Malaysia planning further subsidy removal – report

petrol11

In a bid to bolster its fiscal position, Malaysia is set to to cut subsidies on a wider scale, Bloomberg reports. Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah, secretary general of the country’s Treasury, told the financial news organisation in an interview earlier this week that the aim is to work gradually towards the removal of subsidies for petrol, liquefied petroleum gas and cooking oil in the coming years.

This and other moves, including that of moving government employee housing loans off its balance sheets, is part of the fiscal reform planned by the government. The move towards fiscal consolidation, Mohd Irwan said, is something the government is very committed to.

“We cannot afford to be in subsidy mode forever. We are at a point where there are too many subsidies and the government budgetary system can’t afford to carry such a burden,” he said.

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 023

The country scaled back on petrol and diesel subsidies – as well as that of sugar – in 2014 after tumbling oil prices provided the government the means to start weaning the nation off cheap fuel.

He added that the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) in April has aided in countering the decline in government revenue following the drop in crude oil prices. Mohd Irwan stated that collections from the new tax regime have thus far exceeded the government’s estimate, without specifying by how much.

On December 1 last year, the pricing structure for RON 95 and diesel fuels was revised to run on a managed float system similar to the one employed for RON 97 petrol. For July 2015, RON 95 petrol is priced at RM2.15 (up 10 sen compared to June) per litre, while RON 97 petrol is at RM2.55 (up 20 sen). Diesel, meanwhile, is priced at RM2.05 (unchanged) and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.15 (unchanged).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments express frustration over Malaysia's high fuel and car prices despite being an oil-producing country, criticizing the government's alleged mismanagement, corruption, and false claims about subsidies. Many highlight that Malaysians pay exorbitant prices compared to other oil-producing nations and accuse the government of exploiting these resources while not passing benefits to the rakyat. There is skepticism about subsidy removals, with calls for transparent financial management and fair taxation instead. Several comments criticize high car prices, taxes, and the government's failure to fulfill election promises like reducing car prices and improving income levels. Overall, sentiments lean toward anger and disillusionment with the government's handling of subsidies, resource wealth, and economic policies.

• Bodoh/Buttlickers on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Terima kasih 47%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 6
    • Gargantia on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Bullshit “sugar price” were among the top in the world and still say subsidies???

He should been act guilty under Section 211 or Section 233 of the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998.

Why MCMC only the action on Rakyat? No people above the law?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
      • Madani on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:33 pm

The rakyat has been subsidising Proton for the past 30 years, what more can the G ask for?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
        • History of Songlap in Malaysia on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:04 am

Malaysia is a super rich country to begin with. In the world, Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world. We have everything, oil, gas, tin, iron, gold, palm, kuprum, coconut, nenas and even some very rare materials that are super high in price.

There is abundance and enough to maintain the subsidy for a long long time IF there no NO SONGLAP.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

Subsidy does not even come that close. It is small money compared to what is stolen on a daily basis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • The Truth About Subsidi on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:13 am

For years the Government have been lying to people about subsidy eventhough now there is no subsidy.

There is no such thing as subsidy in the first place. What you produce, you cannot subsidise. We produce our own oil, so what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your back garden, you cannot go around telling people that you are “subsidising” the vegetables. Does not make sense. Unless you buy the vegetables from another person or country, then only you can tell people you are subsidising.

Government has been lying to people the past 20 years about this. You see, the Sultan of Brunei also produces oil from his country. But he cares for the rakyat first. So, he gives the rakyat very cheap petrol first. Then only, the remainder and balance, he exports it to the world at global prices.

Infact, ALL oil producing countries in the world sell their oil cheaply to their own rakyat. Except one country. Malaysia!

Why our Malaysian government does not do this? Don’t care for the rakyat is it? And Malaysia’s oil reserves are 100X more than Brunei’s oil reserve. About 3 years ago, it was announced that Petronas struck the largest oil field in the world with enough reserves for the next 100 years. It was the biggest news of the century. But next day, it was covered up. Complete silence on it and a denial that it even happened. This is because UMNO realiased, better keep the cash cow Petronas discovery solely for the exclusive benefit of the UMNO members pockets.

