Uber cars destroyed in Mexico City amidst protests

It would appear that the crisis surrounding international transportation network company, Uber, and local taxi drivers has taken a turn for the worse – at least in Mexico City. On July 28, Uber vehicles were violently attacked by a group of armed individuals within the vicinity of the Mexico City International Airport.

According to reports by The Guardian and the International Business Times, parties involved in the assault “accused Uber of operating from taxi stands designated for traditional cabs authorised by the government.” A video clip of the incident details the fracas with individuals seen pelting eggs and flour onto Uber vehicles.

The clip also captures video evidence of rowdy individuals smashing a car’s rear window with a boulder and prying off a car’s side mirror along with one nasty scene whereby a man is seen shattering a window of an Uber car with what looks like a metal rod.

uber-cars-destroyed-mexico-city-protests-2

Said attacks were believed to have occurred just a day before licensed taxi drivers in Mexico took to the streets to protest against the popular app-based service. Earlier in July, Mexico City became the first Latin American city to regulate Uber, with a 1.5% ride levy and an annual permit fee introduced. The move was interpreted by taxi drivers as the local government bending over to the demands of Uber.

“What happened yesterday was a very serious incident that we condemn. Violence is unacceptable. We invite everyone to have a dialogue and we’re open to working with authorities and taxi associations to benefit citizens,” commented Lorena Villarreal, communications manager for Uber in Latin America.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

As violent as the clashes were, Uber has stated that none of the drivers were gravely injured – between 10 to 12 cars have been reported to be damaged. As for what caused the incident in the first place, reports are indicating that members of the mob became unruly after discovering that Uber vehicles were parked nearby the airport as they waited for customers to summon them – effectively depriving other taxi drivers of fares.

In Malaysia, it was announced that Land Public Transport Act 2010 will be amended to allow the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) the authority to take action against transportation network companies such as Uber and Grabcar. For more info, check out our earlier story here as well as a video of a protest held not long ago by the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• and… we trust are gonna these thugs to commute us..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • all butt hurt taxi drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • In France, uber car got upcar by teksimen. Nobody got caught.
    In Mexico, uber cars got gangsta-paradised. Nobody got caught.
    When is Malaysia turn?

• Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Very soon. They are busy with the 1MDB scandal. Now very interesting as there is cabinet change . All at Muhyiddin house giving him support.

• Oh, I din know France & Mexico oso got their own 1 mdb scandal. I guess Malaysia not so bad after all, eh.

• Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:33 pm

You ask me when Malaysia teksi will destroy car mah. I answer based on the recent news leh. I ask Teksi driver they all say they at Muhyiddin house show support so no time to kacau Uber. Tell truth you don’t wanna believe.

• Bunch of animals…. Even getting children in on the carnage. They’re not doing any good for their reputation as cabbies.

• Most cabbie reputation is already down the drain, no wonder they are so desperate to “protest” and smash Uber’s cars, makes me wanna use Uber service even more.

• Crasher7 on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:43 pm

To all the taxis drivers around the world behaving like this, it is behaviour like this that lead to many passengers trying out services like Uber and GrabCar. Time has changed, people are more savvy with their everyday life decisions. When there’s a newer, more efficient method, people will go for it.

Taxi drivers, time to move with the time, one is learn from Uber, or try out a different model to compete. Beating up your competitors won’t help your causes a bit! The public will however, more sympathetic towards your victims instead and give even more support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • dugongx on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:37 pm

I would have run down these thugs as self defense.

• top 1 worst taxi driver in the world, somemore want to protest…never learnt

• jealousy on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:54 am

the video just showed that the jealousy of poors smashing rich man cars…

• Jay Law on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Taxi drivers? Lowest form of life..