EU legislation: All new cars to feature autonomous emergency braking by 2014

Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) systems involve adaptive cruise control working in tandem with fully automatic braking to stop you colliding into the car in front, without you touching the pedals. Although quite a number of automakers already have such systems (Mercedes, BMW, Volkswagen, Volvo, Porsche, Infiniti and Subaru to name a few), only 20% of cars sold in Europe today are so equipped. Which isn’t surprising, given that only models at the higher end receive this treatment.

But this is about to change, as the EU has recently decreed that all new commercial vehicles must be fitted with AEB by November 2013, and everything else by 2014. AEB will also be a requisite for a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating, so say the folks at Autoweek.

The systems use laser, radar or video to pick up any obstructions or pedestrians and automatically apply the brakes quickly and effectively, bringing the car to a complete stop if necessary.

According to Popular Science, a European study suggests that AEB systems can reduce accidents by as much as 25% when universally implemented.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Chilavert on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Malaysia = 2030

• Joe Radzif on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:04 pm

So, UK Spec Proton will have this one?

• tokmoh on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia, remove traction control in new model… record sales achieved.

Rather than value safety, we value second hand value. Bangang.

If only PR wins next election, padan muka. Watch as second hand value tumble down the way it was meant to be. Then only Msians start to realise car is NOT an asset, but a depreciating liability.

• kimikira on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:03 pm

and well thank to BN AP, Most of Malaysian car still out of ABS and AIR-BAG protection

• ismail saad on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:21 pm

at least kia and hyundai still not in the list as mentioned in d post. ok lah tu.

• carnoisseur on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:29 pm

really? I thought accidents can be reduced if you just stopped using your smart phone to communicate while youre driving , isnt that an easier way to make humnas more accountable ? what if in an emergency , the AEB fails ? end of the day , youre only human and can be the only accountable person for your driving

• car driver on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:14 pm

your logic is flawed. what if a bug accidentally went into your eyes and you don’t have AEB and the driver in front stops his car?

it’s better to have a safety system when there’s a chance it won’t work than not to have a safety system at all.

• sleepwalkerz on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Boleh land will get it in 20 years time…

• penang born on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:51 pm

in this bolehland..hahahaha i agree next 10-15 years..even worse new camry dont have VSC…i cant imagine our bolehland cars have this features…..why the body only is piece of tin milo…

• apakenamanya on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Perhaps Proton will make a bold move to install such system in their car. Preve has a lot of new features in it, not seen in any old proton model.

I also believe that the company developing this laser-motion-system for AEB will be the one who gained. Proton can just buy this system off the shelf and fit it in one of the newer model.

Normally car manufacturer will just pass the extra cost to consumers anyway. So why wait?

• akula on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:35 pm

so no more cucuk2 belakang kereta?

• yea, imagine those stupid “road warrior” or “need for speed” type of drivers, who always suddenly appears behind you and trail you so close like there’s a magnet between the cars, will not be able to do this anymore…coz their cars will suddenly brake….hhahaa..

• Joe Radzif on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:31 pm

ada…
      tapi untuk kereta Proton Wiralution vs Honda Civic taiper je la…

• lets those cucuk m%^&&&*%^&kers get sudden emergency brakes. LOL

• comrade on Aug 08, 2012 at 3:07 pm

with AEB you can’t cucuk the car in front but the car behind without AEB can cucuk you…

• not a car enthusiast on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Actually, I’m seeing an opportunity with our present car prices. Gov. should mandate all these regulations (ABS, airbags, VSC, Day Running Lights, and this AEB) as soon as, say in 3 years time.

Since our car prices are high, there is a lot of margin (in the form of excise duty and tax) to play with. Gov can use that margin to absorb all these additional costs. With it, the car prices can remain the same. Its a win-win situation – distributors are happy, used car dealers are happy and we the consumers are the happiest.

• CarDude on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:41 pm

I was thinking along the same line.
      Reduce Tax but increase specs of car…
      hence car prices doesn’t drop too drastically
      and new car owners get better value.

• Nasio-Anal on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Reducing tax? It can be achieved only if we change our current govt. Under BN’s rule, the only thing that is reduced is the value of RM.

• car driver on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:19 pm

why would the gov even consider such action? there’s a lot of margin, meaning more money for the gov to build multi-billion project and enough margin for the cronies to earn easy money.

the way the current gov sees it, let car manufacturer increase their price. more price increase meaning more tax revenue, meaning more money for coffers, meaning coffers will be more happy.

the people can go die.

• Dream on, the government will not absorb additional costs (lower their margins). If they really do, it means they have already sucked your up your money at other areas in your life.

• Dust Auto on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:06 pm

They should stop worrying about such bullshit and start focusing on how to save their collapsing economy.

• seancorr on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Our country will implement this possibly in 20-30 years time. Remember how long it took for our government to implement the front air bag policy? Not to mention they haven’t enforce the rule for all cars to have ESP…what more ABS.

Also talking about this our CO2 emission is not regulated and our fuel quality is crap. Its no possible way our country will reach developed status by 2020. Its only a dream!

• amazinggrace on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:57 pm

I guess Hollywood have to ditch the car chasing scene if America follows EU in introducing this tech….

people will say, the good old days…

• haha…while Malaysia still cant enforce the air bag legislation, not to say side air bags and abs/ebd….maybe Malaysian’s live have lesser value..

• That’s why the current government’s value is becoming less and less…

• Leonardo on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:04 am

Now this feature is found only on expensive cars or variants. But once the EU regulation is enforced in 2014, there will be a critical mass for this feature and components, and prices will fall. So quite soon it will be made available on medium priced cars. Hopefully.
    And yes, PROTON cars sold in UK will be affected by this ruling. So development will have to start now if they want to continue selling in UK.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:36 am

bye bye Proton/Lotus to all EU market! hahahaha…so now officially Proton can only sell to Msia. All those to UK la, Australia la all become BULLSHIT!! I wonder what DRB will do about it..selling back to 1MDB? oops..

• putting ESC inside preve as simple as buying system from BOSCH and embedded into car. the same thing goes for AEB. then walaaa… 5-star EURONCAP.

• Yea, they will open many shops called “kedai kereta rakyat 1M”. The price will be 30 to 40% cheaper but after that, you ll discover that the car has no back seat, no spare tyre, no wiper, and oh yeah, the front seats have no cushions…

• orange on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:24 am

In Malaysia, I might as well agreed we need to educate Malaysian how to drive properly first before having all this supplementary safety system…

• Absolutely, becoz the attitude and mentality of our fellow Malaysian is that :”haha, now that I have this auto brake thing, can drive faster and no need to die.”

• Anakata on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:11 am

I know someone who said he can attack corner faster because his car has ESP.

• chan kam nam on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:25 am

but with this safety feature, it means that u cannot ram your car into a ‘snatch thief’ or is someone want to attack you with a parang.

• We shouldn’t ram into the snatch thieves in the first, as this put ourselves and other road users in danger too. The best way is to try not making yourself as a potential victim for snatch thief. ..easier said than done, though..

• Joe Radzif on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:34 pm

So… in jammed?
    how?

just wanna know…

• This thing usually works when the car moves at higher speed…I guess..

• Maybe this thing will get banned in malaysia. just to protect our beloved national car proton.

• temakol on Aug 11, 2012 at 8:42 pm

is the gov so sincere to rakyat meh? protn should be leader / pioneer in this…to become 1st class carmaker….dont wait for gov to enforce it…