DRIVEN: Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 – of flash and flaws

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 18

It wasn’t that long ago when Mercedes-Benz had a lineup that was dismissed by anyone below 40 as “uncle cars”. Yuppies would not want to be seen in one, lest they were mistaken for their dads. BMWs and Audis projected the right image. Wasn’t that long ago, right?

How things have changed in just a few years. There were hints of it prior, but the turning point for Mercedes-Benz was when it wheeled out the current A-Class in March 2012. The low-roofed, wide-assed W176 was a huge departure from its mini-MPV predecessor, and the younger set’s perception of M-B took a similar U-turn.

Try this. Ask a group of 10 normal young people (as opposed to car geeks) and ask if they’d prefer an A 250 Sport or a BMW 125i. If they don’t know what a 1 Series is, show them a picture of the F20 – a mug shot with full view of those nostrils would probably help wrap up our poll faster.

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 30

If both the mini survey and Stuttgart’s small car are ice breakers, we can now proceed to the main event. First seen at Detroit 2013 and launched here in March this year, the Mercedes-Benz CLA is the follow up act seeking to bury the “uncle” tag once and for all.

A four-door coupe that looks like a million bucks (OK, maybe half a million, CLS is the real deal), the CLA is a spin off from the compact FWD A-Class, but is priced at C-Class levels, which means that you can have an Audi A4 or the benchmark BMW 3 Series for around the same money. In fact, the F30 316i, which has slightly lower on-paper performance, but more of everything else, is RM26k cheaper!

The CLA’s positioning can be a little confusing from a strict price/segment viewpoint, but this Merc’s raw appeal is easier to accept, if not comprehend. A little cliched perhaps, but pictures don’t do it justice – you really have to see one in the metal (in a light colour) to fully appreciate what Mercedes has done here.

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 34

Taking a design concept that works well on a larger car and replicating the look on a smaller footprint is harder than it sounds. That’s why the Hyundai Elantra MD can pull off the crouching look so well but the Accent RB, with the same darting arrow line, can’t. My colleagues also prefer the Mazda 6 Sedan‘s looks over the minaturised 3.

A compact platform can sometimes be constricting, which is why I personally think the CLA can’t possibly look any better than how it does now. A little front heavy perhaps (bum looks a little saggy from certain angles too), but this thing will turn heads like no other compact premium exec. The CLA is as expressive as they are prudish, till the W205 C-Class arrives at least. Frameless windows add to the drama. In my porch or by the kerb, I couldn’t stop looking at it.

It has to be said that our CLA 200 looks this good because of some well-chosen options. The example you see here is a Sport trim car (as opposed to AMG Sport) but with add-ons such as the crucial Intelligent Light System (bi-xenons with LED DRLs, LED tail lamps), black caps for the wing mirrors and non-standard 18-inch wheels.

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 22

Inside, you’ll find contrast stitching on the Artico synthetic leather, while the Light and Sight package lifts the ambience with soft lighting at the door pulls and uniquely, the holes under the headrests. Together, all the cues combine to reinforce the feel that you’re in something special.

Just as well, because after stripping off that sheen of glam, the cabin isn’t all that tech-laden, or fresh in design. The dash, with its circular air vents, looks cool enough but some of the materials used aren’t as premium as they could be.

The dash design incorporates a wide swath of trim across the dash, an open invitation to touch and knuckle rap it – not so solid. We’re also unsure about the wavy stripe print on the grey plastic piece.

Mercedes CLA 200 Review- 55

As with the Malaysian-spec A-Class, the most jarring element is that central screen, which looks more photo frame than iPad because of well, a frame that’s too thick. The graphics on the small screen are very last-gen too, as is the button-fest stereo panel in this age of integration. Old school, and not in a good way.

Manual air-con is quite a downer in a RM236k car, and that’s before you find an ergonomic flaw – the panel is set very low (a long stretch) and the tiny temperature markings on the left side are obstructed from the driver’s line of sight.

