Proton Iriz EV – 300 km electric car on display at IGEM

Proton Iriz EV 2

Following a glimpse of the Proton Iriz EV prototype in South Korea last October, we now have the first pictures and initial specs of the local carmaker’s very own electric vehicle. The Proton Iriz EV is currently on display at the 2015 International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM).

While the exterior looks familiar, the Iriz EV is a totally different car underneath. Powering the car is a permanent magnet AC synchronous electric motor that puts out the equivalent of 116 kW (155 hp) and 360 Nm of torque – the motor is juiced up by an LG-developed 39.6 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery. This allows for a 0-100 km/h time of less than nine seconds and a top speed of 150 km/h.

Other details in which the spec sheet lists is a 50 kW fast charging and a 6.6 kW normal charging system. A 7.23 ratio for the single-speed transmission is also noted. According to Proton, the battery can be charged from 40% to full in just 15 minutes with a fast charger, four hours with a public charger and seven hours with a standard three-pin plug.

While it was previously claimed that the Iriz EV had a better range than the Nissan Leaf (240 km versus 200 km touted by the latter), Proton now says that it can cover more ground than that – a NEDC cycle-based operational range of around 300 km is mentioned. An impressive figure considering that the car weighs in at 1,380 kg – 195 kg heavier than the standard Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT (1,185 kg).

Elsewhere, the underfloor-mounted battery means that interior space has not been compromised – the car even retains its spare tyre under the boot floor. The gearknob is now a small, stumpy item that appears to have been nicked off a third-gen Toyota Prius, and there’s now a digital instrument display showing the speed, charge status, power used/regenerative braking applied and even the battery temperature.

Back in October 2014, it was revealed by Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO, Madani Sahari, that one of the two proposed Malaysian-developed electric vehicles could be sold for under RM100k when it hits the market.

If all goes according to plan, the Iriz EV could be officially launched by end 2016/early 2017.

Learn more: ,

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• suomynona on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Well,Hello there

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 299
      • Anti Tongkat on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Brave and crazy macais, of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 83
        • taknaktoyota on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:53 pm

RIP prius c

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 56
          • Football Fan on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:14 am

Pls buy Iriz lah like how we support our national football team. If they lose, we riot and baling suah. That’s how we show our love for Malaysia. We cannot lose one just like Proton. We are the best in the world whether it’s automotive or sports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
          • priusgarbage on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:45 am

Habis la Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:51 am

Low class car for kampong people who just know how to makan nasi lemak, tidur and have babies like bunnies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 85
          • Time Bomb Ready to Explode on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:57 am

People never learn. For 30 yrs Proton has been giving us low quality. Every year and every launch of new car, they promise quality has changed and outstanding.

Now they say this about this EV. I tell you, this car will explode like the Exora for sure. Proton cannot be trusted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 58
          • Madani Sahari Ball Carry on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:02 am

Actually Madani Sahari talks rubbish all the time. Don’t take him seriously. Everything he says is always government propoganda.

You see, Madani Sahari is the Government’s biggest ball carrier. He is the front man for MITI to maintain the AP system and he will cium every buntot.

If you see MAI in the past, all they have said is utter propoganda by the Government. Infact local car companies lost billions because Madani told them Government was moving towards EEV vehicles and local car companies spent bilions to CKD models like Jazz, Civic etc.

Now, Government told us to kentut and podah with regard to Hybrids. Now EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • TNB lagi mahal bodo on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:12 am

Bodoh MAI. Our crony glc TNB bills are so high. It is cheaper to put petrol than drive this EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Open Letter to Proton on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:35 am

Hello Proton, you probably used a few billion of our LHDN money to kononnya invent this EV car. Although Tesla patents and designs and 100% technical development is completely free using Tesla’s Open and Free to the World patents, Proton would have aked or will be asking tens of billions to develop this car into production.

Can you pls take this tens of billions and give us cheaper existing petrol engined cars??

