GST: Chevrolet updates prices, Malibu down by RM291

Malibu_Ext_02

Chevrolet is next to announce its updated price list following the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on April 1. Do note that several models such as the Sonic, Sonic Sedan, Captiva and the manual variant of the Colorado have vanished from the updated list.

A check with Chevrolet has confirmed that there are no plans to restock the above mentioned models for now – Chevrolet is keen to stress that the models may return in the future but nothing has been set in stone. The biggest change in price affects the Colorado Muscle Power 2.8L A/T, which now sees its price tag bumped up to RM110,427.88 OTR without insurance – a jump of RM1,658.28.

Chevrolet GST price list

Elsewhere, Chevy’s D-segment competitor, the Malibu LTZ, gets a price reduction of RM291.72 while the Orlando LT is now priced at RM119,494.68, both OTR without insurance. The marque’s Civic-fighter, the Cruze, is now priced at RM105,714.68 OTR sans insurance – which represents an increase of RM948.28.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Thanks Government.
    With the RM291 saved, I can do many other things.
    Thank God

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Wow gst savings!! Wow!
      How many people buy new car? Everyday?
      How many people buy grocery day to day?
      Like laser, you wont feel it cut ur skin,
      but it does….

• chicken rice on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:23 pm

With the money saved, you can go to Bukit Bintang to order “chicken”. Just make sure you have “protection” like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Never buy American except for burgers and fries. Kimchi cars will not go wrong. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Forgot to mention, this lady model also came to me last week to buy a Sloggi. Gave her a good price for a good hipster Sloggi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • WTF Same L0rr on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:55 pm

WTF? if everybody mentality same like you want car for good RV. Any brand other than toyota will not survive in this country. Don’t buy car la you. go buy stock!

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Someone has been using my identity talking about me working in Parkson. These people are just some pathetic fools can’t afford to buy Toyota and go for Perodua.

Your statement is valid, any brand other than Toyota will not survive in this country. We are proven to be best selling brand in the country for many years. Now you see more Vios than City on the road. This is fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Jungle King on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Where is Sonic price? Ive been looking for all Chevrolet dealer but all no stock.

• Josh Ling on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:27 pm

chevrolet is really a pathetic scene here. sorry to use such a harsh word, but it is.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Latest update

Camry booking: 11
    Cancellation: 60 (after Mazda 3 CKD launched)

• Henry on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Wah! So much? Is there a queue forming to buy this car?

• ben yap on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Chevrolet already not market leader here and still jual mahal?

sendiri simpan tu kereta.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Chevrolet, staph.

Tbh, a Ford beats a Chevy anyday. The only half decent Chevy is the SS, which is essentially a Holden Commodore, which in turn is not designed or engineered in the US.

• gundam mama on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:55 pm

syukur….and greatness to the ever understanding, ever kind BN govt….for helping us to save us a few hundred ringgit buying a car…

but rakyat getting screwed left, right, up down centre with the gst of other essential items….

• Super on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Nice legs…