Mazda 3 CKD – locally-assembled range to include hatchback, sedan; Apr/May launch, from RM105k est

mazda3-glenmarie-7

Here are some updates on the Mazda 3 CKD. We were previously told by a Bermaz source that the locally-assembled C-segment offering will be debuting in March, but that has been delayed slightly to April/May this year. It’s not just the sedan that will roll off the line at Kulim, Kedah, but the hatchback version too.

Here’s how the range will look like. The sedan, launched in March 2014 as a CBU offering, will be offered in both “mid-spec” and “high-spec”, with estimated pricing of RM105k and RM120k, respectively. The five-door hatch will come in a single spec with equipment levels that are in between the sedan’s mid and high specs, and is expected to sell for RM120k.

Equipment wise, the mid-spec sedan will have 16-inch alloy wheels, halogen headlamps and fabric seats. If that’s not what you have in mind, the high-spec sedan should satisfy – it’s specced like the CBU Japan car (18-inch rims, bi-xenon projectors), but with added leather seats, powered seat, auto lights and wipers, i-Activsense, head up display and reverse camera, among other things.

Mazda-3-Hatchback

The hatch will share the high-spec sedan’s 18-inch wheels, xenons, shift paddles and reverse camera, but the seats are fabric and there’s no powered seat and i-Activsense. Keyless entry with push start button should be standard on all CKD 3s.

In the safety department, expect six airbags (front, side, curtain) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) across the board. The Mazda 3 is powered by a 2.0 SkyActiv-G engine with 162 hp and 210 Nm, paired to an in-house six-speed automatic gearbox.

The RM105k entry price is attention grabbing, and the RM120k high-spec sedan appears to be very good value next to the RM139k CBU car, and with added kit, too. The hatchback is a welcome addition for the more sporty-minded; and as we saw from the Mazda 3 MPS renderings and dressed-up Bangkok 2014 showcar, it doesn’t take much to make it look like a hot hatch.

Mazda 3 Sedan (CBU)

Mazda 3 Hatchback

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• finally

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:08 pm

The Mazda 3 sounds good. Again sushi cars rocks.

But wise car owner would stick with our Altis, more reliable and better RV.

You can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 70
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Actually no. A German magazine tests plenty of cars for their reliability. 100000 km (or more), driven as support car for the journalists, usually quite rough, then disassemble them and examine the state of the car.

VW used to be awful in the mid 00s (the Touran was a catastrophe, the cover image was that of a tent in front of the workshop… and this is from a pro VW magazine), but improved and is now reasonable. Toyota is somewhere around that level too, middle of the field, with the exception of the Prius, which is the most reliable car they ever tested. It is followed by all Mazda models… extremely reliable, unlike Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Kenny Goh on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Mazda 3 is definitely far better than Altis in terms of the safety features like 6 airbags and their dynamic stability control. Toyota is still giving 2 airbags and not equipped with DSC.
        ..i think Altis the worst C segment car in terms of the safety features in the market and the interior design is way too old fashioned, we are now in the year 2015 not the 2002. No wonder we hardly see any Altis on the road, consumers are getting smart and well educated…good RV…stop dreaming Toyota salesman…low demand translates to low RV. Other Japanese cars are equally reliable,not just Toyota. its Time to wake up and face the reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • aaron on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:09 pm

RM19K shaved off, with added I-activesense, auto lights & wipers, powered seats, HUD & reverse camera. Dayum that’s a damn great deal. 120k for a high powered 2.0L skyactiv engine. Honda & Toyota, better buckle up.

• StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Dont be too happy.
        I-stop and I-eloop were not available on cx5 ckd.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:24 am

We all noticed the automotive price doen campaign start from Honda, Perodua, now Mazda; In order to balance the remove of petrol subsidy into phases by lower the vehicle price.

The all new Mazda3 should start from 85k (1.5L engine) onwards to 115k (2.0L engine)
          Mazda should increase the flexi, range & models to compete and increase the targeted value via strategy.

Not to forget new facelift Elantra 1.6L auto at 85k onwards.

Accord: 135k, from 15xk
          Crv: 135k, from 15xk

• khairi on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:10 pm

is it come with sunroof?

• khairi on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:11 pm

is it come standard with sunroof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Thats certainly a very interesting price.

105k for std 6 airbags and safety gear, and standard 2.0L engine.

Now lets see how Honda would like to respond with its equally CKD’d Civic 1.8 which is a whopping nearly 10k more with less equipment. The Altis is dead in the water already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Can “ta pau” the Toyota Altis and Hyundai Elantra, soon buyers can shop for very cheap 2nd hand Altis.

