters during a press conference with Indonesian president Joko Widodo at Perdana Putra today. “Widodo also has a number of views regarding this and has expressed interest to make this project a reality.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• caparang on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:49 pm

to produce asean car… wa kakakakkaka…………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • limdynasty (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Kudos to Proton! Do it fast to boost the sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • Close Down Proton on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 27
        • Kuwoo on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:21 am

wah.. I think you should be our prime minister lorr.. banyak pandai ini orang… mesti u ada multi billion company..

• Malu Betul! on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:21 pm

So shy. Already fail big time in UK and Australia and everywhere else. Now want to do this.

Australia and UK and Jeremy Clarkson and Vicky Butler Henderson rated Proton cars as the most dangerous cars in the world. Even worse than Lada from Russia.

Now they want to ruin Indonesia’s good name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • dreamer on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Proton selling 100k cars tapi berlagak kaya macam VW GM Toyota jual 10 juta kereta setahun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
  • Indo plan to b asean no 1 car producer. Proton will b their stepping stone only.

Kena used also so happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • limdynasty (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Proton boleh! Don’t let these kiasu demotivate you. Kiasu are so ungrateful make proud of neighbour Kiasuland. See what happen to Kiasuland now even Indian can not drum during Thaipusam! Bolehland still the best! I love Malaysia and Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:51 pm

For Asean car project using Iriz platform which truly Asean car not J or K. Kick start for Proton to explore Asean market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
    • dreamer on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Sudah mau bankrap, lagi mau mimpi bikin projek kereta Asean. Duit kutip dari kebun pisang kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
  • ProtonGSC on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Indonesian hope that your country won’t be like bolehland… crazy taxes and stupid AP system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • fg200 on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Sell it to developing countries then developed countries, not the other way round

Branding needs time, trust, partners and money

• Buck Rogers on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Already given them 30 years, you want to give them another 500 years to be successful, by then we will in space capsule, not in gasoline powered cars in Euro 2 grade fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • messiL on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Japs took more than those period and their people are supportive

• Perodua supporter on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:58 pm

“Proton to Close Down Today”

this is the story title we are waiting for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 34
  • die hard Fan on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Bravo PROTON..Bra..vo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Why proton???

I want Perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • limdynasty (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Nice. Please do make it become reality! It will surely boost the sales. Kudos to Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
  • Good move. Both country can be boost in terms of technology, expertise, platform sharing, new variant for both country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • between on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Numerous MoUs signed in past years………

• advsn on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Now where is Timor? The Indonesian national car company?

• JOKE OF THE DAY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
  • Mozilla Chrome on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Why Indonesia? Proton is miles away in terms of tech and experience in automotive. I don’t see we can benefit any tech or expertise from them. Even their Daihatsu line ups are using Perodua’s designs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • protonpenipu on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:28 pm

ini semua sandiwara lah… ni another stupid punya program.. already scrapped… but suddenly sign MoU… what MoU? Lol.. another conned project….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • azrai on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Proton already using exhaust from Indonesia and not forgetting their GT Radial tyre (Gajah Tunggal).

• azrai on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:45 pm

They used to have Suharto’s son car project, TIMOR.

• spongewai on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:47 pm

hmm

ok, no comment

• Your super dupa Lotus also cannot save you. What makes you think Indonesia can do to save your butt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Asean Car? Proton have already made one known as Proton Waja,3 series of Asean years back…..

• abdullah on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Flogging a dead horse.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:24 pm

I can see why they are doing this. Trying to open up markets for its cars without dismantling the Duty and Tax structure. (asking Indo or Thai to cut thier duties and taxes will be reciprocated towards us)

Belakang mali.

I don’t think the Indonesians are that stupid. They already have a larger automotive industry (by production volume) than Malaysia. They would just like Proton to open up a factory for them so they can hire Indonesians to work in thier own country.

While malaysian industry is hiring indonesians to work for them, Indonesians are creating jobs for thier own people.

• Hooray…Proton left Malaysia

• Buck Rogers on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Not binding MoU, sign for fun only.

• Albert on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Sign only,ma. Even a chimp,if properly trained,can represent Boleh Land tai kor,in signing.
      Overseas,from Kangaroo Land,Turkey,to UK..Proton has failed miserably.
      Kao tim your awesome build quality FIRST and replace your HORRIBLE CVT gear box first…before you go international.Makes,sense…all the hardcore Protong fanboys out there ,still dreaming?
      Protong is always creating news for the wrong reason.