Everything taken into consideration, the CLA’s cabin is a mixed bag that will look old hat when the Audi A3 Sedan rolls into town soon. The good news for Mercedes is that some will be so distracted by the flash that they won’t notice the flaws, while it’s also possible that newfound younger fans of the three-pointed star don’t know any better.

Mercedes will hope that’s the case, because the CLA is underwhelming on the move. Nothing wrong with the recipe – a 1.6 turbo with 154 hp/250 Nm mated to a seven-speed DCT is in the European downsized ballpark – but the execution leaves a lot to be desired.

In ESPN Soccernet style, here are the three things we found about the drivetrain:

1. Merc’s dual-clutch gearbox is far from the slickest in town. Upshift speed is OK but the DCT can sometimes hold on to a gear for too long, and is slow to downshift. Using the paddles (rarely have I paddle popped so often) can alleviate the problem, but it shouldn’t have come to this. To add salt, the gearbox is clunky and slightly jerky at low speeds, and one can hear it working in the urban crawl.

2. The CLA 200 is rated at 8.5 seconds from 0-100 km/h, seven tenths faster than the 316i. But you wouldn’t have guessed. The Merc doesn’t feel that quick, and we suspect that could be down to both the slow-witted gearbox and the throttle response.

3. If you’re used to a finely caliberated throttle, it won’t take longer than a drive around the block to notice the CLA’s soggy gas pedal. It seems like the first half of travel delivers “no boost” before the engine gets the message, belatedly.

When Mr. M270 finally comes on song, you’ll find decent pull, but the engine isn’t particularly smooth revving or sporty sounding. You’ll adapt to the CLA’s “don’t rush me” style, as I did over a weekend, but it’s fair to expect more from a RM236k car. Chuck the paper in the bin – the base F30 is the faster and more satisfying car to drive in the real world.

The drivetrain is clearly a weak point, but that’s not where it stops. There’s very little finesse in the way the CLA rolls, with a firm ride that’s not forgiving enough on our less than perfect blacktop. It’s not just down to the big wheels – the F30 328i with 18-inch rims prove that comfort and looks can go hand-in-hand. Highway cruising in the Merc is also marred by loud tyre roar and a high-pitched hum on PLUS concrete surfaces.

The CLA isn’t a driver’s delight, but you’ll find a car that corners pretty flatly with very good grip should you push it harder. The steering wheel, which appears big in diameter, feels good in the hands and is connected to a rack that’s quick and accurate enough. So it’s not all bad news on the move; if only the ride had a more flowing quality to it and the drivetrain was slicker.

We won’t criticise the CLA’s poor showing in the space and practicality department because you should know what you’re getting into. Style comes at a price and besides, there’s the C-Class for those who want a proper compact exec. But it’s worth noting that the CLA has less rear leg and headroom than what one would expect in the C/3 segment – this 175 cm writer has hair brushing the roof lining.

The sloping coupe roofline that makes the car look great doesn’t just impinge on headroom, it makes the door aperture smaller too, so remember that as you step in. Same for the decently sized boot, which has a narrow opening to accommodate the long and shapely tail lamps.

You would have noticed a theme by now. The Mercedes-Benz CLA isn’t a flawless gem, but it’s flashy and has real star power. To seduce is its reason to exist, and on that count, Stuttgart’s spin off has hit the mark with a new audience. For the rest of us who are more pragmatic and demanding of a premium car, we’ll be better served by the mainstream.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rocky balboa on Jul 12, 2014 at 6:37 pm

I test driven the a200 few months ago. The trottle response is indeed very disappointing. The engine needs few second to wake up and realise “oh, someone is urging me to go faster!”

The gear change is fine to me however.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • shame_Loo on Jul 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

To me, just don’t waste time and money on this car. Go for new c-class instead if your budget is allow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Sam lulu on Jul 13, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Need something like potent booster to wake the engine up? surprised me is that even a 200k over car has this issue, maybe just a general trick tying to save fuel by making the gas pedal slower in response but in fact it ruins the entire driving experience.