• HR-V buyers where is your honda’s
    1) Paddle shifter?
    2) 18″ Wheel?
    3) Leather seats?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
  • Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Thank you Mazda Malaysia for 105k with 6-airbags + ESP + 2.0L Skyactif.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Sky active. (half)
      Most prob i-stop and I-eloop will be removed from ckd.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Wonder if the high spec will come with a central tacho arrangement

• It comes with the Heads-up-Display which means the center tachno arrangement.

Too bad the hatch won’t get the high spec. Definitely will be a miss for those who wants the hatch and the high spec.

• ProtonGSC on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:42 pm

RM 105k is not bad, if below RM 100k are far even better.

Still our Ckd cars still expensive compare to neighbours country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
  • delayed till April?
    Bermaz is updating the new price with GST i assume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Test market on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm

No leather seat again?
    Bermaz test market again.
    Selling good, continue fabric, selling bad free leather seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • sepul on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:19 pm

What’s wrong with fabric seats? The safety feature is generous enough to win sales I think.

• Seattle on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Can’t you read? High spec comes with leather and mid spec comes with fabric. 105K for such a well spec 2.0 engine is really attractive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Vios G ada leather seats, if not mistaken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • jacksonljs on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:38 pm

So what… Leather seats can be add-on as optional accessories, but safety features can’t add-on aftermarket (that means airbags, ABS brake pumps and stability control must be installed only in car manufacturer’s factory)

• Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Can’t help writing this to educate the youngsters: read carefully, and understand the sentiment.

If you care so much about leather seats (and ignore what we care so much all this while), then there is always a car called …. .

Kosong spec + leather seats.

• Medic on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:51 pm

The local car scenario is getting interesting. And toyota is left out in the race. Padan Muka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • jacksonljs on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Of course lah, damn expensive compared with their competitors (don’t include chapalang Protong and Perutdua in pricing as comparison), somemore you can’t get even a single cent discount else their ‘friendly’ sales advisor (most of them) will reply you with LCLY like ‘our car is the best car in Malaysia, only poor people and fools will ask for rebate’, our car got high RV and you will guarantee hailat if you go for other car brand (the ‘Attractive downpayment rebate’ or ‘Fabulous Offer’ is more like a gimmick to lure the uneducated potential buyers)

• Love love love

• BeemerFreak on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:53 pm

This spells the end for the corolla Altis. RIP Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • winliaolor on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:30 pm

The end of Corolla Altis was on the first day it started. RIP

• jacksonljs on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Agreed as potential buyers are pushed to get the 2.0V top spec if they want stability control (VSC) equipped in their new cars that otherwise most buyers are perfectly fine with 1.8 version (but 1.8 version doesn’t have VSC unlike previous gen catfish Altis 1.8G that have VSC).

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:40 pm

UMW couldn’t care less cause they have gomen support

• 105k? That’ll sure give the 308 & Focus a run for their money

• noreasonwhy on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:02 pm

I can smell the leader of C-segment is coming…
    Does this come with sport mode?

• applegreen on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:11 pm

At rm105 if comes with 2.0 litre engine is good enough. The last gen model comes with 1.6 litre only.

• Thanks Mazda for good pricing. RM 105k for a Skyactive C-segment powerful engine with 6airbags/DSC/Keyless/Pushstart/Auto aircond really a good buy.. Cant wait for it.. Plzzzz no more delay .. :)

Was thinking to get HRV E-specs at 109k but now this is way way better buy. I still prefer a fun to drive car with good handling than a practical spacious car. Bye HR-V..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Welcome 2 the CLUB!!!

• Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:26 pm

105k makes it the best buy in the segment in 2015.
      Just feel that Bermaz may increase the price after seeing tremendous positive response.

98k will make it perfect.

15k from City V = RM250 per month, for a larger heavier 2.0L Skyactif C-segment more beautiful car with better handling.

• StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Remember. Ask for i-eloop and i-stop on ckd before u book. Most probably is not available on ckd. Without this,you will be no where near the fuel consumption as advertised.

• Zoom-Zoom on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:31 pm

I hope this model will get HUD (Head Up Display) just like its little brother, the 2.

• Josh Ling on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:46 pm

err…..read the article again, bro. you will find the HUD mentioned somewhere in the article.

• StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:38 pm

If it is without i-eloop and i-stop, might as well get mazda2.coz the specs is exactly the same if without what I mentioned.

