VIDEO: Taxi drivers from PERS1M protest against GrabCar, Uber; threaten road-blocking demonstrations

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Taxi drivers from the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) have held a protest outside the MyTeksi headquarters in Petaling Jaya this morning, demanding for the suspension of app-based transport services like Uber and MyTeksi-owned GrabCar, which they say are taking away their livelihoods by undercutting their meter rates through underhanded means.

“We express regret and disappointment towards the lack of concern on behalf of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) in protecting our industry and safeguarding our economy,” said deputy chairman Kamarudin Mohd Hussain. “Regarding the issue of GrabCar, Uber and other such services, it has always told us that [the matter] was beyond its control. It cannot do anything to protect taxi drivers.”

Kamarudin added that the PERS1M threatened to organise a larger demonstration that will involve blocking major roads around the city – such as the areas around the Bukit Bintang, Dataran Merdeka, KL Sentral and Jalan Sultan Ismail – if SPAD or other relevant authorities fail to address the issue.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 5

“We’re fine with GrabCar operating. But it has to go through legal means – the service must be operated by qualified taxi drivers; they cannot simply use personal vehicles, or those that are not permitted,” he said. “That’s what we are not okay with. They are taking away our income, that’s the problem.”

The secretary of the Subang Jaya Taxi Drivers’ Association (PPTSJ), Mathavan Subramaniam, said that taxi drivers are subjected to many rules and regulations, which GrabCar drivers with regular non-marked vehicles can get away with.

“Every taxi driver has to undergo a health examination before being eligible for a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence that is required to drive a taxi,” he said. “GrabCar is not subjected to such a ruling; in addition, its vehicles are not inspected by Puspakom. This is a violation of SPAD rules, yet GrabCar is still in operation.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 2

“[GrabCar] drivers have also been blacklisted and are not eligible to drive taxis. They do not hold a PSV licence and have been barred by SPAD for a number of reasons, including inconsiderate behaviour. [The authorities] cannot perform checks on these drivers if there are accidents or any other incidents, because the car have either not been registered under their name, or has been registered under the government.”

One of the taxi drivers present, who would only be known as David, agreed with Mathavan’s statements. “Every day, we have to pay RM58 [the taxi rental rate]. There are no off days. But if you drive a GrabCar or Uber vehicle, you can relax your mind. You don’t have to pay tax, you don’t have to pay for the meter, you don’t have to go for inspection, you don’t need a PSV licence.

“We pass through everything. The police catch us, everything is gone. But when you drive a GrabCar vehicle, [the authorities] don’t know if it’s a [PSV].”

During the protest, PPTSJ submitted a memorandum to MyTeksi, announcing that its drivers will stop using the application for five days and will remove all stickers advertising it. It said that should the company fail to suspend its GrabCar service, it will launch a campaign to boycott the application.

“We express disappointment towards the betrayal of MyTeksi, to whom we have given our trust and support for all this time,” the memorandum stated. “We have discovered that MyTeksi has been using loopholes in the law to destroy our careers when we have been responsible for promoting and introducing the MyTeksi application to our passengers all this while.”

Uber is reportedly in discussions with local transport regulators to legalise its operations, although the progress of these deliberations is unclear. So far, there have already been two reported taxi driver protests; one by PERS1M, the other by the Metered Taxi Drivers’ Action Committee (BBPTB). The full statement by Kamarudin has been included below.

Statement by PERS1M in full

We at PERS1M will always provide our full support to any party that defends the welfare and rights of taxi drivers.

We express regret and disappointment towards the lack of concern on behalf of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) in protecting our industry and safeguarding our economy. This is despite the government ordering SPAD to immediately form the necessary steps to ensure our economy during the Janji Ditepati handover of 1,000 individual taxi licences, launched by the prime minister.

Until today, we have found the SPAD has been irresponsible and has FAILED to perform the task that has been handed to them by the government. As such, we plead to the leadership of prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak to reshuffle all SPAD officers, as they are ill-informed and inexperienced with regards to the taxi industry, and in fact their arrogant attitude that they have shown is destroying our industry still further.

With the problems we are currently facing, we hope the government will not blame us when we no longer provide support to the government, as our welfare and economy have been severely affected.

We do not wish to go against the government, we respect the government very much. In fact, we are ready to heed the call of the government to upgrade the quality of taxi services in Malaysia. But how are we able to do this if our welfare and economy are not protected?