• Sam Berbulu on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Merc’s are boring to drive. Old man’ scar trying to pretend to be sporty!

• pls use “S” mode instead of “E” mode. E mode is meant for economy so the throttle response will take second to react as it will shift the highest gear wherever is possible. Should you need immediate response, use “S” mode and the throttle will response immediate and fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 6:59 pm

The F20 is a particularly ugly car though. Heck, a Viva is good looking next to it.

Any chance on test drives of both new French Fries on the market? Fluence and C4 Grand Picasso?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
  • new A3 sedan 1.4T will win more market share for its lower pricing and practical rear seats..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:19 am

U’d be surprised to see that the rear seats for the A3 is cramp and you won’t want to drive an Audi to the east coast either…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • its A3 sedan, not A3 hatchback..
        A3 sedan space for rear seat pretty good.. wins CLA in terms of ease to access rear seats, legroom and headroom..

• Jules on Jul 13, 2014 at 10:59 pm

A3 .. share drive train with golf… engine and transmission? Most prob yes. :)

• SamTheDaiLanNgong on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Despite the sporty front head of A Class, i would still pay the extra remainig for a 316i. Yea, some might say 3-series should compete with C-class. But here, im talking with the price. You cannot deny the fact that the rear of A Class is not attractive and youngster would still go for BMW anytime. But comparing A class and 1 series, i will still go for A class as 1 series is really ugly, i mean atleast for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Kenneth Tan on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:14 pm

I’m very satisfied with this car and even its power train, considering the fuel consumption and it’s environmental impact. It’s an all rounder for me I must say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:24 am

This ain’t an all rounder bro. It just looks pretty but is cramp on the rear with a smallish boot and drives trrribly compared to the main stream Benz.

For that kind of money you’d be better off with the 3, A4 or a C for an all round experience.

This CLA is all about style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 8:04 pm

All that glamour looks,n too many fundamental flaws…..
    Btw,its more like Autoblog style that Soccernet….bt no shame…its nicer to read n straight to da point

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 8:27 pm

So, to sum it up, the CLA is all show but not much go then?

Probably explains why I see more 316is than CLAs though…

One thing for me is, while I feel the CLA feels nicer than the 316i inside, the sloping rear end was a big no. I smacked my head on the sloping roof, and barely had any headroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • sutheshkumar on Jul 12, 2014 at 11:31 pm

The reason why youa re seeing more 316i’s around is because I think the buyers have more sense on what has more value and also that the fact CLA’s has a waiting list of 8 months. T__T

I’d still take the 316i, be it in its kosong spec or the 118i. Hell to all who is judging the ugliness of the F20. It is a great car to drive and possible, own too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 5:11 am

If there is a 8 month waiting list that means people just care about looks. The reason why you see more 316i is because it has been around for much longer, and the CLAs haven’t been delivered yet.

• seancorr on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:40 am

I too think the 1 Series is okay on the looks department but the A Class and A1 is of course better to look at.

BMW has some good range of models to compete with Mercedes and their pre-reg price is also not bad BUT at that price range, BMW models lack some really basic stuff that cheaper cars have like keyless access and reverse camera.

Finally the pathetic 2 years warranty comes into picture for BMW which is unacceptable in today’s standard.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I can’t believe I am saying this, but I too like the F20, from certain angles it looks nice. Just don’t look at it while you are squatting down, and for the love of humanity, do not order it in those ugly Urban line rims. Thank goodness most if not all units have been in Sport line trim.

Oh yes, how can I forget the pretty impressive A4 too. Only thing is, Audi doesn’t have that many dealers, so service is slow, and unlike BMW and Mercedes, Audi doesn’t have a finance arm, unlike the other two who have the My First BMW/BMW Credit or Mercedes AGILITY Finance.

A1 is cute, but highly unpractical and tiny. Still looks nice though, just that I don’t fit.

