DRIVEN: Peugeot 308 – old name, newfound vigour

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 8

How impressive a product or otherwise depends on the expectations of the user, which is influenced by past experiences and shaped by a benchmark provided by similar items. It’s relativism. This writer is no psychic, and has no contact with jurors on the European Car of the Year panel, but I think that’s what won the new Peugeot 308 the 2014 ECOTY gong.

The previous Peugeot 308 (new model = new number game not sustainable) wasn’t the best car in class at its prime, far from it, although a few aspects (for me, classy cabin design and torquey turbo engines) were good. The T7 didn’t age well either with that big mouth – partly fixed with the facelift – and even bigger behind, while renewed rivals came in along the way to further rub salt into the wound, showing up the 308’s uncompetitiveness.

It was begging to be put out of service and Peugeot finally did so in late 2013 with this car. Plenty of catching up to do, but the sharp-suited T9 has had a flying start and appears well equipped for the top. We drive the new 308 in Le Touquet, France, to see if there’s substance beneath the sheen.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 14

The new 308, first shown to the world at Frankfurt 2013, couldn’t look more different from its predecessor even if it wanted to. Much of the improved outlook stems from the proportions – the new 308 is 23 mm shorter overall than before, but its wheelbase is 12 mm longer, the corresponding reduction in front overhang obvious to the naked eye. Even more significant is the 41 mm lopped off the roofline. You would have to own one to miss the bulbous MPV-esque shape of old.

The 308 fights the Volkswagen Golf, Ford Focus, Opel/Vauxhall Astra, Renault Megane, Honda Civic Euro, Mazda 3 Hatchback and Hyundai i30 in the European family car market, but the Peugeot’s styling inspiration is clearly from the VW. That’s no bad thing, for the Golf is an institution, an icon that, like the Porsche 911, can afford to evolve with time. The Mk7 Golf also leads the sales charts, so if that’s where the 308 wants to be, then it should dress appropriately.

Fortunately, Peugeot’s newfound restraint is decorated with just enough jewellery to avoid boring accusations. The black-bezel headlamps feature prominent projectors, a stepped lower section and LED daytime running lights as eyebrows, the latter formed by a row of individual diodes.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 12

The 18-inch ‘Saphir’ alloys you see on this white car are an arresting sight; ditto the signature triple-claw LED graphics within the tail lamps, which themselves look like claws. I’m digging this new design – it looks ‘solid’ and refined, but with flair touches in the right places to avoid looking as sombre as a Golf. By not sticking out too much, it should age better, too. Malaysian-spec cars don’t always look like the best specimens paraded at international press drives, but in this case you’ll get what you see, sexy wheels included.

Not just a reskin, the 308 is underpinned by a PSA’s new EMP2 platform, which is also used by the Citroen C4 Picasso MPV. The Efficient Modular Platform is 70 kg lighter than the old 308’s PF2 platform.

The reduction can be broken down to 27 kg from the use of select steels (‘very high’ and ‘ultra high strength’ steel), composite materials and aluminium; 10 kg thanks to the assembly processes (laser welding, hydroforming) and 33 kg through design (lighter modules, different sizing of certain parts according to power).

Platform aside, the design and the choice of lighter materials contributed to a further 70 kg reduction. Examples include aluminium for the bonnet and front wings, redesigned seat frames (less >10 kg) and a thermoplastic tailgate (like the new Nissan X-Trail, this should not be equated to lower quality or safety) that saves four kilos. Combined, 140 kg is a pretty substantial weight loss; think two medium sized adults.

We sampled two engines in France – the 1.2 litre PureTech three-cylinder petrol and a 2.0 litre BlueHDi four-cylinder diesel. The oil burner is a known quantity, its low-end thrust enough to wake up the drowsy, if not the dead. It’s pretty oversized in the a class where 1.6 diesels are the norm, so the 2.0 HDi’s 150 hp/370 Nm is more than enough, most of the time. Rattly nature and slight lag from take off aside, the flexibility on offer makes it a relaxing car to drive fast.