MESSAGE TO TAXI DRIVERS

I plead to the entire community of taxi drivers to unite our industry that is deteriorating from the apathetic attitude towards the problems of the industry.

We should unite and fight to keep our profession going. Our industry is like our country. Are we going to just do nothing and watch our country be destroyed? Let’s unite.

I imagine that we can hold several large-scale demonstrations in a number of locations around the city in the same day. It’s not impossible that with our might and the awareness that we have bestowed amongst ourselves, we will be able to retrieve the promises that have been given by the government to us. We do not want to go against the government; we only want our rights to be returned to us.

MESSAGE TO THE COMMUNITY AND DRIVERS WHO ARE INVOLVED

Please use services that are legal and do not put yourself or your family in danger as the risk of crime is very high.

To those who wish to be or are already involved in such illegal services, please stop your actions, as the risk of being taken action under the law is very high.

Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association
Kamarudin bin Mohd Hussain
Deputy Chairman, PERS1M

UPDATE: MyTeksi has issued a statement regarding this matter, included in full below.

Official statement from MyTeksi

MyTeksi was founded in Malaysia with the social mission to create a safer and more efficient taxi industry. We do this by creating safe and secure commuting experiences for passengers and improving livelihoods for drivers.

Driver engagement remains as one of our top priorities for MyTeksi. We run various driver-related initiatives because their welfare is our concern. We recently launched the all-new Elite Driver programme whereby MyTeksi invested RM4.5 million into a driver welfare fund. Participants of the programme enjoy up to RM10,000 worth of benefits each including insurance coverage, financial incentives as well as crisis support.

MyTeksi’s initiatives also extend to our drivers’ families. Last year, the Rides To Books campaign saw MyTeksi donating RM25,000 worth of Popular book vouchers to 500 of our top drivers. Other smaller initatives include language classes and free health checks.

Most importantly, feedback from drivers have been positive with many attest that their incomes have increased by up to 300 per cent since joining MyTeksi. Our latest in-house study involving 619 drivers regionally to measure the impact of MyTeksi on the incomes and quality of life of taxi drivers who use the MyTeksi app showed that
· 78% said it increases number of bookings.
· 68% said it increases safety
· 64% said it improves their job security

MyTeksi will continue to implement driver-friendly initiatives and engage our drivers in an open and friendly manner.

GrabCar is a car with driver service that shares the same platform as the MyTeksi app. GrabCar complements MyTeksi current service. We look forward to continuing productive conversations and working together with the authorities.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh. on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Lagi buat rasa tak nak selamatkan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 0
    • oligarch on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Competition is bad? What a joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
      • Message to JAKIM - Sex Capital Of Asia on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Hello Jakim, your teksi drivers in Malaysia are promoting Malaysia as a sex capital of Asia. Every male passenger who enters any cab, whether he is local of foreigner tourist, always get asked whether the passenger want to go spa or visit brothels.

Jakim, 9 out of 10 teksi drivers are involved in this practice. We all know they get commission from these brothels and massage parlours for every customer they bring in. Infact, the teksi drivers now are enticing most male passengers to visit such places.

So, Jakim, please check these people. They berani to go against Uber and others but deep inside they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia and doing injustice not only to Malaysia but to women in Malaysia also.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Even MAS 6000 staff have to go, you think who you are to be protected while you can’t provide any quality services? Puih!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
          • Albert on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:38 pm

In Bolehland…..the badword is PERLINDUNGAN.
            Protong……….massive perlindungan
            Express buses….perlindungan
            Certain LAZY people….perlindungan
            Taxis………….perlindungan
            Bad politicians…perlindungan
            But rakyat……..TANPA PERLINDUNGAN with bladdy GST
            Its time to get rid of these bunch of PERLINDUNGAN infested can of worms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
          • MBBS for BOTH Kids on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:26 am

These pariahs, instead of working harder, want to disrupt our economy. Pariah betul.

Btw, don’t be fooled they are poor. I got a buddy whose father just a teksi driver. He managed to send both his children to do medicine in the UK. that is about RM2 million for both of them. Wife not working.

So, to these teksi drivers, stop lying about your income and under declaring to LHDN

• RM100 BB to KLCC on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:29 am

aiyaa, so many complaints in the newspaper. Even from BB to KLCC also Mat Salleh kena RM100

• Briton Charged RM450 on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:31 am

Briton charged RM450 for 10km trip, sparking furore over cheating cabbies

PETALING JAYA: An English tourist was charged RM450 for a taxi ride from KL Sentral to the Suria KLCC shopping centre, a distance of less than 10km.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the tourist paid the fare before lodging a report against the driver.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said they were investigating and would take action against the taxi driver and the operator.