Or better still, can the Government use the money to build more hospitals and schools?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • best of luck Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Better buy Jap EV! on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:54 am

See below and you will know why Proton EV is high risk to buy.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Malas lah nak solder EV ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
          • Boleh on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:11 am

If Lee Chong Wei lose, they critic. If they own ethnic lose in World Cup qualifier, they throw flares. Malay-sia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
          • taknakproton on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:37 am

Satu lagi project crony to ask for more public funds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
          • taknakproton on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:56 am

Spec good but nobody buy like the normal. RIP Iriz EV coming soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
          • Japanese Workers vs Proton Workers on Sep 11, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Typical Proton, apa pun boleh but the end results everyone know lah

Japanese Workers : “We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other German car plants”

Proton Workers: “Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
          • Pekerja Proton on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Build EV? Malam jumaat lebih baik lah

• irizgarbage on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Habis la wang rakyat Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Shame on you shame lorr. Proton dare to change this time. Iriz EV is better than Nissan Leaf. Please accept that!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 37
          • Football Fan on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:21 am

Malaysia football team is better than Saudi. Please accept that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
          • Better? In term of Range only? Or price? Make the nissan leaf 100% tax free and see who will buy this iriz EV. Dun forget nissan can sourse bigger battery at anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:32 am

Burning money of course dare to do ANYTHING! You don’t do anything how to BURN money?

Petrol Iriz already no one bother, and you expect got people to buy EV Iriz?

While Proton can’t even make proper power window and door handler, you better pray you won’t get electrocuted in the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
          • camtakpro on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:05 am

Don’t be so hasty. See the pricing first.

• This is a great car. All those here saying negative things about this car are stupid otak kosong Bersih supporters. There are 300,000 idiots who wore yellow shirts to cause trouble for the country and for good companies like Proton.

Bravo Proton!!! Termakasih BN kerana prihatin dan bagi kami Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:22 am

See if these 300,000 ppl boycott Proton. Proton will close down within a year. Ppl buy Proton simply because it is CHEAP.

Is it really cheap? Not really! A Malaysia Preve is more expensive than a 86 in Japan. Local made local price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
          • i still support Proton.. hope Proton will succeed with this EV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • i support Tun M!!! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Albert on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:50 am

Remember the Saga EV they were TALKING BIG sometime ago? What happen?
          Now Iriz EV.
          Proton is just creating sensational news cos they know time is running out.
          Before selling any Ev, kindly insaflah,protong…sell your current product range by ditching the f..up CVT gearbox and fix the irritating fan noise when the car is idling.
          Like Tun said,dont be LAZY.Swallow your bladdy overblown ego…learn the humble way ,like the japanese…start from ground zero.Dont tokok you have reached Everest summit when you are not even at Base Camp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Albert Reply on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:51 am

They cannot lah. Whole day eat nasi lemak and sleep in Proton factory, see awek also want to kongkek in factory, 7 time go kantin to minum teh dan makan kuih lapis in a day.

How to improve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
          • squall_shinoda on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:58 am

At least they’re doing something by developing the EV all by themselves. They tried with the Saga EV. They were even willing to partner with Detroit Electric, even though in the end Detroit Electric never use the Persona platform at all. Instead of blaming Proton (or other carmakers) for the sluggish sales of EVs, you should instead blame the lack of proper charging infrastructure. Just look at everywhere in KL, does DBKL provide dedicated parking for EVs with charging sockets or at least the damn little 3-pin 13A sockets for EVs…? Does any flat or apartment provide at least 13A sockets for charging the EVs…? Those living at ground houses and terrace houses are considered lucky because they can at least pull out their extension wires to charge the EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Total agree!

Proton 5S principles:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Discount
            5. Siapa pun tak beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • George Abdul on Sep 11, 2015 at 1:00 pm

@squall
            Build themself but funds for where? Rakyat !!! If really Themself try to use own money to build and buy materials and not ask Govt for funds !!! Go do research b4 comments “themself”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • FLXCVT on Sep 11, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Even a CTV transmission also cannot tackle well, now move on to EV, come on lah, settle the petrol engine car first, then go EV. My CVT jerk like shit, slow respond, went thru so many hassle in proton workshop, refresh this ECU, Refresh that CVT switch, WTF, until today the CVT warning light still on and off!
            Simple CVT also cannot resolved and now want to sell EV Iris?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Bruise on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:47 pm

I no brave enough to buy Prius bcoz it still using petrol, furthermore it is ugly look. Those ppl said Toyota save fuel seem like not true anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:35 am

Typical basher. When you can’t afford that, you said you not brave enough to buy. And then bullshit hear this people say hear that people say.

