GALLERY: Porsche 918 Spyder hypercar in Malaysia!

porsche-918-spyder-gallery 2

It’s not everyday one gets to come face to face with a Porsche 918 Spyder. As us mortals can only dream of ever getting within 15 feet of one, we couldn’t help but brandish our cameras and put together a gallery of it when a unit was present at the launch of Porsche Malaysia’s swanky new showroom in Sungai Besi.

Priced at an astronomical figure of US$845,000 (RM3,078,250), Stuttgart’s answer to the LaFerrari and P1 may appear to be the most subtle-looking (and most beautiful to yours truly) of the trio but rest assured, the numbers the 918 puts down marks it out as one of the all-time greats.

For starters, the Porsche 918 Spyder possesses a total of 887 hp and 1,275 Nm of torque thanks to a combination of a naturally-aspirated (bless them Porsche engineers) 4.6 litre V8 engine and a pair of electric motors, juiced up by a 6.8 kWh lithium-ion battery. The century sprint gets done and dusted in only 2.8 seconds while v-max is quoted at 345 km/h.

porsche-918-spyder-gallery 3

The powertrain gets mated to a seven-speed PDK double-clutch gearbox with power going to all four corners. Drivers can opt from a choice of five different drive modes – E-Power, Hybrid, Sport Hybrid, Race Hybrid and Hot Lap. The latter completely exhausts the drivetrain to its maximum, allowing the driver to gun for a few time attack sessions before the batteries go completely flat.

Being a plug-in hybrid, the 918 Spyder is capable of an all-electric range of 32 km and a top speed of 150 km/h. Charging this beast takes about seven hours with the supplied Porsche Universal Charger on a regular 110-volt household AC socket – the optional DC Speed Charging Station cuts the time down to 25 minutes.

As for its looks, the 918 Spyder quite obviously draws most of its inspiration from its predecessor, the Carrera GT. It even carries over the ‘Targa’ concept of having removable roof panels, of which owners can store in the front luggage compartment, which measures in at 107 litres. I’ll have mine in Liquid Metal Chrome Blue…

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Yes… God bless Porsche engineer who still believe in naturally-aspirated V8 engine which is a dying bred in today’s world tight emission control… Amen!!!
    With the asking price of RM3 million excluding import duty and tax in which the final asking price will be excess of 6 million… I believe that there aren’t many in Malaysia who can really afford this hypercar.

• Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 2:12 pm

For a lot of Proton drivers, they are driving this hypercar on the road. Modded, loud and crawling… Some even imagine they are driving a F22.

The power of Day Dreaming… You need it to survive Proton quality.

• youcaveman on May 29, 2015 at 2:38 pm

You must trapped in cave for 20 years
        Pity you!

• Sam Liar on Jun 20, 2015 at 8:54 am

Nowadays hardly much proton drivers drive like maniacs anymore. Please come out of your cave and see. Mostly are pariahdua myvi,alza, dugong godcars, hailat and occasionally vw golf.

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Still we gonna see it on the road punya…Malaysia very rich you know

• khalid on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:05 am

I think it will be arnd RM 5.5mil after adding in our stupid and meaningless excise duty. 75%.

• erwinkarim on May 28, 2015 at 7:04 pm

how long are they keeping the car here?

can i still see them on the weekends?

• spongewai on May 28, 2015 at 7:07 pm

i am coming for visit this weekend and don’t drive off

• sudonano (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 7:37 pm

The cool thing about the 918 is how understated it looks.

I was initially a P1 fan, I actually felt the P1 would win the 3 horse race on Top Gear. But after seeing the 918 a few times in pictures and once in real life, I jumped ship. Pictures don’t do it justice.

Plus, unlike the P1, it is not out there to kill you. And you can at least have all your creature comforts. The LaFerarri, well I am not a Ferrari fan, and Sergio Marchionne’s answer isn’t really that very nice.

On that basis alone, it was the 918 for me. What a thing of beauty. PS: I prefer the GT Silver Metallic though, just like the one they had on Top Gear. White is a bit… bland in comparison to GT Silver, then again I have been a big fan of that shade of silver.

• Collin Chong on May 28, 2015 at 7:57 pm

This is gonna be my ultimate chick magnet.

• nice ride !! this is really awesome !

• I thought all 918 units of the 918 are sold

• Gregory, are the public allowed to see it in the showroom?

• karam singh on May 28, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Annndddd it got recall back
    hahahaha

• Jimmy on May 28, 2015 at 10:17 pm

RM845,000 is so affordable; imagine if it were priced like this (if we don’t convert USD to RM, I hope you get what I mean). Many Malaysians would have possessed this sportscar.

Classic sportscar look, cantiq.

• Mokhzani already owns one. Can see it sometimes at Sapura Kencana building in Solaris Dutamas =)

• Why VW?? on May 29, 2015 at 1:27 pm

No, he has resigned from Sapura Kencana. Now you need to drop-by Yinson office or Coastal office to see.

• Willie Wanka on May 28, 2015 at 11:16 pm

While the 918 might not have the best look from the front end compared to the other hypercars (LaFerrari, P1)…The rear view of the 918 is the UNDOUBTEDLY THE BEST-LOOKING OF ALL CARS EVER MADE!

I’d tap that ass

• olio benzina on May 29, 2015 at 9:34 am

Careful. That ass is hot.
      You’ve heard of blwon diffuser.
      This is blown spoiler.

• the guy who drove off panamera may strikes again!

• sammy on May 29, 2015 at 9:24 am

This car already got the recall fix or not?

• What recall? Toyota and Honda are recalling because of their shrapnel airbags?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 29, 2015 at 9:42 am

This car don’t seem well without Martini decal, must buy with Martini version

• kampungEGGpower! on May 29, 2015 at 10:18 am

this Frog car 3 minions? that’s alot of minions…skip!

• sabahan on May 29, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Other than Carrera GT, this is my favorite Porsche, All time!!

• Really on May 29, 2015 at 12:19 pm

And it’s with the carbon fibre-rich Weissach package somemore. And those Acid Green motifs are nice.

• SkullJuJu on May 29, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Excuse me while I go change my wet pants.

• waterman on May 29, 2015 at 1:50 pm

The most astonishing Porsche ever!

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 2:25 pm

the exhaust pipes are at the top of the engine meh ?