‘Sarong’ scandal was RELA guard’s fault – report

CG-jqFIUAAE1pRe

Well, that was quick. After the transport minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, announced that an investigation was launched following the ‘saronggate’ scandal, The Star has now reported that it was, in fact, the fault of a RELA guard that was on duty at the time when the incident occurred.

“He acted on his own and not under JPJ’s instructions,” commented deputy transport minister, Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi. Though dress codes exists in all government departments, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) included, Kaprawi stated that there should not be “such drastic action for those who don’t comply.” The guard has since been repositioned.

Said incident gained traction when the woman involved, identified as Suzanne G.L. Tan on Facebook, posted an image of her dressed with and without the ‘sarong’ upon entering a JPJ office in Wangsa Maju. The description goes on to describe how she was made to don said article before any form of service will be provided to her.

Following the investigation, Tan had stated her gratitude to the relevant parties by going on to say that “due credit should go to the JPJ (Transport Ministry) for their prompt and decisive response to the matter. Let’s hope other departments will emulate this.” JPJ has since issued a formal apology and statement clarifying that there is no such thing as a ‘sarong’ policy.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• MeToo on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Basically its the poor Rela guy’s fault. Our esteemed Govt agency is not at fault.

Per JPJ guideline, if you come dressed like that auntie, they will simply just not serve you, they wont ask you to wear a sarong.

Nice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
    • OMG…pity the Rela guy “eat dead cat”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Nazgul on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Like i said before just ask her to go back home and dress properly. It’s wrong to give her sarong and let her in.
        Basic of the dress code is to make others people comfortable and creates positive impressions.
        Nothing to do with religion, race or Taliban. Saying this means you’re racist inside and make it worse for our current issue.
        About their service i agree they are sucks sometimes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • For those who said is auntie’s fault can GTFO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • Seriously, please do go and live in Taliban nation thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Taliban Nation on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:15 pm

What we say, they want to care…
          What we wear, they want to care…

This country is becoming Taliban Nation

• OMG…pity the Rela guy eat “Dead cat” …The root cause was the loose control by jpj.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • The problem is hudud law(disguise as Dress Code), ask us to cover this cover that, expose kepala lutut also cannot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
  • pontiac on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:43 pm

ya.
    that terresa kok memang tadak isu. small matter only. just follow the dress code. every gov department have the same dress code.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 59
    • alldisc on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:36 pm

ah soh tu sbnrnya patut guard suruh balik je.. tukar pakaian.

memang kurang hajar. tak belajar sivik ke? nyonya tu pegi jpj mungkin 3 tahun sekali. dari 1,000 hari tu… takde siapa nak larang dia nak pakai skirt pendek. cuma sekali tu je. no big deal.

saja je org cina nak cari salah kerajaan. benda ni tak patut viral. there is no point.

belaajr perkataan harmoni dan ertinya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 71
      • What do you mean there is no point ? what century are we staying in now? Such thing is a disgrace to the nation and a joke to the world if people from overseas read it. Is her dress code very revealing? She is not wearing a mini skirt or bikini going into the JPJ office. Forcing someone to wear a sarong before they will be service? Seriously…that’s stupid man. If this kind of thing goes unreported they will continue to do what they want and think they can ask anyone to do anything they like. This is a civilised world we are staying in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 23
        • hisyam on Jun 10, 2015 at 7:29 pm

yea you might go to interview with t shirt and track suit if you want. if that ah so can wear which she wants, we also can wear all sort of dress for entering pool. this is modern world is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 26
          • yikes on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Yes, you can but are you comfortable wearing sarong for a swim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Rinnegan on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:00 pm

@BL, if you bother to read the sign above, and if you had actually went to any government offices, you’d realized by now that there is a dress code. For instance, there is even a dress code to go to a funeral, office dinner, etc etc. The way I see it, that RELA guy is actually trying to help her by giving her a sarong to wear TEMPORARILY. He could, of course, play by the books and asked that nyonya to go home and put on appropriate dress code. As it turns out to be, that nyonya cannot stand the treatment and a fuss out of it! This is the same attitude of the chinese at China whereas if you notice, they won’t help anyone if any accident happen. Why? To avoid any troubles that may pop up later. Same case as this RELA, he’s trying to help but somehow the marvels of modern communication (and some @$$holes) painted him as the villain. Pity him!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
          • Who painted him as the villain? It’s your beloved Gov, duh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • kl fella on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:52 pm

racist detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Peter on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:30 pm

“benda ni tak patut viral”

yalah, tutup ini tutup sana, paling pandai tutup malu!
        Apa jadi pun ikut arahan saja, tu budaya.
        “Bersyukurrrr”

and suddenly some racists call me racist! yea … bro … giv me 5!