Those who bash Prius, never even sat in the car once.

Those who own Prius, never complain and enjoy. Thus you see more Prius than Iriz on the road.

Good thing expensive, ppl buy.
          Lousy thing expensive, you think ppl sohai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • EV charging Station Bumi ONLY??? on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:25 am

Will EV charging station be given like how 99% petrol stations are given to Bumiputera?

I am non bumi but I want licence to run EV station. Can ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Buyer Beware on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:22 am

Stay away from Hybrid or EV. Anything spoils in the electrical parts, nothing less than RM5k to repair. RM5k to RM10k.

In overseas, people can buy extended warranty until even 20 yrs also. Malaysia got no extended warranty. After warranty you will heart attack.

It is not like carburator or injection car where parts are cheap

• I would buy.

• wong bah bee on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Pigs pigs pigs. Once a pig always a pig

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • *twist
      Looking at Honda CR-Z low sales volume,
      how well can Iriz EV RM100k sell?

Iriz EV, should be around RM75k.
      It’s already RM15k above Iriz high spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Satu kereta IRIZ berbagai versi ada crossover ada elektrik vehicle ada r3 race car ada city car dan ada long journey car, memang la jimat tapi takde penumpuan contohnya whellbase iriz sangat besar untuk sport rim 1.3 nampak pelik pulak disebabkan iriz dicipta juga untuk crossover car bagi menyesuaikan rim crossover yang besar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • ventos on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:48 am

Iriz with sport rims is lightyears good looking then ah beng tin milo myvi.

• alldisc on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:34 am

wheelbase besar sangat?

wheel arch lah.

penah tengok Ford Ka? itulah inspirasi Iriz… 15 thn lepas. di eropah Ka diterima dgn baik.

• Malu Malu Malu Malu on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:07 am

Such a low class car. Malu pakai kereta ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • whellbase???

• this is great! if jadi la

• Nissan on Sep 14, 2015 at 12:55 am

Forever in display only. Where is the EV car in production? 2nd generation of Leaf can go 250km only. If you can really go beyond that, then why are you not selling?

• In b4 Sam Loosers here sez Gov and P1 cannot trust one, the car is actually weighs ton more, price will sky high, mileage 50km onli, bateri quality will be like power window one, sure will catch fire and kill all occupants.

Ini semua salah Mahathir/Najib/UMNO/BN/kroni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 78
    • frossonice on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:22 pm

He will definitely compared it with the new hideous Prius which no one buy anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • He will oso say if w/o P1, he kau-kau sure toyota will CKD prius here and price like axia basic spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:32 pm

When sozai bashing china car makers are copycat, here we see Proton doing same thing. Suddenly our Prius gearstick existed inside a Proton. Strange ha?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 76
      • If you can show me toyota’s patent on their gearknob I will bow down to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:27 pm

China car makers are copycat because they blindly copy 100%. But Proton engineers are smarter. They improve the Accord platform applied the latest tech into new Perdana. Cant wait for the launch next year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
          • Esoklah on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:21 am

Exora cooling problem also cannot handle, now want to do EV? Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Heng Lee on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:37 am

And the steering wheel is circular too, same as in our Prius!

Proton copycat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Mark Tan on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:36 pm

buy this to balik kampung, kampung need a charging station too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Renault Twizy uses 3-pin home socket. Need to charge overnight thou

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • most People who embrace such technology by Proton would be GenY.