The diesel was paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic, and we’re pleased to report that the Aisin-sourced gearbox is a smooth operator with no need to DIY. After years of disappointment in this department, an automatic Peugeot that doesn’t frustrate is noteworthy.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 25

Of more interest to you and me is the three-pot turbo, which we tried in top 130 hp tune, mated to a six-speed manual gearbox. Like Ford’s award winning 1.0 litre EcoBoost, the EB Turbo PureTech 1.2 aims to deliver the performance of a bigger engine without the associated fuel consumption and emissions, which are 21% lower than a larger engine with equivalent power and driveability, Peugeot says.

The compact and light Trémery-made Euro 6 engine features high pressure direct injection (200 bar) and an high-efficiency turbocharger running at 240,000 rpm. Maximum torque of 230 Nm is reached at 1,750 rpm, and 95% of that urge is available between 1,500 and 3500 rpm.

That’s mighty impressive, and if you need context, the old car’s normally aspirated, four-cylinder 1.6 VTi made 120 hp and 160 Nm while being 25 kg heavier. The PureTech 1.2 has also got Ford’s 998 cc EcoBoost (125 PS, 170 Nm from 1,400 to 4,500 rpm) covered, and has 10 Nm more than BMW’s 1.5 litre triple in the MINI Cooper (136 hp/220 Nm).

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 53

Now how does that on-paper promise transfer to on-road action? As I expected, which is to say that it was great. There’s good response and no noticeable lag as you plant your foot down, and strong low-end urge means that you’ll fast forget that it’s a 1.2 litre three-pot. Coming from the diesel, this one needs some revving to get going, but it’s smooth and up for it. No refinement complaints on the move, despite audible direct injection clatter from the outside.

A zero to 100 km/h time of 10.3 seconds (manual, 18-inch wheels) may sound unexciting, underwhelming even, but the 1.2 always feels eager and faster than the bald figures suggest. A big contributing factor is the six-speed manual our test car came with. A stick shift never fails to add verve and involvement to a drive, and that’s the case here, although the throw is a little long and the gear knob (as found in the 208 GTi) too big, too shiny and too plasticky for my liking.

This is a fantastic drivetrain combo – small turbo engine and a stick shift – that got me thinking “this is all the car I need.” The last time such a thought floated across my mind, I was freezing my nuts off in Iceland driving the Mk6 Golf with the 1.4 Twincharger engine. No coincidence.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 42

Our test unit was fitted with a Driver Sport Pack, which comes with a Sport button next to the push start button. Press it and the dials turn red, the MID introduces new readings (power, torque, boost pressure, g-force) and you’ll be shocked by a digitally amplified engine sound that’s loud and rorty. The audio visual stimulation is accompanied by heavier steering and a sharper throttle. We found it amusing, for all of five minutes. Local cars won’t have this and it’s no big loss.

Just like how the engine’s natural sound is good enough, so is the steering. The thick-rimmed, small-diameter steering wheel is light and fast, and it gives the 308 quick feet in an urban setting. Thankfully, the helm gains weight at higher speeds for stability. Not much feedback is given at all times, so if anything, we’ll have more communication instead of the Sport button’s extra dose of weight.

We drove on 17-inch wheels most of the time and found the 308’s ride to be pliant, from the motorway to cobbled village streets and the B-roads in between. Like the auto ‘box, a Peugeot that rides decently is quite a novelty, but it has to be said that the roads we drove on were pretty smooth, and a local drive is needed to find out how the 18-inch rims and rubber band tyres deal with Malaysian tarmac.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 6

Dynamically, this 308 is miles ahead of the wooden old car, and there’s fluency in the way it flows down a B-road that was missing before. It still has a rear torsion beam but gone is the hop-happy unyielding rear end of the T7. Perhaps not quite as faultless as that German all-rounder, but it’s a big improvement for Peugeot.

The solid impression continues in the cabin, which features quality materials and high design. Fresh thinking is apparent in this reinvention of the wheel, with Peugeot’s i-Cockpit taking centrestage. Not loved by all, this floating ‘head up’ instrument panel-low steering layout, but it did not pose any ergonomic challenges to this 175 cm driver. Try it first before you love or hate.