High possibility this will not be part of ckd version

• tamura on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

105k? finally…buy buy buy

• is there any chances with 2.5L?

• batanghijau on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:59 pm

congratulations for those cbu mazda3 buyers who ignored the fact that they paid an overpriced item and can’t wait to own a mazda3 to shoe off. that’s further loss to you. for those who were patient to wait, you will be smiling ear-to-ear now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • BLT_Club on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:20 pm

What an idiotic comment. Show off? Really? You’re generalizing people who bought CBU as showing off? The quality of a CBU is much better than CKD, believe me. I’ve owned both and there is no comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • cbuckdi on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:55 pm

What quality? Explain or you just tok kok like rest of morons here

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:30 am

15 year old CBU mercedes e-class e280 avantgarde big small eye….still running well….15 year old CKD Cycle and Carriage E230 elegance big small eye….car already rosak

• dugongx on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Altis is already dead. Whoever bought it must be crying and terkencing now because their RV will drop another 20%. At 105k, mazda 2.0 is higher spec, safer, more powerful and beautiful than fugly duckling overpriced tortoise.

• ramsey on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

when i about u go out myself with either hrv or civic, then this come out today, so…i just couldnt resist myself to wait…hopefully will be paid off no matter how ppl said that gst will bring car price increase

• dugongx on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Altis is already dead. Whoever bought it must be crying and terkencing now because their RV will drop another 20%. At 105k, mazda 2.0 is higher spec, safer, more powerful and beautiful than fugly duckling overpriced tortoise asking for 139k.

• das auto on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:12 pm

What about the 1.6? Was thinking of getting one for my wife

• abcman on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:42 pm

But this CKD dont come in RED. Turn off lo. Sad =(

• Mazzzzdah on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Just in time to upgrade my problematic ride. The hatchback looks good with good price. But I’ll wait for the cx3 (even though different segment and size, they both looks nice and well equipped) before i make my choice. Either way, it’ll be Mazda for me. Just which one…

• I’m waiting for CX3 though the passengers legroom looks small in picture..I will consider Mazda 3 hatchback too.

Hopefully this CKD won’t disappoint us with all the accessories removal.

• StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:41 pm

If i-stop and I-eloop are removed from ckd or any Mazda skyactive car, it is not consider as “accessories removed”. It is just another normal car with out this function.

• For 120k, u get lots of intriguing goodies. Id say if u could stretch ur budget, do get the high spec sedan, value for money imho. But, reading from reviews of current owners in carbase, some of them mentioned that parts for these skyactiv cars r quite pricey. Any owners here wanna comment bout this? is it true?

• RIp to toyota Atis owner…gonna cry like baby

• Atis owner goona cry

• mastermind on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Tq bn…hahaha
    my dream come true.
    let see DSAI at Sg Buluh…with new drive Mazda 3 CKD…hohoho…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Didn’t analysts say 90k? Anyway, 105 is a good price, totally worth it over the 2, which only has 2 airbags, and is smaller and less premium.

• 90k is for the 1.5 skyactiv engine version which Bermaz decided not to bring in to avoid clashing with M2

• ben yap on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:06 pm

when come april/may, it will be delayed again.

mazda3 dunno delay how many times ady….

• tishaban on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:39 am

So Mazda is doing another CX-5 strategy in the C-segment? Flood the market with reasonably priced, well equipped cars with good safety equipment across the range and watch the competitors flounder.

Do the same for the D-segment market and they would corner the RM100-200k segment completely.

• lantis on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:33 am

Take note that RM105k for mid spec variant Sedan is without insurance so after added on is about RM110k.

• berjaya auto on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Since people still talking about RV.. So i share some fact about resale value. In malaysia, the main factor of the RV was about the look.. Malaysian always put the design at the 1st place.. Look good, RV will good.. Dont talk much about safety..etc. Look at good looking civic FD, EK.. Still good value right. And how about new Civic? Most of people prefer FD for 2nd hand car. The same thing will goes to mazda 3 kodo design good looking..

• StarLord on Mar 16, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Any idea if the i-eloop and i-stop will be equipped on Mazda 3 ckd?

For cx-5, these features are included in cbu. And not available on ckd.

Without these features…. What’s the point of getting a Mazda skyactive…….

• Morris Chong on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Finally the CKD version is arrived!The most importance is the prices is lowered and the specs are increases.

• Morris Chong on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Fortunely all variants have a same safety features and the prices are lowered.