Come brainstorm a solution how to charge a Proton when we live in high rise, apartment of flat.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:22 pm

battery capacity is 39.6 kWh, fast charging 50kW will take less than 1 hour… about 50 minutes? normal charging 6.6kW would take 6 hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Mark Tan on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:40 pm

say:
      12 month = 30,000km
      1 month = 2,500km
      full charges required = 2500/300 = 8.3 times.
      say 9 times.
      9times X 50kWh = 450kWh
      this already at RM0.402/kwh calculating rate.

ok, say the maximum rate.
      RM0.454/kwh.
      450kwh: 450*0.454 = RM204.3/month.

Question: how much guarantee it runs 300km every charge.

thus, i have included safety factor to generate a reasonable reality value.

it will be RM200 + – for normal people usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • AlfaRomeo_FerrariCousin on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Yeah, I’ve driven an EV before and the driving range is ALWAYS not as claimed. It all depends on driving conditions, occupants, etc etc etc… So, dont put hopes so high on this EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • ecoboost on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:03 pm

With Proton promoting 300km, it will be already good if it can run for 30km…

• xoxox on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:23 am

it always more than that, the charging efficiency will not be 100%….please take note that…

• Electric Rosak You Cry! on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:19 am

Dont forget, any electrical failure or components rosak, it will cost you thousands to repair. Goodbye to the few hundreds you saved using electric.

This is why Hybrids in Malaysia FAILED. Once outside warranty, any small repairs is few thousand rinngit. I owned a Prius before I know.

Also Hybrid and EV RV jatuh like rock. Nobody dare touch Hybrids now cause price like yoyo and to sell your hybrid, you got to beg and beg used car dealer. I sold My Prius after 3 yrs for RM70k. New I bought RM140k. Lose RM70k in 3 yrs. Loan also I got to top up.

EV will be worse RV

• Jarhead on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Impressive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • VW Golf GTI, which either moves fast or gearbox jammed.

1370kg, 350Nm,
      0-100 = 6.5seconds.

so, this IRIZ EV 1380kg, 360Nm,
      0-100 = ~6.5 seconds lar

• policeman on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Nice Prius gear knob there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • agogo on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:33 pm

nak 1 biji preeese..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • AVH (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Is that a Toyota Prius gear-lever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Wow ! The specs are very promising; 360 Nm of torque is maaaad ! If it’s priced well, it will sell… overseas. Not here, I don’t think so. Malaysia is not yet prepared for EVs, but the U.S., Canada, Western Europe, China and Japan have excellent EV infrastructure and government support. Proton could carve a niche for themselves with the Iriz EV, as a safe and low priced EV city car. China has had great success exporting their EVs (like the BYD e6) as taxis to Europe, so it’s not a guessing game.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Anti Tongkat on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:01 pm

If it’s allowed to be priced below RM100K here then other brands also should enjoy the same or similar price range.

Do not hide behind some indirect protections anymore.

Anyway nobody is crazy enough to waste RM100K on a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
      • sepul on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:10 pm

No protection, those high prices are simply the excise duties imposed. EVs are naturally more expensive regardless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • camtakpro on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:17 am

Once upon a time, there’s a country that sell Corolla at around 18k. Then the country decided to produce its own car called Saga. Automatically the Corolla become 27k, while Saga is on 23k.

Even with the difference Saga couldn’t sell that good, then they introduce something called FCUK duty that applies to ‘all’, which then Saga become 27k and Corolla become 50k.

Still with the difference Saga couldn’t sell that good. Then they abolish the FCUK duty and introduce another called SIHT duty which said to apply to ‘all’, Saga become 33k and Corolla become 80k.

Still with the difference Saga couldn’t sell that good. Then they abolish SIHT duty and introduce ECXISE dutywhich said to apply to ‘a;;’, Saga become 37k and Corolla become 120k.

Still….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • mim (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 6:46 pm

once upon a time, both saga and corolla sit in the same segment. years later, one of them is a basic A-segment sedan and the other is a high-end C-segment car.

are you THAT dumb?

• old dog on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:13 pm

thats the reason why Prius and others price hike.
        same when protong started that make all other car more expensive to make cronies rich.

make no mistake, its never rakyat but cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • Proton RM100k?
        Honda CRZ RM110k, the sales volume, was low enough.