He said the taxi driver was believed to have threatened the tourist into paying the fee.

“Taxi drivers are our frontliners and ambassadors of the country as they interact with tourists daily.

“We are taking this seriously as it affects the country’s image,” he said after opening SPAD’s new enforcement centre at the Persada Plus here yesterday.

He said SPAD was conducting a study to regulate the pricing mechanism for the taxi coupon system.

“We want feedback from taxi drivers and passengers before proceeding with the study,” he said, adding that there were mixed views about the coupon system.

While some supported it, he said, others saw it as restrictive.

“Some drivers said they would be unable to take passengers if they were not part of the taxi coupon system, while others felt it restrict-ed their movement,” he said, adding that the system was implemented privately by mall and airport operators.

SPAD also announced the purchase of 17 new vehicles, which will be used by its enforcement officers nationwide.

Syed Hamid said the highest number of reports SPAD received were against illegal taxi touts, followed by complaints about overloaded lorries on the road.

In the 3,845 operations conducted since Jan 2010, 74 individuals and operators have been taken to court. Source: The Star Online

• jakim on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:21 pm

lololol..thats one way to stay off topic JAKIM? really?

• Huh?? Honestly I’ve never come across any taxi driver suggesting as such… Never have I come across such practice… From me it’s 0/10

• Brickfields to KLCC - RM120 on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Hello, I am a tourist. I am writing from Britain. A fellow Malaysian friend forwarded this link to me to comment.

2 weeks ago I was in Malaysia. I stopped a cab in KL Sentral. I headed to KLCC. The journey took me 1 hour but there was no jam. The meter showed RM120.

Can the Malaysian cab drivers please stop cheating we white people please?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 9
        • spock1976 (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:06 pm

RM120 is way too much, that’s daylight robbery. If u were from KL Sentral, you should have used the coupon system which gives u a flat rate. So sorry to hear this sir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
          • Anjing Anjing PERS1M on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Bulan Puasa pun mahu ugut rakyat dan Perdana Menteri? Tak dosa kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • cyc85 on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:10 pm

1 hour can drive you to KLIA from KL Sentral. KLCC max 20 minutes drive if no jam. Your 40 minutes has been stolen by the taxi driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • *us white people

• Anjing Anjing PERS1M on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:34 pm

I ask the anjing waiting outside Empire Subang Jaya how much from Empire to Mid Valley Megamall. He say RM80. I am Malaysian somemore.

I walk to KTM. Straight train for about few ringgit to Mid Valley Mega Mall

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
        • KLCC to KL sentral Rm120???? What the hell is going on? If we take LRT, the fare is just Rm5-6.00

• i will smash all the taxis if any of them road blocking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Add-A-Comment on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:49 am

I don’t like Taxi Driver…but I am highly suspecting that you are not from Britain….

• MBBS for BOTH Kids on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:27 am

I am suspecting you are a PERS1M driver

• Albert on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:37 pm

In Bolehland…..the badword is PERLINDUNGAN.
        Protong……….massive perlindungan
        Express buses….perlindungan
        Certain LAZY people….perlindungan
        Taxis………….perlindungan
        Bad politicians…perlindungan
        But rakyat……..TANPA PERLINDUNGAN with bladdy GST
        Its time to get rid of these bunch of PERLINDUNGAN infested can of worms.

• Open Letter to Trafik Polis Fuad on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:56 pm

this boycott or threat will cause mayhem and compplete shutdown of KL. tuan Fuad, tuan punya bola sudah kecut sekarang?

Gangster teksi sudah ugut tenteraman KL. Bila IGP dan Fuad akan arrest orang yang ugut keselamatan rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:42 pm

This threat is the same like putting a bomb in LRT. It will cripple the whole KL.

IGP got no balls. He should arrest this bodoh tonight itself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Uber can stop this problem by hiring those taxi driver as Uber driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
      • 4G63T DSM on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:13 pm

If UBER hires these losers, I wont use UBER.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
      • Anon L on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Doesn’t work , coz they can’t get to off “meter” , nor their car is nicer ? Nor will they call when they arrive ?

• losers on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:57 pm

lol bunch of losers whining for tongkat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
    • Ini Drama UMNO la on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Don’t worry, eventually these drivers will get their way. you must see who really owns all their permits. It is a few fat UMNO big guns. Each teksi permit cost more than even PEKEMA AP permit. Infact some say, each teksi permit cost over RM100k.