• Orang bodoh only just bow…… Slipper also cannot? What if the person is poor?

• andas on Jun 18, 2015 at 2:22 pm

aiya.. nowadays still got msian cant afford a shoes ka? whats the problem??? just go there with ur slippers and talk nicely to the officer in charge la.. these are people not robot.. still can nego la if u approach them the good way..

• Ibrahim on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:01 pm

No! Even the official dress code was wrong, the women hand, face and eyes should be cover up, even a cm of meat cannot be expose in the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 69
  • JPJ quake on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Recently government blame foreigners went naked on Gunung KK, upset the earth god and causing earth quake….

Ladies! for the god sake, please wear properly or else JPJ will collapse and you got no where to pay road tax!

The RELA saved our tax-paying palace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
    • Corrected on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:52 pm

if like that better let it collapse no need to pay roadtax that’s even better. everyone happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Muhafaz on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:11 pm

takkan seliper pn tak boleh pakai? teruk sangat camni. hebat sangat ke dia? org dtg klinik, hospital pakai seliper je. takde la pulak letak syarat kena pakai kasut ke. bangunan kerajaan jugak tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Dante on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

why la JPJ apologise and then blame RELA…they should stand behind those dress code..i once go JPJ wearing 3quarter pants and fipper sandals oso kena sound one but i aint even mad coz i didnt saw they dress code poster on the way in…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • OMG…Come on, the dresscode policy apply to their staff only…not visitor loh…I wear slipper to JPJ, but no kena halau pun…tiu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • thedarkside on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:57 am

the dresscode policy says TATACARA PAKAIAN PELAWAT. if you dont understand what PELAWAT means, please google it. it applies for all Govt dept, agencies as instructed by the KSN. but enforcing the policy is really up them actually.

• Smokey on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:20 pm

U need to differentiate the formal apparel between a male and female dude

For a guy of coz it’s long pants and shoes la

• 1malaysia on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:22 pm

our gov dress code is basically based on religion need, this is the problem that our country face, religion always mixed with politic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
    • mrbmw on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Its’ not about religion. Its about polite and eastern cultures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
      • tinmilo on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:05 pm

And the lady wasn’t wearing polite enough?
        which part of eastern culture would say she wore not appropriately? Enlighten me.

The outside world is laughing hard as we speak…
        Stupid JPJ makes us the laughing stock of the world now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
        • Rinnegan on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:05 pm

@tinmilo, which outside world were laughing? The ones that stripped naked on Mount Kinabalu? Feel free to join them if you want. Of course, you have to surrender your passport and citizenship. Take a class from that Alvivi guy, you’re starting to sound like him,…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • Alvin Tan on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:25 pm

You sound like a butthurt Bak Kut Teh hater

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • you know nothing!

• shasha on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:14 pm

wrong. if according to religion, she would have been shown tudung. indians also wear sarongs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • I was there when this happened last Monday….the rela was a she not HE…the rela even requested the sarung to be folded before return returning…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • after this, those who does not follow the dress code should not be entertained. easy. go back and change your clothes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • OMG…Newspaper said that the dresscode policy apply to their staff…not visitor loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • tanpanama on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:42 pm

rakyat Malaysia tapi tak boleh baca Bahasa Malaysia ka? Memalukan betul..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
        • kalak on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:40 am

U tahu baca Bahasa Cina ka? Hahaha…

• frossonice on Jun 11, 2015 at 9:51 am

He don’t have too. Chinese Language is not the official language here.

Bahasa Malaysia is. Deal with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • comeonlah on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:21 am

Citizen of the world use English. Close minded citizen if malaysia, use your BM. Majulah malaysia.

• Whynot on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:16 pm

It applied to all visitors! Not just staffs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • mason_ on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Jpj thought we driver like to visit them by enforcing Both car owner to present while transfers name..if jpj so busy won’t entertain if us dont comply the dress code then just change the policy ..I am just another working class don’t has the time to entertain jpj too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • IMHO, the RELA guy was doing his job

He want to enforce the dress code but at the same time help the aunty.