• seancorr on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:32 am

There’s plenty of 316i on the road now for obvious reasons stated by many.

For the CLA price, one can get a cheaper all rounder award winning 3 Series or a brand new A4 1.8 TFSI.

The C200 with a cheaper price tag or the upcoming Infiniti Q50 are also better choices.

• Eastendboy8 on Jul 12, 2014 at 8:51 pm

I went to look at the A-Class, B-Class and CLA. I could not get used to lack of space inside the A and CLA and ended up with the B-Class. Not the most fashionable, but it is practical and drives just as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • You cant compare A and CLA with the B class. Different segment bro. Hot hatch vs MPV? Wut?

• I wouldnt call the B as MPV tho, cos the seating occupancy is just for 5. Its more of a…..how shall i put it.. Mommy’s Car?

• sutheshkumar on Jul 12, 2014 at 11:32 pm

You can actually. B-Class is technically the MPV version of both. And they all uses the same drivetrain and FWD setup. Plus, the B also comes with the 2.0 engine used in the A and CLA but strangely, badged as B220 instead of B250.

• Eastendboy8 on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:46 am

True bro. The same internals basically targeting slightly different sub-segments – Hot Hatch (A), Sports Tourer (B) or Sports Coupe (CLA). If you go for looks, CLA wins hands down. If you are into hot hatches, the A is a nice looker. But I wanted a practical car for long distance driving (luggage space, head room), and the B suits my needs :)
        Can’t wait for the GLA to reach our shores to check it out!

• hasan on Jul 12, 2014 at 9:11 pm

I have sampled this car..too bad only from the comfort of showroom. No chance to bring it to open road yet. I must admit, this car is a hella of a looker. Prettier than any other thing, and I just can’t stop exclaiming with disbelief when I saw this car. Yes the rear window is vEry small I hit my head upon getting in and the salesman saw that. Very embarassing.

• Reasda on Jul 12, 2014 at 9:49 pm

the A250 may be a looker if compared to the huge nostrils 1-series. But then a 4-door 2 series might nail the coffin on this CLA

• MrNyx on Jul 12, 2014 at 10:41 pm

I test drove this car and yes, its early acceleration response is a little slower than my accord 2.4 ’04, its power, definitely better than my accord, but by slightly.

I wouldn’t criticize on this car because this is CLA 200, but instead on MB, why don’t they bring in the CLA 250? where the salesperson and comments from this blog said the fuel grade doesn’t meet the CLA 250 requirement. What an excuse man, I believe all these can be refined by tuning the car’s setting or whatsoever. They can bring in a CLA 45 which I believe a better fuel grade would be needed but failed to bring in CLA 250, dafuq?! Perhaps I don’t know much about car’s engines etc.

I believed it would be much much better for MB to bring in CLA 250 instead of CLA 200.

• gaviny on Jul 12, 2014 at 10:46 pm

At 236 honestly the soon to launched Infiniti q50 would make so much more sense, everywhere I read reviews and the only summary you get is suspension too hard.

• heybadigol on Jul 12, 2014 at 11:26 pm

That explains why the Audi A3 is the best selling luxury sub compact in the US. The A3 is very boring to look at compared to the slim & curvy CLA, but the A3 is far more practical and has a responsive engine. But seriously, I would rather take the BMW 316i too, cos its just a better car, larger inside and cheaper too, even though its in a class above. And if the Infiniti Q50 comes in below RM250k for the base model, then the CLA will have another stiff competition from a class above. MBM needs to consider lowering the price, or offer some other promos (longer warranty period perhaps) if it wants to sell the CLA.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 5:18 am

Someone here said there is an 8 month waiting list for the CLA. Unless they only bring in 10 a month I’d say the pricing is fine, they could charge more and would still sell plenty. The looks sells it.

• heybadigol on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Guess those who buy this must go for the looks and not forgetting that 3 pointed star badge. Ok, I’m also a sucker for those sexy frameless windows. Cos judging by the review, nothing else about the CLA is worth buying.

