Mitsubishi ASX range refreshed, new RM105k 2WD GL

2015-Mitsubishi-ASX-Malaysia

The Mitsubishi ASX has been refreshed in Malaysia, with minor enhancements and a new entry-level variant that lowers the starting price to just RM105k.

That’s for the new ASX 2WD GL, which to be exact is priced at RM104,792 on-the-road without insurance. It joins the ASX 2WD (RM112,571) and ASX 4WD (RM125,041), which see small price drops from the previous RM114,043 and RM128,179, respectively. The ASX is locally-assembled at Tan Chong’s Segambut plant.

The compact SUV now comes with daytime running lights in the fog lamp housing and a “shark fin” antenna – the 4WD has a colour-keyed bumper with black painted centre and a chrome grille, while the 2WD and 2WD GL feature a regular colour-keyed bumper.

In addition to the existing grey, silver and white, there’s a new Sporty Blue exterior colour, as shown here. Standard kit across the three-variant range includes leather seats, automatic air con, a colour multi-info display and auto retractable side mirrors.

A touchscreen entertainment system with Virtual Acoustic Positioning System (VAPS) is standard for the 2WD and 4WD variants along with USB, Bluetooth, navigation, a slightly revised centre console (area below the head unit) and piano black door switch panels. The 2WD GL is equipped with a two-DIN CD player, which also features VAPS.

2015-Mitsubishi-ASX-Cabin

The range-topping 4WD now comes with seven airbags (door, side, curtain, driver’s knee, previously three airbags) and two-tone 17-inch alloys. That’s in addition to the existing keyless entry with push-start (the ASX 2WD and 2WD GL make do with a keyed ignition), cruise control, panoramic sunroof, steering magnesium paddle shifters and Active Stability Control.

The ASX is powered by a 2.0 litre engine with 150 PS and 197 Nm of torque. The MIVEC unit is paired to a CVT gearbox with Sports Mode, now with better acceleration and fuel efficiency, Mitsubishi claims.

As standard, there’s ABS and EBD, and the 4WD gets traction control, active stability control and a reverse camera, as well as more parking sensors – it has two front and four rear units, while the 2WD and 2WD GL makes do with two rear sensors.

With the arrival of the Honda HR-V, many a compact SUV have been overlooked. Read our review of the Mitsubishi ASX to revisit this value priced crossover.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:28 pm

How many times they want to refresh this car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
    • Nissan on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:00 am

Doesn’t matter as longer as price drop in each r new release

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • karam singh on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:42 am

Civic already 10th gen, lancer’s front since the civic 8th gen… what a crap,
        price going down but still specs are no good for the 2WD version, supposedly the 2WD need the traction control and ASC .. 4WD already got that much traction.

so sad, u bought this one new… people gonna thought u bought it at the used car only with new plates.
        What happened to Mitsu ? I thought only Sam Loo’s T & P2 , but only facelift all over the years on same gen are worst. wake up Mitsu, its almost a decade.
        please make new one the best,a decade worth R&D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Yea, make new models like the Preve, Suprimas S, Iriz… end up A LOT OF ppl talking talking talking, but NO ONE actually buy it.

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:22 am

mitsu is very..very slow. til today no lancer replacement.

• Aiman hakim on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:32 pm

It may looks same but the difference is rims ,shark fin antenna and led light.it looks more sporty too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • karam singh on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:45 am

Go to ah beng acc shop, change it… simple
      even more sportier with spoiler kits & other stuffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • iiAmgPackage on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:33 am

Adding aftermarket accessories during the car’s warranty is not suggested. You can do that after the warranty.

• fed up fella on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Honda drops blue,others add blue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • 140k >>105k
    http://paultan.org/2010/11/02/mitsubishi-asx-launched-2-0l-cvt-cbu-rm139980-we-drive-it-in-japan-and-langkawi/

• Shawal on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:58 pm

The 4wd now comes with satnav, panoramic roof and 7 airbags…

Makes a whole lot of sense now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • JB_KIA on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:06 pm

I think my scooter transmission is also CVT….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:27 pm

How old is this product already… Interior already looking like 90s design… Lack of spyshot for a new asx make me believe there will be minimum of another 2 facelifts coming….. Wth happened to u Mitsubishi??

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:48 pm

7 airbags, not a bad choice really. The ASX isn’t half as bad now, though it should have been this spec like 3 years ago.

• iiAmgPackage on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:18 am

Too bad I’ve got mine (4WD) earlier during 2014 Merdeka special offer. I only have 3 airbags, no DRL’s.

• karipap basah on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:30 pm

recycle, recycle and recycle of the recycle…..yet some are so dunggu still buying this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • Sammy Loo on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Work harder to reward yourself with a Toyota Rush instead of this milo tin. Try it on the front fender and you will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • Sammy, your 10 year old design Rush junk already outdated. Pls keep it in your museum. Not attractive to new buyers anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Wait 5 years..this overpriced mini suv ..you can have it for 30K or less.
    No point getting hooked to 90K loan and pay thro yr nose…
    Buy ,use yr brains…not SYIOK SENDIRI raw emotions..like those Protong fanboys who take 10 years loan and become slaves to the banks.At the 11th year,they take another 10 year loan..whole life becoming financial slaves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • Its a bargain at 105k despite its old age. May steal some potential HR-V buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • thepolygonal on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:34 am

Yup.. just give this a test drive… it’s a good one actually.

• i hv tested 2wd gl recently its definitely better handling than hrv…

• Lansipra on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:36 am

MMC, I really don’t understand. From 140k CBU to 115k then now 113k CKD in 2WD form and now, a base 2WD model with 105k? Understand that the kit on each car is different but you are making this overall ASX looking cheap now? Or are you trying to lure proton to rebadge your ASX?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Haiz. Car becum expensive salah Najib, salah Gov. Car becum cheaper pun salah jugak! Ini tak boleh, itu tak boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • maybe he is pissed-off becoz he is one of those ASX buyer who paid RM140K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • iiAMGPackage on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:32 pm

The Proton joke is already 80’s la bro. We’re in 2015 close to 2016. Still inside your cave eh?

• asx is very compact interior space

• Rusmah on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:20 am

it’s old model.
    It will discon soon.
    Now doing clearance sales.
    So, full kits for u.
    Spec wise, they “show hand” provide the best spec in class. Buy a rush? nono, perhaps, HRV or CX3 buyer can consider this, save lot of $$ in this recession..

• Go buy Subaru XV better. AWD and Traction Control included. Less than 110K.

• iiAmgPackage on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:36 pm

But in Malaysia, you don’t need full time 4WD like the CR-V. Because I think our roads are not as bad as we think. That’s why considering a part-time 4WD SUV like the ASX could save your petrol bills and value now.

• iiAMGPackage on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Oh and FYI, the 4WD variant does come with TC. Please get your facts right before you syos yourself with XV.

• Now only they come up with 7 airbags.. I can still remember about 1+ year ago when I was looked out for SUV and sent to see this ASX.. I was surprised when I was told it only has 2 airbags. When I asked why in Australia has 6 airbags, the salesgirl said because of the price cut in Malaysia. I totally cannot accept that becoz at that time they marketing it as low price due to CKD not of stripping accessories or safety specs.
    Some manufacturer still think malaysian not value their live compared to other places…I end up buy other SUV which offered 7 airbags..