Nissan Leaf EV price revised to RM180,566 with GST

Nissan Leaf KLIMS-9

Here’s an update on the Nissan Leaf, currently the only electric vehicle (EV) on sale here in Malaysia. Its price has been altered quite drastically since it was first launched at KLIMS13 for RM168,800, and it’s now listed on Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s website with a RM180,566.18 price tag.

Apparently, the asking price was quietly revised to circa RM189k in February 2015, to account for the discontinuation of the hybrid and EV incentives announced in NAP 2014. Since then, the implementation of GST has seen the figure drop to what it is now.

Just recently, Renault Malaysia confirmed that it’s aiming to price its Zoe EV at just under RM140,000. That’s for a B-segment-sized hatchback, of course, which tallies with the C-segment Nissan Leaf’s new price.

To recap, the all-electric Leaf has the equivalent of 109 PS and 254 Nm of torque, and can get to 100 km/h in 11.5 seconds. Top speed is “above 140 km/h,” and a maximum driving range of 195 km is quoted. A home charging unit and a three-year/100,000 km warranty are included in the asking price.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:30 am

With GST, TNB charges are more expensive than fuel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:12 am

Yes, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

But I also admit the prices is terribly WRONG, thanks to the Proton and its protection!

I think free 6 dozen condom with every Proton purchased may increase the pathetic sales, because PROTECTION DA BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Annoyed Uncle Lim on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

Can you find a wall and slam your head into it? You are annoying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • Madani dan MAI Bodoh No 1 on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:37 am

Hah? How to buy RM190k? Madani and MAI said Government moving towards EEV. Ask car companies to invest in EEV. Honda spent hundreds of million to CKD their poor Civic and Jazz Hybrid. Then suddenly, Government said, podah to EEV and Hybrid.

Madani and MAI have caused so much losses to car companies and the thousands of people who bought Hybrids. Now, Hybrids have doubled in price. Parts also doubled in price. Insurance also doubled their premiums to cover a car costing RM250k.

People now who bought Hybrids suffer paying higher premiums. At first, they thought they can save fuel and money. Now, got higher premiums, higher parts prices. People are paying thousands more because they listened to Madani and MAI encouraging us to move towards EEV.

People cannot even sell their hybrids cause everybody scared to touch hybrids in the used car market because the price like yo yo.

MAI, pls close down your organisation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • two of those three things u mentioned did not happen… sigh…

• “Nissan-Leaf-KLIMS-10.jpg”
      Worth noting this model no GST :-P~~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:35 am

MAHAL

• For what?

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:43 am

That kind of price can buy one some pretty good petrol cars, even higher spec D segment cars. In order for EV to sell well here, they must be seen as being kinder to the wallet in the long run, ie money savings from not having to pump petrol, and no need for a 10k km service for engine oil, etc. Because EV needs electricity, and if your house already has a RM300++ monthly bill (which is pretty average if you have aircon on in a few rooms every night), then adding EV charging every few days might give you a heart attack when you receive your electricity bill at the end of the month. Hope some day, Paultan can do a study on whether is it really worth it (cost wise), to go EV, or better just get a hybrid or range extender?

• Hahaha on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:19 am

Just top up another 10k can get a santa fe with lots of diesel power and more spacious

• It should b below Rm 100k in order to promote green environment but dump and dumpers so as usual I’m speechless.wait n c Fr next GE

• The rest of the EV will choke up & fail under BN AP policies as well.

• spongewai on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:49 am

time to change ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • U can basically predict that the pakatoons will read this wrong and start ranting abt gst. For the sake of our sanity, I encourage the writers to make things clearer so we dont have to read their doggerel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • George Abdul on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

By your means most of Malaysian blog or Web “must only” wrote benefits to BN?

BN supporters and ministers encourage “rigged up news” to support Govt and cover cronies behaviour.

As Ah jib say moderation??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • any sane person would know which views are ‘rigged up’ as u say. just read comments everywhere. after i woke up to this, i woke up to how terrible the idea of them taking over govt will be. i still wont vote bn though.

• sheeba on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:14 am

hard to tell the real comments anywhere nowadays. bn cybertroopers got no brains, plain dumb. pr cybertroopers a bit much with their brand of ‘unique’ logic where everything is bad including what’s good.

sigh. they’ve become pretty much the same.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • old dog on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:56 am

Malaysia Automotive industry is slowly become a joke internationally, while the consumer (us) are to be blame to continuous support of such idiot NAP as an excuses to get few people rich in sacrificing the public, and yet there are people support such act since they like the fish to be given and go fishing own self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • no no BN on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:05 am

See how the price is go up after the bn LIES of gst! they say price go down but goes up! More rakyat will suffer after. We want fuel economy car and cheap use electric now cannot, because the DUMNO policies want to suck our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • stupid policy on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

wow, why even bother promoting efficiency with electric vehicles when the price tag is that high?

it neglects every savings you get by paying way more for a small vehicle.

• Chong on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:09 am

I’m wondering why Malaysia gouvernment charge more on electric or hybrid cars. In UK it’s free from road tax for those car with low CO2 emmision released. I’m sure that the gourvenment would like to go green isn’t? So why they still want to charge more on EV & Hybrid cars?

• George Abdul on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:23 am

As PM mention toward moderation (cronies rules). Until whole Rakyat suffer from loans and debts until retired or died.

• Josh Ling on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:26 am

green? no, green has never been our government favourite colour. it’s not their colour (pun intended).

• they don’t charge more… it’s the same. it would depend on cost price as usual,

also, for fully electric car, the roadtax is the minimum amount that can be charged, which i forgot the amount. anyone remember this figure?

• there are so many illegally mod vehicle/bike running on the road, heavy black smoke from lorry and trucks running around polluting our country. Where are those JPJ officers? busy on ops cermin gelap & number plate? so you think the G care about giving incentive for EV? no money no talk.

• sammy on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:50 am

With this kind of price, this car will be rarer then a Tbone steak.
    Serious TC, why bother?
    Instead you should consider bringing in the Juke.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:54 pm

I’m no Greenpeace so I’ll get Accord 2.4 with that money. And I can cucuk this not so wallet friendly eco worrior at the highway all day long.

• hybrid theory on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:05 pm

If the leaf is priced at rm180k (fyi US MSRP between usd30k to usd36k), a Tesla Model S would be like what, rm750k?

• “LEAVE” it alone

• only developed countries will be able to do incentives for EV, green techs etc. They have sufficient budget to move around and their gov make better use of the yearly budget acquired from the people.

As for Msia, obviously very far from being developed, racial/religion issues, non-competitive education system, ‘superb’ gov.

malaysia had the chance to be offering cheap affordable everything, if only the country has been developed and managed well.

gov do not want to admit it, but any sane educated concerned citizens will know… they did not do their job. period. they can wipe off all traces and give all kinds of excuses y they cannot perform, i am just curious why they do not find reasons instead as to why they should perform.

sad. really. that a nissan leaf cost this much.