Impounded Uber, GrabCar vehicle owners chased over outstanding car loans – report

https://www.facebook.com/SPAD.my/posts/1127014200645310

Operators of app-operated transportation services like Uber and GrabCar – whose privately-owned vehicles were impounded by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) for running illegal taxi services, pending a court verdict – are reportedly being chased by banks over outstanding car loans, according to The Sun.

Many of these vehicles have been bought new and were used for providing these services within the past 11 months, and even after the court orders the ownership of these cars to be removed, the owner will still have to settle the remaining loan on them.

Under Section 16 of the Land Public Transport Act 2010, it is deemed an offence to operate or provide public transport service by using private vehicles without licence, and an order for forfeiture shall be made in court. In total, 53 cars have been confiscated by SPAD under this ruling, including Mercedes-Benz, Nissan, Toyota, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Perodua and Proton models.

“When the order of forfeiture is given, the legal and beneficial title of the vehicle shall be vested or passed to SPAD,” said a SPAD spokesperson. “When the vehicle is forfeited, it becomes the property of SPAD. Like any other property, the vehicle can also be disposed of in various ways. Among others, it can either be tendered off, auctioned or sold back to the accused or previous owner at market value.”

As yet, it is unclear if Uber or MyTeksi have extended legal help to the affected private vehicle owners. Hire purchase vehicles are typically not allowed to be used to transport passengers and charging a fare, as stated in the agreements.

uber-x-car

Recently, SPAD has seized 13 cars for offering illegal public transport services at various locations in the Klang Valley, including the Kuala Lumpur city centre, Sunway, Damansara, Kelana Jaya, Puchong, Bangsar and Subang through Ops Tegas. As such, the total number of cars at the SPAD impound in Sepang is now at 96 cars.

Several car owners have allegedly had their vehicles seized after family members or friends have been using their cars to offer so-called teksi sapu (illegal taxi) services without their knowledge.

Section 80 of the Act provides enforcement officers the jurisdiction to seize a vehicle that violates Section 16, according to SPAD.

“If the offender is an individual, the person shall be liable to a fine of not less than RM1,000 but not more than RM10,000 or imprisonment not exceeding one year or both,” said the spokesperson. On the other hand, a company shall face a fine not exceeding RM100,000 if it is found to have fallen afoul of Section 16.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ben yap on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:20 am

riders that call for Uber or GrabCar can walk away freely?

as long there is demand, there will be supply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • FIST (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Uber is not illegal, only the unauthorised cars are illegal.

• drMpower on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:21 am

when they want to tow the mp4-12c

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:12 pm

That’s the same thing I think about too lol.

But then that MP4-12C behind is datuk’s. So they won’t dare.

• I wonder why SPAD not catching those taxis who using mouth to count distance. I took my lunch & my ride to airport in penang cost me double than the meter stated. In Kota kinabalu even worse. 1borneo to university. Just opposite yet can be seen from a distance. They charge me RM15. LESS THAN 5 MINUTES RIDE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Perhap spad should think why this thing can happen?
    All bad taxi should be impounded too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • frossonice on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Took my Uber ride from Puduraya to home late last night. Knowing the Puduraya area, you would think twice before getting into a taxi there. My ride last night cost me about RM16. If I were to use taxi, it may end up way above RM50 or worse.

So SPAD, improve your taxi service before punishing other people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 2
    • I agree. Many taxi drivers hanging around by the roadside (eg outside pavilion, klcc) refusing to use the meter, not wanting to go where the passenger wants to go, and pretending they don’t have change to return to you.
      If only SPAD would be as efficient in weeding out the unscrupulous taxi drivers instead!
      As a public transport user, Uber is the best thing that has happened in the last 10 years…and counting.

• SAM VHL Loo on Aug 17, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Those forfeited Toyotaik and Berukdua that mostly belong to GrabCar, only one way for SPAD to dispose them is to throw into my yard as scraps (no need to return those cars back to owners as the vehicle itself, even brand new were very dangerous to ferry people around, somemore without specific license (PSV) to operate. Once accident or crash, confirm mati katak since riders cannot claim any insurance from them)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • CrazyMobilo on Aug 17, 2015 at 1:53 pm

SPAD knows where is this UBER office located!!!
    SPAD knows where is this GRABCAR office is !!
    But why the f*** they aren’t any captures or law suits on them?
    They provide the software, they provide on evrythings including rides data…
    & full fledged advertising done by them alone!!!!
    Instead of that, The ones the SPAD is arresting are whom who are drving with UBER/GRABCAR in order to provide for their family…
    If i am to blame , i would blame UBER & SPAD…
    Coward SPAD… Got balls? Go & do the right thing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • hondaman on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:07 pm

because it is an app which is under MCMC’s jurisdiction. MCMC’s has already informed that they can’t shut down UBER because Malaysia is a free country….

• same as the dark curtain and fancy no plate
      the shop is legal to sell ’em but doesn’t mean it’s legal installed unto our car unless police permit obtained

• cendol (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Why is SPAD not under Transport MInistry?
    Why is SPAD under Finance Ministry?
    What job SPAD is doing that Transport MInistry cannot do?
    WHy need 2 separate entity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Paul Wee on Aug 17, 2015 at 3:04 pm

SPAD should consider the welfare of the consumers before acting out on UBER and GRABCar. Impounding Uber & Grabcar vehicles seems heavy handed, especially when Taxi Drivers get away free for not charging by the meter.

• just cancelled to join Uber after reading this article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:51 pm

There are laws in this country. Abide by them. If you break the law you deserve to be punished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • dugongx on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:26 am

Den punish the 2.8b guy first. Why punish all the small petty people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • joselyn on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:27 am

yea yea yea… deserve to be punished…lotsa ppl deserved to be punish yet still living comfortably in msia boo

• blackbox on Aug 17, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Tried Uber for the first time last Thursday. What I can say is fast and cheap. At least 50% cheaper. Car is cleaner and newer than Taxi.

• Was staying at Sunway Putra hotel last weekend heading to Jln Tun Razak which is 3km away. 3 regular taxis waiting in front of hotel refuse to go for various excuses. Open UBER app and manage to lockon a Uber cab within minutes. I was provided the estimated time of arrival plus current cab location. Fare charged is within fare estimate shown. So don’t blame others when you get less business. Look at own attitude before you point finger at others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • S – Stupid
    P – Pondan (No telur)
    A – Ass Licking
    D – Dumbass

Macai Teksi….

• das auto on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Uber and grabcar should claim its all donation only. No one is charging anything. Derma ikhlas. Understand pondan SPAD???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Muhammad Zulhilmi on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:51 am

Saya merupakan pengguna Uber di JB. Sehingga ke hari ini, kami dah guna perkhidmatan Uber lebih 180 kali. All perfect! All my family member using it.

Cepat, murah, selamat.

Kalau dulu naik Teksi, mereka tak mahu pergi ke sesetengah destinasi. Macam-macam alasan. Jalan jem lah, banyak traffic light lah.. Itu belum termasuk yang tak nak pakai meter.. Ada yang pakai meter, tapi tambang tak sama seperti yang tertera.. Well, ingat halalkah duit tu?

• kayfieza on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Spad.. U never think about poor people didnt u. Paham english ke. Students and workers salary below 1500 pkai grabcardengan uber sbb ada promo code. Traveling is easy and cheap than taxi. Dont tell about law. U create your own law without people approve it. Everyone can see spad officer 10 am go teh tarik at kl sentral. Have their breakfast or lunch.i hope theres someone as ahmad maslan in spad that can answer everything so hai…