SPYSHOTS: Tesla Model S spotted in Malaysia again!

Tesla-Model-S-4

The Tesla Model S has been spotted in Malaysia again by reader Christopher Khoo (thanks for the pictures!).

Such is the progress of Tesla that this Model S is already outdated. It’s the discontinued P85+ variant, the most powerful of the original launch lineup – it’s since been replaced by the even quicker dual-motor, all-wheel drive P85D.

Tesla-Model-S-5

As such, this particular model is powered by a 310 kW (416 hp) rear electric motor that whips up 600 Nm of torque and draws power from a 85 kWh battery. As such, 0-100 km/h takes just 4.2 seconds – a figure beaten by the P85D’s three-second sprint time with the new “Ludicrous Mode” hardware upgrade, but impressive nonetheless. On the flip side, the P85+ has a massive 426 km range thanks to the larger battery pack.

Earlier in the year, the Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) announced it was to bring in 120 units of the Model S to be leased to government-linked companies (GLCs) for a two-year period, but those were 70D and 85 models, so this black right-hand drive example is not one of them. A possible grey import unit, like the blue P85+ spotted at LCCT?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rigid on Aug 21, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Good. its a good idea to pixelate the number plate to avoid any issues that might come later. be careful folks. btw, i remember the plate well before it was blurred :-)

• hailthepurist on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:48 am

my E-bills already sky high..

• Proton Buat Apa? Tesla Patents FREE on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Tesla patents are free for anyone to use. ALl Proton has to do is use the patents and build a hybrid or electric car. Until today, Proton has not done a Hybrid or Electric car but sucking billions from LHDN telling us taxpayers that the money is needed for research.

Hello Abang, all the research, patents and tech are FREE from Tesla. Why do you need the BILLIONS unless the BILLION are going into pockets?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 21, 2015 at 4:25 pm

TNB1

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Bravo, now I have to add on a little bit: You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, and Tesla as well.

• hermes smile on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:49 pm

that was awesomE… i like Tesla very much… how much it costs quite a bit when in malaysia?

• hermes smile on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:52 pm

That was awesome…i like it very much… how much it costs quite a bit when in malaysia?

• Double Standard on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:36 pm

How come the tint is so dark??? This shows that the rich and / or powerful can get away with laws and police also do not dare to catch them.

• asphiroth on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:04 pm

i saw this car got out from a house at perdana heights at tmn cheras perdana…cant take pics because driving

• Allroadquattro on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Cool!
    More Tesla means more fuel for me!

• mr1031 on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:00 pm

just saw this car yesterday on plus hiway..stupid fella driving like he owns the road..yes you got money, but behave like a monkey..stupid

• Jeff Tacra on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:22 am

I know the owner of the car. My friend is the driver of the owner.