• B737-800 on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:58 am

For badge snob, to flaunt their “wealth”. Definitely not for the car geeks.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 13, 2014 at 1:13 am

Was considering this CLA but after a chat with my sis tonight on her C200 maintenance cost decided to let it go. Too heavy for my wallet. The break pad alone without labour cost RM1,500. A normal servicing easily cost more than RM1,500 as well. Guess just have to stick to Japanese car. She even said she was considering switching back to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • heybadigol on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:36 pm

If she wants “slightly lower” maintenance cost and a luxury badge, get a Lexus. Lexus ES is a good value comfortable cruiser. But fast driving it is not capable of, cos its no Beemer. The IS250 base model is quite a lot more money than the C200, but it looks good, and has great handling without sacrificing ride.

• Heng Lee on Jul 13, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Yes, Lexus is the perfect brand for sisters. Men should drive other brands.

• empro on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:34 am

I have the ES250 luxury and it is the best car for fast cruising on highway. Extremely quiet and comfortable. Not so good on twisty road. Takes some effort for me to keep up with F10 520 when going up genting. But I got it because I know it’ll last me for a solid 10years.

• Liarliar on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Jangan tipu.

Just changed my brake pad for 700 something and normal service costs me about 800 only at cycle and carriage

• therealmaserati on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:12 am

Yes the 316i gearbox is better and drives better but its interior quality is appaling. Feel like i am sitting in a Proton with all the cheap plastics around me.

Come on, i am already paying 210k for this 316i, just top up abit get the cla200 or a250.

Interior of Mercs are oozing in quality while BMWs look so cheapo and plasticky i will nvr pay that kinda amount of money for a 316i plus u dont get the attention the CLA gives u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • armandd on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:18 am

This car should not be designed and manufactured in the first place. The side profile looks like a banana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Jul 13, 2014 at 11:55 am

If Proton came up with such a horrendous design, everyone will cry foul… Malaysians are suckers for German logos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:32 pm

while the audi would be a better car, my personal experience is that mercedes salesmen are more friendly.

• Car_fan on Jul 13, 2014 at 4:20 pm

So if Proton sales persons are friendliest, you will buy a Preve over Mercedes, solid logic man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 4:41 pm

dei…if i nak buy mercedes…i wont go proton showroom kan? logic u betol…tapi jahil juga tau tak….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • semi value was right.congrats car fan u just showed the world your stupidity.
        How Salesperson treats the customer who walk in the showroom does effect the decision whether to buy or not to buy.
        Once i went to Audi glenmarie with firm decision to get the A4. But the idiots in there looks at me with funny faces and just left me there hanging. Theres only one other uncle in the showroom.
        I got pissed of and went to C&C PJ instead.
        What I bought, is pretty much clear.

• Automagic on Jul 13, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Almost RM250k, manual aircon, cheap plastics, slow gearbox, not very responsive engine… If not for the badge and design, Danny seems to be saying this isn’t a good car, did i read the review correctly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • MrNyx on Jul 13, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Yes, you and I believe everyone think he is.

When you buy this car, I think this can roughly sum up what you really get in this CLA 200.

Good:
      – Advanced safety features (Collision Prevention Assists & Seatbelt auto-tightening)
      – Sporty interior (Steering and air-cond vent)
      – Very aerodynamic exterior design
      – Mesmerizing taillights

Bad:
      – Pricy
      – Engine almost equivalent to VW Passat
      – No rear air-conditioner
      – Dull Central Screen

The reason why we expect so much from this car is mainly because of its pricing at RM 236k. However, I wouldn’t say this is the lowest spec MBM have brought in because it includes the Night Package which improves a lot on its exterior look and some in the interior.

Go to other countries MB website you will find the lowest spec of this CLA, where its front light is using halogen light and its taillights has only a single line (each side) which looks pretty yucks.

