SPAD seizes 12 vehicles in latest clampdown on illegal taxis – Uber and GrabCar vehicles involved

https://www.facebook.com/SPAD.my/posts/1127014200645310

In its latest attempt to clampdown on illegal taxi operators, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) revealed on its social media page that an operation conducted yesterday, entitled Ops Tegas, has resulted in the seizure of 12 private vehicles – all believed to have been operating under the Uber and GrabCar network.

From the limited amount of information divulged by SPAD, it is understood that 11 out of the 12 cars seized were operating under the GrabCar platform while the sole remaining vehicle was identified as an Uber car. The list of seized vehicles include four Perodua Myvis, a Perodua Axia, Proton Preve, Toyota Camry, Toyota Vios, Honda Jazz, Honda City, Hyundai Elantra and a Chevrolet Cruze.

The operation was conducted in various hotspots around the Klang Valley including the Sunway region, Berjaya Times Square, Damansara, Kelana Jaya, Puchong, Bangsar and Subang Jaya. Separately, amendments are also set to be made to the Land Public Transport Act 2010, which will grant the authorities the power to take further action against the various transportation network companies.

Gregory Sze

An "actor" by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Mak ko hijaaaaaaau

Permit teksi bla nak rombak? Telor mana telor?

1MDB. Gangster diutamakan, rakyat dibuli.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 2
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Looks like Boleh-land moniker getting an update…

Welcome to Mafia-land…!

Don’t forget to say thanks to Najib…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
      • SPAD and JPJ Officers on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Our SPAD and JPJ officers are a bunch of clowns. Never do any work. Just goyang kaki and always on the take.

See below and you will know why SPAD and JPJ workers are a failure.

Overseas Transport Enforcers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in traffic quality and regulation of public transport vehicles. We must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be hardworking and regulating cabs for the public benefit.

SPAD and JPJ workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Nanti boleh buat road blok, dapat duit banyak banyak. Boleh makan nasi lemak lebih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • Please Grow Some Telur on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Everyday I drive in KL, I see lorries and bosses emitting thick black smoke. Some so thick, the drivers behind the lorry get blinded.

This, SPAD don’t touch. They are too scared to touch these lorries. Their balls kecut. Why? Many of these lorries are crony connected.

7am to 8am rush hour, where heavy vehicles are not allowed on the highways, the NKVE drivers, the LDP drivers all see Tractors, big big lorries higging the lanes. Office hour traffic have to crawl because these big vehicles are blocking the way.

This, the SPAD and JPJ officers all balls kecut. They scared to do anything. It is blatant and open but the SPAD, JPJ and PDRM officers all got no balls.

Please I beg the JPJ, PDRM and SPAd officers, please grow some balls and do important enforcement on crimes and offences that are blatant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Eric Ooi on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:28 am

How they get back thier car? Any penalty?

• jwrx (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:45 pm

instead of going after grabcar/uber…i wish SPAD would concentrate on things that really matter to the rakyat. Overloaded lorries, lorries with bald tires, lorries with unsecured dangerous cargo, speeding buses, heavy vehicles on fast lane, taxis that dont use meter etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 2
    • Money Talks on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Lorries that overload and spew black smoke pay duit kopi. Grabcar and Uber got pay or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Corrupted SPAD - How Albar, what to do? on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Ask any teksi driver, they will tell you, if they kena saman SPAD, all they have to do is give duit kopi, and the saman disappears.

So, what is the point we have SPAD? What is the point we pay the SPAD Chairman 6 figure salary?

Teksi drivers and other offenders don’t care a damn about SPAD. They all tell they are not scared of SPAD because everything in SPAD can settle.

• hondaman on Aug 09, 2015 at 12:42 am

what cock are u talking about? SPAD can’t issue summon according to PAD Act 2010, they hv to submit investigation paper to the AG office & the court will decide on the compound/penalty.

• Those Myvi’s are so much more better than the crappy useless protons driven by rude pariahs and old people. Please give Uber an opportunity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 8
    • SAM 'Jamban' Loo on Aug 08, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Compared Myvi and those Toyota with old and unsafe protong iswara/wira/BLM taxi, yes, they fare better, but still those confiscated cars esp. Toyota and ‘rebadge’ Toyota need to throw into my yard as scrap metal or to export to 3rd world countries (can settle with SPAD one).