These few UMNO fat boys own all the teksi permits and as we know, these UMNO fatcats will win. This is just drama to show how Uber is taking their livelihood. These handful of 4 or 5 UMNO individuals got a greater plan. they will eventually kill Uber and all app based drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • jakim on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:24 pm

yeah yeah we heard that before..why dont you Umno for global warming also while you’re at it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Gargantia on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Taxi driver feel treated by Uber services.

This won’t happen if they treat customers better at the first place example “use meter” !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Pro-Tongkat on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:07 pm

They want tongkat like Proton mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Instead of demo and blockades, go clean your cabbies, wash and iron your uniform, stop smoking in the cabbies, use the aircon with cool setting at medium at least, be courteous, use the meters and drive like a sane man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 0
    • PERS1M suka Panties on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:44 pm

On behalf of all women in Malaysia, I appeal to the Government to revoke all their licences. Every woman or lady has to endure trauma when they enter these cabs daily as the cab driver talks dirty sexual things.

Everyday, I wear skirts that covers my knees. But when I sit in the cabs, my skirt will go up. No choice about that. Everyday, I catch cab drivers trying to peep into my panties and see inside my skirt.

Can SPAD please protect us from these perverts? Bulan Puasa pun nak buat trouble ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • spock1976 (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:07 pm

How about sitting right behind the driver?

• Anjing Anjing PERS1M on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:31 pm

they are all perverts la. Sure put pinhole spycam to see what colour she wear.

• ShakZ on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:39 am

Exactly right? Or sit in front.

• protonsucks on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:31 am

im against this PERS1M, how bout u dont wear a skirt then ? if u wanna wear revealing clothes, dont blame it if ppl start looking at u .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
        • Lololol on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:37 am

Cannot have that kind of perspective la. Its like saying if you dont like high property pricing, then dont buy house lo….. if you dont want to be robbed, dont earn so much money lo, if you dont like govt, then leave country lo….

• Kuat Korek Hidung on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Maybe they should stop digging their noses and stop smoking. Every cab I go into, the cab driver is constantly digging their nose. There are some use 2 ten sen coins and cabut their janggut while at traffic lights and while passangers are inside.

So filthy and disgusting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Korean Fan on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:03 am

Didn’t they tell you that the favourite pass time when driving is digging nose? Taxi driver pun human ma

• isuzuki on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Yes yes, please learn from the civilized country – France…..when they protest against Uber..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:13 pm

france a bit too much i think..that full scale riot not demo burn car summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • “Say NO to progress!!!! We don’t want progress, we want not only stay put but prefer going backwards!!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Open Letter to Trafik Polis Fuad on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:58 pm

this boycott or threat will cause mayhem and compplete shutdown of KL. tuan Fuad, tuan punya bola sudah kecut sekarang?

Gangster teksi sudah ugut tenteraman KL. Bila IGP dan Fuad akan arrest orang yang ugut keselamatan rakyat?

• Lololol on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:05 pm

My O my, when customers prefer to go to better services, they are whining talking alot of kok on regulations. A majority of the teksi’s DO NOT FOLLOW REGULATIONS in the first place. Not using meters, stopping as and when they please, making illegal U-Turns, Running through red lights, and also being road bullies.

Serve them right and let them face the consequences. Until now they do not realise that all this is because of their own doing. PERS1M, Stop blaming your problems because other services are better than yours. These services are in demand because, yours are just plain rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 0
    • Anjing Anjing PERS1M on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:36 pm

I take teksi everyday also I get cheated daily. Always say meter rosak.

Most modify meter to run faster.

• LOL. You don’t see KFC saying “Get rid of McDonald’s” do you? What a bunch of whiners

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Buchstaben on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:45 am

from my experience with them, germans never claim themselves hardworking but others. they are just pretty accurate and focus on doing things. blöde sau.