So, now, the UMNO Ministers and UMNO members are milking Petronas big time. The UMNO members make 5% of the Malay population. Whilst the UMNO members are shopping in Harrods, dining in Selfridges and having tea in Fortnum and Mason’s in London, the remaining 95% of the rakyat Malaysia who are Malays are told to tighten their belt and tanam jagung and kangkung to eat and survive.

The oil that Malaysia produces belong to every single Malaysian. It is our right. It belongs to use. Eventhough it belongs to use, we must somehow beg and plead to the government for the right to enjoy it and a cheap and lower price, something which all Bruneians enjoy as their birth right.

Even if the government is trying to steal our birthright and don’t want to give us cheap fuel, at least be honest enough to lower the prices of fuel when global prices have dropped to its lowest. There also, the UMNO members are trying to cheat us. Now, they say must impose a tax. It should be the luck of consumers if global prices have come down but now the government is taking that also from us.

Malaysia produces the sweetest grade fuel in the world. What this means is that, it is the purest and highest grade fuel in the world and most sought after and most expensive. So, is it true that, 30 years ago, the Malaysian government negligently contracted with the Western Governments to sell this sweetest crude at a fixed price the next 30 years ago, a fixed price which is far far lower at US$XX a barrel? Our previous Government fixed the price of our oil based on 1980s prices. Who loses? We Malaysians lose!

Is this true?

Is the rumours true also that because of this contract, we are actually a net importer of very low grade fuel from Arab countries?

If it is true, why is the Malaysian government giving Malaysians very low grade fuel, super high in sulphur and emissions which will not only detroy our environment but also our lungs? Isn’t a government supposed to look after the country’s environment and health of its people?

Is the country becoming bankrupt? This what happens when corruption goes out of hand and is not small scale and the quantum is huge. For example, Taib alone is worth US$20 billion (RM80 billion). So you imagine. If one person alone can sapu about RM80 billion, what about the others in the corrupted gang? No wonder the country in bankrupt. Corruption is not small amount of a few million. The corrupted are so greedy, they all compete with each other to see who is the top most corrupted and all want that billion dollar mark and millions are just not enough of a mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • kington on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:49 am

They will never stop. You buy P1 and P2, they earn. You buy other brands, they also earn.

• Oil is Our Right la on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:55 am

Every single oil producing country gives its rakyat cheap oil. Except for the UK which has to follow EU pricing, every single oil producing country gives its rakyat super cheap petrol

We produce our own oil. Gomen should sell to Malaysians cheap oil. We are one of the largest oil and gas producers in the world and yet our oil is so high in comparison to what we earn in Malaysia

Here is a list of several countries producing oil and their prices

Petrol
        (USD/per litre)

1. Venezuela 0.114
        2. Egypt 0.128
        3. Saudi Arabia 0.142
        4. Qatar 0.171
        5. Bahrain 0.214
        6. Libya 0.214
        7. Turkmenistan 0.242
        8. Kuwait 0.242
        9. Algeria 0.242
        10. Iran 0.299

Don’t compare with Sweden and UK. they earn a lot, so high oil prices is small peanuts for them.

• Pilihan Rakyat on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Only 2 options:

a) Minyak murah, kereta mahal
      Eg.
      Ron95 subsidy rm2.15/liter , Honda City RM80k excise duty tax 65%

b) Minyak mahal, kereta murah
      Eg.
      Ron95 zero subsidy rm3.85/liter , Honda City RM55k excise duty tax 0%

Which one your choice? Let’s do a poll here OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
      • No pilihan on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Those 2 are invalid.

You only get c) Minyak mahal, kereta biasa mahal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
        • In your dreams on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:15 am

d) semua mahal…tak suka boleh kluar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Turunkan Harga Kereta! on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:49 am

Petrol prices is Malaysian’s biggest burden. After all, when petrol naik, barang all naik. But when petrol turun, not a single item goes down in price. So, petrol go down, what is the real SAVINGS?

The real savings should be car prices. We have already prepaid high fuel prices for the next 20 yrs with high car prices. We are overpaying the Government and all the crony GLC owned car companies too much. You see, ALL car companies are really owned by the Government. From BMW to Honda and Toyota to Proton and Perodua.