• bezel on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:53 am

CRZ is crampy car, only 2 doors.Iriz has 4 doors suitable for family city car

• Heng Lee on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:43 am

“China has had great success exporting their EVs (like the BYD e6) as taxis to Europe, so it’s not a guessing game.”

I’ve never seen a chinese EV taxi in Europe? In which part of Europe they sell all this taxis?

• Aero (Member) on Sep 12, 2015 at 2:04 am

@ Heng Lee :

China has made sooo many EVs in the last few years, it’s hard to keep track of their progress. But the BYD e6 is one of their better known ones, they’ve sold some in the U.K., U.S., Netherlands, Belgium and a few other places. Hong Kong and Singapore also have a few. Here’s a recent 2014 article for further reading ;

http://europe.autonews.com/article/20141016/ANE/141019898/chinas-byd-beats-renault-nissan-in-brussels-electric-taxi-bid

Here’s a list of all the Chinese EVs that are in production ;

http://chinaautoweb.com/electric-cars/

• Don’t worry. It will remains a prototype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 64
  • Nice move proton. I am not patriotic or proton supporter. Prove to other people that Proton are capable of new technology and not proud of your Campro engine which is 20years old technology . Please launch it as soon as possible and be a market leader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • leafl on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Lol 20 years old tech can be euro5 stanatd engine lor. Most honda toyota herenot even euro4!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Delloid on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:22 pm

To improve the range better remove all power windows to save weight. Surely can travel up to 1,000km. (The power windows will spoilt anyway, better remove it lah)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • alldisc on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:42 pm

I am thinking, without LG proton has lower chances of producing this EV.

But hey hey, 0-100 in less than 9 seconds? Bye bye satria neo!

• With 39.6kWh battery, using 6.6kW charger will require about 5+ hours for 0-80% & another 2-3 hours more till 100%.

If using 50kW fast charger, 0-80% could be done in 1 hour.

Mind you, if using 6.6kW charger at home will require dedicated 30A circuit breaker. 50kW fast charger maybe only available at charger station.

• insomnia on Sep 10, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Can do charging while sleeping. No problem

• Silthice on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:08 pm

I wonder how much is it cost to charge from 5%-100% compare to fossil fuel gas? As some source of Malaysian electricity generator come from fossil fuel as well…

• start a fight on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:56 pm

hopefully Proton jump to chademo band wagon instead of normal SAE J1772… to make it easy for them to jump into global market where other EV roam. or better yet. provide both socket.

• TotoMan on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Its a Proton. How many years did they took to get the Power Window right? I think about 15 years. Later if the poor driver take back to Service Center about he battery charging problem. A very high probability the SC will tell you ”Ala Bang, inikan Proton”. Better put you money into Sports Toto, getting a non-lemon 1st edition Proton Hybrid odds is the same as 1st Prize Sports Toto draw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 55
    • And here we go. Unfortunately I alredi pre-empted you above. So you can just go back home alredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Power window problem pon sbb vendor cina…org mmng suka mnipu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
  • woww… so much torque for car with that size…
    let’s wait and see for the price… and if the battery comes with 10 years warranty then maybe proton can have a good selling point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Iriz battery – 39.6 kWh
    Nissan Leaf battery – 24 kWh
    BMW i3 batterry – 22 kWh
    918 Spyder battery – 6.8 kWh

Apa lagi Proton basher mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
    • Diorang mau semua tu dengan EURO safety tapi harga tata nano basic spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • P1 basher mahu p1 close shop. Only p2 sells moving coffins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Pengguna Bijak on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Knowing it’s a Proton, better give 20 years warranty. Best is still give lifetime warranty. Only then its worth buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • warnerz on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:36 am

Lol even Toyota dun dare to give such warranty. Why? Because it’s not as reliable as before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Huh-huh-huh on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:55 am

lifetime warranty also useless. every week go back to proton service center. sit there more than sit at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • old dog on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Higher storage capacity without efficiency will not make it better. You have a bigger car battery but your technology consume more power as compare other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • old dog on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:12 pm

also, higher capacity weight more and ultimately consume more power to carry it.
      You think those car factory don’t know how to put more storage? its a balance of technology and design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Orange on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:50 pm