• Matchy on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:07 pm

I feel that they just mentioned why they should drive for GrabCar instead of driving regular taxi..lol…

• Guan Yin Maa on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:09 pm

If you are good, nobody will use uber, and uber wont exist in malaysia. Use your brain and think about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Dear taxi drivers,
    Don’t drive like you own the bloody roads, if you drive slow move to the bloody left lane, use the meter, use genuine spare parts and not some Cap Ayam brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • wowow on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Wanna know why people don’t use taxi and use Uber instead? Simple. MOST taxis suck. So instead of whining and complaining why not tell taxi drivers to pull up their socks and actually do something to improve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • Ultra2Disk on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:22 pm

You suppose to gang up and compete with them by changing yourself to better Taxi Drivers. Not against them…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Why are they look the same as those frequent protesters at Komtar? Are they from the same group?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • All Taxi Driver is PR Supporter on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:31 pm

I don’t know whether they are the same group or not. But every time I sit inside a taxi, 10 out of 10 drivers complaint about BN and praise PR…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • The question is are these really taxi driver or just the permit holder that does nothing but renting out the permit. And we all know which camp usually gets the permit.

• JB_KIA on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:28 pm

these faces explain why I need a private car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:28 pm

supremacy rears its face again.
    Soon race and religion will come into picture and protest, somehow Uber, Grab will be linked to ultra-kiasu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • jakim on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:26 pm

where u see supremacy? i only see a bunch of disgruntled taxi driver protesting..u see what u want to see bro.

• Samelooser on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:29 pm

PERS1M?

Does 1M stand for 1Malaysia?

If so, the only way of doing business that they know is getting protection not by competing. I guess that’s the bugis warrior’s way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Kenneth Fook on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:30 pm

This is a joke. With the service quality for cabs in Malaysia, these jokers needs competitions to fuel improvement on the taxi services here in Malaysia. Bunch of losers whining about inevitable competition. Yr taxi service sucks big time that is why ppl are switching. SO instead of having a lame demo, go clean that old cab of yours and start giving passengers more value for their money. And from the look of the pictures, most of them share similar traits like ipoh road gangster. It is no wonder ppl wont hop on to their cab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • drMpower on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:18 pm

u have no idea the crux of the problem isnt it?

go fulfill all the criteria and then you can talk about competition

whats wrong with applying all the requirements to drive a taxi anyway?

• ionlaw on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:32 pm

To all these taxi drivers… Go and become Uber driver…

• alldisc on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:06 pm

I agree with you. As the popular saying goes…if u can’t beat them, join them

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:32 pm

I’m happy to see this bunch of crooks go bust. Kena cheated so many times by taxi. They can keep on protesting 365 days. Can’t help if they have no brains to correct & better themselves. If they think other services are affecting taxi business, why don’t just quit driving taxi & join the other services?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Go and blame the Government cronies that make you pay the rental, inspection…etc.

Bodoh punya orang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • BNaik on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Stupid comment of this blog !!!

BN never ask them to do anything, BN care for Rakyat and help economic.

BN NEVER have any cronies in Govt. So shut up and go back to Penang PKTROOPERS !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
      • HeyStupid on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Urs is most stupid comment in this thread! Whole world knows abt bolehland. So shut up and accept thr fact noob!

• sudah la teksi driver.
    sepanjang aku naik teksi dari airport ke rumah tak pernah nya cas secara jujur. selalu overcharge. suh tambah ini la tambah itu la padahal kat airport aku dah tanye habis2 dah ape surcharge yg kena bayar. aku malas nak report sebab dengar kisah sedih korang cerita sepanjang perjalanan balik tu. kang lesen kene tarik takde keje pulak..

jadi kesimpulannye, bole belahhhhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Ninjaboy on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Kalau dari airport, beli kupon kat kaunter. Mana ada additional charge. Saya dah bertahun naik taxi dari airport

• Look at their faces, I don’t dare to get into their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Corrected on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:46 pm

bukan tak nak selamat kan, pandai pandai fikir lah kenapa ade alternative. your service like shiet, we gave you way too much chances to improve yourself. talk only action tarrak, take customer for granted.
    leave us no choice but to came up with alternative.
    LU PIKIR LAH SENDIRI !!!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Lol when I saw the picture of them at the top of this post I thought I was looking at a gang of gangsters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • help each other on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:48 pm

competition is good for the consumers, but it’s not really fair competition to begin with in the first place. as pointed out in the video, they are not really against the usage of these apps, i think their point is that they have higher operating cost because licensed taxis have to bear cost of inspections & licenses while ‘free lance’ drivers can switch on a app and find passengers. the usages of these apps can be allowed, but all taxis & cars should bear the same cost in terms of licensing/inspection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Lance on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:53 pm

How they have they cheek to say Uber or others don’t go thru Puspakom. I don’t feel safe at all sitting in a worn tires and poorly maintained Saga. They have to look at their OLD, SMELLY, DIRTY and super unpleasant Saga, Wira, Waja first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • WaiSiuPou on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Ever since Grab Car & Uber is here, I would never ever take a taxi anymore.