• Malaysians on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:14 pm

It’s very amazing to see all the comments here… no wonder Proton can’t be as good as other big car company in this world… because malaysian people like to ‘kondem’ their own people.

• Trully Malaysian on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:19 am

They’re Malaysian??
      I wonder

• Albert on Feb 07, 2015 at 8:30 am

Mr.MALAYSIANS, I think you have one thing lacking…balls.Proton has been sucking tax dollars from you for the past 20 over years and u say people like to condemn Proton.IF you are spineless,always waiting for handouts from Gomen bailouts,thats what you get….failure…failure.If you are afraid of criticisms,you will never move one inch.From day one,Proton was created to benefit only cronies and spineless people like you.
      25 years of ABSOLUTE PERLINDUNGAN,you get a RETARDED car manufacturer.
      JUst wait for April 1,when DRB announce the financial results.It will easily exceed RM 500 juta,you are satisfied?

• cronny on Feb 07, 2015 at 10:49 am

Many stupid acting smart. Look at korea. How many toyota there. They protect kia an hyundai. But here many want a high tech car like 10 airbag, esc and willing to pay 18k. European build quality, japanese styles but malaysian price.

• Trully Malaysian on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:17 am

Only Malaysian will support National Car.
    If you know what I mean lah

• not bujang-lapok anymore on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:18 pm

once again Indon is Malaysian savior
    Latest 60s – they sent hundred teachers for our school
    70s – they sent thousand of malay ethnics (from sumatera, java, borneo, sulawesi) to balance our population and winning UMNO. Have you asked your grand parents? are their roots Indonesian ethnics? Javanese? Sundanese? Padang? Bugis? Dayak? Maduranese?
    90s – Now – Maids! what our family can do without them?
    80s – Amy Search said: Reduce it! – Massive Indonesian music. We import Wali, Peterpan, Sheila on 7, Chakra Khan, and tons other. We only export Sheila Majid & Siti Nurhaliza. Listening radio in KL during 90s-00s fells just in Jakarta or Bandung :D
    90s – Now – Cheap Labor!
    90s – Now – Skillfull engineers, technician, scientist, lectures. Just named it. You will be surprised: check how many Indons in Petronas, Proton, well-known universities, hi-tech industries. Just imagine how vital it is
    And just now, 2015 – Proton just postponed her death and get another sunrise & hopes. Asean car project. Proton will ne soon open their biggest plant in Indonesia (or relocate one from bolehland). I hope Proton workers & family here in Malaysia get ready for relocation option to Indonesia :D. Like it or not, its for Malaysia, our beloved country :D. Just hope that the new plant located somewhere in North Sumatera or Aceh or in Borneo. It will be easier for you for pulang kampong before Raya :D.

Go Malaysia
    Go Indonesia
    Go Proton & her new sister soon :D
    Go Asean Community

• bukapintubayartol on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:59 am

How come Thailand is not part of this equation? they are part of ASEAN right?

• steven on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:25 pm

New DangDut_CamPro VVVT engine coming soon. more vibration. more syok…

• This is the main problem with malaysia nowadays.. when outside people look positively on our country but some idiots still giving bad image and comments to their own country..
    if you dont like proton just Shut your mouth.. dont say something stupid that reflects the country.. when people ask you to go elsewhere you dont want.. but everyday what you know is give bad comments.. these people think they’re so smart.. do you think Indonesia stupid like you when they want to JV with proton? of course they will do their own feasibility study.. for know just wait and see.. and please stop giving shit comments.

• fvvk proton on Feb 23, 2015 at 7:12 am

mr proton , if proton is good cars ? why china bigs market also can see proton cars here ? china county car maker better to proton a lot !! proton go back to sleep !!

• sabri unal on Mar 02, 2015 at 12:51 am

Hi. I visited malaysia and ı have lived and survived 7 month in penang island / malaysia :)

Many people thinking proton is sucks. I cant belive this people. Proton price in malaysia is not expensive.

My Salary is only 2000 TL = 2800 Ringit. And ı belive my salary is good because most peoples salary only 900 TL = 1250 Ringgit.

Turkey dont have a Turkish Auto makers brand but many auto brand have factory. Hyundai, Toyota, Ford, Renault, FIAT etc.

For comparison
    Proton Gen2 1.6 engine Medium Line
    Price in Turkey is 50.000 TL = 74.000 ringgit.
    Price in Malaysia is : 54.000 Ringgit (or less ??)

Any turkish people selling a car money going to autside to our country. We need Turkish Car Brand for save money.

By.