These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.

Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.

The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.

I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.

And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.

Below are car prices based on exchange rate of USD 3.0 as it was 2 years ago when I wrote my article. These Malaysian car prices were also 2 years ago, so, it is fair to use the exchange rate of 3.0. But even if you calculate 3.8, our car prices are still exorbitant.

Malaysians car prices VS Malaysian Prices

Mainstream Car Prices

Honda Accord 2.4 US$21,480 (RM64k)vs RM180k

Honda CRV 2.5 US$22,495(RM67k) vs RM170k

Honda Civic 2.0 US$15,955 (RM47k)vs RM115k

Toyota Altis 2.0 US$16,130(RM48k) vs RM139k

Toyota Camry 2.5 US$22,055(RM66k)vs RM180k

Kia Sorento US$23,150 (RM69k)vs RM160k

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57k) vs RM140k

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895 (RM62k) vs RM150k

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 US$16k (RM50k) vs RM118k

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109k) vs RM300k

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149k) vs RM420k

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157k) vs RM600k

BMW X5 US$47,500 (RM142k) vs RM580k

Mercedes E350 US$51,000 (RM153k) vs RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XJ US$73,700 (RM221,000) vs RM900k

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850 (RM146k) vs RM580k

Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.

Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.

Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.

• Tupai Jatuh on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:14 am

Actually got anough subsidi for everyone if nobody steals. If one person can sapu Rm2.6 billion, you calculate that with the thousands who are stealing. Don’t forget the RM2.6 bil is when the tupai already jatuh, what about the other times the tupai stole?

• do like what noh omar said..subsidy through petrol card..
      control monthly subsidy usage per car..
      for me thats more efficient..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 83
      • Insider News on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Ahmad Maslan, is that you? Don’t try to hide behind that smiley…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
        • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:54 am

We produce our own oil. All oil producing countries give their own rakyat very cheap oil that is also sales tax free (except UK). Only one country produces its own oil but screws its rakyat with high petrol prices.

Screwing us with high oil price is one thing but why double whammy ie screw us with high car prices?

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

• Phyuck Yiu on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Same sentiments here, everytime something bad happened to the country be it a price hike on goods or gasoline or collapsing roof at public facilities, I can’t help but to curse those 47% mothertruckers who sold their soul to the devil.

Macai abadi bangang tahap cipan..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
      • How do you plan to get the 47% to support your ‘righteous’ cause if you continue to demonise them? They’re people too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Phyuck Yiu on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Wise up, we are done preaching and educating. History has shown it won’t work. By continuously demonizing and vilifying these 47% mothertruckers, we hope that they will gain a moment of ephiphany and start reflecting on themselves, where it went wrong for them and in turn they would cast their votes wisely and thoughtfully in the next GE. Some ‘people’ needs to be kicked in their asses before they start moving. Being nice will not work in Bolehland.

• Wan Deris Wan Ahmad on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:46 am

14 downvotes over 6 up votes.

The joke is on you. Stop living in denial. Hollow pride won’t save.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:54 pm

How to continue subsidize you while we have to subsidize RM2.6bils a single man?

Who are you compared to him?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
    • Al haffi on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:15 pm

A burden to G? A GST and toll, utility and Tax system is strain to rakyat as we have to much taxation to bear, is load to carry such burden.
      Think Opposite, feed your brain ministers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Remove excise duty and other TAX (gst etc) first…it’s too much load on our shoulder….then you can remove whatever subsidy you want..we don’t want your subsidy..

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:24 am

he said we are now at a point where there are too much subsidies

we response – we are now at a point where there are too much tax.

1. personal income tax
      2. petrol tax
      3. car excise duties… 75% minimum
      4. GST – on everything else.

• Why Bloomberg? on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:37 am

Why didn’t KJ announce it this time? =p

• Good strategy. Reduce subsidy and keep higher taxes rate. You give giid advice to G, good luck for coming GE 14.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Failed State Citizen on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:48 pm

I want fresh election immediately !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
  • speechless on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:51 pm

of cz cannot afford to carry such a burden la..2.6 bil hilang wad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Very regret with government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Lance on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:05 pm

i thought they already stopped subsidy since last year?