• mmaker on Jul 13, 2014 at 5:14 pm

the sexy looks of CLA make me melt. I’m not considering 316 or A4 but if i looking for fast and ride comfort at that price range propbably i go for subaru wrx

• a car with an over 200k price tag….. and MANUAL AIRCONDS ?!

dafuq is this nonsense

• Suprima S on Jul 13, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Audi A3 1.4 is easily a better choice overall. Ppl buy the CLA simply just for the looks and badge.

• Red GTI on Jul 13, 2014 at 10:07 pm

I would go for the Audi A3 1.4 any day. Ppl buy CLA just for the looks and the badge.

• donald on Jul 13, 2014 at 10:08 pm

sell able CLA200 or not? The waiting period is 1 year, just checked with mercedes sales.

GLA is coming on this year october, interior is almost similar like A, CLA, B class.

All new C-Class in on coming September.

• Perhaps Driven should do an episode on CLA v A3 v 316…

• kanasha on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:26 am

Anybody thinks that there will be any promotion for C180 for the price of RM212k level as before.?

• cendol (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:00 pm

In USA, CLA is selling for USD29000. MB USA already profited from this price and government tax already factored in. This means the cost price is much much lower than that.
    MB Malaysia cost price can’t be more than USD 29000 (convert to almost RM100000)
    But the price here is RM246000, that is an extra of RM146000.
    Isn’t it ridiculous??
    And considering CLA is only entry-level cheap Merc in USA.

• Anti-Establishment on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:16 pm

A similarly configured CLA in the US is actually USD 41,645, which is RM 132,262.86. This is somewhat close to the tax-free price of the CLA in Labuan which is RM 134,448.00.

Unlike Malaysia, US cars are highly customizable which allows them to offer lower prices. Eg: to get similar rims to what you get in MY, you’ll have to fork out $1600. Bi-Xenon headlights will cost you $800 etc. So that $29,000 price tag will rise easily if you equip it to Malaysian standards.

But how come the car is equipped with a manual A/C when on the Mercedes-Benz MY page the catalogue says the THERMATIC Automatic Climate Control system is standard equipment?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:04 pm

The US does not include sales taxes in car list prices because the sales tax differs from town to town.

• Add another rm3k can get a 320i, more powerful, better handling, and more practical…
    MB should give 236k a CLA250 not a junk CLA200

• To spend >200k for a car, I will definitely go for RWD. <200k will have no choice but go to FWD.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 15, 2014 at 3:18 pm

I test drove this car, and y

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 15, 2014 at 3:21 pm

I test drove this car,and yes it does not compare when it comes to performance to my other cars. But the CLA fills a niche market and there is a reason why it has a 1 year waiting period. I see this CLA as a good car for mums taking kids to school or for shopping…short rides..

• wings on Jul 27, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Dear all.
    Who know the CLA 200 order lead time?
    Hope to get the accurate information.
    TQVM.

• empro on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:30 am

When Mercedes goes the sporty route, people complain the ride is too hard, not practical, for looks only and when they go the uncle way, people say bmw is better. These bmw people always say passion over practicality and now with this new merc, they contradict themselves. Simple, if you want something spacious, reliable, quiet, comfortable, just go buy a Camry or accord la…

This is not a car you buy through your brains… it’s through your emotions and how it makes you feel.

• Lance on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:08 am

As a Malaysian temporarily residing in California, I am utterly disappointed by what Mercedes has decided to bring into Malaysia. The “Sport” option as reviewed above represents nothing more than an American base CLA 250 model with a “Premium Package” option.

The US 2.0L engines already has a disappointing drive experience, what more a 1.6L would stand only to rub more salt on the wound.

Making a quick comparison of the Malaysian version against the US’s take of the CLA by just a quick glance stands to tell us how much options we are stripped off lest to desire anything substantial.

To illustrate, this is what we are stacked against
    http://www.kbb.com/car-news/all-the-latest/2015-mercedes_benz-cla250-sport-package-plus-on-tap/2000010900/