Citroen Grand C4 Picasso petrol THP163 in Malaysia

Citroen_Grand_C4_Picasso_Petrol_Malaysia_ 01

Alongside the new C3 facelift, the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 THP163 is also being previewed at all Citroen showrooms in Malaysia. Previously offered exclusively with a 2.0 BlueHDi turbodiesel engine, the seven-seat MPV can now be had with a 1.6 litre turbocharged petrol motor.

The direct-injected THP163 engine makes, as advertised, 163 hp and 240 Nm. Matched to a six-speed automatic gearbox, it gets to 100 km/h in 10.0 seconds, has a top speed of 189 km/h and is claimed to average 5.6 litres per 100 km (17.8 km/l). For easy comparison, the 2.0 BlueHDi’s numbers are 10.2 seconds to 100 km/h, 207 km/h top speed and 4.6 l/100 km (21.7 km/l).

Apart from the engine, the rest of the Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 THP163 is as per the earlier diesel variant. You get the same 18-inch wheels with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres, a panoramic roof (with a massive extended front windscreen), an electrically-powered tailgate and keyless entry.

Inside, available equipment includes a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system located below an enormous 12-inch digital instrument cluster, navigation, 360-degree surround view system, reverse camera, dual-zone automatic climate control in front and air vents for the second (pillar-mounted dual-zone blower control) and third rows (roof-mounted single-zone blower control).

For now, the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 THP163 carries an estimated price of RM183,000, compared to the 2.0 BlueHDi variant’s RM189,903 (price with insurance). We’ll know more when it’s officially launched soon. For now, you can refer to the full numbers and specifications of the diesel model on CarBase.my.

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 BlueHDi

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I’m not a Citroen fanboy but this round I would say this CG-C4 is killing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • arseneleven on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:38 pm

wow

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Few can claim that they’ve made a stylish, attractive and desirable MPV. Citroen is one of the few.

• neemfa on Mar 16, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Nice.. but takutlah.. after sales & service & parts availability..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • DrCooper on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:21 pm

I supposed the engine can be serviced in any Peugeot SC, it the same engine used by 508 and 5008 on its ‘sister’ brand.

• turbo_ridera on Mar 17, 2015 at 7:04 pm

no they cant.I asked one of their salesman they said Citroen cannot be serviced at Peugeot SC eventhough same engine.they dont want to messed up citroen maintainance record in Peugeot SC

• But consider this, you can get 1 of these and save thousands and thousands of money for spare parts etc, compared to buying a toyota estima/previa with rubbish fuel economy, a beige plastic interior and an prehistoric audio system.
      Plus, it looks so much better, it will definitely turn heads, which is what i can’t say for any other MPV.
      Also as an added bonus, you don’t need to fork out extra cash to maintain a 2.4 liter engine on the road compared to a 1.8/2.0.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Mar 17, 2015 at 2:06 am

I wonder which sorhai will buy this kwai tai no RV car that cannot be traded in.

Smart buyers will surely buy estima or the majestic Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Sounds like an under-powered people mover.. or am I a skeptical? Any comment Hafriz/ guys? Please comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • sepul on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:43 pm

It’s turbocharged so underpowered is not an issue. The Peugeot 5008 also uses the same powertrain combo.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:46 pm

You didn’t really bother to read then. In case you missed it, the car’s 1.6L engine is turbocharged to produce 163 hp and 240 Nm of torque.

Let’s compare with one of the nation’s popular, more premium MPVs.

The Toyota Previa/Estima (I see many, many recond Estima’s) has a 2.4L naturally-aspirated engine that produces 125kW (167.5 hp) and 224Nm of torque. And the Previa costs about 60k more AND comes significantly less equipped than the Grand Picasso. Of course, you can get a recond Estima for much less money than getting a Previa through official channels, but what’s the point comparing a used car with a new car? And that’s another point entirely. Here we’re concerned with power.

So, for the question of whether the C4 GP has enough power, it is definitely not underpowered with the 1.6L turbo engine, compared to other popular MPVs. And by the way, the C4 GP is about 400kg lighter than the Previa. The Toyota Innova, another (arguably) popular MPV, is 200kg heavier than the C4 GP and carries a smaller (2.0L) NA engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • spot on bro…btw, looks at when those peak power/torque are produced by the picasso compared to the estima….btw, the diesel picasso will wipe out even the 3.0V6 estima for torque!

• Timothy on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:56 pm

I am using Peugeot 5008 with the same petrol engine like C4. I tell you, the car’s power really amazed me. Previously I drive Exora. Cannot compare at all for the power. Can reach 0-100km/h within 10 Sec. Very powerful engine. Great car with no resale value. Value Dropped 50% within 3 yrs. RM 150 K 2012, I bought it 2015 ( Officially 2 1/2 years car @ RM 78K.

RV is a serious issue. Consider b4 buying. Spec wise, Japan make have no match. The closest comparable will be Honda CRV.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Quite reasonable I must say! Plus now for those worried of the diesel, the petrol should do fine!

• Mirsy on Mar 16, 2015 at 7:06 pm

I thought that the Grand Picasso C4 and 5008 are twin brothers they are in the same class. 5008 tend to handle better but the C4 is more luxirious but their price tend not to differ too much in other countries but here you are paying almost 15% difference between the two. Maybe I am wrong.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Not exactly. The current 5008 is based on the previous C4 GP. This was the first car by PSA to be based on the EMP2 platform. The new 308 is based on it too. The next 5008 will be based on that/on this C4 GP.

This is the better car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Didn’t you guys do a road test of the C4 GP for the Driven magazine? How about republishing it on the blog?

• nabill (Member) on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:28 pm

love this thing , on the road it looks like nothing else ,its just awesome , but i actually think the diesel makes more sence in this car than the turbo petrol …
    seeing it in flesh is totally a different experience…looks like sting from a different planet! citroen , i salute!

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Mar 17, 2015 at 2:08 am

Good luck if you buy this sui kwan no RV car. You will need to have a tow truck VIP membership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • im currently driving 5008 peugeot..really surprised me..do not underestimate this beauty from PSA,same mother co of peugeot..yes,u will have some issues on rv with pug and citroen,but hey,which car nowdays can give u really good rv??its d matter of looking a buyer who likes your car or jz trade in..

• this is for sure a good mpv to drive..im driving a 5008..cant tahan to change now..