• therealmaserati on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:59 pm

With that kinda gangster looking faces, who would want to sit in their cars?

Go ahead block all the main roads in KL. See who can last longer.

I rather Uber than sit in these jokers taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Wee fuk yew on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:02 pm

malaysians have been screwed by uncouth taxi drivers all this while. Its time they get what they have sowed. Go get another job if its not worth being a taxi driver. We the public dont owe you Lot a living and neither should the government. Clean up your act and root out your greedy,foul mouth and lazy comrades before seeking sympathy for your cause.

• Bad experience on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:20 pm

When have customer, they choosy due to traffic jam, final destination too far in their own perception, insist flat rate, high rate for tourists, unkept interior.

When have competitor offering cleaner interior, better service n affordable rate, they start cry baby complaining, protest, boycott…

Imagine even call a taxi call centre cannot get a taxi from kl centre to pj during peak hours. Trying flag down taxi but was rejected with excuse traffic jam!

Never improve but only know keep complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Jo Yee on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Come on Taxi drivers whats the big deal , Overcharged with GST now and some more I’ve almost got RAPE while I was sitting on a regular ride to college. MAN !!!
    Rather Ban the Taxi drivers instead of those two AWESOME SERVICE

• “Taxi drivers from the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) have held a protest outside the MyTeksi headquarters in Petaling Jaya this morning”

wow protest in a private area?

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Pussies protesting. Up your standards then we shall see, otherwise still pussies.

• The Batmon on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Bunch of stupid people…
    Blocking my way to work…
    They could be driving a passenger and making cash right now for their family…instead they are blocking roads…making other’s life harder..in the end…they go back home with nothing on hand…
    KUDOS!!!

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Those are the same people that protested near Pavillion. They are the same ones refusing to use meter. Big embarrassment to the country, as most tourists have no choice but to pay their flat rate.
    I use myteksi a lot – they add value, although I dont use their grabcar option. But some of myteksi drivers are also guilty of dirty cabs – dont myteksi vet their taxis?
    I also use uber coming back from airport. A lot more reasonable than the coupon taxis and less rude too, accusing people of underdeclaring my destination, when it is their system’s fault for not having my condo address.
    All hail uber and myteksi.

• MalaysiaTaxiAHoles on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Stop ur stupit protest and give ppl proper service la sholes. Look at your taxi quality compare to uber, myteksi n sick retards choosy when picking customer n cheat ur customers by not using meter or altered meter. As i Malaysian, i protest all ur pucking campaign and i prefer mobile based apps taxi services. They are cheap, on time, convenient, safe, quality at place…

• Fix your problem first on Jun 29, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Message to PER1SM, fix your own problems first before you fix other people. Your people don’t even want to use meter and simply overcharge customers even for short distance. We are customers and we can boycott you anytime for overcharging and rude drivers sometimes too

• So when r the teksimen gonna riot and overturn uber cars? After all, if France can do it why not us, eh?

• Scammer taxi go dai on Jun 29, 2015 at 7:54 pm

If they make a mess in the city, just nab the head of protester first. These tourist scammers deserve these for sure. RapidKL is always short of drivers, if they cannot make a living driving taxi, then go drive bus. The problem is they don’t want because driving bus cannot scam tourist anymore.

• lee teik kuan on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:10 pm

1. Teksi dont jalan meter.
    2. Teksi pilih mana pergi.
    3. Teksi pilih customer dan customer have to wait.
    4. Teksi act like gangster in shopping mall. If dont agree the price, they made treats.
    5. Then now got illegal taxi that do what legal taxi dont wan to do.
    6. Why complaint? Crazy. Some more ask for protection?

• Phyuck Yiu on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Technology will revolutionize the taxi industry. FACT.

Complain and protest as much you want,eventually the taxi drivers will lose out in the long run. Instead of whining, learn how to adapt to the new market.

One not need to look far to see how technology kill all the record stores and producers.

• No balls taxi driver on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Protest but don’t want use meter. In front Pavilion park a lot of taxi but all don’t want use meter. When competitor come up with better service, ask protection from govt. Go to hell

• 1. From KLIA2 to USJ 1, taxi insisted the Mydin is the border of USJ 1. Did not go further. I walked from Mydin to my home near Chee Wen school under hot sun with luggage.