The minimalist centre stack has to be the one of the most bare ones I’ve seen, a complete opposite of what Ford did for the Focus. Just one row of physical buttons and no central command knob means that one will have to use the touch screen (9.7-inch, high res, angled towards driver) for everything.

Peugeot 308 Intl Test Drive 62

It’s a little extreme in my view, especially when one has to repeatedly jab a finger at the screen just to adjust the air con, but there’s a price to pay for style, I guess. An iDrive-style controller would be the best balance between minimalist style and ease of use, and Mazda has struck that.

There’s no arguing that the 308’s cabin feels premium, though. Avant-garde design is backed up by top-section plastics that are solid yet yielding to the touch, with the right amount of metallic trim garnishing for contrast. That big slab of brushed metal framing the gear area is also very tasteful. It could be the added width at play, but the i-Cockpit works better here than in the 208.

A final note on the leather-alcantara seats that we’ll be getting. They’re as supportive as they are stylish (three stripes down the middle, didn’t get to try the massage function), but it’s snug at the back, or tight if you’re using the Asian C-segment sedan measuring tape. This urban explorer has a thing for full-length glass roofs and their ambience-transforming superpower, and so do the French I suspect, because they never fail to oblige on this count.

The new Peugeot 308 is a good car, but the feat is made all the more substantial by relativism. The progress made from the previous-gen is nothing short of a quantum leap, and that’s why the Pug topped my list of the most impressive cars of 2014.

The new Peugeot 308 is now in Malaysian showrooms and will be officially launched next week. Watch this space for the launch report and local test drive report of our sole 1.6 litre THP 150 variant.

Peugeot 308 1.6 THP 150, Malaysian-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Here comes reliability & after sales complaints from non-peugeot owners….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
    • pop-corn on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:46 pm

No, popcorn is more worth to wait for Same Lorrrr badmouth comments

**popcorn crunching sound**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Yes UMW cars are lousy, choose the real GSC in Malaysia.

This car only good in Europe, Malaysia Best still Proton Iriz !!!

Lousy 308 go back to Europe please !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
    • Wheres that fake 308 owner who has been complaining since 2010 on paultan?

• They really should bring the 1.2 turbo with manual box here. Or maybe the 1.6 BlueHDi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Captain Obvious on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:28 pm

The million dollar question – can i fit the car’s manual into the glove box?

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:14 am

This car not for right hand drive one.

Due to French idiosyncrasy, right hand conversion not proper, fusebox still same spot, hence cacat glovebox for us.

• Golfer on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:29 pm

One of the worst brands to buy. Totally avoid it if you can unless you are asking for trouble. My friends that owned a 407, 308 and 408 all regretted their choice and would never ever touch a Peugeot again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 56
    • wowowow on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Then get your friends to write here. Don’t bother commenting if it’s not personal experience

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 9
      • Golfer on Apr 05, 2015 at 4:36 pm

What makes you think they are not? Im sure not only my friends would be commenting but other ppl as well. Lousy car with lousy after service who won’t condemn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
        • phua chu kengkang on Apr 05, 2015 at 6:36 pm

only u commented here no one else. why jealous other ppl love to buy and enjoyed it but not u? go and play in other forum la bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Has been driving facelift 308 turbo for 3 yr.
          excellent car for the price i paid.
          after sale service also responsive.
          so nothing to complain.
          i think peugeot has improved a lot,so it is as good as other brand.
          their car is advanced and complex to perform better,so is reasonable to have more prob if component spoiled.
          see those beemer and benz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • fakecomment on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:54 pm

1 owner story told by 1000 friends / followers in 100,000 comments

Riiiiigggghhhht

• Colin Wong on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:54 am

Drives a 508. Excellent car. No regrets. Wonder why all the badmouthing. Unless you actually own one and had real nagging problems, please do not “fitnah” and badmouth. It is against the spirit of this facility which is meant for mutual sharing of info.

