Autonomous emergency braking reduces rear-end collisions by 38%, says Euro NCAP, ANCAP study

Active City Stop

A study conducted by the European New Car Assessment Programme (Euro NCAP) and the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) has proved that the use of low-speed Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) significantly reduces the number of road accidents.

Through data collected from Australia and five European countries, the independent safety bodies discovered a 38% overall reduction in real-world rear-end collisions for vehicles fitted with such systems compared to those without, in both urban (above 60 km/h) and rural (below 60 km/h) speed zones. Previously, studies have predicted the benefits of AEB, but there had been little evidence to back up the claim until now.

The study also stated that AEB systems requires a widespread adoption in order to maximise the benefits of the technology. “Clearly, at this level of effectiveness, low speed AEB is potentially an important active safety technology and widespread fitment through the vehicle fleet should be encouraged in the interest of improved vehicle safety,” said Swedish Transport Administration group chairman Dr Anders Lie.

In Malaysia, low-speed AEB systems are also increasingly common in new cars, with the price of entry steadily dropping – the Ford Focus Sport+ hatchback and Titanium+ sedan, as well as the recently-introduced high-spec CKD Mazda 3 Sedan and Peugeot 308 are the cheapest cars with the technology, priced at between RM125k-RM133k.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mean while, ASEAN NCAP just found out that ESP will prevent fatal accidents from happening.

• Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

Some claims the Proton safest car in low end market. Then I wondering, does the Proton popular models (Persona, Saga, Exora, Satria) have good safety features? NO!!!

Where are those “safe” Proton (Iriz, Preve, Suprima S)? In showroom/warehouse.

And NONE of them has this front collision prevention system!

So Proton safe? Think again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Leave the proton alone lah haiyaa.banyak sibuk pasal proton ini olang haha.do you hate sooooo much about proton car?xpaham lah ini sam lorr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Because of Proton, we all suffer expensive cars. You think I don’t want to sell you Vios at RM40k?

Because of Proton, our tax money are wasted to test a tiny car in winter Europe, end up can’t even be sold in Europe.

There is one thing we know similar to Proton: leech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • hohoboy on May 14, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Finally, u speak human words!
            what a bless from god..
            BTW, make sure ur 40K vios with 7 airbags else no difference with leech

• hohoboy on May 14, 2015 at 12:03 pm

NONE for Toyota cars too. :)

• There are many UMWs moving coffins tin kosongs in showroom too.. go have fun with the exhaust with your “Stick”

• i dont support proton, but logically if you are talking about safety in their popular models , how about your fav ‘sushi cars’ ? for ex. vios triple the price of saga, and it comes with 2 airbags and no vsc ? is it fair ?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Persona: Outdated model, should have stopped production long time ago.
        Satria: They still make those?
        Saga: Replaced this or next year.
        Exora: Already updated, safer now.

You expect Proton to offer front collision prevention system when even a 150k Toyota Camry can’t match a Proton Iriz for safety?! Look at the price range of Protons… they offer A LOT for the money. Toyota charges 2.5x as much and can’t compete…

• FIST (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Too bad they didn’t include that feature in the new mondeo

• Areyousure on May 14, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Same L0rrrr, nor any Toyota models in Malaysia has equipped with that technology lorrrr

• tishaban on May 14, 2015 at 1:34 pm

As far as I know only the top of the range Ford Focus, Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 have autonomous emergency braking under RM200k in Malaysia. Did I miss anything?

The technology is moving forward very quickly. Maybe in the future Malaysian insurance companies will recognize the advantage of AEB and reduce insurance rates for cars with AEB installed? One can dream right? :D

http://www.thatcham.org/what-we-do/safety/autonomous-emergency-braking/autonomous-emergency-braking-fitment

• kadajawi (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Wasn’t there a Iriz prototype that has this system? Probably preparing it for a launch in Europe…

Anyway, people in Malaysia should want this. It reduces the risk of an accident (especially in tailgate happy Malaysia…), which means the car won’t get damaged, which means no need to spend money on repairs, and it won’t hurt resale value.

• Volvo4Life on May 14, 2015 at 7:06 pm

How about Volvo V40?It comes with more advanced safety than any other cars and yes it under Rm200k

• Hor Shen Hau on May 14, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Ya,it is still at RnD stage.

• ben yap on May 15, 2015 at 4:41 pm

when toyota have AEB, that time it means the tech is more than 100 yrs old. toyota = old tech for modern days.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 5:36 pm

They have, but they won’t offer it in Malaysia.