SPIED: Facelifted Ford Ranger in D’sara showroom

2015-ford-ranger-facelift-spied-in-showrooms-5

Following yesterday’s news of the T6 Ford Ranger being readied for a public test drive event and debut next week, and several spyshots that we managed to uncover before, it’s with little surprise that local Ford showrooms have already been supplied with the facelifted pick-up, displaying it even where and when they can – it is afterall, Ford’s top-selling vehicle in the country, at the moment.

Here, then, is one example sent in to us by reader Ceri Joseph, who spotted the new Ranger at a Ford showroom in Damansara, giving us a very clear glimpse of things to come, at least from one of the Ranger’s new variants from its local distributor SDAC.

So, ahead of its official local debut, let’s take a quick look at how this variant of the new Ranger stacks up against the very one we saw at the pick-up’s world premiere at the Bangkok Motor Show. Do keep in mind however, that any features and specifications that don’t appear in this variant that’s been photographed may still have a chance to make it on the Malaysian-spec Ranger Wildtrak – the range-topping Ford Ranger model.

2015-ford-ranger-facelift-spied-in-showrooms-2

As clear as day, you’ll be able to spot a new Ranger miles away, wearing Ford’s latest bold and heavily-chromed front grille. The centrepiece is flanked by new headlamps, which for Malaysia, also includes the new projector units.

There’s also the new hood design to take note of, along with all the other chrome exterior bits, like the wing mirror covers, door handles and rear roll bar.

Two exterior items do stand out to be quite different from the BKK car, one of which being the bar-type foot step versus the flat type seen in Thailand.

The second easily visible difference is with the wheel design: here, SDAC looks to have specific a six Y-spoke type, whereas in Thailand, the spokes themselves were plainly thicker.

2015-ford-ranger-facelift-spied-in-showrooms-3

Moving inside the car, the pictures here show a cabin that looks very similar to what we saw in Thailand as well, except for a few items. The seats are of the same fabric type, and the steering wheel features all the same audio, handsfree and cruise control buttons.

The instrument panel isn’t the version equipped with the cooler central speedometer with dual digital displays on each side. Instead, this particular variant gets a conventional dual-binnacle arrangement with a central multi-info display screen. No sign of an auto air-conditioning system on this particular car.

The Ranger in this particular image also lacks the large infotainment display touchscreen on the dash as we saw in Thailand. In its place, a smaller screen flanked by a number pad on one side, and several infotainment control buttons on the other. Again, there’s still hope for the larger touchscreen display and the cool new instrument panel amongst other items, to appear on our version of the top-spec Ranger, the Wildtrak.

2015-ford-ranger-facelift-spied-in-showrooms-4

On the centre console, the gear lever and gate makes it obvious that this is an automatic variant. Next to it, another giveaway, this time the fact that this is a 4×4 unit, going off the rotary dial drive mode selector that allows you to switch between 4×4 and 4×2 operations. Could this be the 2.2 litre Duratorq turbodiesel automatic 4×4 variant, then?

Finally, we should remind you that, as reported before, pricing for the new Ford Ranger is expected to be increased by up to 3% against today’s prices for the existing model.

Stay tuned as we uncover more details about the coming Ford Ranger facelift.

Ford Ranger facelift at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Show

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• AF-FORD-ABLE LOW-RANGER on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Thanks to Sime Darby for bringing this “HIGH-END” plus “PREMIUM” Ford Ranger to BOLEH-land. Is that hard to bring the FULL spec in?

To Toyota Hilux 2016 and Mitsubishi Trition 2015, both of you are saved. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • PRO = ME on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:13 pm

you and the writer both lack a bit of smartness in brain.

obviously the high spec will be WILDTRAK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • During thai launching the 2.2 model shown during the event get all the toys. So we expect the same treatment. High spec 2.2, how hard could it be? SDAC…you guys really enjoy sontot malaysian or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Aiya bring in you guys cannot afford.

Please la wildtrak reserve for rich ppl. You poor ppl go buy triton lite.

• Ford 3 months Wait on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:29 am

Such a good car but a car is only good if after sales are also good. Ford service stinks in Malaysia. they are a pack of lies.

Also, any small part, you have to wait 3 months. When buying time, you feel syiok, but when any small problem occurs, that is when you know. You got to wait 3 months for any part to come. 3 months they will hold your car, be prepared to bicycle to work.

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:13 am

you lack the eloquence needed to condemn someone.

oh sorry let me speak your language.

“yew spik england is very bad one..”

knn ccb mch.. wanna tiao ppl make sure your english is proper at first la, “lack a bit of smartness in brain”. only someone who is genuinely stupid would say that.

and for your information, the writer did mention that the wildtrak may have the features that they noticed were missing. but afterall, since you can’t string a proper sentence together, i suppose it is only fair that you can’t comprehend half the article due to your ineptitude of the english language.

eh sorry again, i speak your language again lor..

“U ARE THE VERY STUPIDZ”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • PRO = ME on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:43 am

come on la bodoh. keyboard warrior needs to be so serious or not? LOL

HELLO use back your old nick la “AF-FORD-ABLE LOW-RANGER”. Too many DISLIKE you too shame to use back that nick?

• hailthepurist on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:00 am

when will you bring the F-150 or Raptor to m’sia, we can afford those truck..

• MeToo on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:54 am

Nissan SA have been sent for product training for their New NP300 Navara, maybe Ranger’s cool… but the after sales service for Ford is horrendous… while the reliability is still lacking compared to the good ol Toyota/Nissan…

Oh and the WT is RM136,000.00, OTR… priced confirmed by the SA since I booked one… sigh… 136K for a TRUCK..

• Leafable on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:15 pm

It’s looks hideous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Styling que from big bro F150! nice

• FIST (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Well thats dissappointing

• WTF. Looks like everything inside is gone.

• So excited after the launch in Thailand, but now, anti climax!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:59 am

I think the new Navara will beat this in terms of spec list but I do like the new front design, pity it doesn’t come with LED headlights like the Navara has else it’ll look menacing on the road.

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:16 am

the first picture in this series of pictures is very telling.

there is a mop next to the Ranger, ‘cos this car is indeed a bucket.

friend’s prefacelift model at 40k mileage already giving trouble. biggest trouble is the service centre which forever cannot layan you because “service bays is all currently occupied.. please come in 2 months from now”

after which they will try to void your warranty for going above mileage.

sime darby. shame on you.

• Well. This maybe just the low spec. they have one in SDAC Jalan Ipoh yesterday with digital instrument panel and big infotainment display, same as the one in Bangkok.

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Soon found on road dead

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:10 pm

I’ve seen more & more Ranger on the road sporting aftermarket F150-style grille with big ‘FORD’ written. Anyone here do that?

• Wonderman on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:27 am

What i can see here is that what we expect from the ranger is like what we see previously with high tech even with 2.2. Looking at the above pic looks like we cannot expect to get the full features only for WILDTRAK which is 3.2.
    Somehow what for u pay more for road tax and the performance same as 2.5 Np300. Ergh..
    But np300 got good features except for cargo, rear seat comfort, payload(950kg claim).
    Hope they can introduce the 2.2 with wildtrak tech. instead pay more for the extra 1k cc

• MeToo on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:54 am

Nissan SA have been sent for product training for their New NP300 Navara, maybe Ranger’s cool… but the after sales service for Ford is horrendous… while the reliability is still lacking compared to the good ol Toyota/Nissan…

Oh and the WT is RM136,000.00, OTR… priced confirmed by the SA since I booked one… sigh… 136K for a TRUCK..