• Stok Mat Yoyo on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Naza has achieved its intention. Destroy the reputation of its competitors here and make their crappy Pug’s look like they are worth a bit. Sadly, if you have been reading reviews from “real” car reviewers in Top Gear and Autocar UK, you will realise that they have nothing good at all to say about Peugeots.

• Pug_pain on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:08 pm

My wife own a Pug 408. Registered in 2012. Service SUX BIG TIME. Car engine is like a jet plane. When we bring to SC, they said try getting used to it, it is european car. The car ventilation button isn’t functioning, even after turning on the ventilation button, smoky air still could come into the car. When we bring back to SC, they said, even they open up and re-fixing it, IT IS STILL GONNA be the same, cos this is european standard. WTF. Totally regretted this purchase. It is all these lousy distributor which make the T and H popular in Malaysia.

• bodoh owner on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:29 pm

It is standard among euro conti cars that even with ventilation in recirculation mode, it will reopen after a period of time to let in fresh air.

This is to prevent you from lethargic and also to bring in fresh air from outside.

Go read the manual. Typical sorhai driver who never read.

• hailatsamelorrr on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:35 pm

What happens? They shouted hailat when meeting same lorrr?

• Lpost on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Looks like your friend trust & love the brand by bought 3 models of peugeot.

• insaneur on Apr 04, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Hope,they’ll bring in the diesel version one day since the availability of Euro 5 diesel nowadays.Guess it’s time to sell my Golf after 225k of travelling

• Sam Lorrrr on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:31 pm

camry can bungkus with this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • I am not a german-auto fan but with the price tag, i would rather top up and go for VW Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
    • zamer on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:35 pm

golf is a good car..the only setback is the gearbox which i experienced myself. From juddering to standstill to engine auto-off when idle.

did not know the current 308 problems. but to be safe side, for 150k budget, just get a japanese. u wont go wrong that much.CR-V is better choice than this 308 or golf in terms of reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
    • whuteva on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Are you ready to spend your annual leave in SC?
      DSG is not that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • Hola Holi on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:04 pm

are uou already spent your annual leave in SC? haha. DSG was already fixed maa.. my cousin worked at vw sc sungai besi and he said no more cars came to sc with DSG problems.. so i think case closed. :D

• whuteva on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Why still so many people complain in VW FB? They are owners so the problem still exists!

• VW Car on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:50 pm

it’s true. i send my car to vw sc in sungei besi there several times for normail servicing.
            the stuffs there are polite to me. plus, sc there solved my problems always..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 11:30 pm

german brand…made in africa. thank you very much i trust buatan malaysia than buatan afrika.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:54 pm

To me, Peugeot finally did it.

After years and years of some shitty cars, they finally got their act together and made what is essentially the Golf beater. To beat the Golf, that is no mean feat… (Imagine some poor German dude getting shelled from his boss in the middle of the Autostaldt in Wolfsburg, for allowing ze French to beat the Golf at its own game)…

The Peugeot essentially just made the 308 German, it looks very unoffensive, very smart and clean, unlike the old one that was pretty striking. Also, unlike the old one, they finally got their shit together in making a good automatic transmission. Finally.

I must say, this has to be one of the cars on my watch list. As much as I like the Golf 1.4TSi, I can’t help not considering the Frenchie as I think, they might just be able to pull me from the appeal of a German badge and German engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • Colin Wong on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:56 am

Sorry sir. I drive a 508 that predates the new 308. Certainly not shitty. Just saying.

• Jasjos on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Never buy French unless it is bread or wine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
    • That’s why allegedly for the (French) Scorpene submarines, Malaysians paid the price and Altantuya paid the ultimate price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
      • if you should know, the scorpene class is one of the best diesel electric subs. and its even better with the customized EW package. also the weapons that came with it would give a carrier fleet nightmares when traversing the malacca straits

• Airbus is French and you don’t see then crashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Airbus includes Germany, UK and Spain also. Not 100% French.

• tokmoh. on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Air France 447, Air Asia QZ8501.

Despite MH370, MH17, the general sentiment is Boeing still makes the safest planes… in the world.

