Land Public Transport Act 2010 set to be amended – SPAD takes the fight to the likes of Uber and Grabcar

uber-x-car

Amendments are set to be made to the Land Public Transport Act 2010, and these will finally give the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) the authority to take action against transportation network companies (TNC) such as Uber and Grabcar.

These amendments, which are expected to be tabled in Parliament in October, include a provision to regulate mobile app providers offering any public transport, commercial transport and delivery services, The Sun reports.

The commission’s chairman, Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, said that the existing laws are silent on mobile apps offering public transport services, and this meant that SPAD was finding it difficult to rein in foreign and local mobile apps such as Uber and GrabCar, which it says offers illegal public transport services.

He said that the move to regulate mobile apps is not to legalise services such as Uber, but to ensure all matters pertaining to public transport come under the commission. “In the future, we can take action directly against the parties involved should they breach the law,” he added.

SPAD-Syed-Hamid-Albar-01

SPAD CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal reiterated the point, telling the publication that the proposed amendments would exert control over such TNCs acting as a medium for public transport service. He said that while there is nothing wrong with any mobile app offering public transport services, the service is considered illegal when it dispatches a private vehicle with no valid permit and with a driver that does not have a PSV licence.

“We want to ensure that such services adhere to the service level and regulations set by us. The proposed amendments will plug the loopholes and address the Uber and GrabCar issues. SPAD is consulting the Attorney-General’s Chambers to draft the new law,” he said, adding that the amendments will take into account future apps concerning car pooling or the charging of passengers using unlicensed vehicles.

Taxi drivers have been demanding for the suspension of these app-based TNCs, which they say are taking away their livelihoods by undercutting their meter rates through underhanded means.

Last month, members of the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) held a protest outside the MyTeksi headquarters in Petaling Jaya to vocalise their concerns on the matter – there was a follow-up protest at the same location last week.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Saya putar lagi, Halim, wang besar, wang besaaar.

Meanwhilings, our taxi are still worst…… in the world. Tapi bos besar, cable besar, telor najib terus tak payah tangkap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Typical Malaysian government.

When they can’t get a cut from your revenue or defeat you through fair competition, they MAIN BELAKANG. 100% import tax for Proton and the sodomy case are the perfect examples.

• Bobby (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:19 pm

There are just simply too many laws in this country and the average Malaysian would not know what laws there are in the country now. Worse still, most Malaysian sets their own laws. See how they park or extend their houses, etc.

As Louzi said long time ago, the more rules of laws and regulation, the more opportunities for corruption and malpractices. How true today in Malaysia.

The only solution to have all these firefight shits dismantled is to rebuild the nation from scratch by letting the UN runs it, just like Fiji sometime ago. Otherwise, nothing is new anymore in this Boleh Land!!

• hopeless country

• Cepatnya ambil tindakan.

I don’t see them that efficient to amend the law on marital rape (in fact they have admitted no plan to amend) nor any attempt to amend law pertaining to child pornography.

• NasiLemak_2.0 on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Nasilemak management mmng cam nil la. Bila rakyat sudah cakap Malaysia taxi service teruk(charge lebih n etc), tak nak ambik tindakan. Sebaliknye. Ban Uber n Grabcar. Apa kebodohan nie? Dari ni sudah tau la. SPAD sudah tak kisah pasal rakyat tu. Kesimpulanye, SPAD n Malaysia Teksi, pls go DIE!!!!!

• Bolehland on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:02 pm

“If you can’t beat them, ban them.”

• BigBalls on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:23 pm

The problems are easy to fix, monitor tax drivers, go undercover and tangkap those that are in the wrong and slap them with a fine. Make an example out of a couple of errant taxi drivers, this will send shivers down the spine of others.

But they wont do it, because ultimately, less taxi drivers, less income for the taxi companies with permits, and no prizes (not even 2 cents) for guessing who holds these permits

The solution?

Slap new laws to squeeze more money from successful company on the disguise of better enforcement (which doesn’t exist anyways), if they can pay for it, that’s all good. If they can’t pay for it, they will be out of business and the taxi companies with permits will continue to operate without competition, or should i say MONOPOLY given blessings by the authorities?

• see the road on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Cannot deny – yes, such business like uber/grabcar has its benefits to certain situations.

However, without enforcement of the permits – answer me this – if say the uber/grabcar operator decides to commit crime (e.g. rape/robbery), HOW can the average user/victim make report? App data details alone is not enough.

At least with actual registered taxis, their records are with the taxi company/app company/spad. With this, can take proper legal action.

Some of you say all the regulations make it worst, but just think a little more. Does it really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • tinmilo on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:18 pm

You do have a point.
        But now answer me this.. What if say the chance of you getting rape/robbery is higher with the so call “registered legal taxi” and travel in one of those old half broken Proton is more likely to sustain an injury then a Uber Accord? So what if you still can get proper legal action after? You already got rape, or lose a leg in the process…

• OtakLembu on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:55 pm

hi bangang, u tak erti buat polis report ke? With or without SPAD registered personal drivers, you still can report polis. Ini lah nasilemak thinking :((

• I am an Uber driver and let me tell you that our details are stored with Uber. This includes IC and insurance details.

So don’t simple make assumptions brother. Ask, don’t just make assumptions. Don’t be so arrogant. You will learn nothing!

• So bro, being a UBER driver , is it safe?. Will you kena tangkap or have your car towed ah?. I’m interested to be a part time UBER driver. How much can you earn ah?.

• paulwee on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:12 pm

I hope SPAD will consider the Rakyat’s preference when it acts. It’s hard for consumers to revert to conventional sub-standard taxis once they’ve enjoyed the superior services offered by Uber & Grabcar.

• sammy on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:15 pm

In the interest of the rakyat, I hope the MPs in Parliment will know what to do.
    Over the years, SPAD has proven to be not very effective in governing the public transport (and this is factual, as all surveys has shown). To expand the scope of their governance is counter-intuitive.

• Amei (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:44 pm

What those taxi drivers expect, always protest here and there and expect people to use their service? I rather use the other alternative than those guys. Instead of protesting here and there, how about improving the service and not picky on the customer la.

• I find it silly when people think if taxi services is first class they can beat Uber and customers will return back to taxi services.

If you take a good look at Singapore, Japan, USA, England taxi services, even if they got the best taxi services in the world they’ll still get beaten badly by Uber.

They are just way too far behind the superior offerings by these ride-sharing companies in terms of price, car, comfort and experience.

I’d say it’s time for regulators to further deregulate the industry and embrace ride-sharing competition for the benefit of the public good.

• chum chim on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:36 pm

All talk, zero action….same shitty taxi services year in, year out.

Malaysia memang (tak) boleh.

Saya Tak Nak Teksi Malaysia

• wilson on Jul 22, 2015 at 7:31 pm

aiyo, upgrade the taxi service is true la!