No cover no service. So he gave the sarong to cover and JPJ attended to the aunty.

The aunty can kena halau n asked to be changed clothes if the dress code to be enforced. Because of the sarong, the aunty did not has to do this.

sama2 untung

bad luck RELA guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • My anak Malaysia on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

But the guard would not stop a person from entering even though there is a signboard. So to say that the RELA guard acted on his own is not that credible. Probably the inside people told him to carry out the orders. May be that RELA guard was promised something; money, position, something bright for his future but he has to obey orders. Nobody is that good. So lu nak tipu sapa ? Unless it is an education institution. Even that the guard has to complain to the lecturers or the disciplinary committee. He or she would not dare to tell that person to wear the dress code. Unless he or she is gila and thinks he or she is the leader and has all the authority to enforce the orders. In that case, he has to be referred to the psychiatric ward.

• shasha on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:18 pm

go to genting casino also got dresscode. the towkays’ drivers also have to follow dresscode if want to get in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Tak Rela on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:20 pm

I am just waiting for Mr Rela to be awarded Datukship. Since sub-consciously we condone idiotic behaviours.

• JPJ should not apologise. This is not about religion, it’s just about being courteous, decently dressed, respect and follow guidelines or policies being imposed. To those who condemn, I hope that people who attends your wedding / funeral rites will be inadequately dressed to make you realise how important dresscode is to a place / event. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • kl fella on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:56 pm

as you mentioned, is the JPJ place comparable to a wedding or funeral? it’s just an office, to serve the public.. pandai cakap banyak tak tau differentiate

• Sparcov on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Aren’t the Aunty mentioned

Without decent attire, they will not process her document?

RELA process document too for car registration too?

JPJ own staff don’t admin and blame to RELA. Good?

• Samad Jain on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:33 pm

the RELA guard cannot tahan his own “nafsu” after seeing the auntie’s leg…….so he posted the dress code….

or

the RELA guard was forced secara (tak-)rela to take take the blame….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • MrDDR on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:59 pm

JPJ is stupid. Very stupid…

They should stand behind those dress code. Why need to apologize and blame others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Melayu on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:45 am

Yes, no need to apologize and continue to blame…

• tinmilo on Jun 11, 2015 at 9:29 am

Nothing wrong with standing behind those dress code.
      They are apologising for the sarong… Not the dress code.
      Because the dress code says dress politely and tidy, but giving her the sarong make hers look worse and doesn’t quite solve the issue. The dress code should not just be about covering up, but dress for the occasion. Clearly, a sarong is not something you will wear to attend official business in the government permise, so the sarong would not have rectified her dress code.
      In my view, the JPJ or the rela guard or who ever, focus too much about “covering up” rather then dress accordingly for the occasion. In that sense, this has caused much debate because “covering up” vs dress for occasion can be quite a different thing, the formal being perceived as somewhat religion biased.

• andas on Jun 18, 2015 at 2:23 pm

yes they have done that.. but to force someone to wear sarong is another issue.. usually, they will ask u to go back and come later with suitable dress..

• Krasher on Jun 10, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Maybe all jpj staff should just cover their head and see nothing, problem solved.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:00 pm

This is Malaysian way of diverting blame to small fry. There are so many JPJ officers there at that time. If the guard made the mistake, then the officers should immediately ask the women to take off the sarong & apologize. The fact that JPJ officers served the women without saying a word means they are all guilty of supporting the ridiculous attire guidelines. Next time if i get pulled over by JPJ, i will tell them, my 5yr old son drove while i slept in car & i’m not aware of him driving after dozing off at the rest stop.

• albag on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:41 pm

there goes the blame game… typical gov ego keeps blaming others and not their fault… arsehole

• D.I.Y. on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:05 pm

all these Minister are Taichi master… when they found a hole they will keep turning the public round and round, normal day they won’t only when thing make it big

• Albert on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:08 pm

The bladdy General Manager of JPJ should be hauled up,and be demoted.Shambolic.Datuk Seri Liow,be a man.Demote the bugger for making fun of Ms Tan.
    Why do you allow the stupid over pious hudud rela guard the POWER to force poor Ms Tan to put on the oversized sarong?
    Tomorrow,if unchecked ladies have to be covered HEAD AND SHOULDERS.Guys,beware…the SUPERMAN suit is coming on you.
    You simply cannot get a stupid guard and play religion on the public.

