JPJ officers nabbed for smuggling out road tax stickers and issuing forged grants for cloned cars

roadtaxshj 093

We recently read about the Road Transport Department (JPJ) busting cloned car syndicates and devising new systems to stop people from selling cloned cars. Now, the Negeri Sembilan Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) has detained JPJ insiders for aiding the cloned car trade.

Bernama reports that over 10,000 blank road tax stickers were smuggled out of JPJ in Negeri Sembilan between November 2014 and March 2015. The state MACC also discovered that 1,500 car grants had been issued without authorisation, for cloned and smuggled cars.

Two JPJ officers were among four individuals detained by MACC in separate Ops Photostat raids last week. The three men and one woman, aged between their early 20s and 30s, included middlemen. Investigations revealed that the syndicate had sold the original road tax stickers for between RM450 and RM800 each, and forged car grants for up to RM1,200 each.

The state’s MACC director Shaharom Nizam Abd Manap confirmed the report. He added that investigations were continuing, and urged owners of cloned cars to surrender their vehicles voluntarily to the MACC’s office to avoid action. To date, 16 smuggled vehicles (believed to be scrap cars from a neighbouring country) have been seized and 11 suspects arrested in operations conducted last month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gargantia on May 07, 2015 at 10:35 am

Good go catch all the big big boss… and hope the small flies won’t be stupid enough and come out to protect their boss !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on May 07, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Gargantia, this is just the tip of the iceberg.
      The JPJ top brass should be suspended,those guilty of involvement should go to jail for at least 10 years.
      90 percent of cases ,I reckon are covered up for donkey years.
      Maybe,the “kopi duit” isn’t enough ,so they decided to burn bridges,and organise a so called “RAID”,wayang saja.
      Just go to any JPJ branch.Look at their happy faces.
      Why? Runners give VOLUPTIOUS KOPI DUIT each month for favors.
      Even a year three primary school kid knows wtf…is happening at JP…SHAMBOLIC RECALCITRANT IDIOTIC SHIT HOLE BASTARDS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • kl fella on May 07, 2015 at 11:00 am

doubt those are the big bosses, more like scapegoats..

• Kancil Hybrid on May 07, 2015 at 11:05 am

Eh, apasal nak tangkap yang kecik2 pulak?

Yang besar2 boleh makan besar2, tak ada siapa kacau, takkan yang kecik2 nak makan sikit2 pun tak boleh?

• trollmaster3000 on May 07, 2015 at 10:11 pm

big boss sume tak dapat bahagian diorang.. tuh pasal larr kena tangkap.. pastuh big boss plak takeover.. and then wat bisnes macam biasa..

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on May 07, 2015 at 11:10 am

can i try?i a little bit good in English only!but i am good in hokkien and love the car always. i can be a good car tester

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • why is there a market for cloned cars?
    because it is worth it.

why is it worth it?
    because cars prices in msia is not worth it!

solution to this issue?
    reduce tax and there will be no market for cloned cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Madani on May 07, 2015 at 3:57 pm

The solution would be close down Proton but sure cronies will not allow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Maslan on May 07, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Are Inspira and Accordana considered cloned cars?

• Whynot on May 12, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Is all about cronies and is lavish NEP plan for a selfish gains! Go xx BN! Otherwise we would be driving a safer car with VSC and many other safety features instead of cutting corner on a milo tin cans body and without all those safety features risking right now!

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Small fries again.

We all knew it has to be an inside job.

So now there has to be at least 1500 questionable cars roaming our roads.

So how would a would be buyer be able to tell the difference? Will these grants and cars be blacklisted?

And If I am one of these owners, why would I even contemplate surrendering the car? Just going to scrap it and sell for parts. Engine and gearboxes still fetch a pretty penny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • leonardo on May 07, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Why am I not surprised?

• HIFZAN ARIFF on May 07, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Stupid bastard those JPJ rascal..bagi anak bini makan duit haram … patut la bodo keturunan depa nih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • MeToo on May 07, 2015 at 12:44 pm

I thought I read a clone car report last week with JPJ claiming that NONE of their people are involved?!

• Congrats MACC. I hope you continue until the whole syndicate is clamped down. I’m sure somebody from other agencies might also be involved, and might involve some bigwigs as well.

Gotta catch ’em all.

• heavy punishmnt shud b given. the top bosses shud also b responsible.

• sammy on May 07, 2015 at 4:35 pm

I went to JPJ the other day to do transfer…
    My goodness all the numbers were being pressed by those group of runners. They were holding all the tickets and openly exchanging with each other because their “client” is not yet here…
    I was sooo frustrated queing…
    What is JPJ going to do about it? Is happening right at their own premise infront of the officers. All corrupt to the core!.

• transformer on May 07, 2015 at 8:40 pm

I hope Gov will end/expire old format driving license. It’s too easy to buy a fake driving license(old format). These unlicensed driver are creating problem to other road user such as road hogging, unskilled parking and many more!

• old dog on May 07, 2015 at 11:41 pm

are we surprise?
    nah, everything from the G sure got ghost to curi out…from SPM paper to this sticker…what you expect from robberland?

• calvin on May 08, 2015 at 10:52 am

A very sick and fail government!

The one doing all the dirty stuff is the government rep, the one suppose to up held the system but fail is the government rep, the one profited assuming to be the government rep. But for a seriously screw government in Malaysia, RAKYAT is the one paying for 100% for all the wrongs the government is doing!!! Even with all the original documents provided by JPJ, how dare the MACC threatening the general public for buying car administered by the government rep???? how dare they confiscate said car when they are the source of the problems.

The same apply to the kedah cases, they are blaming RAKYAT for buying cheap car???? they are either moron or super moron to make such comment, buying affordable car is inspiration of all RAKYAT, screw government, screw government rep, screw country. RAKYAT take in all the shit….

• Samad Jain on May 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

regardless whether it is a small fry, big fish, big shark…….All in jpj tak-boleh-pakai……

Boss tak guna, the staffs oso tak guna…..

Bapak borek, anak rintik, they say….

• karipap panas on May 08, 2015 at 11:35 pm

padan muka those whom voted for BN.
    Now they got screwed hard and deep.

• john eyre on May 10, 2015 at 1:09 am

the only reason all this roadtax printing and car grant things are happening is because the stupid gov that is putting super high taxes and the dear ‘ rakyat’ have to resort to this kinda things. not our fault it’s your fault