2. From bus station in Penang to USM campus, no one would run on meter, all ganged up. Pay up or take the bus. Asked about a dozen taxis, all said no.

3. From KLIA2 to Bandar Utama. Purchased taxi ticket to Bandar Utama, entered cab, when reaching Bandar Utama cab driver told me my destination was further than and beyond Bandar Utama, insisted on me paying extra. He rang the ticket centre whilst driving (without hands free ) and cursed the ticket lady. My destination was across the road from Effingham.

I no longer take cab in Malaysia unless I have no other options, especially if the trip can be postponed or when other modes of transportation are available after a little waiting. Absolutely necessary, even then, I would think NO.

• Contender on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Police please arrest all of these taxi drivers….. Planning illegal assembly and issuing threats

• stupid msian cars on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:41 pm

No enforcement and monopoly…..thats why lah!
    All these rude, lazy, overcharging customers taxis should be banned from the street forever. Period!
    But mana boleh! Monopoly lah! Go figure it out!
    Welcome to Msia….the land of “apa pun boleh”.

• The man is right, they should eat mud. Technology integration is revolutionized transportation whereby more efficient options expose. Out with the old, in with the new. And yes I believe taxi drivers behave in lowlife manner. Gone were the days with quality taxis.

• No more Pers1m on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:54 pm

These shameless faces of pers1M reps looks like samseng, thugs, road bullies, and maybe wife beaters, probably lazy bunch of adults that prefer to complain, complain, whine like babies…..ask for protection this and that…
    Kasi malu rakyat malaysia saja…

Woi, go look at yourself in the mirror la dei…
    Damn Fed-up with these stupid taxi driver goons…

• Rangers on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:47 pm

i wonder all of those are taxi drivers anyhow…lol

also many of them holding and looking at cell phone while driving of the no-airbag, rear windows cannot open Protong 1000 years old car.

• Teksi Bangang on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Bangang betul persatuan ni. I used MyTeksi many many times before and I feel safe everytime because the identity of the drivers were made known, I am assured that they will use meter and they have to be courteous because they have some sort of KPI. From my many conversations with them, they are happy with MyTeksi as their income increased, and they always have customers, no need to wait at a specific location to wait for passengers. Maybe this persatuan’s members are all lazy drivers who only waited infront of tourist destinations to make killings with tourists.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:30 am

Say NO to anything with 1M.

• Ian Bryant on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:33 am

I have to agree with many comments here on :
    1. Taking the longer route.
    2. Price marking up.

Many taxi drivers does that. Especially, eek, I’m not gonna mention race. But let’s just say I’ve bad experience. So, maybe this urban and grab taxi thing is good. Since I’ve been away from Malaysia quite some time, maybe I should check this app out. Seems save and interesting. At least it won’t give these taxi drivers chance on marking up and be tricky.

• RacialPolice on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:33 am

Again, race has to be brought into any malaysian discussion… sigh

• Reason why we take Grabcar/Uber

Cars are clean, smells good, doors can be unlock
    Cars I guess not older than 8-10 years
    Fare is fair
    Drivers are polite, Greets you when you get inside
    Drivers doesnt stink, doesnt smoke
    Doesnt haggle

Reason not taking Teksi anymore
    Most Teksi are old, doesnt feel safe to ride
    Old Teksi are dirty, stinks
    Meters are fast
    Will take you to the longer route if you don’t know the way
    Some drivers are arrogant, fights with passenger, smells bad
    Haggles, ask for extra
    If you’re somehow near to destination, no meter at all

I would still prefer to ride using Uber or Grabcar

• Krasher on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:45 am

Selamatkan pemandu teksi? Gua lagi tension!!

• cordon on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:25 am

MyTeksi is safe and reliable taxi booking service at Malaysia. I will never ever take taxi queue outside of mall and stations because i had enough bad experiences (and before was fearing for my life for boarding any Malaysian taxi), i have to stop taking any taxi ride at Malaysia until i met the myteksi app.

IMO, I think those people who making noise are ones who board the wrong ship. The current taxi system is already bad enough and these people just cannot make a change. We customers are the ones who using the service, we are not your target and we will use our money to do the judging.

• “Welcome to the world of internet!”

• ah kiong on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:28 am

taxi in malaysia manyak tipu olang, tol pun byr separuh shj… meter sudah kasi adjust jalan depan sikit sudah 5 ringgit..

