2014 Mazda 3 Hatchback – mega gallery from the USA

MY2014 Mazda 3

Mazda seems to be following a strange release schedule for information on the 2014 Mazda 3. Things seem to be coming out in batches – first we had a look at the hatchback but with a limited photo gallery. Then the sedan was announced but not unveiled. Then the sedan was leaked.

And now we finally have a new mega gallery of the hatchback, wearing a Californian plate on the rear. There’s no plate on the front to block that big grille, though Californian law actually calls for front license plates, although many US states don’t require front plates.

This new gallery has a lot more detail than the previous photos released, zooming in to many parts of the interior that we haven’t really got a good look at before.

We now know more details on how the menus and graphics on the Mazda 3’s iDrive-like infotainment screen look like, but there’s also a lower spec car interior shown in the gallery which shows a version without the colour screen.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jeremy on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:20 am

By far the best looking new c-segment car among non-luxury makes…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 3
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 131
      • Storm on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:29 am

Then you better get bored all the way with Honda and Toyota……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
        • Wisdom on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:16 pm

I just cant get over the kite front grill.
          This design will fast expires… as per mazda rv..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Storm on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:47 pm

CX-5 with the same Kodo concept and its been around for more than a year now, is CX-5 looks like expired to you? Even CRV that came later did you see CX-5 looks like outdated?

• Forza on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:58 am

Is the current Mazda 3 looks bored to you now? For me it still looks fresher than the new Civic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
      • Kalimaca Chan on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:17 am

Poor Veloster no sales in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • What about already get bored of the plain design?! i mean those boring looking car like the Civic…

• Kalimaca Chan on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:22 am

If this is not priced at 140k I will lick your shoes. Yes mark my words and come back after a year to see if I am right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • You sure? Mark your word? Anyone can say anything here and not answerable. No, it will not priced at 140K, I will lick your shoes if it does.

• skypirate on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:37 pm

the mazda6 cost between 170-190k, so pricing the mazda3 between 120-140k makes sense, bermaz will never price the 2014 model at 110-120k, that’s a no brainer, the gap between the mazda6 and mazda3 will be too big.

let’s speculate the engine that will be available then, most probably we will get the 2.0 skyactiv, the detuned version for lower specced and the other one with a little more punch for the higher specced. i really hope they will never bring in the 1.6 skyactiv. the probability of bermaz bringing in the 2.5 skyactiv is close to 0 and i hope bermaz will bring in the 2.2 skyactiv diesel. Are you reading this bermaz?! bring in the 2.2 skyactiv diesel!!!

• skypirate on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:23 pm

i agree with you, this 2014 mazda3 will definitely cost more than the outgoing one, not just in malaysia, but the rest of the world too. it will definitely cost around 140-120k. it’s pretty obvious that mazda is going for the “premium” make like VW, the interior says it all.

• Prebet Sapu on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:49 am

Easily will put Preve hatch at least 10 years outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
  • encik boss on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:26 am

Why the front registration plate located there?
    Why???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • tokan on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:49 am

new mazda models looks good only with bigger rims. cx5 with 17″ really a turn off.

• boss mom on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:17 am

and then, where to put front registration plate?kat bhgn tepi? think it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • shame_Loo on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:41 am

Most likely Msia will only get the low spec HU without the “idrive” & colour display. Just like the bigger brother Mazda 6, what a rip off.

• Johnny on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:55 am

As usual in the Malaysian market, if priced right, will sell really well. Hopefully between 110K to 130K.

• Maserati on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:04 am

All of you complaining about the price, even at 160k its still much better value than the cars out there. Tell me which are the cars who can have better specs, handling, exterior than the new Mazda3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Johnny on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Nope. I wouldn’t buy this if it’s 160K…

• mexdeh on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:49 pm

lol you are blind fan of mazda and honda. if they put 160k you still buy. you said the specs are good? the sprinting alone is suck to the max, only manual and i-ELOOP with auto is considerably ok

• Tak sokong B.N. dan Inspira/Preve on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:32 am

Previous Mazda 3 has few common customer feedback,as per follow:
    a) Rear passenger seat leg room was too cramp.
    b) Boot capacity is narrow in space, cant even lay down baby stroller.
    3) Higher fuel consumption for 1.6l model.

Otherwise, Ex Mazda 3 has won many design and attractive int/exterior.
    when i look at this new mazda3, i spotted few problem. 1st comment was everybody talking the plate number postion, it should have Lancer Evo x alike plate to let the car front look where is suppose is. 2nd comment was the longer engine bay, we havent seen the actual car size and i suppose the interior was quite cramp,even front driver seat. 3rd was wat i mentioned in previous mazda problem 1)~3).

Again , the technology may perhap met my taste to visit the showroom, but hope i-stop and other mazda 6 function are available in this mazda 3. Orelse, Skyacitv itself only as prime technology wont competive other model in tecnical spec such as civic,altis, K3,Focus,Sylphy and Elantra.

Lastly, the price tag determination. As CKD and CBU unit may drag sometime in Bermaz mind, i hope regardless of both decision it may bring in here, pls consider the the possibility of maintaining the old mazda 3 price or lower than 100k for the 1.5 mazda 3 that coming soon.

Reder if like my user name and my comment, pls tick and send me like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
  • sepul on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:43 am

I like everything about this new 3, but I rather prefer the center speedo has a vertical needle position instead of the tilted one here. That would look sportier. This look a bit odd.

• Al Gorilla on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:47 am

Why oh WHY Mazda? No rear A/C! Otherwise it’s fantastic. Looks to be a HUGE improvement from the previous gen, on paper at least

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Maserati on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Why need rear AC? Mazda has one of the best AC system in its class, the front AC is more than enough for the whole car. Only if you have a lousy AC system, you will need a rear AC to compensate.

• almera-suck on Jul 13, 2013 at 5:15 am

That’s same if you say why need airbag if the chassis is hard enough. Jap car makers have tonnes of excuses. Remember which company said it?

• boring design.. they should come out something like vios.. more curve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • somehow i dont get that ‘wow’ feeling compared to when i first saw the previous mazda3 when it launches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • i think we’ll definitely get the lower specced model, placed as “hybrid specs” model here

no HUD, no color screen, no center console knobs, “premium” seats.

aih

• kepaleacikhang on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:05 pm

on the side of it look like ferrari FF tho.
    try google ferrari FF and compare side by side by with this mazda 3.
    like if you are thinking the same :D

• VW Fanboi on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:26 pm

VW golf by far a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • zamer on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:26 pm

yaaa..better car to spend your time in sc..

actually golf is a good car..the problem is well known –
      1. transmission
      2. price
      3. mk7 design is tad boring

so in all, a cheaper, well speced with less mechanical problem, attractive look, the m3 is by far a better car

• The Speedometer looks very alike with the CR-Z one

• they copied each other. no originality in design.

• Ssaturn on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:17 pm

The Speedometer is more like Volvo C40.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSzabeLvsiGFYmDu-uvC3RTSYQOl71xLcKG3HXFKUMt6mW-nzYY

CR-z is out from the picture.

• whats that on the dash? looks like a small glass. must be functional aite?

• samseng on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:55 pm

samseng galaxy mega might be bigger