• Stupid Albert on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Stupid Albert..clearly Ms Tan never bother to follow instruction, then she ask help from Rela to overcome her problem, so the Rela give her solution and she took it. The sarong will not stays on her if she doesnt put it on properly. Then after she got what she want, she start making noise as if she was the victim. She back stabbing that Rela after getting help simply because she being so cheap to spend money to go back home and get a change..

Stupid Albert..this is a typical type people (not only in Malaysia) who never appreciate help of others but always crying out loud as if they are the victim..Blame others on the problem that they themselves creates.

DS Liow should get the facts right before asked JPJ to apologies..If you start defending people who breaks the law then you are foolish and stupid.

You simply cannot defend a criminal who play innocent in the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • No, you are the one who is STUPID on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

It seemed that you’re using false logic in criminalising the lady by equating her to criminals such as rapist, robbers and killers. What law does she breaks in the first place? Mind you the “dress code” stipulated by JPJ is not even debated or passed in parliament and have no statutory legal standing. If that’s the case, she would have been arrested by the police, trail and put in jail. Do we see that happen? Furthermore, the poster reads “dinasihatkan”, not “diwajibkan”, get your BM right before blasting out your ignorant words here.

She’s just another victim of the increasingly over-zealous government agencies who are getting more and more “TALIBANISED” by the day. Luckily, we still have right minded Malay like Rafidah Aziz and PAS MP like Khalid Samad who uses common sense in their argument. As common sense goes, JPJ should focus on improving on their efficiency and services rather than being a zealous pervert prying on an auntie’s skirt.

She is not a criminal, if you think she is, go call up your PDRM who is cekap, bersih and amanah to arrest her. And MUST CHARGE HER IN COURT BECAUSE SHE IS A CRIMINAL!

• Albert on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:13 pm

By the way,if you have just taken an overdose of VIAGRA accidently,and so happen to be at this stupid Rela infested JPJ,perhaps the rela will buy you a condom foc.
    Or since ‘ngang” already,the rela can ……….(you fill in the blanks)

• BLT_Club on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Senang aje nak servis pakai jubah la…

• JPJ to update poster? on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:37 pm

If you notice the poster, it mention:

pelawat dinasihatkan…… but on bottom say kalau tidak mematuhi ….tidak akan dibenarkan masuk?

This should not be ‘dinasihatkan’, should be AMARAN KEPADA PELAWAT: MESTI MEMATUHI….

Is like saying, you are encourage to attend the meeting, but attendance for meeting is compulsory.

By the way, looking at the instruction of the poster, yes the RELA guard is acted not per instruction. He should not let the person entering in the first place.

• Nicholas on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:03 pm

This is not a matter of religion, but a close related one. Most Muslim upbringing is more conservative compare to others hence they view it as indecent, while others view it as “casual”. Nothing wrong with both of the view, just like the case with that blue/black, Gold/white dress… People just don’t always have the same view as other, just that respect for other people view is more important that winning own view

• zaizaizai on Jun 11, 2015 at 9:33 am

Whereas the matter of which the RELA personnel is acting out of her/his volition is still remained unanswered, the dress code requirement still remains at all government agencies, e.g. JPJ, Immigration, NRD etc, which are standard if you are attending any formal events anyways, mutatis mutandis.

On the question of whether it is proper or not, it depends on your set of moral values. Notwithstanding, if you want government services, play by their rules, not yours.

Just my two cents.

• Stupid damn country is turning to Taliban nation.

• Anak malaysia on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:32 am

Apa nak bising2, ada peraturan x nak follow, lepas tu nak salahkan orang lain. Bila tegur, x nak terima. Sikit2 pikir racis. Sikit2 pikir agama. jgn timbulkan isu agama atau perkauman kat sini. Kerajaan pulak x ada prinsip, sikit2 nak mintak maaf, macammana orang nak respek agensi kerajaan. Kalau x nak ikut peraturan, boleh duduk dalam hutan, berkawan dengan haiwan. Admin, minta tolong block komen yg berbau perkauman dan agama, utk kebaikan laman web paultan kesayangan ramai ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Admin on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:33 pm

You should change your name to “Anak Taliban”

• tinmilo on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:33 am

I think in Paultan’s website, we all agree to disagree. We are mature enough to debate and express our comments. At the end of the day, we still love each other very much and nothing really personal.
      Internet censorship is not Paultan’s way. Because if they do, I won’t be here.