Ford recalls 390,000 cars in the US, including 2012-2014 Ford Fiesta – ASEAN model not affected

ford fiesta mc 10

Late last week, Ford announced it was issuing a safety recall in North America for nearly 390,000 vehicles over a faulty door latch. Vehicle models involved in the recall are the 2013-2014 Ford Fusion and Lincoln MKZ as well as the 2012-2014 Ford Fiesta sold in the US, Canada and Mexico.

A check with Ford’s ASEAN office has revealed that the recall concerns only North American models – ASEAN production Fiestas are not affected by the faulty part and are not involved in the recall exercise.

Ford Fusion_2

The affected 2012-2014 Ford Fiesta vehicles were built at the Cuautitlán Assembly Plant in Mexico, and the 2013-2014 Ford Fusion (known elsewhere as the Mondeo) and Lincoln MKZ vehicles at the Hermosillo Assembly Plant, also in Mexico, all built in 2012 to 2013.

The issue concerns the door latch in these vehicles that may experience a broken pawl spring tab, whereby a condition may arise where the door will not latch. The automaker says that if a customer is then able to latch the door, there could be a possibility that the affected door may unlatch while driving, increasing the risk of injury. All four door latches on the affected cars will be replaced at no cost to the customer.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Ford can’t even build their car doors! lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Not all car is defect free. But Responsible car makers never hesitate to burn money and make recall, because quality is most important.

Proton no recall then it is good? Think again.

You never do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Rashuk Khan2 on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:20 am

I’m Proton owner. I do periodical svs at proton authorised svs center. When I proceed for 20000Km svs center feedback to me that my car need to replace the the wire harness due to my chasis number effected. FOC…

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Yea, replacing it every 20k km then you will lagi enjoy the fun. There is no free replace forever.

Almost everyone is Proton’s victim, who wasn’t?

• Subframe on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:00 pm

The wire harness replacement is due to a certain defect, that’s why the replacement is FoC. The new wire harness does not have the defect anyway.

• Albert on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Bradder Sam Lorr,proton can have zero recall history,what difference does it make?
    Recalls can happen to world nos 1 Toyota,or GM or even Honda…cos the parts suppliers are all over the globe.
    Toyota has one big recent recall,but still at number 1 sales worldwide.Where is Protong with its awesome CVT gearbox and “CHampero” engine?.Watch out,Honda may even overtake Toyota and Protong this year.In fact,the sales figures spit into your face,I have to be point blank.Honda ,has overtaken Toyota in Bolehland the last three months.But still another few months to see who ends up behind Perodua.Definitely,Protong will be at number3 0r 4 this year.