• Honestly, I think other transport services are better than local can. Once I met a driver and i told him the address, i doubt that he did not know where is the place he question me about the location. I suggest to go to the location using my waze, he asked me to sit a side and figure out where I want to go, then only speak with him. Many of the times, local cab also did’t use metter, uncomfortable vehicle and some even smoke in vehicle, they don’t deserve any pity with such service! It’s their own issue that people see opportunity in the market, should start thinking how to improve instead of trying to kick competitors out of the game!

• siaocom on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:47 am

They should ask themself why ppl Uber/Grabcar can are so popular? Because they get ppl confident. Try to look at those so called “pemandu teksi” faces, scary shit!

• richard on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:50 am

The key success to UBER is the failure of taxi system in that country. Take germany as example. They do not have problem with UBER as their taxi system is very well organised.

• Phyuck Yiu on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Failure of our taxi system means failure of the transportation ministry and eventually it’s the govt that is at fault.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:55 am

They do not need saving. Bunch of thugs. Too bad the good ones are affected as well but the deal here is, improve or get lost.

• pondan on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:35 am

I used to take quite a fair trip on taxis from KL Sentral.

Not many taxis are bad, most of them are very nice people and trying to earn an honest living.

But the a few of those bad apples are making a serious bad name of the whole lot.

The biggest profiteering are the taxis operators, these cronies take the most cut at the expense of below poverty taxis drivers. They are force to pay for taxi, license and etc etc from these cronies company, while the taxi driver is only getting handful of customer per day.

Old and bad taxis are all the cronies doing, taxi drivers are force into situation that they have do extra work or dishonest work to put food on the table.

If I were to blame, blame the bloody gov and their fellow cronies. And of course, the few uncivilized taxi drivers.

BTW, I usually tip the taxi driver from rm10 to rm20 for a trip that cost less than rm15. Why, I prefer to give an honest token to an honest person that make an honest living.

• david on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:50 am

i always insist my guests from overseas to install uber+myteksi app on their phone and never ever hail a taxi from roadside.
    else i would pick them up personally, to avoid men-siasui-kan my own country.

• giffgaff on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:57 am

The problem is the law transparency and law enforcement.

• Sparcov on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:30 am

First, upgrade all the taxi to a more comfortable taxi. A taxi that able to carry bag at the boots and not force the passenger to use premium car or MPV. This is due to the NGV tank.

Our Malaysia taxi is completely a joke, Using proton saga which is small to carry passenger. Atleaset, should have use Persona, Preve or Exora. Taiwan using Toyota Wish and C segment car for taxi.

Singapore using D segment car, sonata, chevrolet for taxi
    Thailand using C segment Toyota altis for taxi.
    Hong Kong using Toyota crown
    Qatar using Vw, camry for taxi.

Malaysia using b segment car proton saga for taxi.

Condition of taxi in malaysia as they can modified their car, heavily tinted, sport rims, bodykit, stickers and lowered.

Taxi from LCCT is like they have a licence to speed.
    Limo from KLIA is good and more professional.

City taxi, depends, sometimes u get a old iswara taxi with full of smell and radio on as they like. Aircond not cold

Refusing to take passenger is common
    Dropping passenger at a non designated area is common
    Asking passenger to pay extra due to traffic congested is common
    Not using meter is common. Especially at Sg buloh KTM station, Pavilion, in front Giordano in bukit bintang.

Now the taxi driver wanted to complain?

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jun 30, 2015 at 11:20 am

Perhaps the drivers themselves should re-examine their attitude and service towards their customers instead of blaming the competition.

• Acting as thugs and causing inconvenience for the public with a planned demonstration doesn’t exactly evoke any sympathy. Competition happens when one gets complacent and gives others an opportunity so there’s no one else to blame but oneself. A good look in the mirror is just what the doctor ordered.

• Jeffrey8888art on Jun 30, 2015 at 5:02 pm

jika ada masa buat la byk trip….jgn salahkan pihak mana pun…..
    Jgn tuduh kesalahan org lain pada masa yg sama sendiri dh buat salah….
    Ada masa buat sekat jalan tapi blh bagi alasan tak dapat rezeki…..

• The Anonymous Activist on Jul 28, 2015 at 4:43 pm

MYTEKSI Complain NUMBER:

Marilyn Chong Chia Shin
    Disputes Handling Manager cum finance exec.
    +6 012-6087688

Please contact for complaints and suggestions.
    We also welcome medias to contact us for clarification.

• The Regret on Jun 26, 2023 at 4:29 pm

now they accepted, while some cant forget.