A car the public might actually want to buy. Keluar EV – tak ada infrastruktur and why would anyone pay close to 100k for an Iriz EV in this economy? Want to sell overseas pun susah because of poor brand perception and regulation problems. Did they even do a case study? Aftersales problem pun haven’t settled oso, how to have confidence to keep this type of car long-term? Launch the car – nobody buys it, and the rakyat gets blamed for not being patriotic. After that Proton gets stuck in a rut because they didn’t make enough money to develop their future products, and we get stuck with the same old Preve and Iriz for the next ten years because they were too ego/lazy to follow through on their JVs with other companies. Same old story. Don’t know how you fanboys can’t see the obvious.

Would rather Proton focus on improving their service and brand perception first rather than churning out stuff Malaysians don’t really want. Do a proper JV (with technology transfer instead of rebadging old models) and maybe Proton will go somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • DPCraft on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Really Impress by the Torque figures, next time typical P1 fans will say my Iriz smoke this my Iriz smoke that… oh Gosh !!

• It can smoke but the relaxing drive is more enjoyable. Try turbo campro

• frossonice on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:19 pm

EV don’t smoke. :P

They just drive past you silently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:40 am

Yea, while we steadily drive 90km/h drive past a lot of noisy Proton sportcar-wannabe on the road.

Proton horrible engine keep the driver foot lighter than the balloon. So they compensate it with exhaust pipe noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • chef poodah on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:19 am

dont forget to mention noisy kancil & myvi super duper spotcar wannabe on the road too. :)

• EV la…mana ada smoke

• camtakpro on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:18 am

After ‘smoke’ then stop by the road side no more juice. If lucky, stuck with charging station for hours.

• Clair on Sep 10, 2015 at 7:15 pm

So many basher. At least we can bought EV. Want pay less, but quality like Prius. Must consider spare parts cost later. EV charger will install nearly 20 station around KL by GreenTech Malaysia. If everyone really read the news about EV. The region without EV station can use 3pin at home or someone can build portal charter like BMW, but for sure expensive. Do not expect the charter cost like your phone charger

• if it remains just as a prototype like saga ev, exora ev, then this is just another waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • I enjoy doing corners in this car…….Proton……maintain or upgrade your strength……and improve your weaknesses…..and in this case …….CVT.

• Don worry proton, price this right and i will buy it.already has 2 mercedes i don mind to drive proton. Better proton ev den overpriced old tech samlok toyota

• azhar on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:56 pm

make it lighter and it will fly!..1.3 tonnes for hatchback is too heavy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Milo Tin 1.0 on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Seriously? Please change title to Milo Tin EV. And we dont any perodua n proton products anymore. Pls close shop and reduce foreign car tax… All Malaysians can enjoy a quality car with same price as current milo tin price. And pls dont implement anymore nasi lemak management n technilogy. Its hurts ppl!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 46
    • frossonice on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Who are this ‘we’ you’re talking about?

Unless the gomen abolish/reduce excise tax, you’ll keep seeing sales chart where Perodua & Proton at the very top.

Grow up. Stop asking Proton to close shop. Start asking Gomen to abolish/reduce excise tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Iriz is a relatively good car, if only they pull down their face to let the ppl to enjoy a national car with a competitive price.
    Let’s imagine RM35K , i believe this car will be sold out.

• I ate on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Lets get real. This this was the real deal they’d debut it at a major car show, not in some booth at iGem. Lol. Think….

• Painter on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:10 pm

If Proton uses this battery from storedot, I would seriously consider buying this Iriz.

5 mins for 300km. Like filling up with your good ‘ol petrol.

http://store-dot.com/Electric-Vehicle.html

• buatanmalaysia on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:12 pm

At least change to a more original great knob. Don’t just copy from Prius. Or maybe proton is thinking those who are buying iriz never sat in a previous before? Don’t look down on your customer like that, proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • holofanboi on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:22 pm

I am genuinely not joking when I say that I will buy this car if its under 80k.

Fat chance it will happen though :P

• Andrekua on Sep 11, 2015 at 2:10 am

RM100K!!!? I wonder how the tax structure works.