But I wouldn’t want to imply Airbus neglects safety, not in the way Perodua is an arse who’d threaten to sue you for suggesting their cars are dangerously flawed.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:28 am

Both EQUALLY makes good aircrafts…none over top each other…Disaster happened when pilot neglect their responsibility in the cockpit or when ground crew cut short their jobs in maintenance…implying Boeing > Airbus in safety..remember worst aircraft disaster in the WORLD involve Boeing’s..

• albag on Apr 04, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Kiki must be proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Pucking on Apr 05, 2015 at 12:53 am

Its pucking expensive for a pucking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • bangun harimau on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:48 am

Volkswagen golf copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • dats y it won award for ‘golf-ish’ look

• If it is a copycat, then why is it better than the original?

• thp160 on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Bcoz it’s more reliable than lousy DSG

• Kimi Riko on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:09 pm

dont think so.. did u ever drive vw? i used to drive both.. golf and 308.. sorry to say, golf more better in handling, speed, torque.. but it depends to you what car do you like..

• hahaha on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Does VW come with free towing truck service?

• longkai on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:31 am

true bro. i drive golf. The performance, the handling and the dynamic of it, really make me love my golf more.

• Kidding Me?! on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:55 am

who said that this 1 is better than golf? every car got its own disadvantage and advantage, so u cant simply compare this to vw.

• digusted on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:05 am

508 own…first 2 years..wow to ok
    After that…when things start to break, and the $$ needs to be poured in for fixing post warranty….

you are F-ed up. as for most conti cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • grammarnazhi on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:50 am

RIP English

• aiscoffee on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:06 pm

folks… let’s never forget the fact of all continental cars are having more complaints than a japanese car which known of its good liability. It’s not only peugeot as common as frequent seeing bmw get towed to workshop, issues with audi and even merc benz as well. Therefore, let’s be fair while we do agree aspects to be improved on previous model, and the same goes to any car in the wheel as there are always room for improvement. In addition, people tend to forget what do you get from the price like this, you are getting almost all premium specifications and accessories, that you would unlike to have in other car makers. Do agree with me, the common sense tells us when the car is featured with more advances specifications are more sophisticated. With the sensors along with electronic devices, there is higher chance to breakdown with related faults.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:52 am

Please tell me then why the Prius is Toyota’s most reliable car, by a long shot. Most models are just average, but the Prius is really good. Why?

• sepul on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Japanese reliability. Prius is CBU Japan, and many would agree a Japan made cars are less likely to break down compared to conti cars.

or maybe UMW pay more attention on the Prius’s after sales service knowing it is a very complicated car Toyota made at the time so they need to provide extra care for their customers who bought it.

• Giovannie on Apr 05, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Talk about a good car, we dont look at selling price.

we calculate the onwership cost/year.
      in ur sense. RM120k/2 years = RM60k/year.

this Pug is extremely expensive.

think about it folks… Honda is not as good too.
      buying it with 9 years loan.. malaysian will suffer.

Developed country like Australia, Honda only can sell 30k units per year…it is a very small percentage of the annual car volume.

• just like that on Apr 05, 2015 at 1:26 pm

MOST conti cars r like that. u better go back to jap maybe not honda also coz its not cheap (accord). if u know where to service your cars and get parts, the 508 and accord are quite close when talking abt cost of ownership.

• drag_master on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:52 am

golf copycat

• huh? why golf copycat?
      copy what? or you are just adding oil to the fire..

• jackson tan on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:59 am

I bought a 308T in 2010 against all my friends & relatives advice. This car has given me hell, back up service is poor as this car spend more time in workshop as on the road. Failures started from engine head gasket oil leaks, follow by jerking which several months later was diagnosed as timing chain but phenomenon still happen today. On the last month of 3rd year, air on cooling coil leaks. Today at 5years old with mileage just pass 70k km, the air on compressor is noisy.
    The only thing that is good about my 308T is the power.
    I knew from the beginning that resell value is poor but was shock when I wanted to do a trade in with Naza for this brand new model. Thinking
    that they will take consumer loyalty and easing their sufferings, I was told by email that the resell price is around RM32k.
    Enough is enough. I do not want others with their hard earn money to be in the same shoes as me.
    Once bitten twice shy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • TooLittle! on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:10 am

So it seems like the trader who took my 2009 VTi last year for RM34K had offered me a not-too-bad price.

