Mazda 3 MPS rendered; hot hatch to revive MPS badge

Mazda-3-MPS-rendering

The 2015 Geneva Motor Show was a treat for hot hatch lovers. After so much pent-up anticipation, the Honda Civic Type R was justifiably the centre of attention; but in the blue corner, Ford’s new Focus RS stood proud with over 320 hp and AWD. One segment below, Renault Sport debuted a heated-up Clio RS Trophy while GM rolled out the Opel Corsa OPC a.k.a Vauxhall Corsa VXR.

Let’s not allow our excitement to overshadow the incumbents, for there are some pretty capable hot hatches already on sale. The CTR and Focus RS will meet Volkswagen’s Golf R, which is no longer just highly competent, but also entertaining in Mk7 guise. And of course there’s the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R, the Nurburgring FWD champ that Honda wants to unseat. Also in the frame is the Seat Leon Cupra 280 for European markets.

Could it get any better for fans of the hot hatch? Yes, because Mazda has been reported to be readying a Mazda 3 MPS that will take on the above-mentioned C-segment performance flagships. It’s rumoured that the hot 3 will get a turbocharged version of the 2.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G engine, and 4WD to tame excessive torque steer, something the old 3 MPS was known to suffer from. The expected 300 hp will go through a six-speed manual gearbox.

All rumours at this point of course, but with both Honda and Ford raising the bar to above 300 hp from smaller capacity engines (2.0L VTEC Turbo and 2.3L EcoBoost, respectively), Mazda has its work cut out. Another question for the Zoom-Zoom brand is FWD (Megane and Civic) or AWD (Focus and Golf) for the 3 MPS. Let’s also hope that it will look as good as the renderings you see here, by Automedia and Theophilus Chin.

Exciting times ahead and we can’t wait!

Dressed-up Mazda 3 Hatchback at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• spongewai on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:03 am

Mazda 3 MPS
    Honda Civic Type R
    Ford Focus RS
    VW Golf R
    Renault Megane RS275 Trophy
    Volvo V40 Polestar
    Subaru WRX STi (old version like Furious 7 driven by our beloved late actor Paul Walker)
    Peugeot 308 R
    Nissan Sylphy Nismo
    Merc A45 AMG
    Kia C’eed RS
    BMW M135i facelift
    Audi RS3

all this hatchback car are cool except Toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • zamer on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:20 am

haha..i cant wait to see these cars fueling Vpower and race at 110km/h at highway..
    of course with kancil/kelisa/alza/axia

• from a 2.5L mill, i expect no less then 320hp

• sambalbabi on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:08 pm

i’d prefer circa 300-320bhp from a 2.5 litre engine while retaining the engine’s reliability and durability

• BoringRakyat on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:57 am

Mazda and their designs ! If only my wallets are thick enough…

• wali-chan on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:17 am

i got heart attacked after read this.. hahaha

• mango on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:54 pm

this is what i call competition.. good for consumers

• policeman on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:14 pm

ini orang lagi. tak habis-habis rendering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • BettyChewLGEThousandRinggitUndies on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Looks good but I won’t buy it from Bermaz, overinflated price. BettyChew would buy this and illegally parked her car like her ignorant (jahil) husband just because she is a Penang CM wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • neemfa on Mar 10, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Thank god there are still ppl making cars for enthusiasts.

• Roque on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:03 pm

then dont buy….u r full of shit

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Rendering looks pretty cool… As if Mercedes and Subaru had a baby ;)

• blaster88 on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

Not too long ago…..producing 300 plus horses in a reliable matter in an everyday car was unthinkable. Kudos to R & D that we are witnessing technological progress…

• jiwa kelajuan on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

buy high HP car, but can only drive at 110km/h… 1st country in the world… hahahahahah…..

• Who said? When i first got my MPS i took it up to 248kph on the plus highway, you just gotta know where the speed cams are