• superman on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:51 am

is this the car made by LG Korea and not by Proton itself? using prius gear knob reminds me of the Saga they put on display in Motor show KL 2010. God knows how much they paid LG to make this car for them and place proton badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • alldisc on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:53 am

for info, Proton had acquired help from South Korean companies like LG to develop some of the cars. list as follows:-

Waja – by Proton
      Gen2 – by Proton
      Satria Neo – by Proton
      Savvy – by Proton
      Persona – rear end by Korean
      Saga BLM – by Korea
      Exora – by Korea

just some info.

• it is better for Proton to just focus on export markets.. Malaysia is not ready for this 100% electric cars..

• david on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:01 am

go and see for yourself at igem klcc-cc
    the real car looks and feels much better than in picture.

• that white CRV road bully will bully this car lor

• Might buy one if available. For 300km range…it will suit my daily commute requirement from Batu Pahat to JB… then left it to charge on night.. Further more, there’s always be my prius..

• Mason_ on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:50 am

Great news…hope the price will be justified,so many malaysian can afford one and the air is more healthy…..low price..low price..proton show u re competitive..

• Ganeson on Sep 11, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Price is estimated to be below 100k, that’s really cheap for the 300 km range. Amazing job. I’ve got a video of them repeating the car today at igem. Somebody at Paul Tan drop me an email if you want it, I can’t figure out how to post from a phone.

• Sam L00 on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:53 am

Proton EV = below rm100k price

Others EV = more than rm100k price

Nampak tak permainan MAI ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Fa Kin No Wan on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:54 am

Well, this iriz ev might be the real game changer needed by proton after all these time. Kudos to proton.

• wong bah bee on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:16 pm

As usual pigs wil male.piggy comments. Once a pig always.and forever will be pigs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Kalim on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Balik rumah la bang. Duduk office main internet je. Patut la bisnes lingkup.

• drCooper on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:15 pm

If can go 500km on single charge I’ll buy it. My kampung is exactly that distance from my house gate !

• budleee on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:52 pm

fun second car if you have

gimme a diesel proton, I will live on the 5th floor. cable’s are not long enough, nor I think it’s allowed my the building complex to stretch down from my apartment to my parking lot.

• Alson P on Sep 12, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Not bad.. Can be consider to have this Iriz EV if the OTR price below RM90k and warranty 10 years at least..

• Jezebel on Sep 12, 2015 at 9:09 pm

I know this will coming since Elon Musk open his patent to everyone
    But I’d buy another EV

• tanderketq on Sep 14, 2015 at 10:07 am

This is something good from Proton. All the best.

• Brian on Sep 14, 2015 at 2:12 pm

This is why when a related topics when off chart too far away. If fact with criticism is still okay but many of people who critical to our proton as if they have good in this & start to connected the issue with others which is off topic far away. So what’s the point of having internet and smart phone spent large amount of money to type nonsense without reading and research. Might as well you just set fire to your iPhone and using keypad phone. FYI, proton is own by DRB HiCOM which also own some of your car tooling to manufactured your honda, VW, Isuzu, Nissan and Modenas. So they can do whatever they want to improve the product.

• The specification is either wrong or its for a hybrid car. Even if it got 39 Kwh a 1.4 ton car is not likely to go 300 km without damaging the batteries. Unless your speed is 30 km per hour driving midnight without air-con.
    Oh then it say 60volt which means the motor is around 15 Kw.Please give proper press release or is it the mistake of the writer?

• Mr Noh on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Probably more than 300km distance full charge reasonable price below RM120k for local market.. i meant with half the battery energy capacity than the Tesla model-s 85 but twist less weight and 25% more capacity compared to Nissan leaf RM180k in terms of battery capacity and motor power.. Urm..but why don’t Proton working with Samsung SDIEM Senawang N.Sembilan factory HQ Cheonam Korea to developing the lithium battery cells module for EV to reduce the logistic costs produces the cell locally.

• It’s now 2017…no news of the EV :(

• It’s been three years since this article. So what happened?