Uber en route to legalise services in Malaysia – report

uber-x-car

According to a report by theSun, discussions between transportation network company, Uber, and local transport regulators are ongoing, which could see the former legalise its services in Malaysia in the future. How far in though, is another question altogether.

“Everything is still under discussion,” said Chan Park, strategic planning head and general manager of Uber Technologies South East Asia (SEA), without further elaboration. Recently, a protest by the Metered Taxi Drivers Action Committee (BBPTB) against the service provider has resulted in more tension between both parties with the former claiming that the presence of Uber has threatened the livelihood of many taxi drivers.

While the firm continues on with discussions, its network continues to expand across the nation with the state of Penang being the latest addition to its portfolio. To kickstart the service, Uber users based in Penang will receive free rides for the whole of next week.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Malaysia Teksi Perverts. on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:16 am

I hope Uber takes off here. Our taxi drivers complain but their taxi cars are so dirty. Half the time, the driver digging his nose and rolling the bugger and pasting it on his dashboard.

Then most of them are perverts. Always talking dirty to either men or women.

I don’t know why our teksi fellow can complain when 9 out of 10 of them are promoting Malaysia as the sin capital of Asia. All of them ask male passengers especially foreigners whether want to go to spa or rumah urut to main.

We all know, the rumah urut give the teksi drivers commission for every customer who sees a prostitute or brothel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Appeal to all Teksi Drivers on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:24 am

I am a lady. I don’t wear short skirts. But when I sit, my skirt will tend to go up a bit. Everyday I catch teksi drivers trying to look into my skirt to see my panties.

I have asked many ladies and they concur. they say the same thing. Can we have black cabs like London where the whole behind is covered and we just give our money through a small hole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Sam bra sales man on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Are you sure you are lady? I am very doubtful. I never see you come Parkson buy bra from Sam Loo.

• alldisc on Jun 26, 2015 at 4:14 pm

do you know that u do not need to bring cash when u use uber? it is much more safer.

• Gila seks on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:27 am

Malaysian Taxi Drivers are all perverts and lust for anything that moves with a skirt. Even Bapuk also they want to sapu

• Gila seks on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:28 am

I hope we can provide sarong for all lady passengers. Especially those old kampong drivers. Just stare at women like never seen woman

• kzm (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:16 am

Better legalise uber..so they can operate without problem

• applegreen on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:40 am

Uber pay money then it will legalise. We all know that. Gov always seek money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • So you saying we should outright ban uber just like korea and germany, right?
      Then you would rage about not having choice, teksi all useless,etc.

• @John: I think he’s just saying Malaysia can kaodim, if you $$RM (maybe resulting in users paying more $$ in the long run – the $$ has to come from somewhere); and if no $$, or some minister wanna protect his $$ monopoly, then you no go.

Rakyat didahulukan. Righto.

• speaking of Uber, anyone heard whats happening in France? Taxi drivers there are protesting against Uber. Somehow I’m not surprised if some kind of protest happens in the future. Maybe not as crazy as in France but still…

• Yeah, because those thugs wanna protect their income $$. The people don’t mind Uber at all, and the drivers want to make money from driving from Uber.

Only butthurt are those thugs who monopolize the taxi permits. Sometimes have to wait 15-20 min for normal taxi, and that’s depend on their mood whether want to drive you to your destination.

The taxi drivers can always become Uber (or Lyft, another Uber rival) drivers, but because of their monopoly, they make more money by limiting supply and charging more.

• NO offence, but most taxi drivers are pervert.

• CrazyMobilo on Jun 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

I am an UBER & GrabCar driver…
    I have been with UBER for about 3 months now n i hve been having massive problems wit teksi driver…
    Especially the ones from BB & KL town area… Thy kinda anti with all of us…
    Yet the remuneration is very good…

• So, it is ok to promote business on Paultan.org?

Wouldn’t this be considered spamming?

• CrazyMobilo on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Hei, i was just sharing my experience. I m not in any need to spam Paultan’s page.

• Darren on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Promoting the company Uber not the driver himself. And again Uber is app-based company, so even driver did promote himself he couldn’t earn extra from others.

• alldisc on Jun 26, 2015 at 4:19 pm

i doubt your statement. no one can recognise uber cars because they are not marked or have stickers or special colours.

nor JPJ, SPAD neither other taxi drivers able to recognise uber anywhere.

• Careful. The buggers are part of gangs. They monopolize the shopping centres, and overcharge people.

But as a rider, thank you for providing for a good, clean car and reasonable rates.

Don’t be afraid of those taxi thugs, but do avoid confrontation with them. You have to cari makan also, and you work harder than them, just waiting for waterfish suckers to take their lousy cars.

• Darren on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

I am also Uber X driver.
    Yeah i know it is quite tough sitting inside my car whole day but can give me extra income why not

• johanian on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:52 am

Malaysian govt must allow uber bcos ” rakyat didahulukan”..give rakyat choice.
    Either that, or go change slogan.
    May uber facilitate the change we need.
    Maybe reduce private cars on road,reduce jams..