Toyota Aygo x-cite – Safety Sense tech now available

Aygo x-cite-01

The latest Toyota Aygo has been pretty successful in Europe so far – since its launch last summer, over 70,000 units have been sold throughout the continent. The city car line-up consists of three grades and three special editions, with one more now joining the range.

The Toyota Aygo x-cite features a new Cyan Splash exterior combined with piano black inserts for the trademark front ‘X’ graphic and rear bumper insert, while the front fender garnish and side mirrors are finished in black. The 15-inch five-spoke alloys are finished in gloss black and have Cyan Splash coloured centre caps. A blacked out roof and A-pillars can be specified.

It’s the same theme inside, with Cyan Splash on the air vents and lots of gloss black for the dash.

Aygo x-cite-02

Perhaps more significant is the new Toyota Safety Sense set of active safety technologies that’s now available on the Aygo. The option will be offered at ‘a highly competitive price’ to promote adoption.

Between speeds of approximately 10 to 80 km/h, Pre-Collision System (PCS) prompts the driver to brake with an audible and visual alert when there is a possibility of a collision with the car in front.

PCS also primes the brakes to deliver extra stopping force. If the driver fails to react in time, the system auto brakes, reducing speed by around 30 km/h or even bringing the car to a complete stop. This will prevent the collision or mitigate the force of impact.

The Lane Departure Alert (LDA) system monitors lane markings and helps prevent accidents and head-on collisions caused by leaving lanes. If the vehicle starts to deviate from the lane without the indicators on, LDA warns the driver with an audible and visual alert.

Recent studies conducted by Euro NCAP and Australia’s ANCAP have proved that the use of low-speed Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) significantly reduces the number of road accidents. Through data collected from Australia and five European countries, they found a 38% reduction in real-world rear-end collisions for vehicles fitted with AEB compared to those without, in both urban (above 60 km/h) and rural (below 60 km/h) speed zones. Full story here.

The Aygo is powered by a 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine that’s Euro 6 compliant. The VVT-i power unit delivers class-leading fuel economy of just 3.8 l/100 km (26.3 km/l) and CO2 emissions of only 88 g/km, and can be combined with a manual gearbox or automated manual transmission, both five-speeders.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wow.. P2 should rebadge this, confirm selling hot cakes. No need to introduce ABS, 7 airbags or even ESP. What Malaysians need are just tissue holders, bluetooth, front parking sensor, anti snatch hook, and other blings blings.

Lives are cheap yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:33 pm

P2 cars are safe yo, they got Euro 4 status! U tak suka, I sue u for attacking us, jangan persoal lagi!

#aminarlogic

• dy246 on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:04 am

If you actually check what euro 4 means, you’d find that it governs a vehicle’s emissions.
        So what you mean is P2 makes safe cars because they don’t choke us to death by toxic fumes?
        Hahahaha

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:22 am

I didn’t say it, the P2 CEO did.

http://paultan.org/2015/03/16/peroduas-deadly-self-illuminating-meter-panel-official-statement/

Their customer complain about meter panel, CEO say it’s personal attack, even hinting wanna take legal action. Win liao lor.

That, is all you need to know how committed P2 is about safety.

• huehuehue on Jun 06, 2015 at 4:52 pm

dont forget we also love bodykits and chrome everywhere!

• Not in Malaysia, here money first before customer priority and safety. Let make petition to Toyota Japan.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Do you think businesses in Europe are charities? If Toyota could get away without this safety tech in Europe, and people will still buy, they would. But people in Europe will just pick another car then, so Toyota needs to offer something competitive.

Starting from 40k you can get a car with ESC/VSC. But people prefer to buy same size cars that don’t have VSC. Heck, people prefer to pay 80k for a car that has no VSC over 40k for a car that does. So obviously why would Toyota want to offer VSC? No need la…

When consumers demand VSC, and will buy from a different brand instead, then Toyota will offer it. Though they may have shot themselves in the foot with this latest Vios iteration. Instead of basing it on the 3rd gen Yaris they base it on the 2nd gen Vios, which is based on the 2nd gen Yaris, and in the meantime it lost all the safety features even the 2nd gen Yaris had. Giving the new Vios VSC may not be as cheap and easy as it is for most other models, including the Myvi.

• lee teik soon on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:32 pm

I hope Toyota will give full package of the system. After when launching become a 50% safety car. Being UMW always left out something to upgrade later.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Yet it is such a pity such models will never make it here.

I had the chance to sit in the Aygo in Euro form last year. Really nice little fella, though it did feel cheap compared to the Twingo.

At least it was cheap – which was a saving grace.

• In our boleh land we call it UMW money sense

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Nice car. And funny how the safety features in this A segment Axia competitor go far beyond what the Camry offers. Which is what, 5 times more expensive?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:51 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Green car on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:50 pm

An example of a mature manufacturer who can introduce a commuter car with high safety features that is EURO 6 compliant. It probably fits well in Europe where they practice strict emission control. We are still at EURO 2! Practicing protectionism in car manufacturing that creates unfair pricing using taxation. Hence, we will never enjoy such car in our market.

• undertaker6 on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:34 pm

They already reach Graveyard 6 feet under ground standard lor, with Takata airbags of course!

• DPCraft on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:22 am

The car in the video, looks like Civic FB front.

• DPCraft on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:22 am

Here Toyota have no sense

• huehuehue on Jun 06, 2015 at 4:51 pm

if this car comes to bolehland with that kind of specs, i will go look for sam lol whatever and buy this car.. but we its bolehland afterall.. we know what umw toyota are known for..