Mercedes-Benz to assemble CLA, GLA in Thailand

Mercedes-Benz GLA 200 (1)

With ambitions to further grow its competitiveness in the Thai domestic market, Mercedes-Benz has begun local assembly operations on the CLA-Class four-door coupe and the GLA-Class compact SUV, the Bangkok Post reports

Production for the two models will take place at the Thonburi Automotive Assembly Plant in Samut Prakan province, alongside other Mercedes-Benz models produced there, such as the C-, E-, S- and ML-Class. The production plant is also no stranger to producing Mercedes-Benz’s hybrid models, namely the C 300h, the E 300 h, and the S 400 h.

What may excite locals the most, we imagine, is the newly slashed retail prices of the two Next Generation Compact Car (NGCC) models, which will now be around 250,000 baht (RM30,282) to 350,000 baht (RM42,395) cheaper.

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 15

The new prices for the CKD CLA-Class (excluding the CLA AMG 45) range between 2,140,000 baht (RM260,105) to 2,690,000 baht (RM326,945). Likewise, GLA-Class models go for 2,090,000 (RM254,027) baht to 2,440,000 baht (RM296,568).

Comparatively, in Malaysia, the sole standard CLA-Class variant, the CLA 200, retails at RM233,888, while the two GLA-Class variants (GLA 200, GLA 250) are priced at RM236,888 and RM266,888 respectively.

Mercedes-Benz Thailand’s NGCC cars enjoy a fair bit of success in the country, much like the case is in Malaysia. In Thailand, NGCCs are reported to contribute up to 25% of the brand’s total annual sales figures, while hybrid models play a major role too, with up to a 40% contribution in total sales volume.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Areyousure on Sep 28, 2015 at 3:33 pm

I don’t understand why Mercedes want to use dual clutch for a car that price more than 300K?

• brather only more expensive Merz gets dual clutches la

• Hello orang orang Malaysia, Mercedes Benz alone can make German car for Rm30k and RM42k. So much cheaper than Proton. I am now wondering, is Proton really cheating Malaysians?

If MB can come out with car that cheap, I think to make a Proton, it will cost RM10k.

Are we Malaysians being cheated? Are we blindly supporting the Government? My eyes are now slowly opening!

• maseratista on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:54 pm

its 30-42k CHEAPER. not the price is 30-42k

read carefully.

• WHY MORE EXPENSIVE THAN MALAYSIA!? INI MESTI SEMUA SALAH GOV/NAJIB/BN/ROSMAH/PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • What talking you bro? Don’t look at the conversion la boss….our currency is low hence conversion THAI sound more expensive! Haizzz…

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:56 pm

RBA john strikes again

• Yup. Seen him so often around here. Please dun confuse him with me.

• I am your regular paid cybertrooper. I write good things about gomen and Proton. He is a fake.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:16 pm

So what was it again about Thailand having no Proton results in cheaper cars for their population while providing jobs at the same time?

Looks like poor Thais are seeing their Baht flowing freely to Germany..

• INI MESTI SEMUA SALAH NAJIB/GOV/BN/ROSMAH/1MDB/PROTON/ANGKARA YAHUDI!

• brazbuz on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Hmmm our merc is actually cheaper yet comes in cbu

• lanspira on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Thai Gov can collect tax yet provide work opportunity to the locals and get a cheaper Merc..
    comparing to Boleh Land.. i felt so sad…
    RM1 = 8.21THB now… it use to be
    RM1 = 10.xTHB..old times..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:07 pm

It beats me why Mercedes didn’t want to assemble the A class at least in Malaysia, I mean it would just make more sense to have the volume seller A class to be made locally to make it even more attractive in terms of pricing.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Once again, let me reiterate… Mercedes or any other car brands DON’T revolve around Bolehland, more so when Bolehland’s becoming like a PHAILED-LAND… Who wants to invest on a country going into anarchy…?

• If MBM makes their cars cheaper means peasants like you can afford it. That so then what car does our glorious LGE want to use? Brabus? Maybach?
      Then you peasants come complain we waste your money buy new car.

• lexusbiscuit on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Same lorrrr only can afford lexus. No not that car i mean that biscuit. Haha!