• Massive corruption by the govt officials n ultimately rakyat is the body which govt loves to cut in small small pieces n take their lasts drop of blood to pour in to justify to run the country.
    Totally failed bn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • ng seh hoong on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Since the government does not and will not subsidize fuel of all sorts anymore, road tax based on ENGINE CAPACITY must be REMOVED!! Meaning a flat rate of RM30 (or whatever is deemed fair) whether your car is 650cc or 6,500cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • choochoo on Jul 11, 2015 at 10:36 am

They should implement roadtax based on emission standards. The use of engine capacity is just too ancient.

• superbird #43 on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:15 pm

its a known fact that nothing under the sun lasts forever.
    but y does the fuel price need to be revised frequently on a monthly basis?

• subsidymyass on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:45 pm

now I understand why khairy appeared out of sudden to mention ron95 is subsidised. Don’t be surprised after “subsidy” removal (better name for price hike), another ministar appears and say there’s still subsidy a few months later….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • people on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:45 pm

in your interview, only government burden is mention. how about people’s burden? Our burden? you improve our overall income, we let you reduce subsidy, how about that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • benzs on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Malaysia G is the best and we shall support their acting but if we do soon Malaysia will become our neighbour country. During Dr.M ruling do we feel the difficulties of all those nonsense regard subsidy. I’m not here to support any leader but by fact. Even economic crisis during 1997, we still manage to recover by Dr.M method. He attract all those tycoon to bring back their money into Malaysia without tax and even maintain its subsidy. Why on earth Mr.Njb doing nothing since Malaysia economic crisis is happening now and even currency exchange is in the worst among all those crisis. The answer is G is alrdy insufficient fund due to its 1MDB. Why Malaysian never provoke such PM that worsen our life as Malaysia is flourish with rich resources. We do not need GST, coz G is richer everyday whenever a new car is register due to high tax collected and pump non subsidy fuel. All we have to say is, everthing is expensive and it will never goes down easily once it increase. G will fall in GE..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:14 pm

why not …if the funds are channeled to the right causes and build infrastructures around the country instead of ambank this and ambank that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Fuel isn’t really that expensive in Malaysia – at least it shouldn’t be.

It’s the artificially high price that is making it expensive, and that is all thanks to the people who are setting the pricing.

Lacking in funds? Loan payment due but not enough cash? Well good news, no it is not the Dacia Sandero, but increase fuel costs and introduce GST, and hopefully we can pay for it! If at all you get asked by the people how to cope, tell them, have fried rice, French style – it is GST free! Don’t forget to have your cucumber slices in the wok ya!

*cringe*

• Feel like BN just want to FK it up for their next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • mason_ on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Each day pass by and the more I hate this corrupted gov…when will this corrupted gov go jahanam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • How does prime minister in waiting Lim Kit Siang solve this problem? Cyber troopers please answer this.

Don’t talk about general idea, talk about detailed road map.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Roll Eyes on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:28 am

Well, I think not funnelling RM2.6b into one man’s account and RM42b into a dubious investment fund would be a good start…

Here’s your detailed roadmap:
      Step 1: Stop misusing public funds
      Step 2: Repeat Step 1

• Voorhees on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:59 am

Haha typical brain rot at work. What benefit does bringing up lim kit siang’s name contribute to the issue?

• bujingyun on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:06 pm

yahoo..keep increasing!!aim for second greece ya G…huh!

• HaIrI on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Pray hard BN for GE14!! There will be more new voters who did not solely depends on alternative media.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:30 pm

1Malaysia
    Rakyat Didahulukan
    Pencapaian Diutamakan
    RM2b Disonglapkan
    Subsidi Dihapuskan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • DieBN! on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Walao… BN mau berapa bnyk duit lagi? Sudah korek habis…. Lagi nak korek.. So nak korek habis sebelum GE n make our country bankrupt! Nasi lemak management alwiz nasi lemak management! Corrupted till hell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Andrew1 on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:39 am

The more subsidy remove, the more suffer to your own skin citizen only. Go ahead and try.

• Andrekua on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:05 am

Oh man, am I the only one getting bored by this subsidy issue? Enough of we are actually helping and yet you, rakyat are not grateful.

