“Rear seat belt compliance and awareness created more out of the fear of being fined” – MIROS

3-Point Seat Belt

A study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has revealed a rather unfortunate conclusion on the compliance rate for the rear seat belt rule, implemented way back in February 2009 (enforcement commenced on January that year). According to MIROS, compliance rate was at an all-time high of 47% in early 2009 before figures plummeted to 13% by end-2009.

By 2010, the compliance rate was recorded at 9.7% before dropping by 0.5% in the following year. In 2012 (perhaps spurred on by the possible notion of the world ending), compliance rate shot up to 13.5% while 2013 saw a drop back down to 12.5%. In the first four months of 2014, compliance rate was noted at a paltry 7.7% – we can only hope the figures bounce back for the better in the future.

On an even sadder note, MIROS finds that compliance and overall awareness on the importance of buckling up at the back was founded more on the fear of being fined as opposed to anything else. Occupant mentality appears to be the key factor as statistics show that close to 90% of vehicles on the road in Malaysia are equipped with rear seat belts, providing seat belt access to 85% of occupants.

Aside from the importance of buckling up, MIROS is also urging motorcyclists to fasten their helmets as employing said safety measures were shown to effectively reduce the chances of fatalities during accidents – a 60% improvement in the safety of motorists has been mentioned.

“Serious injuries that can result in deaths are normally caused by failure of passengers to wear seats belts. Upon impact during accidents, passengers are thrown out or knock into hard objects while motorcyclists or pillion riders who do not wear proper helmets can suffer critical injuries or death,” said Professor Dr Wong Shaw Voon, MIROS director-general.

Additionally, 20,257 accidents were recorded nationwide over the first week of Ops Selamat 7, launched on July 10. From the total, 155 fatalities were reported – said figure indicates an average of 22 deaths a day compared with 13 for the same period in 2014.

Pillion riders on motorcycles accounted for 94 of the 155 road fatalities. As a result, MIROS has urged the motoring public to take responsibility for their own safety as human error was deemed as the main factor for over 80% of road accidents. We don’t want to sound like broken records but please make it an effort to buckle up every time you get into a car – it could very well be the smartest move you’ll make all day.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Shaekey on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:10 am

No surprise there… almost everything about road safety are about fear of being fined. If they think that they are “safe” from fined, then that is when you see people run the red light, not wearing seatbelt, not wearing helmet while riding a bike, jump queue, etc.

• Kim A.I on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:36 am

My dear fellow righteous Malaysians, this is your glorious dear leader speaking. I am taking my precious time out from solving our small “frens-dunwanna-fren-anymore” fight to address you, so you must listen to what I say.
    I thank you for your resistance to pay your hard earned money to the corrupted, evil, inhumane Gov, and I implore you to continue your stubborn donkey-like resistance to pay your fines. As you know, those who uphold the laws are the cronies and evil Gov agents.
    It is our right, as tax-paying rakyats, to adhere to only laws that we deemed right in our opinion and, as tax-paying rakyats, we should be the king on the road, not the police. They should be the one to bow down to us, as our taxes are paying their salaries. The corrupted BN Gov have unilaterally decided that speeding pass cameras and not following the traffic lights are a crime. I say we must rise up and do as we please. After all, we are paying the taxes.
    To hell with the road laws, even if we are in the wrong. It is passed by the evil, inhumane BN Gov. We must continue to speed, breakthrough red lights, kill pajeros, kill pedestrians! What are the few hundred un-replaceable lives lost due to road accidents, as compared to the billions songlap by Gov! Resist your human instincts & logic to follow the laws! Kita Lawan!
    Once we have toppled the Gov, rest assured, we will magically turn these evil, inhumane, cruel road regulations that the rest of the world follows into humane and kind laws that will bring the full wrath of the New Gov on the offenders if you continue to resist paying fines and continue to break the laws. Then, it would be an act of despicable crime against our law-abiding, kind, humane, understanding New Gov.
    So I ask you, fellow righteous Malaysians, to continue to break the traffic laws until we take over, or over-take, whichever we dun care, as long as we in Putrajaya.
    As your glorious leader, I thank you for your 53% support and will continue to fight to the end for me and my family, my partners and cronies well-being. All in the name of the greater good for your future. Be at ease for I am the sheep-herder and you are my sheep. I knows best.
    Kita Lawan.
    Kita Lawan!
    KITA LAWAN!

• I here just to see the last video…fuyooohhhh

• ajo haters on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:07 pm

1st video funny la….but the 3rd one…no translation ka?

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Well, those that have been in a big accident would advocate use of seatbelts (and to its extension, airbags and VSC). Those who survived to tell thier story would have likely been wearing one in the first place.

Those that didn’t, probably didn’t survive to become an advocate. You might not get second chances.

Belt up.

I hit a car that jumpped a red light at 90km/h. I would have been thrown clear into the car I hit had I not been belted in. Instead I, walked away with a slightly sore neck for a few days.

• It’s sad that such a low comments count for this kind of articles. But if it’s a P1 news that would be hundreds of fans and haters spawning the site. Buckle up, be safe.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 28, 2015 at 11:12 am

There is a lot the news media and police can do. Every time there is a crash, the police has to give out info. Were the passengers wearing seatbelts or not? Did they survive? Did airbags open? Was the car equipped with stability control? Journalists need to include this info into every report on accidents. The same goes for non deadly ones. Then every month summarize how many people died because of no seatbelt. Compare it to other countries.

Show people the consequences. Let them try, for example by having a rig that simulates a crash at low speeds. First maybe 10 km/h, then 30. Let them fly forward… Put some cushioning on the floor. Also let them try to hold a baby (puppet). Feeling is believing.

• Annuar Latiff on Jul 29, 2015 at 12:46 am

After 5 years studied, campaigned and enforced.. The latest compliance rate was just 7.7%?? That was after various plans been implemented! What’s miros target %? And when will they achieve this? 50% in 2020? I don’t think so…. Well let say 30% in 5 years time. Are they going to repeat the plan that has been implemented? Or new plan? Or discard Miros and announce another new agency/institute? Whatever it is after more than 5 years they studied and implemented various plan/campaign and they only get 7.7% what more they can do to achieve 30%?.. Not to say 50% (too ambitious).

Ok… Now it’s the time to get this this seriously sort out for our younger generations safety. Miros no longer can ‘ask’ them to do it instead ‘tell’ them to do it (with consequences) yes… With getting fine! Coz that was the finding conclusion stated. No matter how/what miros will do.. All we want is for the passenger and driver to wear rear seatbelt!! It’s fine if they wear rear seatbelt because of afraid of been fined. At least they wear it. That’s the important thing….

On the other note… Who you want to wear seatbelt? driver, passenger, male/female, age from 1 year old to 70 years old or more. That’s covered right? Where can all these targets can be found everyday? No idea? It’s during school day… So u figure out what to do… Furthermore school is the place we go to learn. So let them learn.

This idea more like stupid or joke suggestion but if you got better one.. Please forward to miros. Place a roadblock on road connected to school. You can starts with 2 times a week… Yes, they will be a lots of complaint.. Keep deaf.. Because you know you have to do this… At this time the implication is manageable. I bet you… The result will be good provided there is sustainable enforcement. You don’t ask your child to tight in his shirt for school right? Because they already know… They have to or getting bad consequences… that’s all.. Seriously I felt very uneasy reading the article aboved. So I spoke…

• Observer from side on Aug 04, 2015 at 9:39 am

Happen to notice several occasions policemen inside their patrol car also did not fasten their sealtbelt so what do Miros and KPN comment about this?