• the key to owning 308 is to do your homework, and be aware about reliability issues.
      engine head oil leak is common and unsolvable.
      timing chain is a design issue and it will fail sooner or later. will cost almost 2k to fix.
      cooling coil will also leak and will cost 1.8k to fix because need to remove dashboard.
      air con compressor dead is common problem. cost about rm1.5k for brand new denso import from Europe.
      battery must be changed every year. doesn’t matter what brand u use, it will die after 12 months.

• I want the wagon it looks awesome

• jackson tan on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:10 am

Resubmit since my first lengthy comments did not get updated.
    In short, I own a 2010 308T now at 5 years old at 70k km.
    Its hell owning this car, poor reliability.
    Very very poor resell value even going back to Naza to trade in for this new model. Today they quoted me around RM32k only.
    I do not want those with hard earn money to be like me.
    I bought this car against the advice of all my friends & relatives.
    Now when we meet I have to accept this expression `i told you so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • i sold 308T 2010 at 31k. Problem i suffered :
      1) compressor twice
      2) dead battery 3 times and all 3 have to be towed
      Guess what car i am getting next? Yup new 308T. Test drove other brand that i rather not mention here coz it might coz a stir. Still i am going with the 308T. I hate to buy a car to impress others just for its exterior but failed to amazed me for the interior and gadget.

Why? Reasons.. Like the electrical child lock.. And for its price, i doubt other brand can offer such gadget..

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:17 am

Pueg fanboy btul.

Well, as long u can afford it, no issue then.

• the key to owning 308 is to do your homework, and be aware about reliability issues.
        air con compressor dead is common problem. cost about rm1.5k for brand new denso import from Europe.
        battery must be changed every year. doesn’t matter what brand u use, it will die after 12 months.

• how is your new car so far? I am considering to buy 1, but after all the -ve comment on the web, I think twice again, do you think the same night mare will repeat?

• blaster88 on Apr 05, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Went and checked it out…overall I am impressed. Nice interior with quality components. Alcantara leather, 9.7 in touch screen, moon roof, 18′ wheels, all the usual safety features etc. easily the best in its class! Certainly better than the Golf, Ford, Japanese equivalents and even the A200! Pug has a winner here…

However, still no news on the GPS and all said and done, still very worried about the aftersales service…need to test drive next…

• taiya on Apr 05, 2015 at 11:01 pm

If leakage happens later can they change the whole cracked piston?

• blaster88 on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:44 am

Some comments on the powerplant. I am quite familiar with the prince engine as it is similar to the R56 powerplant which I currently own. Very important to keep the engine oil levels at its maximum as to ensure the longevity of the timing chain which can be an issue. With regards to leakages, similar to the BMW powerplants, they don’t use good old gaskets but sealants. Drawback is that over time plus heat, they are not as lasting and tend to leak. Ah well, that’s the price for owning Conti cars…having owned the major brands before….the Pug is no exception. The million dollar question is whether Naza has what it takes to support the Pug….

• qazwsx on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:31 pm

wow full size spare wheel & still have the biggest boot in class.

• aiscoffee on Apr 05, 2015 at 8:07 pm

folks… let’s never forget the fact of all continental cars are having more complaints than a japanese car which known of its good liability. It’s not only peugeot as common as frequent seeing bmw get towed to workshop, issues with audi and even merc benz as well. Therefore, let’s be fair while we do agree aspects to be improved on previous model, and the same goes to any car in the wheel as there are always room for improvement. In addition, people tend to forget what do you get from the price like this, you are getting almost all premium specifications and accessories, that you would unlike to have in other car makers. Do agree with me, the common sense tells us when the car is featured with more advances specifications are more sophisticated. With the sensors along with electronic devices, there is higher chance to breakdown with related faults.