If you are planning to end all kinds of subsidy, then it’s time for you to stop manipulating market price. Let the market price itself, open up so that foreign MNC can come over and destroy every little bits of your leftover arrogance.

• How many times can they remove same subsidies? now where is the formula they promised to show? All lies..

• BR1M tu bukan ka some kind sort of subsidies jugak? Mansuhkan aja la…Bukan semua orang dapat pun….

• pok mang amg on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:30 am

they try to remove subsidy for rakyat but the truth is they were subsidized by rakyat for a long time

• so next election confirm no BN anymore

• yadda yadda..
    doesn’t matter..we will remove you all.

• CarmenTung on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:44 am

It’s a good move.. if the money saved from it, is used for BENEFICIAL requirements ! Else it is just a another rhetoric BS from coming from another menteri’s…

I’m quoting P Ramlee’s most inspired and famous hearsay…”Dah tua-tua pun bodoh !”

• LokCy on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:58 am

Biggest burden of all is keeping Najib in Putrajaya, where he use all the rakyat money to do as he likes. And his wife who spend rakyat money like her own.

That Burden….. we paid them yearly so much but the country still poor as hell… those farker high above get to be richer and richer by leeching us dry.

• Just remove that damn thing. Don’t use this as an excuse to jack up the car price and please kill off the 30-year old liability.

• ben yap on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:07 am

Subsidy helps 29 million malaysians.

No subsidy helps 1 malaysian man.

cutting subsidy allows more billions go into the pocket of 1 man.

our gov prefers 29 million to die in hunger and being homeless to allow 1 man to live in luxury.

where’s the logic?

• cendol (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:11 am

While you remove all the subsidies, can you remove all the special protections as well?
    Make it fair to all.

• biggest leak in govt finances is corruption, if we tackle that we would save more than all subsidies put together..

• Terrence chaw on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:20 am

Apa lagi mau? Janji “ditepati”

• we will see more of these type of increase in coming months…u knw wat is due to…

• Buy axia la if u can’t afford the fuel price…and sell your merz benz

• nosubsidy on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:07 am

take all…remove subsidies…we will become a developed nation immediately…

• BLT_Club on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

My only question is where is kzm, ah beng and the such? Dah kecut ke?

• Oil is Our Right on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:57 am

Every single oil producing country gives its rakyat cheap oil. Except for the UK which has to follow EU pricing, every single oil producing country gives its rakyat super cheap petrol

We produce our own oil. Gomen should sell to Malaysians cheap oil. We are one of the largest oil and gas producers in the world and yet our oil is so high in comparison to what we earn in Malaysia

Here is a list of several countries producing oil and their prices

Petrol
    (USD/per litre)

1. Venezuela 0.114
    2. Egypt 0.128
    3. Saudi Arabia 0.142
    4. Qatar 0.171
    5. Bahrain 0.214
    6. Libya 0.214
    7. Turkmenistan 0.242
    8. Kuwait 0.242
    9. Algeria 0.242
    10. Iran 0.299

Don’t compare with Sweden and UK. they earn a lot, so high oil prices is small peanuts for them.

• muskila on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:31 am

Make sure.next election we change this lousy government.

• GforGoners on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Government should stop “subsidizing” themselves from big projects. Malaysia is rich, G just need to have better financial planning or allocations, with transparency of course. With all the instability in the governance, no investors would be confident in our economy. Hence, the downfall of Ringgit’s value. Instituting GST and stop subsidizing is not the way of collecting/retaining cash. It just worsen the economy more and shows the instability of our country’s financial sector.

• sabahan on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:29 pm

“We cannot afford to be in subsidy mode forever. We are at a point where there are too many subsidies and the government budgetary system can’t afford to carry such a burden,”

We can not afford to subsidy you all forever too!! How about you remove petrol subsidy, and we remove our AP subsidy?

• thedarkside on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:34 pm

govt should also stop subsidizing IMDB and our dynamic duo Jibby and Rossy.

• Irsan on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:13 am

All of us should learn math. What najib promised regarding 30% reduction in car price is almost fullfilled right now! If we pay with USD la. Hehehehe.