• Anonymous on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Oh please SPAD.. Go F*** yourself. Solve the malaysian taxi’s issue before go and ruin other people’s life by snatching their cars away. Always talk cock no action.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
  • Ulkamikup on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:32 pm

SPAD chairman….i know your wife got so many taxi permit. U just want to safe your wife’s ass. Pukimaklu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Captur / CX-3 on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:59 pm

The best la Malaysian government. This is what they do when you try to break their money pot. They makan so much money from their taxi donkeys and now Uber and Grabcar trying to rob their rice bowl. LOL. Now SPAD trying to makan more money from the rakyat with their buses. Hilarious…. All go into Rosmah’s bag DONATION!

• Can’t solve their typical taxi problems fast. Clamping down on illegal taxis immediately. Bellends running SPAD?

• Diesel on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:03 pm

SPAD, do something to prove you are working. Catching these taxis, why not run a check on legal taxis. I took a taxi to airport penang, they charged me double without meter. They turned on meter afraid SPAD catch them. But reached destination, half less then what I already paid.

• Jay Law on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:25 pm

C’mon they are NOT druglords. Why da impound?

• Rangers on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Those fking lorry speed daily in NKVE left right left right never got caught…everyday you just wait from Subang till Sepang sure catch a lot!

if Taxi, those run down, windows cannot open, and smelly taxi still can run on the road?

What a joking boleh-robber-land.

• sokong lah
    kenapa x puji kerajaan
    we protecting rakyat tau tak?
    hidup Najib hidup BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Hari hari got taxi tout (ulat taxi) at Kelana Jaya LRT station. Where is SPAD??? I have made a complain before, still no action. Why no enforcement from LRT station owner? Why no signage against these taxi touts? I think Uber should do operasi and video tape all these ulats in action!

• Spadofmyass on Aug 08, 2015 at 4:20 am

Solve the problem with your incompetent taxi drivers first before going after grabcar and uber. Their attitude and professionalism is way better than the useless taxi drivers that we have. Malaysia’s taxi drivers are rating one of the worst in the WORLD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • BOLA TARAK on Aug 08, 2015 at 5:13 am

SPAD i don’t understand why did they come up with such an entity where the chairman makes 6 figure, the employees just have road blocks here and there to get their daily fix of free food? If SPAD doesn’t serve the purpose of getting the job done, better just beg la or you know get some “donation” la

• Hot girls got problems too on Aug 08, 2015 at 5:27 am

When their own rice bowls are affected they’ll act very fast. If only the rakyat is affected, they’ll ‘study carefully’ first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:26 am

Great, I see an Elantra on the the tow truck.

Just see when it will be auctioned off for me to export

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Uber & Grab Car, please put sticker on your cars that says ” Accept Donation Only”. Sure no case one …

• IGP mom on Aug 10, 2015 at 9:40 am

There should be a simpler solution that intimidation to help the taxi. Taxi has been monopolizing and because of that, they define their own rules and charges at their will. Level the playing field with Uber and Grabcar, and legalize the activity by simply collecting taxes from them. If any layman being the wheel operating under Uber and Grabcar can earn the money and respect, why can’t taxi? Why are they allow to conduct daylight robbery? Let the competition begins.

On another note, clearly SPAD use the app from Uber and Grabcar to nab the drivers. This is a major violation of use of these apps, in fact such activities are unlawful.

• This is funny.
    IF (and that’s a big IF) they are illegal, why are their offices not being clamped down? This looks more like bullying the drivers and asking for donations.
    For example, when there was this issue about a chocolate brand being not halal, do you catch the retailers or the chocolate factory/ company?
    Do you know how irrelevant you guys are now?

• SPAD,u doing ur duties but not understand that ppl need taxi under certain platform for their security purpose…I have see by my own eye a lady jump out from a common taxi 2am in front of PWTC hotel….and when I check she sd that the driver where trying to harm her