• blaster88 on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:59 am

I agree. For example, conti cars generally have more technology esp electronics in them. The biggest enemy of electronics are??? Moisture and heat – plently in Bolehland. Besides electronics, unfortunately, Conti brands do not test their cars exhaustively in our driving conditions. Heat, moisture, stop then go then stop again and again…you get the picture? Resulting in more mech breakdowns as well…The Japs are certainly more reliable due to the fact that they tend to use proven technology – too proven, for example Toyota still uses a 4AT gearbox in some of its model. 4AT is coming to 20 years old!!! While it would work everytime, it a boring and unexciting drive!

Lastly, with the quest for more efficiencies, more power and savings, European carmakers are going for smaller capacity engines mated to force induction technologies…which translate to more problems in our kind of weather and driving conditions.

Japs powerplants are still mainly NA, but they can go only NA forever…you pick your poison.

• FIST (Member) on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Specs wise, it looks like a great c segment offering. But sitting in it, I notices much lesser cubby holes for me to put my stuff. There is also only one cup holder in the center. The 308 also loses out the rear aircond vent, which is a downer. With the lower height, the rear seats are also more cramped than the current 308.

• civicEK on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:40 pm

with this price tag can buy accord lor..

• Who ever interested in this car & got the money, just go n buy lorr.. if talk about problems, every car got problem.. come on bros.. german/sushi/kimchi/nasi lemak car all got problem lah.. if u hv enough $$$ to buy expensive car, u shud hv $$$ to fix it!!! if not, just buy Axia lahhh

• aiscoffee on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:57 pm

For those have owned continental cars should know the differences and advantage vs any cars from sushi, kimchi and bolehland. Peugeot for example previous 407 or old model like 206 excelled in various aspect and ahead non-continental cars. The comfort, handling and road holding to the breaking efficiency are impressive for cars at that time was more than 10 years ago.
    As we know the 308 THP prince engine which was joint development by PSA/BMW. Beside peugeot & citroen, the same power train can be found in mini copper and bmw f30 such as 316i etc. All of them are having similar syndrome, and common drawbacks excess heat and humidity for these cars in our roads especially they are twin-turbocharger.
    The previous 308 was the first (MK1) in its family which was introduced in 2008. I am quite sure most of automakers are having common issues on 1st generation model after some years and normally they improve in 2nd generation replacement model , where years of R&D shall proved it. The improvements from the new 308 is not superficial. They redesign the twin-turbo engine, piston valve, ECU, etc. and overall refinement.
    Personally I have tested, have you? Thumbs-up !!!
    Please go test it yourself …. (*Im not a sale man from nazx)

• Wanker Boy on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:38 pm

I tested the 308 and 408 before finally settled for wanker badge 116i. Even though it’s same engine but diff tuning and gearbox, I went for the wanker as the 8 speed gearbox are indeed smooth and superb.

Fuel economy is impressive too and I easily clock 13.7km/l and 14.8km/l for mixed driving.

I know it’s unfair comparison due to pricing but somehow, it’s the total package that pull me to the wanker than the pug. Oh by the way, I used to own the 407 before thinking about changing to 308 or 408. Somehow, the german wins me this time.

• Khai Ping on Mar 03, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Sharing my experience on 308 156THP bought on Jan 2011:
    1) Nov 15, cooling coil leak and spend RM1200.
    2) Jan 16, electric pump spoil and spend RM700.
    3) Feb 16, right front wheel bearing spoil and spend RM700.
    4) Mar 16, god know where oil leak and going to fix it on 5 Mar at Peug Auto.
    5) Battery life average 12months.

Heard that timing chain will be on rhe quequ soon which cost RM1800.

Good car but high maintenance, I guess it is a design-to-fail art due to 2 of my colleague who drove civic on 2011 till now has not yet encounter any repair. Common maintenance is RM300 compared to mine is RM500. Not to mentioned my major service during 60K cost me RM1900.

I will say, it is a once-in-a-life-time experience.

For durability and cost efficient, still Japanese car give a higher rating.

KP from Puchong.