Singapore to adopt Euro 6 for diesel vehicles in 2018

bmw-320d-infiniti-euro-5

Singapore’s National Environment Agency (NEA) has said in a statement that the republic will adopt Euro 6 emission standards for diesel vehicles from 2018, according to a Straits Times report. Singapore currently adopts Euro 5 standards.

Euro 6 mandates lower nitrogen oxide (NOx), hydrocarbon (HC) and particulate matter (PM) emissions than Euro 5, although the carbon emission ceiling maintains status quo.

For now, BHPetrol’s recent introduction of Euro 5 diesel in Johor should help modern Malaysian diesel vehicles meet the 40 Hartridge Smoke Unit (previously 50) limit set by the NEA on July 1. At its launch in November, the fuel was priced at RM2.30 a litre – the move to a managed float system the following month saw its price rise to RM2.33 a litre.

Due to the low price of Euro 5 diesel in our country compared to neighbouring regions – including Singapore – we’re told only Malaysian-registered vehicles will be permitted to use the fuel.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ahmad maslan the clown on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:15 pm

yea yea, only msian reg vehicle can fill in euro 5 diesel. sure or not? the same thing will happen as ron95 which is foreign vehicle can’t buy. everyday many sg vehicle fill in ron95. why? because all the pump attendant mostly is bangla, and the didnt give a damn about license plate. even the local pump attendant also didnt give a damn about it. petrol pump manager only care for profit, they also dont care. the law is there, but implementation and enforcement is tin kosong saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • i dont see why we cant sell petrol price to thailand and singapore car user..

our Ron95 is already UNSUBSIDIZED, low grade petrol selling above international oil price. Government is not loosing single sen here.

the more they sell, the more they earn.

so, foreigners should be welcomed to buy the petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Then what about their own country petrol station? Close down? Do you know the convert rate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Jasjos on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:07 pm

They have the 3 quarter tank rule for that.

• Green on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Any Oil Singapore is purchasing, is well within international price range. Their government is earning a lot through high taxation on the use of own transportation – to control the traffic on the road in Singapore. (Also due to the higher rental rate and other factors at Singapore causing the high Singapore petrol price)
          Be clear that there is no effect on Malaysia. It only affect the Singapore road traffic, not Singapore government income. Their government cannot benefit much enough through petrol price from the limited vehicles in Singapore.
          Ultimately: Welcome all foreigners from Singapore to pump @ Malaysia:
          1. Malaysia Government earn more money, more cash transaction in Malaysia.
          2. Minimum effect on Singaporean Country.
          3. Our Petrol is unsubsidized, take as much as you can. The more you take, the more Malaysia Government earn.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Stupid people talk cock, never use brain….memalukan Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • JasJos on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Is this your assumption? I stay in jb and my friends from sg can’t pump ron95 even with the floating price now. Some even wait out the jam across second link last few weeks because they were running low on fuel and the petrol station ran out of ron97.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

HHmmm….. Only Malaysian vehicle. I wonder if any of the truck will pump into “special” tank and then sell illegally in the republic? Previously this is how Thailand got CHEAP fuel from ours. Bila ini masalah can be abolish once and for all.

• Guan Yin Maa on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:41 pm

My friend, all truck that go in singapore will be weighted automatically inside the sg custom. Smuggle into thailand maybe be easy, but singapore ? try it yourself and you will be landed in jail.

• euro2m on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:35 pm

meanwhile in Malaysia… Statement by the Govt reads “there may be more delays in implementing Euro4 fuel for Malaysia beyond 2020”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Burong on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Every body is worry about the flood, and lost of plane. Malaysia boleh, we make the impossible possible again.

So what is big about this Euro 6 fuel, it is whether we want it or no. If top management don’t want, not even Euro 5 fuel you can get it here.

• Ya. But in Malaysia country only adopt Euro 2. We are very far away

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 30, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Bolehland claims that the diesel sold it Euro 2, but in reality, it is way below Euro 2 grade.

Those refineries in PD and Melaka has been producing engine killing fuel since the day they started operations

• Samad Jain on Dec 30, 2014 at 7:14 pm

yeah, malaysia with its bloody low quality diesel……..I bet it will still be used until BN comes crumbling down….

• Absolute Rider on Dec 31, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Singapore to adopt Euro 6 for diesel vehicles in 2018!

Malaysia:
    Euro 4 RON 97 Sept 2015
    Euro 4 RON 95 OCT 2015
    Euro 5 Diesel Sept 2020
    Euro 5 RON 95 & RON 97 Sept 2025

Malaysia government should push oil company to deliver better fuel faster than above date. Not because for the car owners alone, but for cleaner environment, for our mother earth!!!

• our govt who care your mother earth? they only care their mother pocket

• Kangkung Jet on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:42 pm

becoz of current kangkung leader.
    most of the malaysian unable to kknow the truth.